Giant Flags on Hill16

I have to say I am with my Dublin Gaels on this one....absolute madness to ban big flags due to a fire hazard. Has there ever been a fire in Croke Park due to a flag catching fire? I know some Mayo fans have brought a giant flag to games in the past and this year without any issue. So will county jerseys be the next thing banned? Croke Park Management are taking Croke Park down a road so far away from the ethos of the GAA.

From Castlebar to Pearce Stadium, Ennis and Thurles fans can bring giant flags, bottle caps, and meet their heroes on the field after. Long may it last but its a sad sight in corporate land Croke Park.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 26/07/2017 09:46:00    2023669

Flags & items showing county colours are all part of the GAA, Dublin always bring life to the games.

It would be sad to see them disappear.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 26/07/2017 09:58:21    2023676

they have giant flags for munster games that go over the heads and there aint a problem with that

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 26/07/2017 10:03:22    2023684

From Castlebar to Pearce Stadium, Ennis and Thurles fans can bring giant flags, bottle caps, and meet their heroes on the field after. Long may it last but its a sad sight in corporate land Croke Park.
yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts:8453 - 26/07/2017 09:46:00 2023669

absolutely agree-

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 26/07/2017 10:04:40    2023685

if you want to see how much the Hill has changed in a few years due to bloody regulations, look at this
http://ladiesgaelic.ie/news/goodbye-to-hill-16/" target="_blank" rel="nofollow">http://ladiesgaelic.ie/news/goodbye-to-hill-16/

Thats the Hill I remember as a teenager, best days of my life up there
This is the sanitised Hill these days

http://ladiesgaelic.ie/news/goodbye-to-hill-16/" target="_blank" rel="nofollow">http://ladiesgaelic.ie/news/goodbye-to-hill-16/

Still good, but not even in the same parish when it comes to craic and atmosphere anymore

And the thing is, go back to the 70's. it was better than the 90's I am told!!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 26/07/2017 10:23:02    2023697

Yew tree why didnt ye bring the big Mayo flay to Pearse stadium after talking about it for weeks? I know there was some people who took issue with it.
Im all for colour etc but in times of fans been seated /standing together i do believe that one county bringing a 50 ft flag to a game will bring its own issues.. Just my thought..

Belclare1 (Galway) - Posts: 1626 - 26/07/2017 10:29:47    2023702

Replying To janesboro:  "From Castlebar to Pearce Stadium, Ennis and Thurles fans can bring giant flags, bottle caps, and meet their heroes on the field after. Long may it last but its a sad sight in corporate land Croke Park.
yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts:8453 - 26/07/2017 09:46:00 2023669

absolutely agree-"
Things don't change over night they are slow and creep up on you , then one day you look at reeling in the years and certain things stare you right in the face , then you remember the aiuld crack , this is madness but some jumped up more than me jobs worth is feeling very happy with himself today.

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 26/07/2017 10:31:34    2023703

correction
this is 2017

https://www.google.ie/search?q=dubs+on+hill+16+2017&client=firefox-b&source=lnms&tbm=isch&sa=X&ved=0ahUKEwi-6Oyw0qbVAhVJJFAKHToSC7QQ_AUICigB&biw=1680&bih=941#imgrc=XsFKS-HpHTrpWM:

u get the point!!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 26/07/2017 10:33:47    2023706

Another triumph of health and safety over common sense. Fire hazard FFS you could say that about almost any fabric. Maybe that's the next step, all clothes are a fire hazard so Hill 16 will now be a nudist colony.

MedwayIrish (Wexford) - Posts: 2324 - 26/07/2017 10:38:05    2023710

Replying To Belclare1:  "Yew tree why didnt ye bring the big Mayo flay to Pearse stadium after talking about it for weeks? I know there was some people who took issue with it.
Im all for colour etc but in times of fans been seated /standing together i do believe that one county bringing a 50 ft flag to a game will bring its own issues.. Just my thought.."
It was on the terrace in Galway that day but they couldn't unwind it as the wind was too strong. It did make an appearance in Ennis and there was great craic with the Clare fans. In 2013 there was no major issue on the hill with Mayo and Dublin fans practically 50/50...you will always have the odd skirmish.

I remember a few Mayo fans unveiling a big Mayo flag on Hill 16 moments after we beat Dublin in the 2012 semi and the Dubs took it in good spirits going up wishing the lads well for the final.

I seen some Galway fans had an issue with the possibility of a giant Mayo flag alright before the Connacht semi final....and calling that particular supporters group Ultras and referring them to soccer fans when nothing further could have been from the truth.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 26/07/2017 10:49:58    2023722

Not only that but my lid was taken off my water on the Hill at the Leinster final. My wife and one of my kids lids were left on in the Cusack. Go figure!

DannyMcA (Dublin) - Posts: 260 - 26/07/2017 10:56:32    2023728

Replying To yew_tree:  "It was on the terrace in Galway that day but they couldn't unwind it as the wind was too strong. It did make an appearance in Ennis and there was great craic with the Clare fans. In 2013 there was no major issue on the hill with Mayo and Dublin fans practically 50/50...you will always have the odd skirmish.

I remember a few Mayo fans unveiling a big Mayo flag on Hill 16 moments after we beat Dublin in the 2012 semi and the Dubs took it in good spirits going up wishing the lads well for the final.

I seen some Galway fans had an issue with the possibility of a giant Mayo flag alright before the Connacht semi final....and calling that particular supporters group Ultras and referring them to soccer fans when nothing further could have been from the truth."
Love the way some GAA people think it's the ultimate insult to refer to someone as a soccer fan. Like it's something to be ashamed of.

MedwayIrish (Wexford) - Posts: 2324 - 26/07/2017 11:08:32    2023734

Replying To yew_tree:  "I have to say I am with my Dublin Gaels on this one....absolute madness to ban big flags due to a fire hazard. Has there ever been a fire in Croke Park due to a flag catching fire? I know some Mayo fans have brought a giant flag to games in the past and this year without any issue. So will county jerseys be the next thing banned? Croke Park Management are taking Croke Park down a road so far away from the ethos of the GAA.

From Castlebar to Pearce Stadium, Ennis and Thurles fans can bring giant flags, bottle caps, and meet their heroes on the field after. Long may it last but its a sad sight in corporate land Croke Park."
next will be no food or drink may be consumed in the stadium unless purchased inside at over inflated prices. To include water without a lid, hang sangwishes, fruit, choc bars, fizzy drinks again with no lid, belongings to be carried in a small clear bag and probably a slew of stewards searching you for contraband,

bulmccabe (Tyrone) - Posts: 361 - 26/07/2017 11:15:19    2023739

Replying To yew_tree:  "I have to say I am with my Dublin Gaels on this one....absolute madness to ban big flags due to a fire hazard. Has there ever been a fire in Croke Park due to a flag catching fire? I know some Mayo fans have brought a giant flag to games in the past and this year without any issue. So will county jerseys be the next thing banned? Croke Park Management are taking Croke Park down a road so far away from the ethos of the GAA.

From Castlebar to Pearce Stadium, Ennis and Thurles fans can bring giant flags, bottle caps, and meet their heroes on the field after. Long may it last but its a sad sight in corporate land Croke Park."
To be fair to croke part management on this particular issue, I understand it is Dublin County Council who have made this call.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5010 - 26/07/2017 11:31:40    2023754

Replying To MedwayIrish:  "Love the way some GAA people think it's the ultimate insult to refer to someone as a soccer fan. Like it's something to be ashamed of."
First big flag I ever saw was Tipp Hurling fans

Scarabin (Dublin) - Posts: 116 - 26/07/2017 11:44:27    2023764

Love the way some GAA people think it's the ultimate insult to refer to someone as a soccer fan. Like it's something to be ashamed of.

MedwayIrish (Wexford) - Posts:2036 - 26/07/2017 11:08:32

Its usually directed at the Dubs too! It's a not so subtle "you're not a fíor Ghaeil like us pure bloods" dig most of the time.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13705 - 26/07/2017 12:02:46    2023775

Replying To MesAmis:  "Love the way some GAA people think it's the ultimate insult to refer to someone as a soccer fan. Like it's something to be ashamed of.

MedwayIrish (Wexford) - Posts:2036 - 26/07/2017 11:08:32

Its usually directed at the Dubs too! It's a not so subtle "you're not a fíor Ghaeil like us pure bloods" dig most of the time."
I see we've both got the big red thumbs down from one poster/stalker who clearly thinks liking soccer IS something to be ashamed of! I think his carer told him to log off and eat his lunch.....

Of course, chanting is considered a little too soccer, as well, except guess what, there was no such thing as chanting at soccer stadia either until someone thought to change things!

MedwayIrish (Wexford) - Posts: 2324 - 26/07/2017 12:23:12    2023790

Only an absolute a**hole would bring a flag that size to a match. Have some consideration for people who want to watch the match

890202 (Wexford) - Posts: 1278 - 26/07/2017 12:25:17    2023791

Replying To 890202:  "Only an absolute a**hole would bring a flag that size to a match. Have some consideration for people who want to watch the match"
In fairness I'd imagine the idea would be to unfurl it prior to the throw in and possibly again at half time, otherwise it'd go down like the proverbial lead balloon.

MedwayIrish (Wexford) - Posts: 2324 - 26/07/2017 12:34:44    2023801

Some fans treat a game like their sitting room....they want to sit in silence (as is their right) but then luck with displeasing eyes at the fan near them going mad. Your there to support, make noise and create an atmosphere. Big flags are not there to block views and are never unleashed during the game.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 26/07/2017 12:45:26    2023812