Anyone but Dublin or Kerry

Reading Marc O'Se's article in the paper this morning and you would wonder why Kerry are even entered into the championship. The tone and wording of his article would suggest they will be lucky to get past Galway in the Qf and if they were to play the Dubs, well that would be a hiding on to nothing for them.

I log on to Hoganstand, expecting to see numerous posters agree with him but instead, I am greeted with a thread proclaiming that Kerry will be All Ireland champions. The only other post on the thread is from a Dub who agrees with him and even went as far as to say that he expects Tyrone to be playing Kerry in the All Ireland final.

Based on the postings and writings of Dubs and Kerry men I truly hope that their predictions come to light. I would love to see neither of these sides make the All Ireland final even though they are the two strongest teams in the country.

Everyone likes a bit of humility from others but for crying out loud there is humility and then there is being patronising. So please Dubs and Kerry posters stop pretending you are going nowhere in a hurry.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 23/07/2017 12:02:23    2021604

Replying To gotmilk:  "Reading Marc O'Se's article in the paper this morning and you would wonder why Kerry are even entered into the championship. The tone and wording of his article would suggest they will be lucky to get past Galway in the Qf and if they were to play the Dubs, well that would be a hiding on to nothing for them.

I log on to Hoganstand, expecting to see numerous posters agree with him but instead, I am greeted with a thread proclaiming that Kerry will be All Ireland champions. The only other post on the thread is from a Dub who agrees with him and even went as far as to say that he expects Tyrone to be playing Kerry in the All Ireland final.

Based on the postings and writings of Dubs and Kerry men I truly hope that their predictions come to light. I would love to see neither of these sides make the All Ireland final even though they are the two strongest teams in the country.

Everyone likes a bit of humility from others but for crying out loud there is humility and then there is being patronising. So please Dubs and Kerry posters stop pretending you are going nowhere in a hurry."
My thread is completely light hearted.............

why so serious dude ?

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 23/07/2017 12:09:20    2021608

Replying To gotmilk:  "Reading Marc O'Se's article in the paper this morning and you would wonder why Kerry are even entered into the championship. The tone and wording of his article would suggest they will be lucky to get past Galway in the Qf and if they were to play the Dubs, well that would be a hiding on to nothing for them.

Everyone likes a bit of humility from others but for crying out loud there is humility and then there is being patronising. So please Dubs and Kerry posters stop pretending you are going nowhere in a hurry."
Meow, it's sport man anything can happen...

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 23/07/2017 12:16:53    2021617

Very harsh on Kildare, Armagh, Galway, Tyrone, Mayo, Monaghan, Down and Roscommon here.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 23/07/2017 12:36:37    2021634

Replying To waynoI:  "My thread is completely light hearted.............

why so serious dude ?"
Straw that broke the camels back man. Dubs and Kerry posters on here going on as if they don't stand a chance, i'm sick to my teeth of it.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 23/07/2017 13:07:19    2021659

Replying To gotmilk:  "Straw that broke the camels back man. Dubs and Kerry posters on here going on as if they don't stand a chance, i'm sick to my teeth of it."
It's called cute hoorism! Most of the dubs are first or second generation culchies although they'd never admit it!

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1785 - 23/07/2017 13:35:58    2021682

An O'Se being dishonest in the media..

Never!

In all fairness it would be good to see another team win and really best of luck to all.. but I'd like it to be a provincial champion if possible

Always better to have a true ALL Ireland champ

Not this 3/4 lark

C'mon the Rossies... great respect for what McStay had done there and back in 2013/2013 I think it was.. when Dublin beat Roscommon in the U21 final.. I was at the game and the atmosphere generated by the Roscommon fans was brilliant. Huge support. So glad to see a fair few of that team win a senior Connacht title recently

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 23/07/2017 13:37:58    2021683

That Kerry win the All Ireland thread was clearly light-hearted nonsense

Believe me when I say, we are very worried about Galway and their swashbuckling forward line next Sunday

There is never more than a kick of a ball when we play the Tir Chonaill Men yet Galway absolutely wiped them off the pitch and if we give up the goal chances like we did in the Cork game there will be 3 or 4 goals in the Conceded Column which will be very hard to overcome

We always have had great respect for Galway Football and the array of natural Footballers they produce and this team is loaded with them

Galantis (USA) - Posts: 55 - 23/07/2017 13:39:26    2021687

If Tyrone don't win then I would be happy to see a final like 1998 Kildare v Galway. Two teams who had not won in quite a while produced a very good game of football and the atmosphere from both sets of supportes was brilliant.

Byanthon (Tyrone) - Posts: 1780 - 23/07/2017 13:45:05    2021694

Replying To baire:  "It's called cute hoorism! Most of the dubs are first or second generation culchies although they'd never admit it!"
Most GAA playing Dubs are, yes. The vast majority in fact.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5010 - 23/07/2017 14:02:13    2021706

Replying To gotmilk:  "Straw that broke the camels back man. Dubs and Kerry posters on here going on as if they don't stand a chance, i'm sick to my teeth of it."
Im not one of those fans. I hate cute hoorism to be honest with ye..i expect dublin and kerry to be in the final this year for the simple reason that there the best 2 teams in ireland..tyrone a very close 3rd in my book..tyrone will make life hard for dublin in a semi final' but the dubs will prevail.then meet kerry in the final and claim the 3 in a row .

GGdub (Dublin) - Posts: 260 - 23/07/2017 14:19:07    2021718

Replying To baire:  "It's called cute hoorism! Most of the dubs are first or second generation culchies although they'd never admit it!"
pure rubbish .

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 23/07/2017 21:52:14    2022082

You did say ONE Dublin poster now when did one sandwich ever make a picnic! I beiieve he was having a laugh as well!!

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4895 - 23/07/2017 22:06:52    2022095

Replying To Byanthon:  "If Tyrone don't win then I would be happy to see a final like 1998 Kildare v Galway. Two teams who had not won in quite a while produced a very good game of football and the atmosphere from both sets of supportes was brilliant."
I would be delighted with a Kildare v Galway final again this year too! A different result to last time though ;)

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 23/07/2017 22:17:25    2022102

Replying To superbluedub:  "pure rubbish ."
At least it's pure, unlike the rubbish from you!

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1785 - 23/07/2017 22:22:27    2022105

its worrying when people posting on an internet forum resort to playing things down, honestly like, maybe it makes them feel more apart of things but the reality is much different,...im sure most neutrals want a winner outside us and kerry but its unlikely, tyrone are going to be hard beaten but the demolition of donegal isnt that impressive at all in hindsight

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 23/07/2017 23:26:21    2022162

Replying To baire:  "At least it's pure, unlike the rubbish from you!"
how old are you ? cop on to yourself .

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 24/07/2017 00:04:24    2022185

Re; "Based on the postings and writings of Dubs and Kerry men I truly hope that their predictions come to light"

Surely you don't use a few posters on an HS forum to generalise about thousands and thousands of supporters? I get not wanting Dublin or Kerry to win if you are not from those counties but yer reason here is a bit mad. Dub fans for years have been accused of being too cocky and now we are apparently showing too much humility or that cute hoor stuff. Most Dub fans I know try call it as it is. Most of us predicted we'd win over Kildare , would call it as a Dublin to win in the QF . Rightly enough will be apprehensive from SF onwards but so is everyone.

poguemahone (Dublin) - Posts: 365 - 24/07/2017 09:38:48    2022267

Yeah I'd love a final of say Galway v Tyrone or mayo v Tyrone/Kildare. Hard to see it happening but I'm sick to death of kerry and Dublin winning so much. Makes the championship so boring.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 24/07/2017 09:58:11    2022294

Replying To superbluedub:  "how old are you ? cop on to yourself ."
I stand by my assertion, most of the Dublin players in both hurling and football have country roots. Some, not many, acknowledge it, others seem to be embarrassed by it. There would be no GAA in Dublin without its country roots. That's not rubbish, it's a fact. Accept it and get rid of your prejudice. The big GAA clubs in Dublin were started by country people, Vincents, Kilmacud etc. Look at their surnames, in the football for example, Connolly, Costello, Sullivan, McMahon, McCarthy, Fenton, Flynn, Mannion and others. If we could get a few of those Galway names on our team we'd be delighted to acknowledge the Dublin connection! Cop on!

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1785 - 24/07/2017 10:35:00    2022328