Jimmy's winning Chinese matches.

Jimmy's on the move again as his soccer coaching career goes onwards and upwards. The sky's the limit. The very best of luck to him and his family.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7335 - 30/06/2017 10:50:09    2007850

Replying To GreenandRed:  "link

Jimmy's on the move again as his soccer coaching career goes onwards and upwards. The sky's the limit. The very best of luck to him and his family."
Successful man. Fair play to him.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 30/06/2017 10:59:58    2007853

His career has been on some upward trajectory! To think he was still managing his home club team Naomh Conaill in 2009. Now he is taking up a role as assistant manager in the lucrative Chinese Super League. Astonishing really!

It really shows the determination he has to improve and embrace new challenges. The very best of luck to himself, Yvonne and their young family. The only downside to this of course is we're unlikely to see him back in the Donegal hot seat anytime soon.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9115 - 30/06/2017 11:13:28    2007861

Great man and a risk taker. The begrudgers will hate this one. I hope he is getting a truckload of cash!

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7885 - 30/06/2017 11:14:02    2007862

Fantastic achievement for Jim.

IMO the most tactically astute manager Gaelic football has ever seen. And an unbelievable motivator of players too. What he achieved with Donegal was nothing short of staggering and they are still benefiting from his good work.

Wish him all the best! Could be part of the Ireland setup at some point down the road!

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5010 - 30/06/2017 11:48:58    2007881

Fair play to Jim and I wish him and his family all the best. A true example of where hard work and self development can lead you.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 30/06/2017 11:49:13    2007882

Good man jim you deserve everything you get. brilliant man . great manager. good luck jim

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2391 - 30/06/2017 11:57:06    2007885

I would just like to say that in general I think they are a great bunch of lads.
Jimmy will do well there.

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 30/06/2017 12:05:16    2007888

Fair play to him. I hope it all goes well for him and the family.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13704 - 30/06/2017 12:17:46    2007895

Replying To Pinkie:  "I would just like to say that in general I think they are a great bunch of lads.
Jimmy will do well there."
??

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 30/06/2017 12:34:18    2007904

Replying To Donegalman:  "??"
Fr Ted reference

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5010 - 30/06/2017 12:51:47    2007912

IMO the most tactically astute manager Gaelic football has ever seen. And an unbelievable motivator of players too. What he achieved with Donegal was nothing short of staggering and they are still benefiting from his good work.

Fair play to him indeed but the above is a big statement. Let's call a spade a spade here, his tactical change & evolution of the Donegal footballers led them to the All-Ireland title, but the manner in which those tactics were dismantled by James Horan in the 4-17 to 1-10 defeat in 2013 displayed to me at least that the tactics were not sustainable long term.

He is an incredibly impressive character but in Gaelic football terms I think James Horan was a better Gaelic Football Manager. In a one off game between their teams in the All-Ireland final, Donegal came out on top, but five years down the road I think Mayo are benefiting more from Horan than Donegal are from McGuinness.

That said, I do think McGuinness will become a successful coach/Manager of a team, maybe at Celtic? I wish him every success.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 30/06/2017 13:09:45    2007924

Shows what you can achieve when you push yourself.Disappointed that Celtic didnt see fit to promote him during his tenure instead demoted him from first team to u 17s.Jim will have some crack with the language.

neutral (None) - Posts: 358 - 30/06/2017 13:37:21    2007938

Fair play, he's a chancer..... Wish him the best of luck.
Chinese lads singing the Hills of Donegal soon!

offtheboat (USA) - Posts: 57 - 30/06/2017 13:40:00    2007939

Replying To slayer:  "IMO the most tactically astute manager Gaelic football has ever seen. And an unbelievable motivator of players too. What he achieved with Donegal was nothing short of staggering and they are still benefiting from his good work.

Fair play to him indeed but the above is a big statement. Let's call a spade a spade here, his tactical change & evolution of the Donegal footballers led them to the All-Ireland title, but the manner in which those tactics were dismantled by James Horan in the 4-17 to 1-10 defeat in 2013 displayed to me at least that the tactics were not sustainable long term.

He is an incredibly impressive character but in Gaelic football terms I think James Horan was a better Gaelic Football Manager. In a one off game between their teams in the All-Ireland final, Donegal came out on top, but five years down the road I think Mayo are benefiting more from Horan than Donegal are from McGuinness.

That said, I do think McGuinness will become a successful coach/Manager of a team, maybe at Celtic? I wish him every success."
I wouldn't agree he's the most tactically astute manager either but McGuinness won the All Ireland. Horan didn't. Donegal were poor in 2013 alright. But we lost that final too. Who cares how far down the road we are after Horan? Sam Maguire is all that counts. I don't think tactics, psychology, making sub's decisions, motivation-wise that Horan is even close to McGuinness, unfortunately!

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7335 - 30/06/2017 13:44:48    2007947

Congratulations Jim, this is great news for him and the family. As someone mentioned I hope he gets a bucketload of cash! Absolutely over the moon for him.

People outside the county may think whatever they want, Jim is rightly revered in Donegal. A county ravaged by emigration and the recession and all the rest of it, confidence absolutely rock bottom, a bit of a laughing stock around the country, ah sure there's no harm in them, well Jim changed all that. And he'll always be loved and be the best in my mind because of what he did for us in 5 short years. Fingers crossed some day he decides to come back to the helm of the county but I hope his coaching propels him onwards in the mean time!

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 30/06/2017 13:52:48    2007953

Replying To slayer:  "IMO the most tactically astute manager Gaelic football has ever seen. And an unbelievable motivator of players too. What he achieved with Donegal was nothing short of staggering and they are still benefiting from his good work.

That said, I do think McGuinness will become a successful coach/Manager of a team, maybe at Celtic? I wish him every success."
Personally i think the aura over Jim Mcguniess is overated baloney.
he transformed a bunch of players that were lazy, sociable but very very talented.
once he got the Donegal players all rowing in the one direction they became a machine and a great one at that for a FEW seasons.
he did magnificent with them but wahee pull the brakes he was hardly the messiah of Gaelic Football.

Eamon Fitz counter acted his style in 3 weeks for the final in 2014 and over the subsequent years I wouldn't have fell in love with Eamon Fitz as Kerry manager.

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 30/06/2017 13:59:22    2007956

It's nice to people sending well wishes on here .

Sadly we live in a nation of bitter people too.

Congrats Jim and all the best .

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 30/06/2017 14:10:19    2007963

Wish we had him for a year or two when our lads were at their peak to put manners on them Dubs. A legend in Donegal and rightly so.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 30/06/2017 14:18:58    2007970

He changed the mindset in Donegal and how people look at Donegal football. He went for the Mayo job a number of year back...what could have been. He won Sam and that is all that matters.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 30/06/2017 14:24:17    2007975