Galway celebrate NHL win

It would appear that the Galway hurlers are being criticised for celebrating winning the league. By the sounds of it, the celebrations were fairly tame but holy hell are these players not allowed have some sort of life?!?! What harm would it do anyway?

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 04/05/2017 09:43:37    1984379

Total agree ,There are only 2 National Titles in hurling & there is absolutely no reason why they shouldn't be a celebration for winning any of them ,complete nonsense to say any different,a lot of idiots out there ,every other sport on earth win a title of some kind will celebrate,why do the GAA National leagues be different in that respect,congratulations Galway on a super performance at the worlds greatest sport

emerald79 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 60 - 04/05/2017 10:37:09    1984401

From my view it seems to me you are not allowed to celebrate:

1. A Connacht/Leinster/Munster title.
2. A league title (Kerry captain looked uncomfortable picking up the cup a few weeks ago....barely smiled).
3. A quarter final win (last year v Tyrone there were some comments that Mayo players and management looked to happy).

So what are you allowed to celebrate? An All Ireland....that's fine for those that actually win an All Ireland but what are the rest of us supposed to do?
The ethos of the GAA is about participation as much as winning but the narrative being pushed that only an All Ireland senior title matters.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 04/05/2017 11:08:28    1984418

Totally agree while some fans may feel its not much of an achievement to win this title or that title etc the players should be encouraged to enjoy GOOD DAYS , heaven knows in you career you will get enough bad ones, at the end of the day they are putting in savage work commitment when it comes good and your rewarded with silverware let your hair down

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 04/05/2017 12:06:48    1984435

I don't see what's wrong with celebrating for a couple of days, tbh. National titles are hard won, and they're probably back in training on the tuesday or wednesday.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 04/05/2017 12:17:39    1984440

Who actually complained that they celebrated winning? Nobody is mentioned? Seems strange anybody could complain about a team winning a trophy shouldn't enjoy it.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 04/05/2017 12:44:40    1984443

Replying To Gleebo:  "I don't see what's wrong with celebrating for a couple of days, tbh. National titles are hard won, and they're probably back in training on the tuesday or wednesday."
We'll said, a few pints won't do anybody any harm, especially when they'll be like hermits until championship is over.
National titles of any description are hard enough come by.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1898 - 04/05/2017 12:51:35    1984444

What a joke. We need to realise these players need a social life, a chance to relax and enjoy a win. If that is taken from them, well we can completely throw our hat at it.
Where is the criticism?

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 04/05/2017 13:45:31    1984458

This was started as a new thread but as the subject matter is the same it has been incorporated here.

TheHermit
Kerry

League celebrations criticised in Galway

https://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/2017/0504/872423-micheal-donoghue/

Have people gone mad or what, giving out about a hastily arranged reception with the cup at the club of the Galway captain.

It's Galway's first major national trophy in a few years. Given the near misses of the last few years, the furor over Cunningham's exit in 2015 and the devastating performance they put in against the reigning All-Ireland champions on the day, I think if they want to celebrate it they are perfectly entitled.

Jesus in Kerry we still talk about the day we drew with Kilkenny down in Tralee in the League in the 1970s!

Administrator (None) - Posts: 2274 - 04/05/2017 14:28:14    1984476

This was posted in the other thread and has been moved here with the other messages.

ZUL10
Clare

Replying To TheHermit: "https://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/2017/0504/872423-micheal-donoghue/

Have people gone mad or what, giving out about a hastily arranged reception with the cup at the club of the Galway captain.

It's Galway's first major national trophy in a few years. Given the near misses of the last few years, the furor over Cunningham's exit in 2015 and the devastating performance they put in against the reigning All-Ireland champions on the day, I think if they want to celebrate it they are perfectly entitled.

Jesus in Kerry we still talk about the day we drew with Kilkenny down in Tralee in the League in the 1970s!"

What about the day ye beat Clare in the league in late 1995. They were AI champs at the time. I believe Clare were still celebrating the AI win that day. And Whats wrong with that?

Administrator (None) - Posts: 2274 - 04/05/2017 14:30:10    1984477

This was posted in the other thread and has been moved here with the other messages.

TheHermit
Kerry

Replying To ZUL10: "What about the day ye beat Clare in the league in late 1995. They were AI champs at the time. I believe Clare were still celebrating the AI win that day. And Whats wrong with that?"

Revenge for 92 in the football eh Zulu :D

Administrator (None) - Posts: 2274 - 04/05/2017 14:31:36    1984479

Replying To hill16no1man:  "Who actually complained that they celebrated winning? Nobody is mentioned? Seems strange anybody could complain about a team winning a trophy shouldn't enjoy it."
John Fogarty in the Examiner had a go at them about it a few days after the final. Article is probably online somewhere.

As far as I know they just went to Gort for some ice cream in Supermacs. Then to the St Thomas club because it's the club of the captain David Burke. There was a bit of a crowd gathered there but it was a lot of kids mainly. Then the players went for a few pints in Galway city. Calling it a celebration homecoming is a bit OTT but sure paper never refused ink.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2208 - 04/05/2017 15:01:16    1984490

If you describe bringing the cup out for kids as celebrations fair enough. I think you cannot promote the game enough. It is dying, most of the country don't play.

Not sure whether the players hit the town or not after the game but i think it is normal enough for teams to have a social outing after the completion of the league. It is the natural end of a block of the season. The fact that they won something means it is described as a celebration.

On a side note - i was in a pub in a Galway town when they won in 04. They landlord (No names but BL may have been his initials!) poured a bottle of brandy into the cup and it all flowed straight out the hole in the bottom of it! They don't make celebrations like they used to!

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1826 - 04/05/2017 15:16:40    1984493

Ireland rugby team won a friendly match in November and the papers were full of it for weeks afterwards. Rte made a documentary about it.

Galway win an actual title and aren't allowed celebrate.....

mike03 (Limerick) - Posts: 2000 - 04/05/2017 15:36:54    1984501

Replying To Marooned:  "John Fogarty in the Examiner had a go at them about it a few days after the final. Article is probably online somewhere.

As far as I know they just went to Gort for some ice cream in Supermacs. Then to the St Thomas club because it's the club of the captain David Burke. There was a bit of a crowd gathered there but it was a lot of kids mainly. Then the players went for a few pints in Galway city. Calling it a celebration homecoming is a bit OTT but sure paper never refused ink."
Here's the article; and a good one in my opinion.

http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/columnists/john-fogarty/john-fogarty-can-galway-handle-the-pressures-of-winning-448634.html

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2447 - 04/05/2017 16:18:01    1984510

Replying To mike03:  "Ireland rugby team won a friendly match in November and the papers were full of it for weeks afterwards. Rte made a documentary about it.

Galway win an actual title and aren't allowed celebrate....."
Correct NAIL on head

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 04/05/2017 16:22:42    1984517

Replying To Marooned:  "John Fogarty in the Examiner had a go at them about it a few days after the final. Article is probably online somewhere.

As far as I know they just went to Gort for some ice cream in Supermacs. Then to the St Thomas club because it's the club of the captain David Burke. There was a bit of a crowd gathered there but it was a lot of kids mainly. Then the players went for a few pints in Galway city. Calling it a celebration homecoming is a bit OTT but sure paper never refused ink."
Do only thing I see wrong there is going to supermacs haha even jack taylor never goes there

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 04/05/2017 19:26:00    1984563

The journalists seem to be gone very sensational. I feel sorry for Donoghue having to defend it when the celebrations seemed to be low key and for the benefits of young lads at two clubs in the county.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 04/05/2017 20:15:08    1984572

It was the biggest load of baloney I've read in my life to be honest.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2208 - 05/05/2017 13:55:01    1984701