Donegal V Tyrone

Should be a great battle in a few weeks, any predictions at this stage?

ulster83 (Tyrone) - Posts: 114 - 31/05/2017 09:56:03    1992521

Should be easier for Donegal now that Joe Brolly has announced that the great Sean Cavanagh is finished, not the first time Joe has written this man off either,
I think it's going to be very close, whoever wins is going to have to take their chances when they come, can't wait now for this game.
Donegal by 2.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2733 - 31/05/2017 13:54:20    1992630

I'm looking forward to the post-match hysteria myself

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 31/05/2017 13:56:01    1992633

A repeat of last years Ulster Final Tyrone to win by 2 points.

Byanthon (Tyrone) - Posts: 1780 - 31/05/2017 16:53:10    1992733

Impossible to call. Will be interesting to see if Donnelly escapes sanction. If he does, then Tyrone will feel they have a great chance. If not, then they have lost an ace. Hard to see either team run up big scores against each other. But you never know. It could be a shoot out.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 31/05/2017 17:10:30    1992745

Replying To JoeSoap:  "I'm looking forward to the post-match hysteria myself"
The SG pundits will be polishing off their usual cliches and on evening show Whelan will highlight all the off the ball challenges!

IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 31/05/2017 19:36:00    1992795

Donegal by 2 for me.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 31/05/2017 19:52:14    1992799

Replying To Donegalman:  "Impossible to call. Will be interesting to see if Donnelly escapes sanction. If he does, then Tyrone will feel they have a great chance. If not, then they have lost an ace. Hard to see either team run up big scores against each other. But you never know. It could be a shoot out."
I would see he will be, no one else to blame but himself. However he was black carded in the first half last year and we won so he might not be as big a loss as people think, he's not in the best of form over the league or against Derry. Obviously he would start if not suspended.
Can't win.
Tyrone by 4.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 31/05/2017 20:33:03    1992816

Replying To Donegalman:  "Impossible to call. Will be interesting to see if Donnelly escapes sanction. If he does, then Tyrone will feel they have a great chance. If not, then they have lost an ace. Hard to see either team run up big scores against each other. But you never know. It could be a shoot out."
I would see he will be, no one else to blame but himself. However he was black carded in the first half last year and we won so he might not be as big a loss as people think, he's not in the best of form over the league or against Derry. Obviously he would start if not suspended.
Can't win.
Tyrone by 4.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 31/05/2017 20:33:04    1992817

Replying To ulster83:  "Should be a great battle in a few weeks, any predictions at this stage?"
I'm not being biased here but us by 4 or 5. I do see Monaghan causing us serious issues though; possibly even beating us. There's something changed about them over the last 12 months. Donegal look in transition, although they've a nice few young lads in this panel but they won't be our biggest worry in Ulster... but still will be a tight fought game for most of the 70mins I 'd imagine.

GameOfTyrones (Tyrone) - Posts: 469 - 31/05/2017 22:39:12    1992858

f Donegal decide to go after Tyrone & win the game as opposed to not losing it then they should win.

A repeat of last year's shambles of a second half when, despite being double scores in front, Donegal lost their nerve will see a win for Tyrone.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 01/06/2017 13:29:16    1993053

This is a difficult game to call and I just can't see winning margins of 4/5 points for either team (as some posters think). I don't think either team are good enough to win convincingly. I actually wouldn't be surprised if it is a draw and would be shocked if the game isn't in the balance going into the last 5 minutes.

I think it will be similar to last year's Ulster final in that it will be low scoring and very tactical. Donegal have quite a few inexperienced players this year but they have added a lot of pace. I am hoping that Donegal have a real go at it, rather than sitting back trying to defend a lead for an entire half like last year. Both teams play in a similar fashion, loads of bodies back and then try to counter at speed. Would either team be brave enough to try some different? I doubt it.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1873 - 01/06/2017 15:28:19    1993105

Replying To MuckrossHead:  "f Donegal decide to go after Tyrone & win the game as opposed to not losing it then they should win.

A repeat of last year's shambles of a second half when, despite being double scores in front, Donegal lost their nerve will see a win for Tyrone."
Agree
Donegals to lose IMO , and they just might if they bottle it , as a neutral its a game I enjoyed last year and am looking forward to this year , as has been discussed to death Football has begun with a bit of a yelp as opposed to a loud bark , this game could be one to ignite the championship

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 01/06/2017 16:42:58    1993145

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=ZTVk_EviRjA

I think this game will go something like the link above.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 01/06/2017 16:47:31    1993148

Replying To clondalkindub:  "https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=ZTVk_EviRjA

I think this game will go something like the link above."
LOL good one clondalkin, we mightn't even need a ball.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2733 - 01/06/2017 21:48:02    1993295

that was a classic Ulster final right there

redbomb (Tyrone) - Posts: 167 - 02/06/2017 08:46:41    1993366

Of course it is hard to call but I was very proud of our display against Tyrone in the league so I'd be confident we will be in the game in the closing stages and put ourselves in a position to win it. Obviously Tyrone will be a different proposition in 2 weeks than they were that night in Ballybofey but I think for our young lads that was an important win for confidence. The likes of Thompson and Cian Mulligan had great games that night, Jamie Brennan ran himself into the ground as well.

The league match won't matter much to the Tyrone lads I don't think but for ourselves I think it's a good boost.

It'll be cagey, the media will be in hysterics over the spectacle, but you'll see hard hits and no doubt some brilliant score taking on both sides. I think we have been quite open this year though so depending on how we deal with Tyrone's defence it could be quite high scoring.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 02/06/2017 10:54:13    1993430

It's hard to see a free scoring game and watching Tyrone have it so easy against Derry is hard to get used to. This should be a tight low scoring attritional Ulster Championship game which is all the more enjoyable if you come out on top.

Byanthon (Tyrone) - Posts: 1780 - 02/06/2017 11:16:22    1993442

Lol....more than likely somebody somewhere in India or Pakistan has probably used footage of the second half of last years Ulster final to taunt supporters of a rival Kabaddi team of being negative and cagey

benched (Tyrone) - Posts: 534 - 02/06/2017 11:27:59    1993448

I've gotta say that did make me laugh

greatpoint (USA) - Posts: 427 - 02/06/2017 11:40:27    1993460