Diarmuid Connolly and threat of suspension

Just heard on Off the Ball that Diarmuid Connolly will be suspended if he picks up one black card. He will be suspended for 1 game.
What's the chances of him picking one up in the first round of Leinster championship to get it out off the way so there is no threat hanging over his head in bigger games ahead?
Would that be a cynical move? Or been smart?

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 20/04/2017 20:04:21    1981250

Kevin Feely was in the same position in the league, black cards against Cork and Clare. Would have been happy to see him pick up one in Salthill and miss the league final to get it out of the way.

It's a 48 week rule on the black cards, would be a smart move by Connolly or anybody else in the same situation to pick one up in a nothing game.

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3685 - 20/04/2017 20:17:16    1981255

That's interesting in fairness but I also find it interesting that the C.C.C.C haven't taken any action against Philly McMahon or James McCarthy or donnacha Walsh after the league final.
They were quick enough to ban mattie Donnelly for the Kerry game in Killarney.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 20/04/2017 22:34:45    1981291

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "That's interesting in fairness but I also find it interesting that the C.C.C.C haven't taken any action against Philly McMahon or James McCarthy or donnacha Walsh after the league final.
They were quick enough to ban mattie Donnelly for the Kerry game in Killarney."
A fair point about those lads
And to answer to OP, might not be a bad move at all!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8585 - 21/04/2017 00:01:50    1981305

Replying To The_Fridge:  "Just heard on Off the Ball that Diarmuid Connolly will be suspended if he picks up one black card. He will be suspended for 1 game.
What's the chances of him picking one up in the first round of Leinster championship to get it out off the way so there is no threat hanging over his head in bigger games ahead?
Would that be a cynical move? Or been smart?"
He'd be almost silly not to. Sevond half Leinster quarter final get it out of the way just incase. I think yellow cards should be included also if they're not already , an acclamation of 3 blacks and/ or yellows should be one game suspension.

ctowers (Dublin) - Posts: 99 - 21/04/2017 06:22:44    1981320

If a player purposely picked up a card in a nothing game and missed one game of little importance is the slate clean, Or in the event of he picking up another black card does the two previous cards come into the equasion or risking a bigger suspension?

I too like K'boy1 am very surprised that neither Donnachadh or James Mac were not further cited and there was 2 of them in it but it was handbags- Philly on the other hand should have been called up on the 'fist' tackles actually he may have been better of if he was cos any repeat could be more costly if refs are looking out for and pre warned with him it could result in a straight red in a bigger game and striking carries minimum 4 weeks and one game ya?

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 21/04/2017 07:57:12    1981328

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "That's interesting in fairness but I also find it interesting that the C.C.C.C haven't taken any action against Philly McMahon or James McCarthy or donnacha Walsh after the league final.
They were quick enough to ban mattie Donnelly for the Kerry game in Killarney."
Well if they didn't take any action after that game in Tralee then I'm not surprised!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 21/04/2017 08:56:02    1981336

Spade a Spade
i think he absolutely SHOULD get a black in first round late in the game
100%
Sorry, but has to be done

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 21/04/2017 09:48:55    1981350

on a side note, i find it mildly amusing how everyone has just completely ignored the carry on of Donnchadh Walsh in the league final.

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 21/04/2017 10:08:13    1981361

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Spade a Spade
100%
Sorry, but has to be done"
Yep he should pick up card i knw if i was his nanger id be telling him 2 insaying that he is a dirty player a great player but has got off with 2 much he should be called telfon man nothing ever stocks

hoopman (Tyrone) - Posts: 105 - 21/04/2017 10:17:55    1981368

Yep he should pick up card i knw if i was his nanger id be telling him 2 insaying that he is a dirty player a great player but has got off with 2 much he should be called telfon man nothing ever stocks

hoopman (Tyrone) - Posts:72 - 21/04/2017

Oxo man surely?

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3685 - 21/04/2017 10:37:41    1981375

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "on a side note, i find it mildly amusing how everyone has just completely ignored the carry on of Donnchadh Walsh in the league final."
This threas isnt about Walsh

DundalkGael (Louth) - Posts: 891 - 21/04/2017 10:41:16    1981377

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Spade a Spade
100%
Sorry, but has to be done"
Cant agree , in the middle of a game a man running through on gaol your two points up you take him down , it happens its understandable heat of battle , but to walk onto a pitch in the cold light of day with designs on pulling someone to the ground to off set a suspension some where else down the line ?????for me Dermot Connolly is not that important , Dublin winning Sam is not that important, for me that's our game going down the sewer but its alight if we get silverware and bragging rights nope , each to their own

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 21/04/2017 11:10:05    1981388

Replying To DundalkGael:  "This threas isnt about Walsh"
I said above one of them two of them - they were both niggling all game

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 21/04/2017 11:11:16    1981390

Listen,

I'll also call a spade a spade, Like the vast majority, id say go get yourself another black and get it out of the way..

HOWEVER, This is Diarmuid Connolly, Whether he gets a black card in our next game and serves a suspension or not, the likely hood of him letting his temperament get the better of him, yet again, down the line is almost as guaranteed as death and taxes, So it matters not a jot in all honesty.

As great as he is, he is a ticking time bomb and a leopard cant change its spots, At this stage of his career as one of the "experienced" fellas in the squad, i think we have to just accept him for what he is, A flawed genius, And although he is capable of stuff from another stratosphere, he is also more than capable of the brainfarts that see him embroiled in the shenanigans that sees him get into more & more trouble...

I know he is seen as a leader in the team, fact is, he isnt, how can he be ? Leaders keep a calm head in big big games, You can rely on leaders to keep their discipline, You cant rely on Diarmuid to keep his calm and he is only a moment of stupidity away from letting the rest of his teammates down, they have bailed him out on more times than i care to remember, but it caught up with us against Kerry and will catch up with us again at some point.

Great player, Wonderful player. The best ive seen operate in a Dublin jersey make no mistake about it, But also one of the more infuriating players ive seen cause him temperament is tragic.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 21/04/2017 11:44:20    1981404

Good Post Wayno1

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 21/04/2017 11:47:00    1981406

Hopefully he gets it in the Leinster semi and a good rest before the quarters.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 21/04/2017 12:55:20    1981437

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "on a side note, i find it mildly amusing how everyone has just completely ignored the carry on of Donnchadh Walsh in the league final."
We haven't ignored donnachas push to James McCarthys face as both my self and horsebox have both said he and McCarthy and McMahon all deserve to be punished, read back a few posts and you'll see that.

On the Connolly issue I think he should take the card in the next game as it would be the sensible thing to do.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 21/04/2017 13:04:16    1981442

Connolly is a lot of things cynical he is not, plays on the edge so what! that is his game if you don't like it - he'd say tough. Most managers see the best side of him and that is all they want. Seeing him first hand as a lad playing I can say if you annoy him he will react always has been like that and always will. What you see is ultimately what you get, he can be one cocky clown and must be a nightmare to mark. But he won't change his game and the colour of the card won't matter to him one way or the other. Annoy him enough he will most likely flatten you anyway. But the thing is if he is not cynical who are the cynical ones winding him up then? It is surely up to the ref's at the end of the day if they do their job right he will get the protection every player deserves, generally speaking GAA ref's penalise just the reaction not the original infraction, that is not his fault why should he change to suit dodgy officials and poor markings trying to wind him up? At the end of the day no one has to like him (not even himself), if my daughter brought him home would I be happy? - no, but that is nothing to do with his game he is a wonderful footballer.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4895 - 21/04/2017 13:44:47    1981452

Connolly is a lot of things cynical he is not, plays on the edge but so what! that is his game if you don't like it - its probably tough. Most managers see the best side of him and that is all they want. Seeing him first hand as a lad playing I can say if you annoy him he will react, what you see is ultimately what you get, he can be one cocky clown and must be a nightmare to mark. But he won't change his game and the colour of the card won't matter to him one way or the other. Annoy him enough he will most likely flatten you, but the thing is who is the cynical ones winding him up then? It is up to the ref's at the end of the day, if they do their job right he will get the protection every player deserves. Generally speaking ref's penalise the reaction not the infraction. No one has to like him as a person, if my daughter brought him home would I be happy - no, but that is nothing to do with his game he is a wonderful footballer.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4895 - 21/04/2017 13:54:12    1981455