Pay the buff

I've spent over 40 years coaching underage teams. The biggest problem the gaa has is not the skills of the game, or anything else the pundits talk about, it's how to engage with the youth. Hurling Banter is the best resource the gaa has. Give him a fair wage for the job he does.

onlyhurling (Galway) - Posts: 800 - 22/10/2017 23:35:36    2057098

what about the thousands of volunteers who "engage with the youth" 3-4 times a week in a gaa pitch rather than on a twitter page?

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 23/10/2017 09:36:12    2057140

I think the GAA should pay everyone, I haven't played since my sharp decline from U.21 to the Intermediates, then the Junior B's and early retirement ~28. That was about 6 years ago now but I think I should still be played for all my top notch GAA banter on this and other fora.

The_DOC (Galway) - Posts: 706 - 23/10/2017 10:31:13    2057160

Replying To onlyhurling:  "I've spent over 40 years coaching underage teams. The biggest problem the gaa has is not the skills of the game, or anything else the pundits talk about, it's how to engage with the youth. Hurling Banter is the best resource the gaa has. Give him a fair wage for the job he does."
You have to be joking! I have seen some of this guy's stuff on Facebook and its cringeworthy.

Condorman (Dublin) - Posts: 983 - 23/10/2017 14:05:35    2057234

Replying To Condorman:  "You have to be joking! I have seen some of this guy's stuff on Facebook and its cringeworthy."
Us culchies are easily amused! It's only a bit of craic.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7344 - 23/10/2017 15:52:37    2057272

Replying To onlyhurling:  "I've spent over 40 years coaching underage teams. The biggest problem the gaa has is not the skills of the game, or anything else the pundits talk about, it's how to engage with the youth. Hurling Banter is the best resource the gaa has. Give him a fair wage for the job he does."
Buff you're not fooling anyone with that username.

maroonkingdom (Westmeath) - Posts: 41 - 23/10/2017 19:38:08    2057333

I'd prefer to pay the two 23 senior hurlers in my own club that give up their spare time to train my son's minor team. Or is Buff the only lad engaging with the youth?

GaaGaa78 (UK) - Posts: 285 - 23/10/2017 20:00:01    2057340

It's up to him to make his own money. Should we pay hoganstand too when were at it?

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 24/10/2017 13:15:30    2057520

Surely we could spare some of Dermot Earlys salary and expense account to pay the Buffs phone bill for the year.

WunderBar (Galway) - Posts: 290 - 24/10/2017 17:58:16    2057630

I find his snapchat is brilliant. I get to see the highlights of games id never otherwise be able to see. Faipplay to him.

11jm11 (Kildare) - Posts: 365 - 24/10/2017 19:32:09    2057662

When I first read the title of this topic I thought it said - play in the buff.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2459 - 24/10/2017 20:41:06    2057694

I have to agree fair play to Buff.
His snapchat is brilliant and it is a lot of expense to him (especially with that car of his!!)
he is good craic and is a mini celeb.
I don't agree he should be paid, he is doing it out of his own good.
But if he got a few bob for attending some gaa functions , pitch openings fair play to him.

I think his biggest payment at the moment would be for people to stop abusing him.
Some of the dirty and hatred vile thrown at him is indicative of irish people that just can't let a harmless lad like him alone.

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 25/10/2017 08:22:04    2057760

Replying To woops:  "I have to agree fair play to Buff.
His snapchat is brilliant and it is a lot of expense to him (especially with that car of his!!)
he is good craic and is a mini celeb.
I don't agree he should be paid, he is doing it out of his own good.
But if he got a few bob for attending some gaa functions , pitch openings fair play to him.

I think his biggest payment at the moment would be for people to stop abusing him.
Some of the dirty and hatred vile thrown at him is indicative of irish people that just can't let a harmless lad like him alone."
I've no problem with him doing it but if he is looking payment it's up to him to source his own income. Philly Mc who does updates from Tyrone games has made himself a few quid as a result, buff can be the same but he needs to find a way of advertising products. It's not up to anyone else to pay him.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 25/10/2017 12:35:59    2057835

Pay the buff? And the slating the gooch got???

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 25/10/2017 12:53:08    2057841

He could make a career out of the cooking yet. The chocolate cake and buns he baked last week looked absolutely TANTALISING.

PortInFaithful (Offaly) - Posts: 472 - 25/10/2017 12:55:00    2057842

Replying To PortInFaithful:  "He could make a career out of the cooking yet. The chocolate cake and buns he baked last week looked absolutely TANTALISING."
The chocolate cake actually did look DIVINE!!!

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 25/10/2017 13:28:39    2057857

"Tantalising" "Devine" haha. I thought I went into the wrong forum for a second.
Fair to him I say. Seems like a decent lad and loves all GAA. if he sources a revenue stream for himself fair play to him. Typical of some people to abuse him, irish begrudgery at its finest.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 25/10/2017 13:44:49    2057864

From a financial/sponsorship perspective, no-one will go near him due to his extremist views on "Black & Tans", Celtic, IRA etc not to mention his childish slating of Rory's Stories et al and constantly giving oxygen to online trolls (instead of just ignoring them). He's just too much of a loose cannon from a sponsor's perspective.

banner_boy (Clare) - Posts: 1285 - 25/10/2017 14:01:56    2057875

Replying To The_Fridge:  ""Tantalising" "Devine" haha. I thought I went into the wrong forum for a second.
Fair to him I say. Seems like a decent lad and loves all GAA. if he sources a revenue stream for himself fair play to him. Typical of some people to abuse him, irish begrudgery at its finest."
Part of the problem now is that too many are trying to "source a revenue stream" and its becoming acceptable. The GAA is supposed to be based on representing & serving your club and games. Not what you can make from it. Heaven knows what sort of GAA we would have now if our predecessors adopted a " source a revenue stream" mentality. To be fair I'm sure Buff only runs his page for Craic and has no interest in revenue streams. The sooner people stop accepting this attitude as the norm the better.

Paperboy (Tyrone) - Posts: 11 - 25/10/2017 16:28:05    2057929

Replying To Paperboy:  "Part of the problem now is that too many are trying to "source a revenue stream" and its becoming acceptable. The GAA is supposed to be based on representing & serving your club and games. Not what you can make from it. Heaven knows what sort of GAA we would have now if our predecessors adopted a " source a revenue stream" mentality. To be fair I'm sure Buff only runs his page for Craic and has no interest in revenue streams. The sooner people stop accepting this attitude as the norm the better."
Yet we have someone on here saying that he should be paid from the coffers?

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 25/10/2017 16:50:30    2057940