Ulster U21 Hurling championship

I've just seen that Derry have beaten Antrim in one of the U21 semi's tonight, which seems significant from the outside. But I do know Antrim were having alot of trouble with getting someone to manage the U21's this year, up until June as I recall, was that resolved?

Given Slaughtneil's Ulster SHC win this year (were there many from that side on the U21 team?), and Derry's Nicky Rackard win, is this further evidence of a rising tide in Derry hurling? Or is it as much to do with the problems Antrim were already having in the grade this year?

Marlon_JD (Tipperary) - Posts: 1823 - 19/07/2017 23:01:39    2019648

I don't know the answer to your question Marlon but instead of a rising tide I would think it's more of a rising puddle because down through the years everything points to only one conclusion -- that at individual county and at provincial level there is almost zero effort or interest in Ulster to promote the game of hurling.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1902 - 20/07/2017 06:35:41    2019714

Replying To Marlon_JD:  "I've just seen that Derry have beaten Antrim in one of the U21 semi's tonight, which seems significant from the outside. But I do know Antrim were having alot of trouble with getting someone to manage the U21's this year, up until June as I recall, was that resolved?

Given Slaughtneil's Ulster SHC win this year (were there many from that side on the U21 team?), and Derry's Nicky Rackard win, is this further evidence of a rising tide in Derry hurling? Or is it as much to do with the problems Antrim were already having in the grade this year?"
U21 hurling in Ulster is a sideshow.
Fair play to Derry though, I'm sure their preparation wasn't fanatastic either but they do have some good hurlers in their ranks who play the big ball as well. Maybe Collie McGurk can get some more to commit to the hurling like he did for the Nicky Rackard win, but as much as Derry football isn't setting the world alight, its still the big draw in Derry.

Down stuffed Armagh with a get together, so lord knows what preparation they put into it.

Time for the Ulster Council to get the finger out and turn the U21's into a round robin forcing the CB's to put more resources into it as Kilkenny await the winners and that's not going to be pretty.

Maybe Down hurlers will get a home fixture for once from the Ulster Council..

bricktop (Down) - Posts: 2503 - 20/07/2017 09:08:17    2019746

Replying To bricktop:  "U21 hurling in Ulster is a sideshow.
Fair play to Derry though, I'm sure their preparation wasn't fanatastic either but they do have some good hurlers in their ranks who play the big ball as well. Maybe Collie McGurk can get some more to commit to the hurling like he did for the Nicky Rackard win, but as much as Derry football isn't setting the world alight, its still the big draw in Derry.

Down stuffed Armagh with a get together, so lord knows what preparation they put into it.

Time for the Ulster Council to get the finger out and turn the U21's into a round robin forcing the CB's to put more resources into it as Kilkenny await the winners and that's not going to be pretty.

Maybe Down hurlers will get a home fixture for once from the Ulster Council.."
Had ye a good U17 team?

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 20/07/2017 15:45:47    2020054

Replying To bricktop:  "U21 hurling in Ulster is a sideshow.

Maybe Down hurlers will get a home fixture for once from the Ulster Council.."
wexford thought that 3 years ago too and ended up being beaten fair and square!
dont go down with that attitude.
whose in the final,derry and down?

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 20/07/2017 16:12:34    2020079

Is it not time that the hurling strongholds provide a level playing field for the ulster U21 Hurling Champions
Venue Thurles 'AGAIN', Schools, U21 Hurling, Camogie Schools, etc all have to travel here to play semi/quarter finals.
Derry Hurling Area 225miles 4:20hrs
Kilkenny 30miles, 0:40hrs
Limerick Hurling Area 49miles, 1:10hrs
Galway Hurling Area 61miles, 1:35hrs

Brian_Coyote (Antrim) - Posts: 346 - 09/08/2017 16:06:03    2031660

i agree with you coyote derry v kilkenny should be played in a more neutral venue,
gaa showing strange attitude in picking these neutral venues

however its a great venue and great opportunity for derry lads to play there - hope they bring a crowd

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 09/08/2017 17:27:41    2031714

Replying To Brian_Coyote:  "Is it not time that the hurling strongholds provide a level playing field for the ulster U21 Hurling Champions
Venue Thurles 'AGAIN', Schools, U21 Hurling, Camogie Schools, etc all have to travel here to play semi/quarter finals.
Derry Hurling Area 225miles 4:20hrs
Kilkenny 30miles, 0:40hrs
Limerick Hurling Area 49miles, 1:10hrs
Galway Hurling Area 61miles, 1:35hrs"
I agree, the game should be at a venue suitable for both teams. But its not down to 'hurling strongholds' to provide that (they've enough to do to look after they're own teams), and they are not really giving/taking anything. Having the games in Thurles is just laziness by the GAA, i.e. "hurling stuff? Thurles I suppose. make it a double header to get it all out of the way. Next!".

I imagine if Derry County Board made a genuine forceful objection, they could get the game moved. I hope so, at least (are they likely to do that?). What would be good as an alternative neutral venue, Cavan, Clones, Newry maybe?

Marlon_JD (Tipperary) - Posts: 1823 - 09/08/2017 21:31:48    2031771

I was one of the ones in a previous thread who thought that Tipp should've offered to play Westmeath in Mullingar in the hurling qualifiers. In fairness to the Lake County men, they indicated they were delighted to get to play in the hallowed Semple Stadium & gave a great account of themselves there. Maybe it's the same for Derry?

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 10/08/2017 00:17:06    2031816

I dunno - I know if it was me as manager and I was given the choice of:

1 - A venue chosen which meant both teams/fans were travelling equal or close enough distances to the game
2 - A venue which holds a bit of mystique but would mean 4+ hour travelling when the other team can be there in 30mins-1hr

It would be option 1 every day of the week. In fact I would play it in a field half way rather than make my team travel for hours just so they can say they played in Semple, Croke Park etc. But then again, if there were guys who playing in Semple meant more to them than winning the game then they wouldn't be near my team in the first place.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 10/08/2017 10:30:43    2031876

Both games are on TG4, hence the reason for one venue.
Semple central to three of the four counties (traditional) so no wonder Derry are shafted although the lads will never forget their run out on Semple.

The only reason Derry CB would be complaining is the extra cost of the hotel stay and nothing to do with what happens on the field.....

bricktop (Down) - Posts: 2503 - 10/08/2017 11:43:39    2031921

In a few years maybe these games could be played in Casement Park. Belfast could really do with getting some high profile games of hurling and Ulster sides have been travelling south for long enough.

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 10/08/2017 12:15:52    2031934

Replying To Soma:  "In a few years maybe these games could be played in Casement Park. Belfast could really do with getting some high profile games of hurling and Ulster sides have been travelling south for long enough."
True. While it's great to have high profile county hurling teams doing Super 7's exhibition games in Boston why is there no such effort to do something to promote the game in Ireland's own hurling nether regions.

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 10/08/2017 21:35:10    2032157