Jamie Clarke

I read in the paper that Jamie Clarke has again opted out of the club mid way though their season.
I'm a big fan of Jamie's, would love him to be from Tyrone. Class player.
However I would hate to have him as a club mate. It must me hugely frustrating for the management and players of Crossmaglen to constantly see their star player up and leave and come back. I have no problem with him travelling or whatever he does, but don't return half way though the season and take someone else's position who has been busting himself all year. Take the year out. Leaving in the middle of the championship isn't fair. The managers have planned to have you in the team. So have the players. Must be a nightmare for all concerned.
Again I reiterate, I'm a massive fan of Jamie's, I'm not having a go at him having a personal life or travelling. Just the timing.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 06/09/2017 10:43:13    2043330

I agree to an extent Fridge but I've also seen the flip-side to this, the county lad that only shows after the county has been knocked out and acts like he's been there the whole time. Going way back now, we had a couple of ex inter county 'stars' come into the dressing room in a championship match and would be ready to throw a fit if they didn't get picked that day even though they hadn't trained with the rest of us all year or even played any other championship game up to that point. I'm yet to see one manager turn around and say, tough luck sunshine, you're on the bench.
Maybe Jamie doesn't want to be that guy

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 06/09/2017 12:09:11    2043384

Totally agree.Pure joke that Clarke does that to his club.
Didn't a club manager in Kildare leave all their county players on the bench in the last few years. Think he was an ex Dublin player.Maybe Jack Sheedy.

manager5 (Galway) - Posts: 724 - 06/09/2017 14:47:36    2043455

It's an amateur sport lads, Jamie Clarke can and will do what he wants and more power to him, I say. Crossmaglen isn't the centre of the universe and there's an amazing world out there, some of which can only be truly appreciated when you're a young fella.

I remember a few seasons back, a former inter-county manager led my former club to their first county senior title in 20 years. Instead of celebrating the occasion, some disparaging remarks were made to the media about fellas having "stuck around" this time, as opposed to a few years previously, when they were beaten in the county final. As if everyone can afford to wait around for the economy to pick up in anticipation of a county medal !

Fellas' primary obligations are to themselves and their families, not to the GAA.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 06/09/2017 15:26:37    2043479

Replying To Gleebo:  "It's an amateur sport lads, Jamie Clarke can and will do what he wants and more power to him, I say. Crossmaglen isn't the centre of the universe and there's an amazing world out there, some of which can only be truly appreciated when you're a young fella.

I remember a few seasons back, a former inter-county manager led my former club to their first county senior title in 20 years. Instead of celebrating the occasion, some disparaging remarks were made to the media about fellas having "stuck around" this time, as opposed to a few years previously, when they were beaten in the county final. As if everyone can afford to wait around for the economy to pick up in anticipation of a county medal !

Fellas' primary obligations are to themselves and their families, not to the GAA."
Gleebo
I have stated that in my post. Fair play to him, travelling the world etc. But to leave in the middle of the championship is unfair to the manager and players. They have planned with him in team and now they are left in limbo. This have happened with Jamie a few times. What happens when he comes back?
It's his timing that is frustrating. He committed to the championship, he should see it out.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 06/09/2017 15:49:41    2043487

Replying To Gleebo:  "It's an amateur sport lads, Jamie Clarke can and will do what he wants and more power to him, I say. Crossmaglen isn't the centre of the universe and there's an amazing world out there, some of which can only be truly appreciated when you're a young fella.

Fellas' primary obligations are to themselves and their families, not to the GAA."
Gleebo
I have stated that in my post. Fair play to him, travelling the world etc. But to leave in the middle of the championship is unfair to the manager and players. They have planned with him in team and now they are left in limbo. This have happened with Jamie a few times. What happens when he comes back?
It's his timing that is frustrating. He committed to the championship, he should see it out.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 06/09/2017 15:49:41    2043488

Replying To The_Fridge:  "Gleebo
It's his timing that is frustrating. He committed to the championship, he should see it out."
If he wants to leave half way through a season he can. People will be mad but they aren't the ones putting in the time and effort.

Plus you never know what is going on in a man's head. There could be other reasons he decided to give it a miss.. Have a read of Cavan's Alan'O'Mara's book and you'll see just what I'm talking about. He's under no obligation and you can't see into his thoughts so there could be 1000 reasons that we don't know about and all are valid if it's right for him. Football is just a game; especially when it doesn't pay the bills.

GameOfTyrones (Tyrone) - Posts: 469 - 06/09/2017 16:33:06    2043504

It isn't right he leaves in the middle of the season unless

He had foretold the manager and the manager told him he wants him to play for as long as until he is going away

Or unforeseen circumstances

If he was training away all the time and then just dropped this news on them, I would say then he got a telling off

By the way I am huge fan of his

Frederick (Louth) - Posts: 479 - 06/09/2017 17:04:43    2043521

Replying To keithlemon:  "I agree to an extent Fridge but I've also seen the flip-side to this, the county lad that only shows after the county has been knocked out and acts like he's been there the whole time. Going way back now, we had a couple of ex inter county 'stars' come into the dressing room in a championship match and would be ready to throw a fit if they didn't get picked that day even though they hadn't trained with the rest of us all year or even played any other championship game up to that point. I'm yet to see one manager turn around and say, tough luck sunshine, you're on the bench.
Maybe Jamie doesn't want to be that guy"
Totally agree I hate seeing this happen all the time.
nobody ever seems to have a problem with the county player walzing back in ahead of a guy who trains all year or holding up the championship to come back in either it does my head in, county championships should go ahead regardless of inter county players available aswell.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 06/09/2017 17:31:47    2043531

Did management at Cross know he was for heading off? Or did he just come in a decide he felt like going?

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 06/09/2017 17:57:12    2043538

The guy is a lost soul and can't seem to get settled. I think he's approaching 30 now also so no spring chicken! I wish him well though, great player.

Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 06/09/2017 19:29:52    2043586

Replying To The_Fridge:  "I read in the paper that Jamie Clarke has again opted out of the club mid way though their season.
I'm a big fan of Jamie's, would love him to be from Tyrone. Class player.
However I would hate to have him as a club mate. It must me hugely frustrating for the management and players of Crossmaglen to constantly see their star player up and leave and come back. I have no problem with him travelling or whatever he does, but don't return half way though the season and take someone else's position who has been busting himself all year. Take the year out. Leaving in the middle of the championship isn't fair. The managers have planned to have you in the team. So have the players. Must be a nightmare for all concerned.
Again I reiterate, I'm a massive fan of Jamie's, I'm not having a go at him having a personal life or travelling. Just the timing."
Can't agree with the op at all. It's an amateur sport and he can do as he pleases. The flip side is if he broke a leg in a game and couldn't work for several months where would the Clubs commitment be to him.

He can leave ten minutes before a game if he needs too, it's voluntary and I hate this term of commitment being used to beat up amateurs.

Most other sports looking in on football and hurling would say you need to be committed in an institution for the way they get on.

If people enjoy it fair enough but don't criticise a young guy for deciding he didn't feel like playing, that's a nonsense.

duckula20 (Antrim) - Posts: 175 - 06/09/2017 20:00:14    2043609

A brilliant player,joy to watch,hard to comment when you don't know the true facts,if he told the management start of the year,he might be gone at some time,no issue,but if he just decide now,its very hard on the club,I know myself as a club man,its very annoying when your best players aren't around due to just changing your mind when your in the latter of your championship,but end of the day his giving up his free time to play football,so I assume it be just his team mates annoyed.Up to management of club to say next time,we don't want you if you can't give your all to the club.Again very hard to say anything when you don't know the real facts.

cityman73 (Limerick) - Posts: 775 - 06/09/2017 20:06:44    2043611

A brilliant player,joy to watch,hard to comment when you don't know the true facts,if he told the management start of the year,he might be gone at some time,no issue,but if he just decide now,its very hard on the club,I know myself as a club man,its very annoying when your best players aren't around due to just changing your mind when your in the latter of your championship,but end of the day his giving up his free time to play football,so I assume it be just his team mates annoyed.Up to management of club to say next time,we don't want you if you can't give your all to the club.Again very hard to say anything when you don't know the real facts.

cityman73 (Limerick) - Posts: 775 - 06/09/2017 20:07:55    2043612

Replying To The_Fridge:  "Gleebo
It's his timing that is frustrating. He committed to the championship, he should see it out."
We don't know the full story here tbf.

Having seen the the documentary on Cross a few years back, it seemed to me that Clarke didn't really enjoy playing football all that much, and felt some obligation to play because he's talented at it. But I could be way off with that observation.

Again, IMO it's Clarke's right to do as he pleases, and it's the management of Crossmaglen's right to either let him back into the fold or give him the road. You say that some of the squad will be p**sed off with him for leaving again, and that's probably true. There's also one or two lads who are probably secretly pleased to some extent as they now have a chance to force their way into the side again. That's life.

You learn a lot about yourself when you leave home comforts, I'd encourage everybody to do it at one time in their lives, quite frankly. Ireland isn't the be all and end all by any means.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 06/09/2017 20:13:45    2043614

Replying To duckula20:  "Can't agree with the op at all. It's an amateur sport and he can do as he pleases. The flip side is if he broke a leg in a game and couldn't work for several months where would the Clubs commitment be to him.

He can leave ten minutes before a game if he needs too, it's voluntary and I hate this term of commitment being used to beat up amateurs.

Most other sports looking in on football and hurling would say you need to be committed in an institution for the way they get on.

If people enjoy it fair enough but don't criticise a young guy for deciding he didn't feel like playing, that's a nonsense."
The issue is with the management if they allow a player to do this and then when they come back and decide they want to play they put them straight into the team again it sends out all the wrong messages to the panel and especially to younger players looking to break into the team, I find at club level its common place and because a player has played with the county it's almost like they have to get their game no matter what.
one of the worst cases I have seen was a former dublin player spent six months in Australia the league here was started three games in the player flew home the day of the fourth game and arrived into dublin airport at midday the match took place at 3.30 now the guy was travelling for the six months no training whatsoever and loan behold he was handed a starting Jersey, after 20 minutes and miles off the pace of the game needless to say he called himself ashore and was taken off and I looked over a minute later he was getting sick on his hunkers by a tree.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 06/09/2017 21:25:19    2043641