Player Power

On the back of the Pete McGrath debacle wonder how lads feel out there about the issue of player power,
Many counties have had their issues , the question Id raise is it good for the game , have counties become better teams on the back of auld up rise or has it had the opposite effect .
For me I will put my cards on the table I'm not for it , players should play , coaches should coach and refs should ref all with clear equal demarcation lines.

Its a topic that can divide within a county so play nice if posting

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 18/07/2017 10:57:00    2018527

If a manager is there 3 years and the players are not responding anymore then I don't see it being a big issue. A manager should be able to admit things have gone stale as they certainly did in Fermanagh this year. I never see the point in managers coming out and saying they thought things are grand, they simply couldn't be. Just like in soccer and every other sport, managers are changing far more frequently than in the past, that is just modern life.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7893 - 18/07/2017 11:26:09    2018543

I don't believe it is a good idea. It has to be taken into account how the players feel about the manager but they should not be able to appoint/sack a manager. On the flip side of the Fermanagh heave, last year Michael Murphy and Ryan McHugh came out in favour of Rory Gallagher getting an extra 3 years, even though most supporters felt his time was up.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1874 - 18/07/2017 11:47:00    2018554

I think players should have a big say, they are tye ones giving up their lives to play intercounty. The manager and selectors can still go out for a pint at whenever they want.
If I was putting that much effort in to play senior hurling/football I'd want to be behind my manager 100%.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1909 - 18/07/2017 13:22:08    2018613

Replying To Damothedub:  "On the back of the Pete McGrath debacle wonder how lads feel out there about the issue of player power,
Many counties have had their issues , the question Id raise is it good for the game , have counties become better teams on the back of auld up rise or has it had the opposite effect .
For me I will put my cards on the table I'm not for it , players should play , coaches should coach and refs should ref all with clear equal demarcation lines.

Its a topic that can divide within a county so play nice if posting"
I'd be a traditionalist in that sense also Damo.

With Mayo they need to win an All-Ireland to vindicate the firing of Holmes and Connelly. The same is probably true with the Galway hurlers too.

Whatever the rights and wrongs of the various Cork strikes it really setback the hurlers a decade. Only now are they truly emerging from the trauma. But they were unlucky in having the county board they had which almost made conflict inevitable. One Roy Keane's stance in Saipan also was taken as an example of how a modern sports star should behave and how he/she should demand the very best, how we should have strove to win the 2002 World Cup. He was a favourite of many gaa players, someone with goals to aspire to. I think over the last 15 years his behaviour and how it fits in with the team ethic has been reevaluated.

I don't understand Fermanagh at all. Do they seriously think there's a manager out there willing to take the job and bring them further than quarter final all-ire stage? They got to the semi in 2004 but had a better team.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 18/07/2017 13:22:35    2018614

In my own county you can see both sides of the coin , in football under Gavin no one would dare utter a disrespectful word and equally players would run through a brick wall for the man.
In the hurling under the wrong man we have all seen the carnage .
Players are entitled to their say not because they have to give up drink or put hard nights training sure a lot of top class club players do that , they are entitled to be respected and county board needs to hear grievance's.
However a tail should never wag a dog , There has to be clear boundaries, players are by and large young men who in a sporting context need to be lead.
I read sporting biographies all the time from various codes etc reminded of a quote from Ian Bowyer on B Clough Id go to war and do anything for that man , away from football I wouldn't be interested in having a drink with him.

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 18/07/2017 15:28:27    2018715

Unless the boss is an out and out twat, he should be in charge. If things aren't working out, he'll be sacked. Maybe its because I'm from a different era but I'm trying to imagine player powering Kevin Heffernan or Sean Boylan, bahaha good luck with that :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 18/07/2017 15:55:47    2018747

They way i would see it is as follows. The longer players should know. they should know if training selection and preparation is right or wrong. Take my county footballers. We are decending into shambollic levels. We are all set up for a hiding from mayo. It is a management issue. Players from recent u 21 success not being brought through. Thats a management issue. Tactic are a disgrace thats a management issue. incorrect starting 15 is a management issue. The experienced players should know this and should be able to rise up against this. If a manager cant get his team to buy into his plan 100% then he is not the man for the job and in the same breath if he cant devise a plan that works then he is not the man for the job. Some years back cork gave kerry a tonking in an u21 final. This year 8 of those u21 lined out for the kerry while only 3 lined out for cork. We need a rebellion in cork football fast

ritchie (Cork) - Posts: 346 - 18/07/2017 16:54:17    2018796

People mentioning the Galway hurlers as a point of reference. This is the first time they have looked like real contenders with a seriously physical team. Would they be where they are with Cunningham in charge? Not a hope.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7893 - 18/07/2017 16:55:45    2018797

And yes I know they got to a final under Cunningham but I never expected them to win, even the first day out v Kilkenny.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7893 - 18/07/2017 17:13:28    2018809

Situations are rarely 'black or white'. It seems that some Fermanagh players were very unhappy that a few of their colleagues were not conforming to whatever general rules the team and management had agreed on, and that they were being allowed to 'get away with it'. If that was happening it would seriously undermine morale in the camp, particularly when they were not winning and could lead dedicated players to consider walking away. I have no idea what those players were supposed to be 'getting away with'. On another HS thread I see a Cavan poster claiming that some Fermanagh players were necking pints of Guinness (in another county) two weeks before a c'ship game.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 18/07/2017 17:37:36    2018821

How about changing this thread to county board power. Same boys at the same craic year after year. Should players not have an input into management selection. What makes a county board more of an expert on management selection?

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 18/07/2017 17:46:37    2018824

Replying To gotmilk:  "How about changing this thread to county board power. Same boys at the same craic year after year. Should players not have an input into management selection. What makes a county board more of an expert on management selection?"
simple question MCGrath treated badly or not , county board had faith players knew better, that's the story to outsiders ???

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 18/07/2017 18:19:42    2018841

Pete very badly treated by the players. He was unlucky this year with injuries and players abroad. His record entitled him to another year. Good luck to the new manager - he'll need it. I'm told the players already have him lined up!!!!

Molaise (Fermanagh) - Posts: 96 - 18/07/2017 18:28:07    2018844

If a manager thinks a player isn't up to scratch, he can drop him and everybody will say that's fair.
If a player thinks the manager isn't up to scratch, that's just his own opinion and most people will think that's fair.
If the entire playing squad (or most of it) thinks the manager isn't up to scratch then I can't really see how he can stay.

To be honest I don't understand why a manager would want to cling on in circumstances when the sole group of people you're responsible for don't think you should be doing the job.

CastleBravo (Meath) - Posts: 1643 - 18/07/2017 18:43:53    2018855

Replying To gotmilk:  "How about changing this thread to county board power. Same boys at the same craic year after year. Should players not have an input into management selection. What makes a county board more of an expert on management selection?"
The function of a County Board is not as you describe, they operate the entirity of GAA acitivity in a county - all the boring stuff that no one wants to do. They are elected by the clubs to represent them. Now why Inter-county players would be given the special privilage of selecting a County board escape me completely

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4896 - 18/07/2017 18:47:38    2018857

Replying To arock:  "The function of a County Board is not as you describe, they operate the entirity of GAA acitivity in a county - all the boring stuff that no one wants to do. They are elected by the clubs to represent them. Now why Inter-county players would be given the special privilage of selecting a County board escape me completely"
You misinterpreted me, I meant why did the county board ask the players for their input on the management.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 18/07/2017 20:22:42    2018910

Replying To Damothedub:  "simple question MCGrath treated badly or not , county board had faith players knew better, that's the story to outsiders ???"
Don't know the full ins and outs but I've heard a number of stories about mcgraths treatment of players. May be lies but I've heard these stories from numerous people and it doesn't paint him in a great light.
I think what's telling is that the players haven't disclosed anything to the public. The only people giving interviews is McGrath, he's given numerous interviews and is in every paper. I think that's quite telling in itself.

Anyway Pete owes us nothing and I thank him for everything but I think it was time for him to leave.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 18/07/2017 20:25:31    2018912

Player Power? They'll tell us what they want.....what they really, really want.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9702 - 18/07/2017 20:49:35    2018926

Replying To TheFlaker:  "And yes I know they got to a final under Cunningham but I never expected them to win, even the first day out v Kilkenny."
They are only in a semi final as of yet. Cunningham was so close the drawn 2012 all-ireland final. Galway on paper look excellent this year but there footballers also looked better on paper than Roscommon.

If Galway make it through to the all-ireland final and Cork happen to be their opponents that will be a tough one for them. Galway have never beaten Cork in an All-Ireland. In 1986 Galway got too cocky after beating Kilkenny by 13 pts in a semi. Tipp are in the mix too. Waterford have the upper hand on Galway in championship, 1998 and around 2010/2011.

I wouldn't be so emphatic in predicting a Galway have a greater chance than under Cunningham.

Of all the teams i'd personally like to see Galway win the hurling All-Ireland. Probably because of Joe Canning.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 18/07/2017 22:35:39    2018979