Donegal v Kerry

280 rather 140 clearly (Apologies It is a Monday)

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 30/07/2012 14:52:02    1233636

This is going to be some battle. I'm actually glad that Kerry have been so commanding in their last two matches, as we know exactly what we're coming up against now. I remember 09, when all the talk was of how it was Dublin's year, while Kerry limped through the qualifiers. We all know what happened next

Jim will have the lads ready for this one, but this is without a doubt the biggest test this team has faced to date. Tir Chonaill Abu

petejoeduff (Donegal) - Posts: 329 - 30/07/2012 14:54:23    1233640

Lockjaw

Who mentioned Mayo and their style of play?

51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 30/07/2012 14:57:38    1233641

30/07/2012 14:50:22
legendzxix

1233633 What's all the interest in Donegal taking on a written off team from Munster? The All-Ireland champions are playing on Saturday evening, surely that's the game that should be receiving all the focus?
The last two strongholds of the all that is sacred and pure in then beautiful Game. A match that will be totally devoid of defensive set-ups, tactical fouling, Verbals and hand passing. I'm told that the day will commence with both sides attending mass and confession at the top of Croagh Patrick.

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 30/07/2012 14:58:09    1233642

51longago

1233641 Lockjaw

Who mentioned Mayo and their style of play?

You attack Donegal's style of play with statements that have nothing to do with fact. Yes, last year we were particularly defensive but I don't know how you could call us overly defensive this year? Can you not see that we're hardly the only team in the country to set up in this way? 5-59 in 4 matches is ultra-defensive alright...

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9132 - 30/07/2012 15:18:11    1233680

Dave how dare you say anything negative about Donegal, The king pins of Ulster football I'm surprise with with you Dave .

my apologies "o wise one" permission to post again with due care and consideration to all ;-)

dubbydave. (Dublin) - Posts: 3927 - 30/07/2012 15:28:38    1233687

Donegal gave Dublin too much respect last year. I hoped they've learned from it because they are very capable of knocking Kerry out at the weekend!

Derry_ledd (Derry) - Posts: 2093 - 30/07/2012 15:48:20    1233709

ruanua

yep genuine honest post no digs just calling it as i see no harm to anyone...

dubbydave. (Dublin) - Posts: 3927 - 30/07/2012 15:49:30    1233712

Really? Well you could start by spelling his name correctly. Very immature comment, kinda shows the shows your mentality.

Pot kettle..

Anyway, Mcmenamin was the player I meant. Take him out of this years Dublin team and they will struggle bigtime

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 30/07/2012 15:52:50    1233718

Lockjaw

Don't mind them man!!

Really looking forward to your game against Kerry. I think that your defence will smother the life out of Kerry and I fancy yous to get enough scores on the counter-attack to win the game. The only fear I'd have is that if yous line out like yous did against ourselves in last year's semi-final. I don't think Donegal would hold out for 70 mins if they go as defensive as they did against the Dubs against this Kerry attack.

However looking at Donegal this year I think Jim's got the mix right and Donegal are putting up some huge scores.

Yous will beat Kerry to set up a titanic struggle with Cork in the semi-final. Really think yous will do it!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 30/07/2012 16:18:26    1233759

30/07/2012 15:52:50
Donegalman

Really? Well you could start by spelling his name correctly. Very immature comment, kinda shows the shows your mentality.

Pot kettle..

Anyway, Mcmenamin was the player I meant. Take him out of this years Dublin team and they will struggle bigtime

You actually haven't got a clue mate. You could say take Murphy out of Donegal and what are we left with? I can guarantee you with all certainty if you lost him Donegal would not get in touching distance of Kerry, Cork or Dublin.

bluedubstar (Dublin) - Posts: 835 - 30/07/2012 16:23:38    1233766

ha ha ha donegal without murphy is like a tractor without the back wheels ;-)

dubbydave. (Dublin) - Posts: 3927 - 30/07/2012 16:35:33    1233787

dubbydave.

1233787 ha ha ha donegal without murphy is like a tractor without the back wheels ;-)

Again. Factually incorrect. Murphy has been good this year but not quite the colossus we know he can be. A lot of this was down to the injury he sustained against your lads in the league. But there were signs in the Down game that he s getting back to the level we know. Indeed his first point from play in this year's Championship only came in the Ulster final. So to suggest that we won a provincial title relying totally on him is more lazy analysis that doesn't actually stand up in reality...

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9132 - 30/07/2012 17:02:34    1233828

thanks liffordgael and downstar, spent the day at work thinking how the game will go on sunday and im lost, its strange to be coming up against a team that we have no history against in the championship, that does'nt happen too often. i suppose that would be 1 of the good things about the open draw if the gaa bring it in.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 30/07/2012 17:38:11    1233874

Correct me if im wrong but cant believe that these two teams have never met in championship football...

DUB1 (Dublin) - Posts: 5583 - 30/07/2012 17:52:26    1233893

Kerry have a team full of legends, and are favourites for this game due to their current run of form. Having beaten Tyrone, they got a new lease of life, and probably said in the dressing room after the Tyrone game that they still have an All Ireland in them. Lets prove the Kerry critics wrong. They hammer Clare, breaking records that day, what better build up to a All Quarter final. Kerry will fancy them themselve against Donegal, and most critics will now start thinking Kerry will be hard to stop at this rate. And most will back Kerry to win.

If Donegal are in the game at half time, they will likely win it. Donegal, like Tyrone, Down, Armagh, Derry etc do not fear Kerry. They respect them, but wont fear them.
Down pin pointed weak spots in Donegal's armour in the first half of the Ulster final but didnt fully take advantage, Donegal corrected this in the 2nd half, and powered through Down. I suspect Down's 2nd half wasn't a true reflection of their teams ability, and they are a far stronger outfit than some have suggested.
Donegal will be no push over for Kerry. Kerry will need to find the same motivation and intensity they had against Tyrone.

Should be a good game, id say a tight game.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 30/07/2012 17:58:53    1233897

Donegal will beat this Kerry team. Joe Brolly is right about Kerry's recent history being one of flat track bullies when a team goes toe to toe with them they blink first. I think it will be a Donegal V Mayo final.

JamesH (Mayo) - Posts: 465 - 30/07/2012 18:00:05    1233900

Donegal Mayo final!? Fair enough Donegal are strong this year , but Mayo!?

kerry4sam (Kerry) - Posts: 51 - 30/07/2012 19:48:01    1234015

Lads I don't mean to be the eternal pessimist, but let's not forget we got our asses handed to us by Kerry in the league this year. Now I know the league is the league and all that but we had basically our strongest 15 on and Kerry were missing the Gooch, D Walsh, o donnaghue and Tomas o se. Our first choice midfield was taken to the cleaners. Jack O Connor talked after the game about making sure they played clever football and not taking the ball into tackles. Kerry are smart enough to beat our defence but I'm not sure if we have the firepower to beat theirs going by the way they played against Tyrone.

I just really hope we can do ourselves justice. Nerves are gonna be shot by throw in on Sunday!

benjyyy (Donegal) - Posts: 1422 - 30/07/2012 20:06:36    1234027

JamesH

Donegal will beat this Kerry team. Joe Brolly is right about Kerry's recent history being one of flat track bullies when a team goes toe to toe with them they blink first. I think it will be a Donegal V Mayo final.

Ah you decided to come out of hiding after we hammered Tyrone, some prophet of doom you are!

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 30/07/2012 20:10:58    1234034