Meath vs Donegal

Both teams have been in a bad form, Donegal are doing bad and Meath as well.
I'm going for a Meath win hear though. If both teams go out and play to there full ability it could be a great match.
Meath 2+

oakleafersir (Derry) - Posts: 808 - 03/07/2017 14:51:50    2009673

Replying To oakleafersir:  "Both teams have been in a bad form, Donegal are doing bad and Meath as well.
I'm going for a Meath win hear though. If both teams go out and play to there full ability it could be a great match.
Meath 2+"
I would say it will be worst spectacle of a game so far this year. Donegal have reverted to type,Meath will mirror them, which is alien to them, but they did it on sat. Actually I cant wait. A packed navan against a top 4/5 team where else would you want to be?
I am buzzing with excitement. I dont care how bad a game it is once we win (cue all the people pointing out how I have been critical of games like this before) but hey I know I'm been a hypocrite, sue me. I just want us in the next round I dont care how we do it once we win. If we win playing expansive open football brilliant, if we fall over the line like v sat playing lateral handpassing I dont care either. Once we win.
Hon the royal.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 03/07/2017 17:12:48    2009832

This could be a pure mule of a match and if both teams carry on as they left off last Saturday evening then it will be. I'm happy enough with the draw though, particularly as we drawn at home, and give us a chance but we will need to throw off the shackles a bit and utilise the speed we have on the team, ball was moving very slow at times last Saturday and we still coughed up possession through turnovers and handling/passing errors, really need to work on that and cut out those mistakes. Anyway I hope it's a good match but like RD said if it's pure mule and we fall over the line by a point I'll take it gladly too, we can play the fancy football then in August/September :-)

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 03/07/2017 18:35:39    2009883

Replying To Richieq:  "This could be a pure mule of a match and if both teams carry on as they left off last Saturday evening then it will be. I'm happy enough with the draw though, particularly as we drawn at home, and give us a chance but we will need to throw off the shackles a bit and utilise the speed we have on the team, ball was moving very slow at times last Saturday and we still coughed up possession through turnovers and handling/passing errors, really need to work on that and cut out those mistakes. Anyway I hope it's a good match but like RD said if it's pure mule and we fall over the line by a point I'll take it gladly too, we can play the fancy football then in August/September :-)"
Well if both teams play like last week then at lease it will be tight as both are currently playing crap. The morale seems to be on the floor for our lads.
I've a funny feeling this could be the last outing this year for our lads so I'm going to make the most of it and book in somewhere in Naaavan on Saturday night for the craic with the Mead Men!!

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1671 - 03/07/2017 21:02:26    2009957

If Donegal were drawn at home this would be a done deal, but even being drawn away, they should get over this one and with odds at 8/15, the bookies are in agreement. Donegal by 3 pts

county man (Limerick) - Posts: 1102 - 03/07/2017 21:35:56    2009986

Replying To Tir Conaill Abu:  "Well if both teams play like last week then at lease it will be tight as both are currently playing crap. The morale seems to be on the floor for our lads.
I've a funny feeling this could be the last outing this year for our lads so I'm going to make the most of it and book in somewhere in Naaavan on Saturday night for the craic with the Mead Men!!"
Ahh u will have a great time.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 03/07/2017 22:54:04    2010038

Michael Murphy with a 69th minute free to give Donegal a 1 nil win and break Royal hearts.

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 03/07/2017 23:29:22    2010052

Replying To TheRightStuff:  "Michael Murphy with a 69th minute free to give Donegal a 1 nil win and break Royal hearts."
In reality there probably won't be too many more scores the way these two sides will set up. Don't really care though if we could slog a tight win out of it. Wont be pretty anyway.

Royalace (Meath) - Posts: 121 - 03/07/2017 23:44:21    2010062

I thought Donegal were going places this year. If they lose to a side like Meath, Bossman might be looking for a new job!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8586 - 03/07/2017 23:50:24    2010067

Donegal have betterr footballers . Donegal by 4

11jm11 (Kildare) - Posts: 365 - 04/07/2017 07:52:12    2010106

Replying To TheRightStuff:  "Michael Murphy with a 69th minute free to give Donegal a 1 nil win and break Royal hearts."
You have revealed Rory Gallagher's master plan lol. There is a possibility this match could end up a draw.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1873 - 04/07/2017 08:10:23    2010113

Haha you could very well be right.
Not giving away frees will be the key.
I can't believe neither rte or sky are not showing this game.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 04/07/2017 08:23:04    2010117

Meath are capable of raising their game against stronger teams. We lived with Tyrone in our last two championship meetings. But nevertheless we rarely beat top 7-8 ranked teams. We wont be destroyed but we wont win.

RoyalBadger (Meath) - Posts: 571 - 04/07/2017 08:57:34    2010135

Replying To 11jm11:  "Donegal have betterr footballers . Donegal by 4"
Meath have better footballers than kildare but it didn't help.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 04/07/2017 09:45:07    2010162

Replying To royaldunne:  "Meath have better footballers than kildare but it didn't help."
Ah here RoyalDunne get real for once. Kildare have given us two almighty beatings already this year yet you state we have better footballers than them. Time for a serious dose of reality.
Back to this Saturday's game, I'd imagine it will be a cautious, defensive game and it's the real acid test for this current Meath team. It's all well and good beating the Louth's and Sligo's of this world but to do it against a seasoned Division 1 team is another challenge altogether. Saying that, I think we'll edge over the line though.

RoylerKing (Meath) - Posts: 809 - 04/07/2017 10:40:22    2010219

Fully expect a Meath win here by 3 or 4

maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1196 - 04/07/2017 11:19:44    2010255

Can't see Meath being able to live with Donegal.
Even if Donegal have a low scoring game, they stifle the Royals attack enough to get out ahead.
I think Donegal by 6 or 7.

Marse (Dublin) - Posts: 217 - 04/07/2017 11:37:42    2010282

Donegal clearly have the better footballers, particularly the full forward line. At best we can make it difficult for them but I think class will win out in the end. I just can't see where our scores will come from.

HighKings (Meath) - Posts: 271 - 04/07/2017 12:03:03    2010307

Replying To Marse:  "Can't see Meath being able to live with Donegal.
Even if Donegal have a low scoring game, they stifle the Royals attack enough to get out ahead.
I think Donegal by 6 or 7."
Not saying they wont win, but it definitely wont be 6/7 in it.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 04/07/2017 12:03:22    2010308

This game could be a bridge too far for Meath. We need to play like a team possessed and hope McBrearty and Murphy fail to show. Hope the news on Donncha Tobin is positive.

ClonardGael (Meath) - Posts: 75 - 04/07/2017 12:10:19    2010319