Calls to split Dublin

I do be curious when this stuff starts.
From 2000 to 2017 Kilkenny won 12 of 17 all ireland's. Why has no one called for them to be split. Dublin did their first 3 in a row since the 1920's and now they must be split " to give everyone a chance to play on the big stage .. Cork have a few hundred thousand down here too must we be split ???

Now lets look at things a bit closer

2011 they beat kerry by 1 POINT
In 2013 they beat mayo by 1POINT
In 2015 they beat Kerry by 3 points after beating Mayo in a semi-final replay
in 2016 they beat mayo by 1 point in the replay
and in 2017 they beat Mayo against the run of play some what by 1 point.

Dublin cant be held responsible for the fact that the rest of the country don't have their house in order. Mayo do. Mayo don't take a backward step from dublin. They went out every time to beat dublin not to stop them . Dublin deserve huge credit cause to do three in a row is unreal. Whealan is right why split them . In the next few years given their under age success we could see kerry go on a roll of dominance. How the hell do you split them. Dublin won nothing from 1995 to 2011 where was the call to split them then ??? When the rest of the country stop being afraid of dublin and actually tog off to play them then we will see a change. People go on about the money and this that and the other. 2 INCHES and yesterday could have been a different story. Kilkenny said it himself it was a game of two free's.

I say a huge congrats to Dublin. 3 in a row playing great football by great athletes. So so sorry for mayo but exceptionally proud and in awe of that group of players. For the rest of the country my own counry in particular. Get it together. Put in the times and effort dublin and mayo do. Find the best players and play them no matter what or where they come from. Nurture your under age and play the game. To beat dublin you must beat dublin stopping them is only delaying the inevitable ..

ritchie (Cork) - Posts: 346 - 18/09/2017 11:43:05    2047364

It's a load of rubbish all this talk.

Split Dublin it's so unfair on the poor guys who can't play county football but would in other counties.

So what I say.

There are plenty of good footballers in Kerry don't get to play county football who would from other counties.

People from Dublin get to play in the best standard club championship in the country. If you're a good player in Dublin but not county standard you will still be able to play at a high level.

They also run their leagues without the need for county players gives club players ample opportunity to play in a good competitive competition with plenty of matches.

The same standard player growing up in one county versus another will have a different GAA experience, so what, it doesn't matter one bit.

That by the way is not what this is about, it's just a way of spinning the argument so it doesn't look like sour grapes.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4217 - 18/09/2017 12:09:16    2047384

Replying To Whammo86:  "It's a load of rubbish all this talk.

Split Dublin it's so unfair on the poor guys who can't play county football but would in other counties.

So what I say.

There are plenty of good footballers in Kerry don't get to play county football who would from other counties.

People from Dublin get to play in the best standard club championship in the country. If you're a good player in Dublin but not county standard you will still be able to play at a high level.

They also run their leagues without the need for county players gives club players ample opportunity to play in a good competitive competition with plenty of matches.

The same standard player growing up in one county versus another will have a different GAA experience, so what, it doesn't matter one bit.

That by the way is not what this is about, it's just a way of spinning the argument so it doesn't look like sour grapes."
Hup Dun Laoghaire-Rathdown.

RoyalBadger (Meath) - Posts: 571 - 18/09/2017 12:17:13    2047387

I wouldn't like to see Dublin split but there is definitely a case to be made for a second team.
Any panel is a limited number but chances of playing county football for Dublin are a lot harder. That's not fair to a lot of Dublin lads that are good enough for most other counties but not Dublin. With population growth projected to rise in the capital there is definitely a case.

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 18/09/2017 12:34:42    2047401

Only a person outside of Dublin GAA with no idea of the city clubs could even suggest this. The logistics would impossible.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4896 - 18/09/2017 12:35:09    2047402

Replying To arock:  "Only a person outside of Dublin GAA with no idea of the city clubs could even suggest this. The logistics would impossible."
I doubt there would be too many logistics involved in a second team, as I said before I wouldn't favour splitting the county but a second team is a plausible idea I think, purely to give more opportunity to players to play county football, the suggestion isn't a knock against the Dubs more an acknowledgement of the talent they have and the structures they have developed

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 18/09/2017 12:58:26    2047424

I'm assuming yesterday put this stupid idea to bed for a generation. Mayo came within a whisker of beating this Dublin team again. People need to stop trying think of ways to drag Dublin down but try and get up to their level. Carlow, Westmeath, Kildare, Monaghan and Tyrone were bet before the ball was thrown in and the latter 2 especially should be ashamed of themselves. At least Mayo went in thinking they could win and then took a knockout blow in 90 seconds and still came back.

FootblockREF (Monaghan) - Posts: 563 - 18/09/2017 14:46:31    2047494

Ciaran Whelan is way off the money spouting about parochialism on the telly last night. Dubliners cannot use this as a reason. For generations country people moved to Dublin. Their kids became Dubliners as it was there home county and not their parents home county.

Now though the situation has reversed a little, many Dubs live in Meath and Kildare and are rearing their kids to be Dubs!!!! This is TOTALLY AGAINST THE GAA PAROCHIAL SPIRIT Whelo talks about. And this is why O 'Rourke is nailing this issue now. We cant be talking out of both sides of our mouths. Time for those people to cop on, either get back to Dublin if they want their kids to be Dubs, or rear them as these other counties kids like country folk did in Dublin for generations, before we do get split.

kempes (Dublin) - Posts: 118 - 18/09/2017 15:18:38    2047518

Such predictable nonsense

Dublin win - split them

Dublin lose - no talk of splitting them

It's that simple, it's that predictable, it's the way it is.

I called it before the match. It was a game only Mayo could actually win.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 18/09/2017 15:26:31    2047523

Replying To jimbodub:  "Such predictable nonsense

Dublin win - split them

Dublin lose - no talk of splitting them

It's that simple, it's that predictable, it's the way it is.

I called it before the match. It was a game only Mayo could actually win."
In fairness Jim there's more too it than that and your county colleague in the post ahead of you makes some valid points, again as I said before I don't advocate a split but I would give merit to the notion of a second team, too many are trying who will ever suceed

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 18/09/2017 15:52:45    2047547

I feel like tearing my ears off when I hear this s###e. Just please stop.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 18/09/2017 17:53:45    2047614

Replying To arock:  "Only a person outside of Dublin GAA with no idea of the city clubs could even suggest this. The logistics would impossible."
Anyone in the country with any ties to the GAA would and should cringe at the mere mention of splitting Dublin in 2

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 18/09/2017 19:00:03    2047629

Replying To kempes:  "Ciaran Whelan is way off the money spouting about parochialism on the telly last night. Dubliners cannot use this as a reason. For generations country people moved to Dublin. Their kids became Dubliners as it was there home county and not their parents home county.

Now though the situation has reversed a little, many Dubs live in Meath and Kildare and are rearing their kids to be Dubs!!!! This is TOTALLY AGAINST THE GAA PAROCHIAL SPIRIT Whelo talks about. And this is why O 'Rourke is nailing this issue now. We cant be talking out of both sides of our mouths. Time for those people to cop on, either get back to Dublin if they want their kids to be Dubs, or rear them as these other counties kids like country folk did in Dublin for generations, before we do get split."
Ah sure that goes on everywhere now.

Families move out of town into the country and still rear their kids as townies.

Even sending their kids back into town to school and to play for town GAA clubs.

And when retirement comes they sell up and move back into town.

Personally,I think this idea of splitting up Dublin is rubbish.

Are we going to split up Cork next?

Moyle (Tipperary) - Posts: 86 - 18/09/2017 19:04:48    2047630

hi lads this post is barking up the wrong tree..talk about splitting dublin in two and creating two teams is ignoring the elephant in the room..it's the elephant that no-one wants to talk about least of all rte and the main media outlets..the monster has been unleashed and we will all reap the wrath in the coming years...
we've all heard the stories so come on lets stop pretending and stand up to the real issue

mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 18/09/2017 19:33:06    2047644

Replying To kempes:  "Ciaran Whelan is way off the money spouting about parochialism on the telly last night. Dubliners cannot use this as a reason. For generations country people moved to Dublin. Their kids became Dubliners as it was there home county and not their parents home county.

Now though the situation has reversed a little, many Dubs live in Meath and Kildare and are rearing their kids to be Dubs!!!! This is TOTALLY AGAINST THE GAA PAROCHIAL SPIRIT Whelo talks about. And this is why O 'Rourke is nailing this issue now. We cant be talking out of both sides of our mouths. Time for those people to cop on, either get back to Dublin if they want their kids to be Dubs, or rear them as these other counties kids like country folk did in Dublin for generations, before we do get split."
Ludicrous

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 18/09/2017 20:01:21    2047664

England have over 1 million rugby players to our 40,000. 25 players for every 1 we produce. We beat them this year and 2 years ago and 4 years in a row in the 2000s.

I don't think it would be any fun beating 'North England'. Have any of these miserable moaners no desire to take on the best and beat them or will they forever lie down moaning and making excuses? Someday a Leinster senior team will beat Dublin like Meath did in 2010 (only 7 years ago) and they'll feel better for beating Dublin.. not North Dublin.. FFS.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 18/09/2017 20:20:15    2047674

Nobody was talking about kilkenny because many other teams had the same resources and others even more then them. Their success was truly deserved and not manufactured by the gaa giving them every possible advantage they could.

Dublin should be split but their hurling, camogie and ladies football teams should remain for now.

And don't split them straight away. Start by splitting all underage teams, North and South.

And in a few years bring it in at senior level.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 18/09/2017 20:24:27    2047676

Splitting is daft. However, having a Dublin B or C team fixed into division 3 or 4 could be good for smaller counties to compete against.

Morty (Westmeath) - Posts: 209 - 18/09/2017 20:35:08    2047683

Replying To Jack_Goff:  "Nobody was talking about kilkenny because many other teams had the same resources and others even more then them. Their success was truly deserved and not manufactured by the gaa giving them every possible advantage they could.

Dublin should be split but their hurling, camogie and ladies football teams should remain for now.

And don't split them straight away. Start by splitting all underage teams, North and South.

And in a few years bring it in at senior level."
Dublin won the All Ireland by a point and looked for long periods of the game that they would loose it.

The winning point was scored by Dean Rock the son of a Dublin All Ireland winner. The man of the match was James McCarthy the son of another All Ireland winner. Jack McCaffery and Bernard Brogan also are the sons of former Dublin all Ireland winners.

Now there's no way these lads would be playing Gaelic Football if it wasn't for the money or a big population is there.

I take it Meath will be sending back the huge grant they are getting next year to fund coaching and improve, a principal is a principal after all.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 18/09/2017 21:12:36    2047711

imagine how fierce the rivalry would be between a north and south Dublin team.....it would be mental....I live in Beaumont.....I commute to blessington, dalkey, balbriggan and elsewhere....Dublin is insanely big population wise.....and its football mad
county dblin 1.3 million people
county cork 0.5 million people

markesmith (Tyrone) - Posts: 14 - 18/09/2017 21:14:18    2047713