Waterford vs Cork (Football)

After their hurlers' heroics, Cork's footballers enter the All-Ireland championship race this weekend when they take on Waterford in Dungarvan. The Deise men are 11/1 to spring what would be a massive upset, but can they do it?

This thread will be used to discuss Saturday evening's Munster SFC quarter-final.

Administrator (None) - Posts: 2274 - 23/05/2017 17:45:39    1989918

Like Tipp last year Cork have a chance to get a game under their belt and can't see a shock here.
Waterford don't have the fire power to make it even a close contest and anything less than a 10 point win for Cork would surprise me.
No disrespect to Waterford but I know Tom McGlinchy well and he will prepare Waterford as best as possible but you can only fear for them playing a Cork team who will be aiming for a better campgain than last year.

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 23/05/2017 19:45:18    1989976

Have to agree with WildPundit. We are not exactly flying it at the moment. Neither are Waterford though. They have home advantage. We have probably have the tradition, the relative form (Division 2 v 4), resources etc. Should be a handy win for Cork.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 24/05/2017 11:05:32    1990154

Well that was interesting...

Jackos_Wacko (Kerry) - Posts: 417 - 27/05/2017 20:41:58    1991295

Credit to Waterford so close unlucky to the shock of the century. Are Cork gone this bad.Kerry will be laughing.

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 27/05/2017 20:42:08    1991296

RTE are a disgrace with barely any coverage on line on the radio of the games this eve. Anyways what a result? Cork survive by the skin of their teeth winning by a point

Belclare1 (Galway) - Posts: 1626 - 27/05/2017 20:46:41    1991298

Only in the Munster Football Championship would you see David truly put it up to a Goliath of Gaelic Football and not cower and lose by an avalanche before a ball is kicked

Bualadh Bos Port Lairge

KYTotalFootball (Kerry) - Posts: 280 - 27/05/2017 20:49:36    1991300

Fair play to Waterford, would have been a massive result for them if they held out.
But as for Kerry laughing, believe it or not this is crap for Kerry.
I expect to be heading up to Thurles for the munster football final in july

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 27/05/2017 20:58:52    1991306

Replying To KYTotalFootball:  "Only in the Munster Football Championship would you see David truly put it up to a Goliath of Gaelic Football and not cower and lose by an avalanche before a ball is kicked

Bualadh Bos Port Lairge"
Are you f*****g joking! The most one sided championship there is!?! Kerry nearly double the titles of all the rest COMBINED!!
Kerry and Cork have won every championship bar one since world war 2, and you're making out the Munster championship is some kind of hyper-competitive, random-winner, footballing eutopia??? Go away home out of it!!!

(...and aside from that, hard luck to our longsuffering football neighbours in Waterford, keep the faith lads and hopefully one day you'll get a big scalp in Munster)

extranjero (Wexford) - Posts: 375 - 27/05/2017 21:58:26    1991315

Seeing Cork's footballers scrape past Waterford is like watching Offaly hurlers losing to Laois or Westmeath. While it's great to see the underdog thriving it's a reminder how far the mighty have fallen and how much the game needs them... Who knows with this Cork team- form suggests they're in the same realm as ourselves and Clare and yet I can still imagine them taking a big scalp later in the summer.

roundball (Tipperary) - Posts: 2514 - 28/05/2017 02:08:35    1991340

Replying To woops:  "Fair play to Waterford, would have been a massive result for them if they held out.
But as for Kerry laughing, believe it or not this is crap for Kerry.
I expect to be heading up to Thurles for the munster football final in july"
I dunno woops probably worst thing that happened is Cork barely won. However they might lose Walsh and O,Connor but Tipps defence is always leaking scores and with the game in PUR I think Cork have serious advantage. You might get to see the new PUC this year afterall!

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 28/05/2017 07:53:35    1991345

I maybe wrong, but I think both Munster Finals are in Cork this year regardless of who is in them. we this big old stadium now you see and it needs filling. If it is Tipp and Kerry, make sure ye come in your droves and spend loads of money here..we have 40 bars in the ground so fill your boots..

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 28/05/2017 11:33:59    1991379

Replying To extranjero:  "Are you f*****g joking! The most one sided championship there is!?! Kerry nearly double the titles of all the rest COMBINED!!
Kerry and Cork have won every championship bar one since world war 2, and you're making out the Munster championship is some kind of hyper-competitive, random-winner, footballing eutopia??? Go away home out of it!!!

(...and aside from that, hard luck to our longsuffering football neighbours in Waterford, keep the faith lads and hopefully one day you'll get a big scalp in Munster)"
Well said Extranjero. Take Kerry and Cork for example. This is the most played fixture and the only one that goes over hundred matches in Championship history. They have played 114 times with Kerry winning 71 times, Cork winning 30 times and there have been 13 draws. Kerry have twice as many wins as Cork. It makes a mockery of a competitive province.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 28/05/2017 11:48:36    1991382

Replying To extranjero:  "Are you f*****g joking! The most one sided championship there is!?! Kerry nearly double the titles of all the rest COMBINED!!

(...and aside from that, hard luck to our longsuffering football neighbours in Waterford, keep the faith lads and hopefully one day you'll get a big scalp in Munster)"
You have missed the point in your blind rage, I never said the Clares, Limericks Waterfords were beating the two Goliaths or are likely to any time soon

The point is Waterford a county with a far smaller Football population than any other (bar Leitrim) stood up and fought against impossible odds and almost did the impossible. Other counties in other provinces just see a Goliath and bow down in awe and don't give their heart and soul. It seems to be a case of being afraid to give 100% and fail it's so disappointing to see.

KYTotalFootball (Kerry) - Posts: 280 - 28/05/2017 13:49:56    1991416