10 Games 10 Wins

Why can't the post below be posted mods? It's non controversial..

I knew Galway never beat Waterford in the championship but my memories were from 1998 on and i thought it was 4 or 5 times. However it's an incredible 10 out of 10 stretching back to 1938.

See below..

http://www.the42.ie/waterford-unbeaten-record-galway-hurling-3545070-Aug2017/

Common sense would suggest this will have no bearing on the All Ireland hurling final of 2017. But teams have bogey teams. Does something seep into the psyche of a team that we won't beat these fellas or more importantly in Waterford's case we won't lose to these lads?

Also Waterford beat Galway convincingly at U21 level last year, though that can be put down to them simply having a better team. In the league this year Waterford were 10 points up and cruising and seemed to take the foot off the pedal.

It's some record no matter what way you look at it.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 17/08/2017 16:33:07    2034771

Galway had never beaten Dublin in championship hurling until recently enough either. 10 games in a 133 years of competition is not very many games really.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2214 - 17/08/2017 17:22:04    2034800

Replying To Marooned:  "Galway had never beaten Dublin in championship hurling until recently enough either. 10 games in a 133 years of competition is not very many games really."
That's true re. Dublin.

Still i think it's a fair stat to win 10 out of 10 championship games against a strong hurling county like Galway. 4 of the 10 since 1998.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 17/08/2017 19:41:10    2034864

Replying To Laois76:  "Why can't the post below be posted mods? It's non controversial..

I knew Galway never beat Waterford in the championship but my memories were from 1998 on and i thought it was 4 or 5 times. However it's an incredible 10 out of 10 stretching back to 1938.

See below..

Common sense would suggest this will have no bearing on the All Ireland hurling final of 2017. But teams have bogey teams. Does something seep into the psyche of a team that we won't beat these fellas or more importantly in Waterford's case we won't lose to these lads?

Also Waterford beat Galway convincingly at U21 level last year, though that can be put down to them simply having a better team. In the league this year Waterford were 10 points up and cruising and seemed to take the foot off the pedal.

It's some record no matter what way you look at it."
I remember the last meeting in 2011. Waterford had just conceded 7 goals to Tipp in the Munster final 2 weeks previously whereas we had hammered Clare and Cork in the qualifiers. Most people expected a comfortable Galway victory. I pointed out that we had never beaten them in the championship and was told that was completely irrelevant. Waterford ended up beating us by 10 points. Of course, logically, the prior record between the counties should have no bearing on next month's final. However, it probably means that the Waterford players carry none of the niggly doubts in the back of their heads that they might have playing against Kilkenny or Tipp. Deep down, they fully believe that they can beat Galway and that could make all the difference in a tight finish. I see it as a real 50-50 battle.

Gaillimh_Abu (Galway) - Posts: 996 - 17/08/2017 20:24:08    2034880

Replying To Laois76:  "That's true re. Dublin.

Still i think it's a fair stat to win 10 out of 10 championship games against a strong hurling county like Galway. 4 of the 10 since 1998."
That means that 6 of the 10 wins occurred pre 1975 when Galway hurling was as weak (if not weaker) than present day Laois.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1903 - 17/08/2017 20:40:10    2034883

Replying To Gaillimh_Abu:  "
Replying To Laois76:  "Why can't the post below be posted mods? It's non controversial..

See below..

I remember the last meeting in 2011. Waterford had just conceded 7 goals to Tipp in the Munster final 2 weeks previously whereas we had hammered Clare and Cork in the qualifiers. Most people expected a comfortable Galway victory. I pointed out that we had never beaten them in the championship and was told that was completely irrelevant. Waterford ended up beating us by 10 points. Of course, logically, the prior record between the counties should have no bearing on next month's final. However, it probably means that the Waterford players carry none of the niggly doubts in the back of their heads that they might have playing against Kilkenny or Tipp. Deep down, they fully believe that they can beat Galway and that could make all the difference in a tight finish. I see it as a real 50-50 battle."
Yes Galimh. That's what i'm hitting at. None of the doubts they'd have playing Tipp in an all-ire final. And that's important when players feel something's win able.

For what it's worth i think ye'll do it this time. Just Tony Keady passing etc. So much emotion to do the job. Galway have 3 all-ireland appearances since 2012 with the drawn game that year too.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 17/08/2017 20:46:30    2034888

Replying To PoolSturgeon:  "That means that 6 of the 10 wins occurred pre 1975 when Galway hurling was as weak (if not weaker) than present day Laois."
Ye gave Cork hell of it in 1954. Not that weak. Laois were ok then, a few Leinsters and all-ire appearance in 1949.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 17/08/2017 20:55:34    2034894

Replying To Laois76:  "Ye gave Cork hell of it in 1954. Not that weak. Laois were ok then, a few Leinsters and all-ire appearance in 1949."
We had a little bit of quality in the 50's alright. Then we had the "lost" decade of the 60's when we won just one game in the Munster championship. In the early 70's, as a child I remember attending an exciting Galway vs Kildare hurling game which came down to the wire and we just won by a point or two , and of course we lost to London hurlers in an All Ireland quarter final in 1972 (I think). Up to a couple of years ago we had never beaten Wexford in a championship match and before 1987 I don't think we had ever beat Tipp in a championship match.

My point is that that our record against Waterford doesn't mean a thing. Maybe Waterford will draw comfort and a degree of (false) confidence from it but I can tell you from a Galway point of view it is completely irrelevant and is no burden to us whatsoever.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1903 - 17/08/2017 21:37:25    2034903

Replying To PoolSturgeon:  "We had a little bit of quality in the 50's alright. Then we had the "lost" decade of the 60's when we won just one game in the Munster championship. In the early 70's, as a child I remember attending an exciting Galway vs Kildare hurling game which came down to the wire and we just won by a point or two , and of course we lost to London hurlers in an All Ireland quarter final in 1972 (I think). Up to a couple of years ago we had never beaten Wexford in a championship match and before 1987 I don't think we had ever beat Tipp in a championship match.

My point is that that our record against Waterford doesn't mean a thing. Maybe Waterford will draw comfort and a degree of (false) confidence from it but I can tell you from a Galway point of view it is completely irrelevant and is no burden to us whatsoever."
Ah yeah. Fair enough. Many ways of looking at it. I had forgotten about being in Munster in the 60s.

As i said earlier i think ye'll get over the line this time for more logical reasons.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 17/08/2017 21:40:24    2034904

Tennis player Vitas Gerulaitis lost to Jimmy Connors 16 times in a row.He beat Connors in the 17th meeting.Gerulaitis said to the media-Let that be a lesson to you all.Nobody beats Vitas Gerulaitis 17 times in a row.Galway to win on September 3.Nobody beats them 11 times in a row,!

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2160 - 17/08/2017 21:47:38    2034912

Replying To endgame:  "Tennis player Vitas Gerulaitis lost to Jimmy Connors 16 times in a row.He beat Connors in the 17th meeting.Gerulaitis said to the media-Let that be a lesson to you all.Nobody beats Vitas Gerulaitis 17 times in a row.Galway to win on September 3.Nobody beats them 11 times in a row,!"
I hope you are right rossie thanks for your support it would be lovely to be walking over the bridge in athlone on Monday the 4th of September.Its long overdue.

bud14 (Galway) - Posts: 296 - 17/08/2017 22:14:33    2034927

Replying To endgame:  "Tennis player Vitas Gerulaitis lost to Jimmy Connors 16 times in a row.He beat Connors in the 17th meeting.Gerulaitis said to the media-Let that be a lesson to you all.Nobody beats Vitas Gerulaitis 17 times in a row.Galway to win on September 3.Nobody beats them 11 times in a row,!"
I wonder where Vitas Gerulaitis is today? Comedian?!

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 18/08/2017 17:23:44    2035190

Poor Vitas Gerulaitis, he died in 1994 aged 40 from Carbon Monoxide poisoning... Just had to google it.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 18/08/2017 17:25:35    2035191

Replying To Gaillimh_Abu:  "

See below..

I remember the last meeting in 2011. Waterford had just conceded 7 goals to Tipp in the Munster final 2 weeks previously whereas we had hammered Clare and Cork in the qualifiers. Most people expected a comfortable Galway victory. I pointed out that we had never beaten them in the championship and was told that was completely irrelevant. Waterford ended up beating us by 10 points. Of course, logically, the prior record between the counties should have no bearing on next month's final. However, it probably means that the Waterford players carry none of the niggly doubts in the back of their heads that they might have playing against Kilkenny or Tipp. Deep down, they fully believe that they can beat Galway and that could make all the difference in a tight finish. I see it as a real 50-50 battle."
You remember '11, but do you remember how much AC regime improved Galway in '12, and how he revamped the team in '14, a mere 12 months after realising a lot of the '13 bunch were done. Did a heck of a job AC, and Donoghue regime has carried it onwards and upwards. By comparison, Mc's teams 2009-2011 were at nothing, and going nowhere, as he himself acknowledged at departure.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3418 - 18/08/2017 18:28:12    2035206

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "
Replying To Gaillimh_Abu:  "[quote=Laois76:  "Why can't the post below be posted mods? It's non controversial..

See below..

You remember '11, but do you remember how much AC regime improved Galway in '12, and how he revamped the team in '14, a mere 12 months after realising a lot of the '13 bunch were done. Did a heck of a job AC, and Donoghue regime has carried it onwards and upwards. By comparison, Mc's teams 2009-2011 were at nothing, and going nowhere, as he himself acknowledged at departure."]True. No denying the improvement from 2012 under Cunningham, bar 2013.

While the 2012 and 2015 all-ireland defeats were hard to take for Galway in the long run exposure to the Cat's methods have steeled Galway i think. Much like Tippin 2010 and 2016 learnt from previous losses to KK.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 18/08/2017 19:53:31    2035236