Wexford v Monaghan

Seamus 'Banty' McEnaney will look to get one over his home county when Monaghan take on Wexford in the qualifiers on Saturday afternoon. Could there be an upset on the cards?

We'll use this thread to discuss the game at Innovate Wexford Park.

Administrator (None) - Posts: 2274 - 04/07/2017 15:09:27    2010479

Replying To Administrator:  "Seamus 'Banty' McEnaney will look to get one over his home county when Monaghan take on Wexford in the qualifiers on Saturday afternoon. Could there be an upset on the cards?

We'll use this thread to discuss the game at Innovate Wexford Park."
This will be a telling game to see where Monaghan are at,they completely fell apart against down and this was evident all across the panel.As anyone that has been to most of the league games this year would agree their performances in the championship this year so far has been wilted to say the least....time to stand up lads and coast through this one....as for 'Banty'....i dont think i can write what i think of him here...there will be plenty of noise as usual from him before hand.

stoneygrey (Monaghan) - Posts: 213 - 04/07/2017 17:06:05    2010562

Unfortunately can't see past a win for monaghan and all signs point to a convincing one.

We do have a tendency to pull a rabbit out of the hat and theven players will give 100% no matter what.

I full expect monaghan supporters to out number us which for a home game is sad especially when it's likely to be some players last game.

The likes of malone deserve a standing ovation for what they did for wexford football.

To all monaghan supporters enjoy your trip and safe journey

wexcore (Wexford) - Posts: 740 - 04/07/2017 17:37:19    2010588

Replying To wexcore:  "Unfortunately can't see past a win for monaghan and all signs point to a convincing one.

We do have a tendency to pull a rabbit out of the hat and theven players will give 100% no matter what.

I full expect monaghan supporters to out number us which for a home game is sad especially when it's likely to be some players last game.

The likes of malone deserve a standing ovation for what they did for wexford football.

To all monaghan supporters enjoy your trip and safe journey"
Outnumbered? Really? What sort of crowd are you expecting then Wexcore?

MedwayIrish (Wexford) - Posts: 2324 - 04/07/2017 18:56:22    2010638

Personally for me if we get 4,000 wexford fans I would be thrilled. Maybe I am doing a deservice to our support and I hope I really do more come because these guys the likes of waters , malone, Lyng and banville deserve it. But I think the fact we are rank outsiders will put people off

But sometimes the fans that go are the best as they are so vocal and passionate it is a sight to behold

wexcore (Wexford) - Posts: 740 - 05/07/2017 00:22:26    2010805

Replying To wexcore:  "Personally for me if we get 4,000 wexford fans I would be thrilled. Maybe I am doing a deservice to our support and I hope I really do more come because these guys the likes of waters , malone, Lyng and banville deserve it. But I think the fact we are rank outsiders will put people off

But sometimes the fans that go are the best as they are so vocal and passionate it is a sight to behold"
How much is it to get in on Saturday Wexcore?

MedwayIrish (Wexford) - Posts: 2324 - 05/07/2017 11:28:38    2010885

It is 15 euro and pay at the turnstiles. I think oaps are a tenner if your bringing your father and he qualifies for that

wexcore (Wexford) - Posts: 740 - 06/07/2017 10:41:32    2011398

Cheers Wexcore, appreciate that. Yeah dad's 74 so he qualifies but whether I'll be able to coax him out and away from endless cups of tea with the relations remains to be seen!

Have to say that's fantastic value, E15. Over here that would probably just about get me into a non-league soccer match approx. 3 divisions below the basement of the football league.

MedwayIrish (Wexford) - Posts: 2324 - 06/07/2017 12:19:03    2011451

Good to see players and management concentrating on thier football and not giving interveiws to every media outlet in the country,media ban me thinks

patsy100 (Monaghan) - Posts: 10 - 06/07/2017 13:07:21    2011475

Replying To MedwayIrish:  "Cheers Wexcore, appreciate that. Yeah dad's 74 so he qualifies but whether I'll be able to coax him out and away from endless cups of tea with the relations remains to be seen!

Have to say that's fantastic value, E15. Over here that would probably just about get me into a non-league soccer match approx. 3 divisions below the basement of the football league."
Agreed it's fantastic value and worth it alone to see Mcmanus of monaghan that guy is pure class.

Just remember to bring your shouting voice to roar our lads on if we keep in touch with 20 to go doubts might creep in. This is a fairly similar monaghan team that lost at home to longford in the qualifiers last year ... hope springs eternal

wexcore (Wexford) - Posts: 740 - 06/07/2017 13:13:35    2011479

It has taken a while to shake off the Down loss, but now really looking forward to the trip to Wexford Park. We will never learn.

The last time I was there for football, Mattie Forde scored something like 2.10 against Offaly in a qualifier, around 2004 or 2005? One of the great individual displays I've seen live.
Great town for the craic too, the Undertaker is hard to beat...

Wexford are at a low ebb now but as other posters said Monaghan are vulnerable too, so it is a big test of mentality for our lads. All the talk of avoiding a second longford-style crash counted for nothing the last day out. MORourke will need to pick a hard running side with 3 out-and-out forwards max. Carey may get a recall and Darren Hughes should be left on the bench. Fellas like Walshe, KHughes, and McCarron have to stand up. KDuffy for Corey looks logical. We will know plenty by 20 minutes in.

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1057 - 06/07/2017 13:38:29    2011503

Wexford having won promotion did not kick on, hard to say why but they have been disappointing since then. Is there one big game in them, who knows, they have footballers who could trouble a lot of teams so they may put it up to Monaghan. McManus is just class but if he can be contained to say 5 points it gives Wexford a chance.
To the Monaghan supporters, its a long way down so if you make it enjoy the day and Wexford - if its a fine day head out to Curracloe for a stroll on the beach - you don't get to see them up there!

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 1800 - 06/07/2017 13:51:31    2011507

Replying To Eddie the Exile:  "It has taken a while to shake off the Down loss, but now really looking forward to the trip to Wexford Park. We will never learn.

The last time I was there for football, Mattie Forde scored something like 2.10 against Offaly in a qualifier, around 2004 or 2005? One of the great individual displays I've seen live.
Great town for the craic too, the Undertaker is hard to beat...

Wexford are at a low ebb now but as other posters said Monaghan are vulnerable too, so it is a big test of mentality for our lads. All the talk of avoiding a second longford-style crash counted for nothing the last day out. MORourke will need to pick a hard running side with 3 out-and-out forwards max. Carey may get a recall and Darren Hughes should be left on the bench. Fellas like Walshe, KHughes, and McCarron have to stand up. KDuffy for Corey looks logical. We will know plenty by 20 minutes in."
Ahhh I think us fans are just trying to grasp at what little straws we have when I mentioned the longford match.

We have just gone backwards since the start of the league (even then we were messing a lot of chances) and it's hard to put the finger on why maybe over trained but the players have been loving the training maybe the defensive system but realistically we need it against monaghan.

As the poster above said when we click we have forwards to do damage but we just don't seem to have the confidence and missing kehoe in the middle is a loss as I have been wanting rossiter at centre back for a year now.

Heres to a decent game

wexcore (Wexford) - Posts: 740 - 06/07/2017 17:09:38    2011583

Well folks, will The Strawberry pickers outpick the Mushroom pickers ?... Will be a lot closer than some people think... I would settle for a flukey 1 pt win!

Monaghan Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 442 - 06/07/2017 20:17:29    2011660

Replying To Monaghan Exile:  "Well folks, will The Strawberry pickers outpick the Mushroom pickers ?... Will be a lot closer than some people think... I would settle for a flukey 1 pt win!"
I've enjoyed a mushroom or two down the years but even the hallucinogenic qualities can't divorce me from the reality of how it's probably going to play out on Saturday. But I don't care, I'll be there and I can't say that too often living in England. Have a good one everybody, I can't wait! :)

MedwayIrish (Wexford) - Posts: 2324 - 06/07/2017 21:53:15    2011712

Any way of watching this game live tomorrow?

Is it streamed online/Premier sport/BBC etc?..

Monaghansclown (Monaghan) - Posts: 174 - 07/07/2017 10:53:33    2011872

Hope we don't take a win for granted this time like we did against Down.
They showed up our fragilities which is not good in championship football these days with all this stats etc.

border Gael (Monaghan) - Posts: 894 - 07/07/2017 12:03:07    2011905

When this game is analysed on the Sunday game you will probably hear the usual lazy journalism spiel, "division 4 v division 1, Wexford limited but plucky losers" etc etc, I'm going to call a spade a spade
During the week Wexford fans were posting that they expected to lose but were looking forward to seeing one of the top forwards in the country in action in their own back yard. What they got was a team sent out to physically assault him ala Down the previous match. This unscrupulous tactic (I expected nothing less) of taking out marquee forwards is a cancer in the game and needs to end now or there will be no entertainment left in the game at all (if it happened on civvy street you would get jail). They were tactically clueless in that they tried to implement an outdated ultra defensive system that was totally alien to them, against a team that was hardened on that very system (the one about the young bull and the old bull comes to mind). Wexford were/are better served going out and giving it a lash and encourage whatever talent they have to play, like Fermanagh v Dublin last year. If they had done that they would not have lost by 20 points. Now the referee was poor no doubt but it was sad to see long serving Wexford stalwarts leaving the scene in such a manner on probably their last time playing for their county.
As for Monaghan, I hope it is lesson learnt. You can afford a bad game in the league because it's a 7 game competition (doh) but in the championship one bad game and your out. Moral of the story - perform to the best of your ability every match. Mc Manus black card was a blessing in disguise in that it was better not be on for his own safety and we got to see Freeman in a Monaghan shirt at last and no doubt the potential is there. Gives MOR a nice selection dilemma for the next round.
If we perform with the correct intensity and discipline we will make the Q/Finals, then... anything goes, If we don't we are out, simple as.

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 09/07/2017 18:51:51    2013259

Replying To mhunicean_abu:  "When this game is analysed on the Sunday game you will probably hear the usual lazy journalism spiel, "division 4 v division 1, Wexford limited but plucky losers" etc etc, I'm going to call a spade a spade
During the week Wexford fans were posting that they expected to lose but were looking forward to seeing one of the top forwards in the country in action in their own back yard. What they got was a team sent out to physically assault him ala Down the previous match. This unscrupulous tactic (I expected nothing less) of taking out marquee forwards is a cancer in the game and needs to end now or there will be no entertainment left in the game at all (if it happened on civvy street you would get jail). They were tactically clueless in that they tried to implement an outdated ultra defensive system that was totally alien to them, against a team that was hardened on that very system (the one about the young bull and the old bull comes to mind). Wexford were/are better served going out and giving it a lash and encourage whatever talent they have to play, like Fermanagh v Dublin last year. If they had done that they would not have lost by 20 points. Now the referee was poor no doubt but it was sad to see long serving Wexford stalwarts leaving the scene in such a manner on probably their last time playing for their county.
As for Monaghan, I hope it is lesson learnt. You can afford a bad game in the league because it's a 7 game competition (doh) but in the championship one bad game and your out. Moral of the story - perform to the best of your ability every match. Mc Manus black card was a blessing in disguise in that it was better not be on for his own safety and we got to see Freeman in a Monaghan shirt at last and no doubt the potential is there. Gives MOR a nice selection dilemma for the next round.
If we perform with the correct intensity and discipline we will make the Q/Finals, then... anything goes, If we don't we are out, simple as."
Nail on the head.. it was soul destroying to watch and how the hell could our lads enjoy playing that. I wouldn't mind our physicality I have been saying for last 3 years we were to soft and then to go to that it has to be coaching and just needs to stop the off ball stuff.

I don't mind losing and we are far far off winning any silverware and to hell what other teams do I just want our lads to expresse themselves and enjoy it.

Congrats on the win your number 8 is some man for the fielding. Best of.luck for rest of the championship.

wexcore (Wexford) - Posts: 740 - 09/07/2017 19:36:36    2013309

Replying To mhunicean_abu:  "When this game is analysed on the Sunday game you will probably hear the usual lazy journalism spiel, "division 4 v division 1, Wexford limited but plucky losers" etc etc, I'm going to call a spade a spade
If we perform with the correct intensity and discipline we will make the Q/Finals, then... anything goes, If we don't we are out, simple as."
Good post and indeed it is the one thing in Gaelic football that need addressing
There should be no such thing as targeting any player , marquee player or not
It has been going on for years and it's one thing I would like to see addressed We are all guilty, my own county included and usually the man who starts it get off while the player who gets abused is carded
Anyway away from thatMonaghan must have been quite impressive , I fancy ye to win your next game so you could have a quarter final v losers in Leinster( maybe Dublin maybe not ) but ye can't meet Down no matter how they do nextSunday I think Monaghan will make the semi finals and so far has been a good year for Ulster teams with 5 still in the haunt
Best of luck to ye

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 09/07/2017 19:59:41    2013328