Austin Gleeson, one of the greatest but what was he at?

Austin Gleeson infuriated me as a neutral today. He can do things possibly no ever hurler i've seen could. But he puts his place in the all-ireland final in jeopardy with an act of stupidity. And make no mistake about it, it was stupidity.

I hope because he was 'facing away' like Tuohy and it wasn't in the ref's report he'll get off with it. If i was Derek McGrath i'd kill him in the dressing room. What a talent to have and do undo it for absolutely nothing.

KK1926 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 175 - 13/08/2017 22:25:45    2032968

Replying To KK1926:  "Austin Gleeson infuriated me as a neutral today. He can do things possibly no ever hurler i've seen could. But he puts his place in the all-ireland final in jeopardy with an act of stupidity. And make no mistake about it, it was stupidity.

I hope because he was 'facing away' like Tuohy and it wasn't in the ref's report he'll get off with it. If i was Derek McGrath i'd kill him in the dressing room. What a talent to have and do undo it for absolutely nothing."
Diarmuid Connolly-esque in that he is clearly a ridiculously talented player but gets himself caught up a high profile incident out of pure, brain dead stupidity. Something sad about a flawed genius. It just doesn't add up.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 14/08/2017 12:03:40    2033164

What was he thinking? Or more accurately was he thinking at all? Did he leave his brain in the dressing room ?
For the past 3 weeks all the talk has been about De Burca's ban and the offence of interference with the helmet in particular the face guard .
The he goes and does that!
You would have to ask yourself what was the linesman looking at?
Would Cork now be preparing for the final if the linesman or ref did their jobs?
Probably.

Barnowl94 (Galway) - Posts: 3150 - 14/08/2017 12:16:29    2033181

Replying To Barnowl94:  "What was he thinking? Or more accurately was he thinking at all? Did he leave his brain in the dressing room ?
For the past 3 weeks all the talk has been about De Burca's ban and the offence of interference with the helmet in particular the face guard .
Would Cork now be preparing for the final if the linesman or ref did their jobs?
Probably."
Great post Barnowl.

If he was sent off he would have probably lost his team a place in the All Ireland final.

All great players are team players, they don't put their team at risk of loss through silly actions. Like Joe Canning.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 14/08/2017 13:10:23    2033212

Replying To Barnowl94:  "What was he thinking? Or more accurately was he thinking at all? Did he leave his brain in the dressing room ?
Probably."
Great post Barnowl.

If he was sent off he would have probably lost his team a place in the All Ireland final.

All great players are team players, they don't put their team at risk of loss through silly actions.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 14/08/2017 13:10:38    2033214

Incredible game by A Gleeson yesterday and his goal will surely be goal of the year unless we have a corker in the final.... My comment on this whole helmet thing is that it happened in a fraction of a second . To me that is crucial in judging what should happen next. Admittedly the camera When viewed in slow motion shows the Cork players helmet being grabbed and pulled off by Gleeson. When viewed in normal time it looks innocuous enough. So.... The GAA has a problem! What to do next? Will they investigate it and if they do how will they judge it. Will they see it as an intentional act? If so- a suspension looks likely. If they see it as an accidental part of the contact between two players intent on getting to the ball then I think he will not face a suspension. Then we have to ask will they take into consideration the fact that Waterford are so rarely in an All Ireland. Will they take into consideration the fact that Gleeson has the ability to thrill spectators lien so few others ?

All of us will have opinions but it's the GAA top brass who now have the headache! Similarly with the other 2 sending offs. Hard to see what if anything Patrick Horgan did to be sent off. Conor Gleeson will have to answer the strike/ tap he made across the shins of Horgan...

If the GAA are to deal with Austin Gleeson and his helmet situation, then what about the Cork man who struck the Waterford player with the butt of the Hurley after the incident with Horgan and Conor Gleeson? Should he be investigated to too ?

Interesting times. There is also pressure on the GAA to deal with the the incidents quickly after the De Burca situation.

carlowman (Carlow) - Posts: 1820 - 14/08/2017 13:17:36    2033219

No doubting Austin's ability in the slightest but he seems to still be getting himself involved with niggly unneccessary carry on like this .

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1898 - 14/08/2017 13:22:15    2033224

It's his selfishness on the ball that I'd be more worried about.

Pot shots from 100 yards drifting harmlessly wide a few times a game.

Even his goal yesterday was an example of getting away with doing the wrong thing. The very best players slip that pass out to Brick every time. Fair play to him for taking on the backs and scoring but he won't score every time especially against better defences.

He's still young and will learn and improve imo.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13704 - 14/08/2017 13:24:48    2033225

Replying To carlowman:  "Incredible game by A Gleeson yesterday and his goal will surely be goal of the year unless we have a corker in the final.... My comment on this whole helmet thing is that it happened in a fraction of a second . To me that is crucial in judging what should happen next. Admittedly the camera When viewed in slow motion shows the Cork players helmet being grabbed and pulled off by Gleeson. When viewed in normal time it looks innocuous enough. So.... The GAA has a problem! What to do next? Will they investigate it and if they do how will they judge it. Will they see it as an intentional act? If so- a suspension looks likely. If they see it as an accidental part of the contact between two players intent on getting to the ball then I think he will not face a suspension. Then we have to ask will they take into consideration the fact that Waterford are so rarely in an All Ireland. Will they take into consideration the fact that Gleeson has the ability to thrill spectators lien so few others ?

All of us will have opinions but it's the GAA top brass who now have the headache! Similarly with the other 2 sending offs. Hard to see what if anything Patrick Horgan did to be sent off. Conor Gleeson will have to answer the strike/ tap he made across the shins of Horgan...

If the GAA are to deal with Austin Gleeson and his helmet situation, then what about the Cork man who struck the Waterford player with the butt of the Hurley after the incident with Horgan and Conor Gleeson? Should he be investigated to too ?

Interesting times. There is also pressure on the GAA to deal with the the incidents quickly after the De Burca situation."
A game is 70 + mins. Incredible 15-20 mins the same as Canning. Wasn't to be seen for the rest of it. Duno how you could say he had an incredible game. Moran, Walsh, Barron, Fives and Horgan had incredible games

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 14/08/2017 13:55:14    2033245

He has fantastic ability but he's a very selfish player.I heard a fella saying he wouldn't "pass a hand grenade!.
Would he have scored that goal against a more seasoned defence? I think not, he would have been taken out of it before he got to the 21.
Remember the Tipp goalie on Conor Cooney?

Condorman (Dublin) - Posts: 983 - 14/08/2017 16:38:14    2033345

I was just thinking yesterday when watching the game what made KK so great was their total discipline. Tough yes. Cynical if necessary. But almost never remember them getting stupid yellow or red cards in front of the referee.

Malonemagic (Laois) - Posts: 765 - 14/08/2017 16:49:55    2033352

It is infuriating I'd imagine for managers to see that kind of stupid unnecessary act that could , on another day if officials carried out the rule to the letter of the law , have his side down a man and possibly out of the championship.
The thing about it though is , would you leave him out of your side knowing these faults ?
Of course not, but such is the lot of a manager.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 14/08/2017 17:05:22    2033361

He was muck before the sending off. Hit four wides from his usual hail mary pot shots. Christopher Joyce losing possession for the second goal was the losing of the game. Both Gleesons have to be banned for the final or else the whole game is in disrepute.

HurlingSnob (Dublin) - Posts: 220 - 14/08/2017 17:30:42    2033374

there is always a but, but sure he's a legend.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4895 - 14/08/2017 17:55:12    2033386

Replying To arock:  "there is always a but, but sure he's a legend."
A 'legend'.

I'm afraid that word has lost all meaning over the last 10 years or so, everyone is a 'legind' from the local fella propping up the bar stool to the 20 stone full forward who scored a goal in the Junior C county final.

When i was in National School a legend was a tale of epic proportions or a half God/man of the same. Some of the deeds performed were true, others mythologised. Then you had a real legendary figure or tale. Legends in sport are Stanley Matthews, Pele, Christy Ring, Nicky Rackard, Mick O'Connell, Jesse Owens and the like. Not a 22 year old talented hurler.

KK1926 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 175 - 14/08/2017 20:13:41    2033424

Replying To KK1926:  "A 'legend'.

I'm afraid that word has lost all meaning over the last 10 years or so, everyone is a 'legind' from the local fella propping up the bar stool to the 20 stone full forward who scored a goal in the Junior C county final.

When i was in National School a legend was a tale of epic proportions or a half God/man of the same. Some of the deeds performed were true, others mythologised. Then you had a real legendary figure or tale. Legends in sport are Stanley Matthews, Pele, Christy Ring, Nicky Rackard, Mick O'Connell, Jesse Owens and the like. Not a 22 year old talented hurler."
I agree 100%. A talented hurler full of potential but has a lot of harrowing to do. A "legend" is not much benefit to his team if he's sitting on the side-line suspended and unfortunately for Derek McGrath and his team its 99.9% certain that's where Austin will be come the first Sunday of next month. One has to feel for the Waterford supportersalso but to be fair all is not lost and they are still only 70 minutes away from the holy grail.

lochgarmanabu (Wexford) - Posts: 1020 - 14/08/2017 20:56:01    2033435

Replying To lochgarmanabu:  "I agree 100%. A talented hurler full of potential but has a lot of harrowing to do. A "legend" is not much benefit to his team if he's sitting on the side-line suspended and unfortunately for Derek McGrath and his team its 99.9% certain that's where Austin will be come the first Sunday of next month. One has to feel for the Waterford supportersalso but to be fair all is not lost and they are still only 70 minutes away from the holy grail."
you must be serious craic on a night out

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 14/08/2017 21:48:51    2033449

Replying To waynoI:  "you must be serious craic on a night out"
Loch Gorman could be great craic on a night out!

But the thread is about Austin Gleeson's talent being spoiled by petulance. If he's banned for an all-ireland final the chances are a lot of Waterford people will be having no craic when out on the first Sunday night in September. His absence would be a serious blow to Waterford and for what? So he could take Meade's helmet off? At least the oft maligned Diarmuid Connolly is usually provoked.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 14/08/2017 22:17:32    2033455

the Kilkenny lads must be doing some laughing at this thread. A lad who's only a couple of seasons into his career being put forward as one of the greatest even though he's achieved no major honours. Come on lads. He wasn't even Waterford's second best player yesterday. What are yee smoking?

Pookie_Monster (Galway) - Posts: 32 - 14/08/2017 22:43:31    2033465

As a Waterford supporter I would say Austin is good player with exception skills. A great player is someone who always does things in the best interest of their team. The likes of Barron, Brick, Moran, DeBurca, Fives and others would be ahead of him on that call.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2655 - 14/08/2017 23:26:17    2033477