Ulster Senior Hurling Championship

We had it all today, yellows, reds, wides, goals, etc - in the end Armagh won a fantastic game , but where is RTÉ / don't even give a report!!

cuchulainn35 (Armagh) - Posts: 1671 - 08/04/2017 18:15:24    1977167

Whether the blame can best directed remains to be seen - wouldn't have known either semi was on today only that I bought a paper for the Grand National! GAA heavily publicised the Divisional finals, but no advertising/marketing whatsoever for these games.

anciarraioch82 (Kerry) - Posts: 33 - 08/04/2017 18:58:17    1977178

The GAA won't change the championship structures because they feel that the provincial championships are sacred. Except that is when it comes to the Ulster SHC which is considered the runt of the provincial championships, ranked only above the non-existent Connacht SHC and therefore not worthy of promotion or coverage. The Leinster u-21 hurling gets far more recognition.

M Lyster (Antrim) - Posts: 461 - 08/04/2017 19:48:34    1977197

BBC NI shows every ulster championship football match, all qualifiers where ulster (Monaghan, Cavan, Donegal included) that involves an ulster football team. But not one hurling match, yet last year the best match on ulster soil was the Antrim v Armagh hurling final which Armagh TV showed. I wouldnt have an issue with this but Ulster handpassing matches are a bore to watch. Hurling is an inconvenience in Ulster GAA hence the rush to get it out of the road within two weeks in April.

Brian_Coyote (Antrim) - Posts: 346 - 08/04/2017 20:29:53    1977209

Replying To Brian_Coyote:  "BBC NI shows every ulster championship football match, all qualifiers where ulster (Monaghan, Cavan, Donegal included) that involves an ulster football team. But not one hurling match, yet last year the best match on ulster soil was the Antrim v Armagh hurling final which Armagh TV showed. I wouldnt have an issue with this but Ulster handpassing matches are a bore to watch. Hurling is an inconvenience in Ulster GAA hence the rush to get it out of the road within two weeks in April."
Brian,
The counties involved wanted it played as a warm up to the Christy Ring/ Nicky Rackards and so forth as its a worthless competition anyway. Lads were taking off on their holidays and teams were struggling to field.

Well done to Armagh on their win on Saturday, some Down hurlers lack a bit of discipline.

bricktop (Down) - Posts: 2503 - 12/04/2017 13:57:49    1978801

I see Armagh are calling for the Ulster SHC to be postponed: http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=268918

Its understandable, the Ring and Rackard cups start the following week, I'd do the same if I was in their shoes. This could really have been foreseen when the Ulster SHC fixtures were set.

Marlon_JD (Tipperary) - Posts: 1823 - 12/04/2017 19:51:22    1978906

Replying To Marlon_JD:  "I see Armagh are calling for the Ulster SHC to be postponed: http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=268918

Its understandable, the Ring and Rackard cups start the following week, I'd do the same if I was in their shoes. This could really have been foreseen when the Ulster SHC fixtures were set."
Armagh have stated that they did not ask Ulster Council for a change of date and therefore the Ulster Final goes ahead on Sunday in Owenbeg. I always welcomed as a manager a good competitive match rather than a training session prior to championship.

The match on Sunday will do both teams the world of good and hopefully the Saturday after Antrim will travel down to Carlow and come away with a win in the Christy Ring Cup.

Only issue this Sunday will be straight red cards!!!!

Brian_Coyote (Antrim) - Posts: 346 - 13/04/2017 13:24:20    1979071

Replying To Brian_Coyote:  "Armagh have stated that they did not ask Ulster Council for a change of date and therefore the Ulster Final goes ahead on Sunday in Owenbeg. I always welcomed as a manager a good competitive match rather than a training session prior to championship.

The match on Sunday will do both teams the world of good and hopefully the Saturday after Antrim will travel down to Carlow and come away with a win in the Christy Ring Cup.

Only issue this Sunday will be straight red cards!!!!"
I guess potential injuries would be another concern.
It also look like Donegal have given a walkover for their Ulster SHC relegation play-off against Down, apparently due to proximity of their opening Rackard match: http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=268984

Marlon_JD (Tipperary) - Posts: 1823 - 13/04/2017 21:33:34    1979234

Replying To Marlon_JD:  "I guess potential injuries would be another concern.
It also look like Donegal have given a walkover for their Ulster SHC relegation play-off against Down, apparently due to proximity of their opening Rackard match: I" target="_blank" rel="nofollow">http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=268984"
I saw that.

It's a bit disappointing really. Why wouldn't they use the opportunity to play a quality team in a competitive game. Surely that's much better than training.

Players complain about not having enough games and then teams go and do this sort of thing. It doesn't make sense to me.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4210 - 13/04/2017 21:54:01    1979244

Replying To cuchulainn35:  "We had it all today, yellows, reds, wides, goals, etc - in the end Armagh won a fantastic game , but where is RTÉ / don't even give a report!!"
I was actually astonished when the first I heard about the 2017 Ulster Hurling Championship was on Highland Radio yesterday when it was announced that Donegal were giving Down a walkover in the relegation play-off. I'm amazed that a province's senior county hurling championship wasn't mentioned in the national media anywhere.

Tacaí Liatroma (Leitrim) - Posts: 1029 - 14/04/2017 18:10:02    1979442

Replying To Whammo86:  "I saw that.

It's a bit disappointing really. Why wouldn't they use the opportunity to play a quality team in a competitive game. Surely that's much better than training.

Players complain about not having enough games and then teams go and do this sort of thing. It doesn't make sense to me."
Completely agree. Doesn't make much sense to me either. It would have been an ideal opportunity for Donegal to test themselves in a competitive game against some quality opposition before they play Armagh in the Nicky Rackard. They will be training this weekend anyway.

I thought it was a good idea to play the competition off before the Christy Ring and Nicky Rackard this year. I thought it might reinvigorate some interest in the competition and give teams some extra competitive games. It is ideal preparation for the Christy Ring and Nicky Rackard in my opinion. Teams only play 5 or 6 league games anyway.

I think there needs to be an extra incentive for this competition to be taken more seriously. Armagh have already said they will field a 'dummy' team this weekend and wanted their game re-fixed.

The winner of the Christy Ring qualifies for the SHC preliminary round this year against the Leinster QF loser. What do people think if the Ulster Hurling Champions could qualify for an extra SHC preliminary round alongside the winners of the Christy Ring??

HandballRef (Donegal) - Posts: 520 - 14/04/2017 21:04:34    1979464

well done to ye in ulster on getting that hurling over with and out of the way,

Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 2840 - 14/04/2017 22:02:52    1979476

Replying To Stmunnsriver:  "well done to ye in ulster on getting that hurling over with and out of the way,"
Oh look at you on that very high pedestal.
Maybe you in mighty Wexford should concentrate on sorting the discipline of your clubs out. Didn't hear too much from Joe Duffy about that. Or on here for that matter.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 14/04/2017 22:34:05    1979484

Replying To The_Fridge:  "Oh look at you on that very high pedestal.
Maybe you in mighty Wexford should concentrate on sorting the discipline of your clubs out. Didn't hear too much from Joe Duffy about that. Or on here for that matter."
ha ha ha priceless that post coming from tyrone!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! god that IS funny, your a witty man

Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 2840 - 15/04/2017 12:34:47    1979528

Yes Antrim won as probably expected. Yes it was our 16th in a row. And yes it is 'only the Ulster Hurling Championship'. BUT. For RTÉ not even to find it within themselves to mention let alone show any highlight of it on their Sunday programme is a disgrace. It is still the first Provincial Championship played out and should merit comment. But no, 1hr on two games was what we got instead - along with a preview to the Final and a video preview for good measure. Our Souls!!!!

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 18/04/2017 13:13:30    1980425