Tipp vs Dublin (hurling)

Don't know what to think of this encounter. Hoping for a great match, but just can't see it. I'm going for a Dublin win here as I don't see Tipp getting back in good form.
Dublin 4+

oakleafersir (Derry) - Posts: 808 - 03/07/2017 14:43:55    2009664

Replying To oakleafersir:  "Don't know what to think of this encounter. Hoping for a great match, but just can't see it. I'm going for a Dublin win here as I don't see Tipp getting back in good form.
Dublin 4+"
It's genuinely hard to see tipp turning it around. If there was no home and away draw it's not fair on Dublin to play it in thurles, but I think they'll win by 5/6
I'd fancy our chances more against kk

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 03/07/2017 15:22:45    2009705

should be a fascinating encounter seems as neither team fancy their chances , looking like a nill all draw

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 03/07/2017 15:29:42    2009713

Dublin with nothing to lose really sowed it into Laois in the second half.Eamon Dillion by all accounts played great. I know Tipp will be a sterner test but no reason Dublin should fear us as the Tipp back line are in competition this year to see who's marker can score the most!!The forwards are competing to see who will score the least from play!!! Dont see Tipp doing much 3 games in a row where each performance was abysmal as the one previous.
Dublin by 3 would not surprise me in the least.

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 03/07/2017 15:51:56    2009734

Jaysus folks will ye stop.
Yeer starting to sound more and more like the the yerra buckos.
Tipp getting home advantage will be enough to see them through.
Dublin under Cunningham will win feck all.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 03/07/2017 16:03:41    2009749

Ah lads will you's give over.....i really hope I'm wrong but i cant see anything other than a Tipp win by maybe 8+.

Ger Cunnigham has brought Dublin hurling back 5 years. He can count his lucky stars he's a countryman. If he was a Dub he'd of been sacked a long time ago. He gets away with murder from TV pundits and media alike. He should of been gone a long time ago but its like everyone is afraid to talk about it. If so many of Cork's/Tipp's etc. main players had walked/had been dropped there would be uproar.

ConnollyDub (Dublin) - Posts: 2007 - 03/07/2017 16:28:11    2009778

Another big loss for Dublin will surely result in the axe for Cunningham.
As others have said before, I don't think it's a case that Cunningham is necessarily a bad manager but surely the amount of drop outs and talent that aren't playing for him says more about his man management skills.
Would love to be proven wrong but I can't see anything other than a Tipp win by 10 or more here

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 03/07/2017 16:37:26    2009792

Another unconvincing win for Tipp is my prediction. I know I am stating the office here but it's old school knock out Hurling now so Dublin will throw the kitchen sink at Tipp.

It wouldn't surprise me in the slightest if Dublin win but both teams have been poor in this championship so I am tentatively backing my own boys because of home advantage and our team is the more experienced one.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 03/07/2017 16:56:05    2009816

Lads Dublin will win this by 5 to 10 points. We are in serious trouble.

therealtmo (Tipperary) - Posts: 1292 - 03/07/2017 17:49:27    2009847

Tipp will win with a bit to spare.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 03/07/2017 18:26:59    2009871

I was at the Westmeath game and what I say makes me extremely worried about this Tipp team
they have no drive they look completely off the pace and are basically all over the place like a team thrown together and this has been the same since the Wexford game
no point talking about beating Dublin as in my opinion on present form they wouldn't beat Thurles Sarsfields
they are finished

tiobraidArann (Tipperary) - Posts: 362 - 03/07/2017 18:35:57    2009884

Tipp looked like a team that wanted the season to be over last Saturday. The lack of interest shown was a real worry and I'm convinced if it was any other team we were playing we would of been beaten, I'd go as far as to say if Westmeath scored that goal in the 55th minute they would of gone on to win it.

therealtmo (Tipperary) - Posts: 1292 - 03/07/2017 20:09:05    2009905

A lot of very unfortunate goings-on off the field for this Tipp team which might be showing through to their play. I think Dublin couldn't have asked for a better draw: if they're going to beat Tipp, they'll never get a batter chance.

Though I think Tipp will shade it by 2-3 points.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 03/07/2017 20:18:10    2009913

Replying To Damothedub:  "should be a fascinating encounter seems as neither team fancy their chances , looking like a nill all draw"
Damo,
If it is a nil all draw I will do a naked hand stand in all 32 County Grounds.

CrubeenBlue (Dublin) - Posts: 28 - 03/07/2017 21:02:10    2009956

I think Tipp will win this. They won't play great but I think they have too much for us. If it was in Parnell I think it would be close. Tipp must be delighted with the easier side of the draw so far to get them back on track. This means now that Tipp and Kilkenny can't meet until the final. What odds on a Tipp Kilkenny final I wonder?

HurlingSnob (Dublin) - Posts: 220 - 03/07/2017 21:11:03    2009966

Replying To HurlingSnob:  "I think Tipp will win this. They won't play great but I think they have too much for us. If it was in Parnell I think it would be close. Tipp must be delighted with the easier side of the draw so far to get them back on track. This means now that Tipp and Kilkenny can't meet until the final. What odds on a Tipp Kilkenny final I wonder?"
As bad as people think Kilkenny are they are streets ahead of Tipp at the moment. I'd back KK to reach the final before Tipp.
Tipp looked a tired team Saturday they are either burnt out from the phenomenal effort of last two years or they are so far off the pace it looks like there not even training as each player was as clueless as the next.
Seamus Callinan in comparison to his fantastic work rate last year seems to me a little disinterested. The 2 Maher brothers have been been poor by their standards.John McGrath is the only player from last year who looks like he wants to hurl.
Don't care what anyone says there is something not right in this Tipp team you don't get thrashed by Galway, get beaten soft by Cork without raising s gallop and no disrespect to Westmeath we should be winning those games by double digits. This team had a chance to dominate for 2 or 3 years but because of a few different things the advantage is back with everyone else and it's Tipp who are chasing their coat tails.
We're finished yet again for 5 years at least just like in 2010.
A harsh post but that's my general feeling I even didn't renew my yearly supporters club membership which I've been paying into for over 15 years for certain reasons that will not be posted by admin.

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 04/07/2017 00:17:37    2010079

Replying To WildPundit:  "As bad as people think Kilkenny are they are streets ahead of Tipp at the moment. I'd back KK to reach the final before Tipp.
Tipp looked a tired team Saturday they are either burnt out from the phenomenal effort of last two years or they are so far off the pace it looks like there not even training as each player was as clueless as the next.
Seamus Callinan in comparison to his fantastic work rate last year seems to me a little disinterested. The 2 Maher brothers have been been poor by their standards.John McGrath is the only player from last year who looks like he wants to hurl.
Don't care what anyone says there is something not right in this Tipp team you don't get thrashed by Galway, get beaten soft by Cork without raising s gallop and no disrespect to Westmeath we should be winning those games by double digits. This team had a chance to dominate for 2 or 3 years but because of a few different things the advantage is back with everyone else and it's Tipp who are chasing their coat tails.
A harsh post but that's my general feeling I even didn't renew my yearly supporters club membership which I've been paying into for over 15 years for certain reasons that will not be posted by admin."
Look a lot of people will say you're cutely playing down your county. But from your posts in the past, I think you're being genuine. You're pretty consistent in your pessimism! However, whatever about form and disquiet in the squad, hurling is hurling. When it comes down to it, Tipp have more accurate scorers than any other county at the moment. John mcgrath, Noel McGrath, callinane, Dwyer, Breen - these guys are gonna put the ball over the bar. Now I have serious question marks about their full back line, but Tipp are more than capable of winning the all Ireland. I think what's happened to them the last few months is better for them in the long run. In 2011 they were far more arrogant, talking about dominance and with the good u21 team, walking Munster and then bam, Kilkenny win 4 of next 5 all Irelands.

HurlingSnob (Dublin) - Posts: 220 - 04/07/2017 03:01:30    2010097

Tough to call as Tipp are in disarray but with home advantage (which is a joke BTW) Tipp by 5

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2475 - 04/07/2017 06:05:17    2010098

Replying To WildPundit:  "As bad as people think Kilkenny are they are streets ahead of Tipp at the moment. I'd back KK to reach the final before Tipp.
A harsh post but that's my general feeling I even didn't renew my yearly supporters club membership which I've been paying into for over 15 years for certain reasons that will not be posted by admin."
Its a watered down version but thanks admin!!!!!!

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 04/07/2017 07:55:01    2010107

Replying To HurlingSnob:  "Look a lot of people will say you're cutely playing down your county. But from your posts in the past, I think you're being genuine. You're pretty consistent in your pessimism! However, whatever about form and disquiet in the squad, hurling is hurling. When it comes down to it, Tipp have more accurate scorers than any other county at the moment. John mcgrath, Noel McGrath, callinane, Dwyer, Breen - these guys are gonna put the ball over the bar. Now I have serious question marks about their full back line, but Tipp are more than capable of winning the all Ireland. I think what's happened to them the last few months is better for them in the long run. In 2011 they were far more arrogant, talking about dominance and with the good u21 team, walking Munster and then bam, Kilkenny win 4 of next 5 all Irelands."
I think after last year too we were being talked up and its come back to bite us yet again. There are a lot of Tipp people at the moment saying Dublin could beat us and even at half time Saturday there was very disgruntled supporters watching the horror show unfolding before them. Few where I was sitting did not return and few had left by the 65th minute.
All of our underage teams are gone out of their respective championships and all that is left now is the Seniors in both codes and they could both be gone Saturday. Last year was a great one for Tipp GAA in general both codes and in contrast now its very gloomy.
My honest opinion is we have the players to win back to back but we'll beaten sooner rather than later they don't just have the drive this year and that's evident from about April.
Seems their quite content with just one in a row again.
I hope Dublin get the neutral venue and take this game up to Cavan,Tullamore or Portlaoise and we should have no home comforts or advantage.
When you look at the bigger picture we probably got what was deemed a soft draw v Cork in the QF in Thurles. We lose.
We draw Westmeath at home in Rd1 , Dublin in Rd 2 fixed for Thurles as well.
Very lucky draw in both cases you have to say.

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 04/07/2017 11:59:13    2010303