U17 Leinster final

This sat eve Meath take on Dublin in the Leinster final. Meath have already beat dubs once, but that will count for little in Drogheda. Meath also dispatched Kildare while dubs overcame laois. Really looking forward to this game. Also best of luck to the meath players in Gerry Reilly final.
And there are those who say Meath don't have good underage teams.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 21/07/2017 09:50:33    2020397

Replying To royaldunne:  "This sat eve Meath take on Dublin in the Leinster final. Meath have already beat dubs once, but that will count for little in Drogheda. Meath also dispatched Kildare while dubs overcame laois. Really looking forward to this game. Also best of luck to the meath players in Gerry Reilly final.
And there are those who say Meath don't have good underage teams."
Looking forward to this as well mate, we are doing very well this year in the under age between the U21s and minors.

This group won by a healthy score the last day out, ill be watching this one with interest

Best of luck.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4443 - 21/07/2017 10:33:29    2020431

Replying To royaldunne:  "This sat eve Meath take on Dublin in the Leinster final. Meath have already beat dubs once, but that will count for little in Drogheda. Meath also dispatched Kildare while dubs overcame laois. Really looking forward to this game. Also best of luck to the meath players in Gerry Reilly final.
And there are those who say Meath don't have good underage teams."
Best of luck to all, but surely the proof will be them actually winning?

LongfordSham (Longford) - Posts: 106 - 21/07/2017 10:47:44    2020439

Replying To LongfordSham:  "Best of luck to all, but surely the proof will be them actually winning?"
so if meath lose it means they are useless at underage still?

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 21/07/2017 10:51:43    2020440

Replying To TheUsername:  "Looking forward to this as well mate, we are doing very well this year in the under age between the U21s and minors.

This group won by a healthy score the last day out, ill be watching this one with interest

Best of luck."
Some quality players on both sides. We often give out about gaa HQ but on this one they got it right.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 21/07/2017 11:38:53    2020460

Replying To ziggy32001:  "so if meath lose it means they are useless at underage still?"
Not Useless, but sure who remembers teams, underage especially, if they lose finals? You cant exactly say ' (X) has great underage teams, remember how they lost that final this year?' And im not slagging, being from Longford there have been plenty of teams forgotten about! Meath football needs to be challenging and winning titles as much as possible to keep Leinster competitive, its too big a county and footballing heritage not to!

LongfordSham (Longford) - Posts: 106 - 21/07/2017 11:46:54    2020472

Great win for Meath, delighted to see us win this championship particularly having beaten Kildare and Dublin twice to win out, a lot of hard work going on in Meath and hopefully this is the start of it bearing fruit.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 22/07/2017 16:35:15    2020976

Replying To Richieq:  "Great win for Meath, delighted to see us win this championship particularly having beaten Kildare and Dublin twice to win out, a lot of hard work going on in Meath and hopefully this is the start of it bearing fruit."
3 times i seen them play now and there are some outstanding players on this squad.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 22/07/2017 20:11:43    2021087

Well done to Meath

Good win

Disappointing for Dublin but we can't really complain

Minors and U21 Leinster champs

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20598 - 22/07/2017 20:19:33    2021097

Congrats to Meath, good win for the Royals.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4443 - 22/07/2017 21:37:50    2021187

Replying To Richieq:  "Great win for Meath, delighted to see us win this championship particularly having beaten Kildare and Dublin twice to win out, a lot of hard work going on in Meath and hopefully this is the start of it bearing fruit."
Dear god that was brilliant, first off hard luck to Dublin, some fine young players on that team to come through.
But I'm sure yous will allow us this one :)
For our young cubs, you did brilliant, first time I seen them playing this year , great attitude and skills.
Laat point this competition hasn't got the recognition it deserves.
Again hard luck to dubs youngster's.
And thank you for a great game.
Hone the royal

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 22/07/2017 21:44:32    2021200

Brilliant game of Football

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1452 - 22/07/2017 22:03:26    2021218

Congrats on a well deserved title, ye haven't been far away at minor the last couple of years so well done. Is it semi finals now or quarters?

lillyboy (Kildare) - Posts: 429 - 22/07/2017 23:10:03    2021299

Well done to Meath on your Leinster final win.Fully deserved. Saw them against Kildare. Some excellent footballers in the side. I'd say royaldunne's car was on auto pilot all the way back to Westmeath!

lilywhite1 (Kildare) - Posts: 2986 - 22/07/2017 23:16:15    2021312

Replying To lillyboy:  "Congrats on a well deserved title, ye haven't been far away at minor the last couple of years so well done. Is it semi finals now or quarters?"
Tyrone in the semi, Kerry vs Roscommon in the other

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1452 - 22/07/2017 23:30:58    2021326

Replying To lilywhite1:  "Well done to Meath on your Leinster final win.Fully deserved. Saw them against Kildare. Some excellent footballers in the side. I'd say royaldunne's car was on auto pilot all the way back to Westmeath!"
Yep it was lol.
BTW best of luck v armagh.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 22/07/2017 23:41:46    2021342

Ah Jesus I'm still buzzing, herself is giving out to me to go to bed, brilliant day. Well done again.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 23/07/2017 00:08:31    2021362

lot of meath folk talk about walsh,morris and mcbride. but full back sean dunne is impressive. reminds me of the great darren fay in his style.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 23/07/2017 09:05:06    2021446

Replying To ziggy32001:  "lot of meath folk talk about walsh,morris and mcbride. but full back sean dunne is impressive. reminds me of the great darren fay in his style."
Would agree, we got to keep this bunch of players and not let them slip through the net. As has happened before. Proper nurturing and development with all the support they and their families need. This is one thing we can learn from Dublin, how to look after underage talent, this group can not only progress to a very good senior team but also a winning one. If they looked after well, and anyone with a Australian accent can keep out of Meath.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 23/07/2017 10:01:49    2021485

Replying To royaldunne:  "Would agree, we got to keep this bunch of players and not let them slip through the net. As has happened before. Proper nurturing and development with all the support they and their families need. This is one thing we can learn from Dublin, how to look after underage talent, this group can not only progress to a very good senior team but also a winning one. If they looked after well, and anyone with a Australian accent can keep out of Meath."
The problem lads is how do you look after these lads , there is no u18 no u19 next stage is under 20 , This is a problem now for every county as minor next year goes to under 17 , we have a gap of two years where the question has to be asked can you keep squads together without tournament play.
I don't know if our county board have plans for anyone after this year , no one seems to know , would like to hear your take on how its possible to keep them together
ps Congrats yesterday

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 23/07/2017 11:02:04    2021544