25/07/2010 14:52:08
legend 44 County: Cavan Posts: 113
There is not one decent team in Connacht. I thought Sligo were a good team but the last two weeks shows they are not. After beating Galway and Mayo they went out to Wexford and Longford. I know they are in 'bonus territory' now and fair play to them but the Rossies will probably get hammered in the QF. If Limerick were in Connacht they would possibly have 3 or 4 titles in the last 10 years, poor lads never seem to get any luck vs Cork or Kerry.
25/07/2010 16:43:50
maigh_eo County: Mayo Posts: 1319
grow up
25/07/2010 16:51:41
Gaelicmeath County: Meath Posts: 35
if meath were in connacht since beggininbg of every year we would have the same amount of all irelands as kerry as we would have got into an easy semi final every year because we wud win connacht every year my dad told me this last week and i agree
25/07/2010 16:53:01
NordieSam2009 County: Tyrone Posts: 75
its good that connacht have a team in q/f every year...someone gets an easy route to S/F
25/07/2010 17:07:54
rossielassie County: Roscommon Posts: 623
We have the smallest province, with munster just ahead of us, and they are mainly a hurling province compared to us. Our counties are smaller too, so obviously compared to other counties our football would not have a high standard. In Ros we have 33 clubs, not all football, not all senior etc... compared to other big counties we work with what we have so of course our standard of football in the smallest province can be easily criticised.
25/07/2010 17:11:19
goalmouth10 County: Meath Posts: 55
Maybe its time for the counties of Connacht to join forces together as 1! JOKE
25/07/2010 17:26:05
mickobronx17 County: Mayo Posts: 226
gaelic meath that has to the most idiotic post ever.
25/07/2010 18:08:17
ros4eva County: Roscommon Posts: 6
Linerick have no forwards and if they were in connacht then they would be just choking against Mayo and Galway. If they could beat everyone bar Cork or Kerry then why were they in division 4 this year?
25/07/2010 18:39:05
Gaelicmeath County: Meath Posts: 35
mickobronx17 County: Mayo Posts: 214
722348 gaelic meath that has to the most idiotic post ever.
I am not here to be insulted i am here to talk gaa and what would you know about football mayo are no good at anything so you be best to keep quite and let gaa people discuss gaa
25/07/2010 19:20:52
WOW great come back
25/07/2010 19:23:00
wow great come back did you have to ask your dad what to write.
25/07/2010 21:47:34
maigh_eo County: Mayo Posts: 1319
Cat fight!!!!
25/07/2010 22:00:17
sky_high County: Tyrone Posts: 56
The current format is completely unfair. Northern teams have to battle it out in very tight matches and if they win the Ulster championship they are in the same position as teams who only defeated 1 or 2 poor teams to win Connought or Leinster. I propose that the Ulster champions go straight to the semi final as Ulster is a far higher standard to every other province. I know it will never happen (partly because of anti-northern bias) but that, or an open draw is the fairest way.
26/07/2010 08:01:32
Tongo County: UK Posts: 1287
Well someone's got to be the weakest province! To be fair, up until the last couple of summers, Galway and Mayo would have been considered in the top 10 of counties, so its only been the last year or so that Connacht Football has been in the wilderness. And it could all change next year. Look at Dublin, this year. After they lost to Meath, everyone was writing them off. Now they are in the q-f's. So things can change quickly.
26/07/2010 08:02:04
Tongo County: UK Posts: 1287
Sky_high: I'd have to disagree that Ulster is the strongest province. Up until this year, yes. But the standard has dropped. I saw Monaghan, the provincial runners up, on Saturday and they imploded once Kildare got into their stride. And both Armagh and Derry exited the Champo with a whimper. Munster and Leinster are both equally as strong, if not stronger, than Ulster now.
26/07/2010 09:10:22
ICC County: Roscommon Posts: 1
Maybe there is an argument for changing the provincial system..Have 8 teams in each province and we could call them east, west north and south championships. Put Donegal ,Clare and Longford in the west. Offaly laois and Wexford in South.
And i think that leave 8 in each province and you could put new york and london in province too.
I know alot of people , particulary in the north would be against this.
26/07/2010 09:29:49
MURPHB33 County: Dublin Posts: 75
I seem to rememeber after the league, Leinster football got ridiculed mainly by supporters of Connacht teams due to the teams poor showing in the league. No disrespect to Wexford and Longford but they wouldnt be two of the strongest teams in the provence but they knocked out the two "strongest" teams in Connacht. Mayo and Galway. Kildare beat Monaghan and Derry, Dublin beat Armagh, Offaly ran Down very close, there are 3 leinster teams left in the All Ireland only so sky high your comment "The current format is completely unfair. Northern teams have to battle it out in very tight matches and if they win the Ulster championship they are in the same position as teams who only defeated 1 or 2 poor teams to win Connought or Leinster" about this years Leinster Championship is very unfair. Have Tyrone really being tested thus far??
26/07/2010 09:53:43
dlegendcooney County: Galway Posts: 139
u would wonder how we have 9 all irelands if connacht is that bad how many all irelands have meath cavan and the great tyrone have...good lads.
26/07/2010 10:04:47
Solo Run County: All Posts: 121
25/07/2010 22:00:17 sky_high County: Tyrone Posts: 11
722914 The current format is completely unfair. Northern teams have to battle it out in very tight matches and if they win the Ulster championship they are in the same position as teams who only defeated 1 or 2 poor teams to win Connought or Leinster. I propose that the Ulster champions go straight to the semi final as Ulster is a far higher standard to every other province. I know it will never happen (partly because of anti-northern bias) but that, or an open draw is the fairest way.
Look at the results in the Connacht Championship in the last few years for tight matches. Ulster?? Tyrone hammering everyone esle and this years winers are surprise, surprise..........Tyrone, Tyrone, Armagh, Tyrone, Tyrone, Armagh or whatever.
Nobody outside of Tyrone in Ulster making any impact on the All-Irleland - only a couple of years ago no Ulster team in semi-finals. Nobody de-crying state of Ulster football. As I said elsewhere........no such thing as provincial standard. On average abpout the same - teams come to the top because they are good - nothing whatsoever to do with their province.
On paper, the LEAST competitive province is Ulster, same winners year in year out. But its cyclical - as per every province. People read to much into it.
26/07/2010 12:56:35
yew_tree County: Mayo Posts: 1585
connacht bashing alive and well. i love all the tyrone fans talking us down when pre 03 they had little to shout about. lets face it we have the smallest population which the most emigration. connqcht football was worse in the 70's and 80's. we have one bad year and everyone else is talking like we should be cut off. mabey we could apply to join the united states.
Result Pages: 1  2  3  4  [Next >>]
Page 1