Dublin Media Myth

Saw this posted somewhere & I copied it verbatim as I found it interesting. It was in response to somebody saying that the media are compliant to Gavin.

"Who exactly are you referring to in the Dublin based media that are compliant to Gavin?

Is it John O'Keeffe, or Pat Spillane, or Dara O'Se, or Tomas O'Se, or Marc O'Se, or Eoin Liston, or Billy Keane, or Micheál Quirke, or now Colm Cooper, or Declan O'Sullivan, or Dara o'Cinneide?

Or James Horan, or Willie Joe Padden, or Ger Gilroy and his band of Mayo and Kildare loving henchmen.
Or Martin Breheny, or John Fogarty or Ewan McKenna or Colm Keyes?

Or Ciaran Whelan or Paul Curran or Mossy Quinn or Senan Connell?"

When posters refer to the love in between Dublin GAA & the media....is it from pundits from outside the county or the 4 named Dubs above mentioned?

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 22/05/2017 09:15:08    1989141

The only paper that is really Dublin Dublin is the Evening Herald.

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 22/05/2017 09:49:41    1989160

Easy enough to work out. Just read the the articles from the week of the replay last year

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 22/05/2017 10:08:45    1989177

Replying To Jackeen:  "Saw this posted somewhere & I copied it verbatim as I found it interesting. It was in response to somebody saying that the media are compliant to Gavin.

"Who exactly are you referring to in the Dublin based media that are compliant to Gavin?

Is it John O'Keeffe, or Pat Spillane, or Dara O'Se, or Tomas O'Se, or Marc O'Se, or Eoin Liston, or Billy Keane, or Micheál Quirke, or now Colm Cooper, or Declan O'Sullivan, or Dara o'Cinneide?

Or James Horan, or Willie Joe Padden, or Ger Gilroy and his band of Mayo and Kildare loving henchmen.

When posters refer to the love in between Dublin GAA & the media....is it from pundits from outside the county or the 4 named Dubs above mentioned?"
First of all your point doesn't make any sense unless we know who said the media are favourable towards Dublin. Where did you read this? Where did you copy and paste that from? I really hope it isn't from a Dublin fans forum! I don't think the media are biased towards Dublin, they give them their dues as they should.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7885 - 22/05/2017 10:08:52    1989178

Replying To Jackeen:  "Saw this posted somewhere & I copied it verbatim as I found it interesting. It was in response to somebody saying that the media are compliant to Gavin.

When posters refer to the love in between Dublin GAA & the media....is it from pundits from outside the county or the 4 named Dubs above mentioned?"
Surely all GAA media like the Dublin team? Play great football and rightly reaping the rewards.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7337 - 22/05/2017 10:23:02    1989191

Ah here, come off it now. Dublin have a coterie of media influencers to match those of any other county. Ciarán Whelan, Alan Brogan, Senan Connell, Coman Goggins, John O'Leary, Keith Barr, Mossy Quinn et al. very seldom stray far from the party line on controversial incidents involving Dublin players, but will certainly do so for opposition footballers. This was especially evident in the build-up to the All-Ireland final replay last year.

Dublin are definitely the team of the decade, but don't think for a second that their wider circle are blind to the benefits of building a media narrative. They are not, which is probably why (ironically enough) Fitzmaurice felt he had to address the issue prior to the league final this year.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 22/05/2017 10:28:13    1989196

First of all your point doesn't make any sense unless we know who said the media are favourable towards Dublin. Where did you read this? Where did you copy and paste that from? I really hope it isn't from a Dublin fans forum! I don't think the media are biased towards Dublin, they give them their dues as they should.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7885 - 22/05/2017 10:34:04    1989199

most of the country's papers are sold in dublin and it also the biggest single market for the media, of course there will be much focus and articles on Dublin, nothing new there....

totalrecall (Leitrim) - Posts: 912 - 22/05/2017 10:52:57    1989215

Dublin have always got a lot of media coverage , more so now as they are a winning team. I listen to a lot of phone ins and record all the games. Would say they get ,overall, fair coverage. Some give them (or certain players) stick and others sing their praises. Never noticed a particular controlled slant one way or the other.

As for Newspapers. They are all about selling figures. So the likes of the Herald (a poor poor newspaper) knows giving a 6 page analysis of a Dublin game boosts their sales in the capital. Its all just glossy coverage with no insights offered to the game.

poguemahone (Dublin) - Posts: 365 - 22/05/2017 10:58:10    1989222

Replying To TheFlaker:  "First of all your point doesn't make any sense unless we know who said the media are favourable towards Dublin. Where did you read this? Where did you copy and paste that from? I really hope it isn't from a Dublin fans forum! I don't think the media are biased towards Dublin, they give them their dues as they should."
It was actually on the Kerry forum but I've also seen posters elude to the same theory on the Mayo blog. It's a topic for discussion that's all. No biggie. I think posters are missing the point though. It's now about how much or little is written about Dublin. It's about the suggestion that the media is somehow compliant to Dublin GAA. This Dublin based media nonsense is brought up across all social fora quite often. Most of the Dublin based media are from outside the capital.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 22/05/2017 11:30:36    1989245

i do think some pundits lick up to dublin for fear of critcism from the dubs.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 22/05/2017 11:34:39    1989247

Replying To Jackeen:  "It was actually on the Kerry forum but I've also seen posters elude to the same theory on the Mayo blog. It's a topic for discussion that's all. No biggie. I think posters are missing the point though. It's now about how much or little is written about Dublin. It's about the suggestion that the media is somehow compliant to Dublin GAA. This Dublin based media nonsense is brought up across all social fora quite often. Most of the Dublin based media are from outside the capital."
Don't see it myself. The bigger teams always get more attention, good and bad. Look at the stupid AOS story last week. If Mayo have Sam in the bag iy isn't even a story. Not all media are bad, there just happens to be some woeful people employed by RTE and some newpapers. Tommy Carr and Flynn always have some stupid things to say about Mayo, same for Breheny. But the same probably goes for other people when talking about other counties.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7885 - 22/05/2017 11:47:38    1989259

Fair play Jackeen

But culchies don't appreciate logic and factual stats when it comes to Dublin GAA

They have one way they like to see it and it's never really the balanced side of things

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 22/05/2017 13:26:40    1989335

And there I was thinking that the agenda/direction of the Media is set by those who own/control it - not the people they employ to deliver that agenda. My poor culchie brain can't cope with all this........

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 22/05/2017 13:42:15    1989351

Replying To jimbodub:  "Fair play Jackeen

But culchies don't appreciate logic and factual stats when it comes to Dublin GAA

They have one way they like to see it and it's never really the balanced side of things"
We hear stuff like Kilkenny being paid to come back, being looked after, professional players in place of amateurs, etc etc etc and now it's the Dublin controlling the media... dear oh flipping dear...

Nonsense on top of nonsense to suit a very biased and almost deliberately ignorant POV

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 22/05/2017 14:00:20    1989360

Replying To Offside_Rule:  "And there I was thinking that the agenda/direction of the Media is set by those who own/control it - not the people they employ to deliver that agenda. My poor culchie brain can't cope with all this........"
You're not a culchie

Don't be mean to yourself

Listen most of yiz wouldn't give two figs if the platoon of Kerry men and other rival county former players well placed in the media had nothing but bad things to say about Dublin..

But Jaysus God forbid we have our own well placed lads to throw it back...

We have seen the call put out to target our players in the media...

Not too many were outraged

So expect plenty back... and delighted to see Dublin fighting fire with fire in the media now

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 22/05/2017 14:13:58    1989372

Replying To jimbodub:  "You're not a culchie

Don't be mean to yourself

Listen most of yiz wouldn't give two figs if the platoon of Kerry men and other rival county former players well placed in the media had nothing but bad things to say about Dublin..

But Jaysus God forbid we have our own well placed lads to throw it back...

We have seen the call put out to target our players in the media...

Not too many were outraged

So expect plenty back... and delighted to see Dublin fighting fire with fire in the media now"
I am as culchie as they come jimbo :-)

And I just like to see a good debate/argument on here so any point I can add to help the debate along I feel it is my duty to add.... as to whether the actual topic being discussed bothers me or affects me, in this case not at all. If the Media aren't causing debates then they aren't doing their job. Those who control it are smart enough to know what type of personalities they have to put in place to get them being talked about so do I care if they spend a lot of time discussing Dublin, or Kerry, or Mayo, or whoever is flavour of the month - not at all.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 22/05/2017 14:48:37    1989404

Have always maintained this jackeen, the Dublin media is full of culchies, including editors so what possible agenda could they have regarding 'blowing up' Dublin etc?

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8586 - 22/05/2017 16:22:23    1989454

Where did u lift that from Jackeen........

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 22/05/2017 18:09:41    1989511