Dublin V Carlow

How do ye see this one going?

Ah no, in fairness a great win for Carlow yesterday. By all accounts a very attacking performance. Can't recall the two teams meeting in the championship before so am guessing its before my time. Anyone know?

poguemahone (Dublin) - Posts: 365 - 22/05/2017 11:05:57    1989227

Don't think even a 'David vs Goliath' title would do this one any justice. Great win by Carlow yesterday but every game in Leinster is a mismatch and it is by far the least competitive Championship.

Think this one is a case of how much Carlow can hold Dublin to. I think if they held Dublin to 20 points it would be a good result for Carlow and then hopefully get a run in the back door.

Cant stop thinking about how competitive Leinster would be if Dublin weren't in it. It would be a really exciting championship. Maybe its time the GAA consider getting Dublin to compete in the Ulster Championship in the same way Galway have entered Leinster in hurling. Just a thought..........

Monaghansclown (Monaghan) - Posts: 174 - 22/05/2017 11:14:41    1989229

Replying To poguemahone:  "How do ye see this one going?

Ah no, in fairness a great win for Carlow yesterday. By all accounts a very attacking performance. Can't recall the two teams meeting in the championship before so am guessing its before my time. Anyone know?"
The last time the Dubs played Carlow in the Championship was in 1988. The Dubs won on that occasion. They have played each other ten times in the Leinster Championship. The Dubs have won nine times. The only time Carlow beat the Dubs was in the 1944 Leinster final when the Carlow men won their only solo Leinster Championship.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 22/05/2017 11:23:29    1989240

Replying To poguemahone:  "How do ye see this one going?

Ah no, in fairness a great win for Carlow yesterday. By all accounts a very attacking performance. Can't recall the two teams meeting in the championship before so am guessing its before my time. Anyone know?"
meath beat carlow by 28 points a few years ago,now carlow are better now,but they are playing dublin. this may well be the most one sided game in the championship for as far as i can remember..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 22/05/2017 11:33:03    1989246

Brendan Murphy would walk into any team in the country imo. Its an awful pity for ourselves that he wasnt born a few mile up the road in kildare

11jm11 (Kildare) - Posts: 365 - 22/05/2017 11:43:51    1989254

Replying To Monaghansclown:  "Don't think even a 'David vs Goliath' title would do this one any justice. Great win by Carlow yesterday but every game in Leinster is a mismatch and it is by far the least competitive Championship.

Think this one is a case of how much Carlow can hold Dublin to. I think if they held Dublin to 20 points it would be a good result for Carlow and then hopefully get a run in the back door.

Cant stop thinking about how competitive Leinster would be if Dublin weren't in it. It would be a really exciting championship. Maybe its time the GAA consider getting Dublin to compete in the Ulster Championship in the same way Galway have entered Leinster in hurling. Just a thought.........."
Dublin would do the exact same in Ulster with only Tyrone and maybe Donegal the odd time putting up a worthwhile challenge. None of the others would come close

JJ1 (Kildare) - Posts: 547 - 22/05/2017 11:45:29    1989256

Replying To Monaghansclown:  "Don't think even a 'David vs Goliath' title would do this one any justice. Great win by Carlow yesterday but every game in Leinster is a mismatch and it is by far the least competitive Championship.

Cant stop thinking about how competitive Leinster would be if Dublin weren't in it. It would be a really exciting championship. Maybe its time the GAA consider getting Dublin to compete in the Ulster Championship in the same way Galway have entered Leinster in hurling. Just a thought.........."
pure madness...

didn't longford beat monaghan last year? they cannot buy a win in leinster..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 22/05/2017 11:45:31    1989257

Replying To ziggy32001:  "meath beat carlow by 28 points a few years ago,now carlow are better now,but they are playing dublin. this may well be the most one sided game in the championship for as far as i can remember.."
If im not mistaken Carlow brought meath to a replay a few years ago

11jm11 (Kildare) - Posts: 365 - 22/05/2017 11:46:42    1989258

Yes i think a lot of Leinster teams are underrated. Even Wicklow who have never won a Leinster are decent on their day and recently knocked out 3 Ulster teams out of the back door namely Fermanagh Cavan and Down under Micko.

kikfada (Louth) - Posts: 2091 - 22/05/2017 12:18:48    1989281

The hurling was a no brainer as Galway had actually no challenges in Connacht. You could not say that Leinster is going to remain the same indefinitely. Dublin got a lot stronger while their traditional rivals dipped somewhat but teams do improve. You'd probably have to restructure the whole championship and not just make an exception for Dublin.

poguemahone (Dublin) - Posts: 365 - 22/05/2017 12:23:44    1989284

I think, like most Dublin will win a canter but not on the scoreboard. Bit like Laois last year will take the foot off the pedal. Will be a bit like Monaghan v Fermanagh Saturday night.

Carlow in the qualifiers will be a tough enough match if they get a home draw.

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 22/05/2017 12:36:53    1989302

Yes indeed, Dublin did play Carlow in Dr. Cullen Park on bank holiday week end June 6th 1988 when the medals from Dublin's all Ireland success were still hot in their pockets, Dublin won 1-14 to 0-8.
I didn't see yesterday's game but from what I gather, on "yesterdays" performance Carlow would have beaten 6 if not 7 other leinster counties, and that's not to mention a few counties from other provinces including Ulster, fact. In my view Dublin couldn't care less whether it's played in Carlow or Portlaoise, it's the finance department that's calling the shots. All the reasons why it should be played in NCP have been covered, call me bias, selfish, or whatever you like but they owe the people of Carlow this one. If it's played in NCP I'll try and make it, if not I'll stay put, and wait for the next round, and this one too could be well "worth waiting for."

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 2907 - 22/05/2017 13:28:50    1989338

I think your reading too many comics or chatting to "Banty" too much, - - there's an old saying,

"An ounce of action is worth a ton of theory."

The 20 points your talking about could be used for post match celebrations in any good pub in Carlow, or Rathvilly, or Leighlin Bridge, or Fenagh, or Grange, or Palatine, or Tinryland, or The Fighting Cocks, or Mt. Leinster Rangers, or Eire Og, or Kilbride, or St. Sylvesters even
Keep the faith.

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 2907 - 22/05/2017 13:45:16    1989353

Great win for Carlow against Wexford

But they won't beat Dublin so it'll be about looking for a performance that they can use through the back door the next day out

Dublin should be looking to start/play Lowndes, Reddin, Aaron Byrne, McHugh, Mannion, O'Callaghan and it's a pity Costello won't be available

Ideal opportunity to give several younger Dub lads a go but still maintain a strong team, with a good mix of experience throughout

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20598 - 22/05/2017 14:09:03    1989368

Replying To supersub15:  "Yes indeed, Dublin did play Carlow in Dr. Cullen Park on bank holiday week end June 6th 1988 when the medals from Dublin's all Ireland success were still hot in their pockets, Dublin won 1-14 to 0-8.
I didn't see yesterday's game but from what I gather, on "yesterdays" performance Carlow would have beaten 6 if not 7 other leinster counties, and that's not to mention a few counties from other provinces including Ulster, fact. In my view Dublin couldn't care less whether it's played in Carlow or Portlaoise, it's the finance department that's calling the shots. All the reasons why it should be played in NCP have been covered, call me bias, selfish, or whatever you like but they owe the people of Carlow this one. If it's played in NCP I'll try and make it, if not I'll stay put, and wait for the next round, and this one too could be well "worth waiting for."
"
Dublin fans would be up a trip to Carlow but isn't Portlaoise already the designated venue? On a Saturday and a bank holiday weekend....

poguemahone (Dublin) - Posts: 365 - 22/05/2017 14:11:39    1989371

Replying To 11jm11:  "If im not mistaken Carlow brought meath to a replay a few years ago"
they did under banty funnily enough,but we beat them by 28 points in 2014.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 22/05/2017 14:16:43    1989376

Replying To supersub15:  "Yes indeed, Dublin did play Carlow in Dr. Cullen Park on bank holiday week end June 6th 1988 when the medals from Dublin's all Ireland success were still hot in their pockets, Dublin won 1-14 to 0-8.
"
carlow are better than wicklow, and as good as the yellow bellies,but would they beat anyone else in leinster?

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 22/05/2017 14:18:41    1989378

Replying To ziggy32001:  "
"
carlow are better than wicklow, and as good as the yellow bellies,but would they beat anyone else in leinster?"
Probably Meath but after that we would struggle all right.

carlovia (None) - Posts: 1517 - 22/05/2017 16:18:27    1989451

Carlow did very well yesterday and deserved their win over a Wexford who lost 3 key players in the first half. I think that Carlow played with a confidence and a pattern tin their play that has been absent in fomer teams. The players bought into the system and they now have the confidence now with the win But - what a daunting task now lies ahead!!!! Against the Dubs who are the favourites for the All Ireland! The game being played in Portlaoise is a no brainer in my opinion. The pitch does not matter. Carlow got a performance yesterday and the result followed. I despair when people start comparing how good Carlow are - especially after one win! Wexford were poor and without their 3 players were hamstrung form early in the game. Carlow have not put 2 back to back good performances in years. They will struggle against Dublin but if they perform as well as yesterday then that will be progress. Sustaining performances should be the aim. Carlow might then be a different proposition in the qualifiers. I am delighted for many of the older players who have stayed the course - In particular John Murphy and Daniel St Ledger and Paul Broderick whose contribution yesterday was immense. His free taking and scores from play in the first half were magnificent - one better than the other. Other players are not there that long really. Looking forward to a decent performance against the Dubs!

carlowman (Carlow) - Posts: 1819 - 22/05/2017 17:05:30    1989480

Id love dublin to compete in the ulster championship..then when we hammer all you northern teams it would make it all the sweeter..give yis something else to whine about.

GGdub (Dublin) - Posts: 260 - 22/05/2017 21:46:06    1989602