Donegal v Galway

Well done Galway, good to see them bounce back after the debacle in the Connacht final. The big difference for me was the return of Armstrong, he can look so slick at times in his movement and general play. Changing the keeper proved a difference too, I didn't see the stats but I'd say Galway did a lot better off the kickout this time around then when Duvall was in goals previously. Also, I was delighted to see Michael Meehan come back, not sure if he'll still be the same player but great to have him on the panel and an option on the bench the next day.
For Donegal, what can you say. You really don't want to be kicking them when their down but that performance was shambolic. Conceding 4-17 and picking up some silly black cards (albeit that Murphy's was a victim of the random card generator) I'm not sure where they go from here.
They've looked disjointed and have been susceptible to losing concentration at key moments in games. I wouldn't be privy to the county board politics up in the north west but I'm not sure if Gallagher should hang in there much longer. The pressure will mount on him and he'd have to ask himself if he can do much more with this group of players. They seem to be lacking an identity, such was the impression left by McGuinness. They come across as a team that needs a fresh approach, a new mindset and instill a new confidence in the squad. Easier said than done I know.
Looking forward to seeing Galway in the next round, you can't say they're not entertaining that's for sure

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 23/07/2017 08:27:36    2021431

Replying To seanie_boy:  "Not sure to be honest because we also put up good performances against Derry and Down in the final whereas this Donegal team see to have gotten poorer as the year has progressed. They look leaderless and without and ideas or will to win. It's very unlike them. Something is not right in that team right now."
I think Tyrone are preparing for football at a different level to the standard seen in Ulster so far. The fall of Donegal has been a big shock and I can only put it down to the manager. I can not believe this would have happened under Jim's management. The one lesson for Tyrone is be careful when calling for change of manager.

Byanthon (Tyrone) - Posts: 1780 - 23/07/2017 08:31:54    2021435

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Firstly, huge congratulations to Galway on their win. When the Tribesmen get into their groove they are a swash buckling team that are extremely hard to live with. I must confess I didn't envisage that performance after their poor display against Roscommon so all I can say is tip of the cap. Well done men!

For ourselves it was a chastening experience, We never seem to manage noble defeat. It's all or nothing it seems. We either win or else we get trounced. No doubt a lot of questions will be asked. But to all the keyboard warriors out there who'll be itching to vent their fury I say remember this. These lads sacrifice an awful lot to represent their county. They're all proud Donegal men as much as we are. They've given us many, many brilliant memories to cherish. Hopefully there will be more to come. A few might step away now after tonight. Chin up lads, you can walk tall in Donegal for the rest of your days."
Good point. There was a small number of posters on our own HS page calling for KW to resign after the Connacht final or at least set himself up to go if we lost last night even though we were still in the championship. Mad stuff. So your absolutely right with your post.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 23/07/2017 08:42:00    2021443

Commisserations Donegal... this has to be some watershed for the team. When ye've been good, ye've been very very good, but no more than ourselves this year things have been off. Mayo have had more wins and big days out since both sides came out from the shade in 2011, but every player and supporter from my county would happily swap for Donegal's record over that time... ye put one in the bag and but for a bad break could easily have added a second. Maybe not with Gallagher, but I doubt ye'll be down for long.

Well done to Galway. I'd say the Kingdom will be a little uneasy this week... a Galway team in confident form who'll still have the benefit of going in as underdogs is a very tricky prospect. 3 Connacht teams in Croker on a single Sunday is unprecedented, and I'd imagine Kerry support will show up in numbers too, making for the best western for many a long year!

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 23/07/2017 09:12:08    2021448

Well done to Galway and good luck down the line
Terrible display by Donegal , we have gone full circle --- Crossmaglen 2010 to Sligo in 2017 and we are back to 2010 levels the way we are playing this year But we have to realise the year 2012 was and how we played and the good teams we beat I think it will be a long time , if ever that we will experience a year like that
I can't see us going anywhere over the next two years or so and we will probably loose a few more senior players this year
I suggested a few weeks ago we bring in Pete McGrath, a few shot down my idea but to me he is just the type of man to coach all these youn lads into a proper team
I doubt if we have a Donegal man fit to manage the senior county team
I just hope last nights display will wake the people up who are running the GAA in the county and realise the problems we have and sort out a proper management team

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 23/07/2017 09:38:00    2021458

When Donegal don't turn up, Donegal dont turn up. Glad we didn't make croke park. Not many positives I'm afraid. Not happy that our veteran players were forced to get 2 trimmings this year in potentially their last year. We are going to hear about inexperienced players, luck etc while the reality is that the mongrel form of rugby that we play is now a 19th century method of going to war in the 21st century. Good luck to Galway for playing the game the way it should be played. Donegal county board have serious decisions to make in the next months....but in all likelihood they won't.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 23/07/2017 09:40:31    2021462

Replying To SamOnErrigal:  "Well done to Galway and good luck down the line
Terrible display by Donegal , we have gone full circle --- Crossmaglen 2010 to Sligo in 2017 and we are back to 2010 levels the way we are playing this year But we have to realise the year 2012 was and how we played and the good teams we beat I think it will be a long time , if ever that we will experience a year like that
I can't see us going anywhere over the next two years or so and we will probably loose a few more senior players this year
I suggested a few weeks ago we bring in Pete McGrath, a few shot down my idea but to me he is just the type of man to coach all these youn lads into a proper team
I doubt if we have a Donegal man fit to manage the senior county team
I just hope last nights display will wake the people up who are running the GAA in the county and realise the problems we have and sort out a proper management team"
No disrespect sam but pete mc grath is not the man we need. football has moved on since petes heyday. a nice man no doubt but we want a fresh young vibrant manager, who that will be is anyones guess, maybe well have to go outside the county to get one. I was a fan of rorys from the start but I put my hand up now and say I was badly wrong, hopefully hell do the decent thing and step down that way it will cause no aggro in the county, because theres a lot of unhappy people and clubs in Donegal who could call for his head very soon. for us to have any chance we need every player in the county whos good enough , wanting to play for Donegal, that wont happen under the current set up,

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2401 - 23/07/2017 10:23:00    2021508

To the Donegal lads last night was sickening for you. The facts are Donegal lost a lot of experienced players over the last 12 months and you can't replace them over night. The players that did remain a lot of them unfortunately should the effects of Father Time catching up on them. It won't be that long before Donegal are back at full throttle. The raw materials are there but it was asking way too much for a very young team with the majority playing either their first or second championship season, to be at the level of the previous years. The league gave your counties a false hope for the summer. There was a lot of matches played between league under 21 and senior championship and it's hard to maintain the same standards all year round.
Them young lads will learn from 2017 it's up to Donegal management next season to sit down with Michael Murphy and give the lad the start of the league off. This was his 11 championship season and he is only 28. Needs time to recharge the batteries and tackle Ulster again next season.
Galway won fair and square last night playing good football but if they played Donegal next year could be a different story.
The future is still bright in the hills just need to relight the candle and go again.

shaggylegend (Monaghan) - Posts: 1928 - 23/07/2017 10:36:03    2021518

Well played Galway last night.
It has to be said that Donegal were very poor.
The question also has to be asked , why didn't Galway play with the same dash and brio in the Connacht final when there was a trophy to be won?

Condorman (Dublin) - Posts: 983 - 23/07/2017 10:59:49    2021542

Replying To totalrecall:  "It's well known speak to anyone in Belleek and they will tell you...."
Truth think be told I was talking with a Fermanagh man after the Tyrone game and what he had to say about RG was not very complemtary. I still don't know what happened though.

A well'It's time to take the flag down for another year.

InishowenMan (Donegal) - Posts: 216 - 23/07/2017 11:09:31    2021554

Replying To InishowenMan:  "Truth think be told I was talking with a Fermanagh man after the Tyrone game and what he had to say about RG was not very complemtary. I still don't know what happened though.

A well'It's time to take the flag down for another year."
How could anyone in Fermanagh like him. He was a mercenary running around clubs in Dublin cavan and Antrim, if He had of stuck around his own county, Fermanagh would have an Ulster title.

shaggylegend (Monaghan) - Posts: 1928 - 23/07/2017 12:03:30    2021605

Replying To Condorman:  "Well played Galway last night.
The question also has to be asked , why didn't Galway play with the same dash and brio in the Connacht final when there was a trophy to be won?"
Maybe they weren't let play in Connacht final, they came up against team and manager than they faced last night In the Connacht final

Cuckoosinging (Roscommon) - Posts: 992 - 23/07/2017 12:32:23    2021631

The question also has to be asked , why didn't Galway play with the same dash and brio in the Connacht final when there was a trophy to be won?"
Simple answer to this one.They were outplayed by the Rossies.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2160 - 23/07/2017 12:43:56    2021639

Replying To endgame:  "Simple answer to this one.They were outplayed by the Rossies."
I agree. Roscommon were the better team on the day and deserved their victory.

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1790 - 23/07/2017 13:19:04    2021667

Well that's it we are gone, looking forward to these two quarters now, Galway v Kerry is fascinating, can Roscommon bring carry on the great form they showed in the Connaught final against this dogged Mayo team? 2 great games in prospect,
as a Donegal man today I am sick, I hope the county board gets rid of RG now, good point by a previous poster that when we got that drubbing from Mayo in'13 Jim was in Glasgow and RG was in charge of training, we have a handful of talented experienced players who won't play for him, and I don't think a lot of the senior lads that are left are behind him, so the camp is in a mess, this can't be let continue another year, don't know who we need in charge,we need to change our style, we have the talent, we just need a leader with a bit of vision.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2745 - 23/07/2017 13:40:34    2021688

No harm to Rory Gallagher, but he should resign now and if not, he should be pushed out. Rory has no doubt put in a huge effort into his tenure as Donegal manager and he deserves a lot of respect for stepping up and attempting to follow Jim McGuinness, admittedly not an easy feat at all.

However, a 9 point defeat in Ulster and a 15 point defeat in the qualifiers essentially has us back to the 'bad old days' quicker than I anticipated. And that's the issue. Nobody is expecting All Ireland's every year in Donegal (or those that do need to cop on) but we surely all hoped that we had moved forward as a county at underage and senior to a point where we were competitive consistently with a view to challenging for silverware. If the county board accept the current state of affairs then they're accepting mediocrity as the standard. And if that's the case then we are in serious trouble. We need a new manager to start from scratch and he needs to aim very high again in all areas of preparation and training. We were given a template by McGuinness and while we can't expect a new man to be the exact same in terms of tactical approach, we can ask for our players to be exposed to similar fitness levels, conditioning levels and for standards to be raised across the board in terms of process. That has to be an absolute must. Our talented players deserve a thoroughly professional environment again and if we aren't good enough then.. Well okay. Currently we are weak in all areas at senior level; one-dimensional attack, porous defence, physically lacking intensity in the tackle, best players playing at half-steam, poor game management, could go on. Hopefully the near future is bright again because the players are much better than what this year has shown.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 23/07/2017 14:28:17    2021726

Big rebuilding programme needed in Donegal. The problem Rory seemed to have was that he had to bring in a lot young players (lads who had played a lot of football this year) and the older, more experienced players simply didn't have it in the legs any more to provide the support and back-up for the youngsters. McBrearty was perhaps the only experienced player to reach the level of Donegal players of a few years ago. It's going to be a big task for any new manager (if Rory goes) because the young lads took two massive hits to their confidence, something that is not easy repair

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 23/07/2017 15:48:30    2021786

Galway simply never turned up for the Connacht final. In body they did but mentally they were not at the races that day. Didn't win a 50/50 ball all game.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2214 - 23/07/2017 16:00:35    2021800

I had this as a 50/50 game but how wrong was I but in truth no way surprised at what came last night. It is easy to lay it all with the management but the truth is alot of it does lie at their feet. I have already heard the bulls**t analysis saying Donegal are a team in transition with alot of young players etc which is true but also a smokescreen and excuse for RG and co. Put simply if this management team are kept in place expect more of the same. There is no way with the players at his disposal that Donegal should be getting such a trimming. It would actually be refreshing to hear some of the analysts and experts say it like it is. Peter Canavan did do an excellent job last night but went no further than saying some of the players are sick of playing the same old way and have downed tools. I heard one analyst today say that he has never seen Donegal as flat ever...eh hello did u not see the game against Tyrone earlier this year? and from a Mayo man have u forgotten 2015? My expectations were not high. A decent league campaign where relegation did not matter once there were signs of improvement and more variation to the style of play. There is an endless list of examples of mismanagement or poor management. I really hope RG goes but I am not very hopeful of this. As for Galway congrats on the win and good luck next week. But make no mistake what u will face will be an entirely different animal than yesterday.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2781 - 23/07/2017 16:29:06    2021821

Replying To endgame:  "Simple answer to this one.They were outplayed by the Rossies."
Indeed they were but why is what I'm interested in.That Galway team last night was incomparable to the shambolic outfit I saw in the Connacht final.
Their attitude was completely different last night.

Condorman (Dublin) - Posts: 983 - 23/07/2017 16:53:06    2021852