Who Stole our Sliotars

Couldn't believe it when I read about the guy who took the bag of sliotars from behind the Cork goal & tossed them in to Kilinan end.
Must say I was in the Kilinan end not that far from incident but didn't spot it.
What happened to the sliotars when they got tossed in to the crowd. As far as I know Cork did not get them back so did the guy have an accomplice in the crowd or what.
On a serious note the guy should be identified & banned from touch lines for a lengthy period.
At one level one could make a joke of the incident but at another level it was disgraceful behaviour.

corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 11/07/2017 22:31:20    2015302

And should reimburse the cork county board those liathroidi cost mula.

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 11/07/2017 22:58:46    2015315

Well WildPundit, it was one way of dealing with the Nash puck out but luckily we had a second bag.
Seriously though stuff like that could get International coverage, a major sporting occasion, a crowd of 48,000 & on TV and someone pulls a stunt like that, really brings our games into disrepute.

corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 11/07/2017 23:16:50    2015321

Just a lot of balls.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 11/07/2017 23:43:28    2015331

A good old fashioned cork player strike might make the fella who robbed your balls see the error of his ways.. Got to admire your footballers who've been on strike since 2010

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 11/07/2017 23:52:46    2015333

This crap can cause a riot on the sideline, it's happening with the Donegal gent & previously a guy in Mayo. This guy should be named & shamed & banned for the year & made reimburse the cost of the sliotars. A cheap, sneaky tactic & ran away like a coward afterwards.

moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 1212 - 12/07/2017 00:43:38    2015343

anybody wana buy some brand new sliotars half price? one time offer. postage unavailable to Cork. anywhere else im yer man

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2385 - 12/07/2017 01:13:19    2015349

Maybe it was the person who advised the Clare management to allow Cork to have a man free for every single puckout. "Ok so my tactic sounds terrible at face value, but what if they have no sliotar in the first place?". Also a major twist to the first lesson you are taught in hurling: always keep your eye on the ball(s).

HurlingSnob (Dublin) - Posts: 220 - 12/07/2017 03:29:07    2015358

Replying To corkcelt:  "Couldn't believe it when I read about the guy who took the bag of sliotars from behind the Cork goal & tossed them in to Kilinan end.
Must say I was in the Kilinan end not that far from incident but didn't spot it.
What happened to the sliotars when they got tossed in to the crowd. As far as I know Cork did not get them back so did the guy have an accomplice in the crowd or what.
On a serious note the guy should be identified & banned from touch lines for a lengthy period.
At one level one could make a joke of the incident but at another level it was disgraceful behaviour."
I have seen the video of it taken from the Hogan Stand.
What intrigues me is why the person who videoed it on their mobile phone had their camera-phone trained on the individual who took the sliotars well before he made any move to do so, when the chap was totally inconspicuous and could have been presumed to have been an on field official, and when there were more interesting things happening on the field at the time ( at one stage, the crowd in front of the video-maker are looking up the field, in the opposite direction to where the camera phone is pointed.)

It has all the hallmarks of a prank to me and it should not take much figuring out to identify those (allegedly) involved!

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1903 - 12/07/2017 05:20:22    2015360

Lads, that had to be the brainchild of Donal og.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 12/07/2017 07:39:26    2015364

If it was a kid that did this you might laugh - but an adult? Brings gamesmanship to a whole new level.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4896 - 12/07/2017 07:43:18    2015365

Could it just have been a poor oul dead cat in the bag at that stage.
Maybe one that didn't make it out on Saturday night.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 12/07/2017 08:27:01    2015368

Replying To waynoI:  "A good old fashioned cork player strike might make the fella who robbed your balls see the error of his ways.. Got to admire your footballers who've been on strike since 2010

:)"
What 'error of his ways' would that be? I assume you are suggesting that he should have performed this act of grand larceny at an earlier stage of the championship.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4318 - 12/07/2017 08:38:43    2015375

There's been a few innovative cases of sliotar tampering!

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7344 - 12/07/2017 08:39:21    2015376

i always remember the late micheal o hehir,saying in a commentary "congress will have to look at the amount of balls lost in croke park today".

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 12/07/2017 08:41:22    2015379

Replying To waynoI:  "A good old fashioned cork player strike might make the fella who robbed your balls see the error of his ways.. Got to admire your footballers who've been on strike since 2010

:)"
They beat ye in the league final in 2011

Not bad for a team on strike ;)

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 12/07/2017 10:04:49    2015410

Replying To PoolSturgeon:  "I have seen the video of it taken from the Hogan Stand.
What intrigues me is why the person who videoed it on their mobile phone had their camera-phone trained on the individual who took the sliotars well before he made any move to do so, when the chap was totally inconspicuous and could have been presumed to have been an on field official, and when there were more interesting things happening on the field at the time ( at one stage, the crowd in front of the video-maker are looking up the field, in the opposite direction to where the camera phone is pointed.)

It has all the hallmarks of a prank to me and it should not take much figuring out to identify those (allegedly) involved!"
Yeah I was wondering the same thing, play seemed to be down the far end at that time

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1908 - 12/07/2017 10:36:22    2015429

Listen, if anyone has the balls (pun fully intended) to step out from the stands on to the field - can hang around unnoticed or without question for a few minutes before making his way to the goals then Monty Pythonlike lifting the bag and running off with them then I would say fair play sir. For all their security checks on bags etc I think they may need to revisit the stewarding at the game. Don't blame the guy who obviously was doing it as a dare/bet whatever - ask how was he able to do it and reprimand those ones and give them the 48 or 96 week ban (or whatever lifting someones balls falls under in GAA punishment). Or is that not the way it works?

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 12/07/2017 11:17:11    2015453

Someone has to get a 12 week ban for this. Our balls must be protected.

poguemahone (Dublin) - Posts: 365 - 12/07/2017 11:35:08    2015466

Replying To poguemahone:  "Someone has to get a 12 week ban for this. Our balls must be protected."
You could get a cup to protect those balls, but you'd probably have to drill holes in it...

m_the_d (None) - Posts: 1099 - 12/07/2017 12:38:12    2015515