Cork vs Tipp (Hurling)

Replying To endgame:  "You can't beat tradition in gaa.Cork hurlers have done nothing at underage for years and yet they find a few young players and produce an outstanding performance like that against the All-Ireland champions."
Great game in Thurles today, level on sixteen occasions, thought it looked a cert to be a draw but fair play to Cork for getting the second goal that put Tipp away.

clonjon (Dublin) - Posts: 665 - 21/05/2017 19:31:19    1988945

First of all.the Tipp Posters who post here are grand respectful lads, they don't gloat or boast. They have a great team and everyone involved in hurling knows that despite today's set back, they will still be favourites for Liam.
I must hold up my hands & say I called this game totally wrong. I was not acting the cute hoor when I said that Cork had no chance.
I was blown away by how Cork played, I simply didn't see it coming.
Cork may well finish season empty handed but the lads today restored respectability to Cork Hurling and I love them for that.
I hope I'm not being arrogant when I say that I believe Hurling needs Cork as much as we need Hurling.
It's far too early to say we are back but the gloom has lifted and suddenly the Championship has a different feel about it.

corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 21/05/2017 19:35:07    1988946

Congrats to Cork would have been robbery if we won.
Few players still to come back,Bonner,Chill,Donagh Mayer and Barry Heffernan plus Forde.
Think Tipp have been fairly distracted since the Wexford game but some performance by Cork. Championship is wide open now.
Not dissapointed we lost but more dissapointed the fact many thought we were unbeatable all year.
Just shows this Tipp team are miles behind where everyone thinks they actually are.
Munster Championship at its best the rebels are back. Will be some game v Waterford I envisage 40000 plus at it.

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 21/05/2017 19:38:22    1988948

Replying To endgame:  "You can't beat tradition in gaa.Cork hurlers have done nothing at underage for years and yet they find a few young players and produce an outstanding performance like that against the All-Ireland champions."
That's why my great grandad keeps telling me that Cavan will win 6-in-row one of these years, in Ulster at least!!

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3421 - 21/05/2017 19:41:17    1988954

Replying To mooncat:  "That was some game,what an exhibition of our great game from 2 great teams,the rest of us will be worried about our chances after that display from both teams,who wants to meet Tipp in the qualifiers ? well done to both teams today."
I thought Tipp were a shambles. Problems, and or injured/missing players in every line of the field for TIpp. Am I wrong about that? Tipp were bad in the NHL final, and just four weeks later (today), I'm not sure that they were a whole lot better. Their Bonnerless half-forward line did a catastrophic disappearing act in the last 25mins there. An injured Callanan had to come from no14 to try to lift it, and O'Meara off the bench for 5-6 minutes, but it was unsustainable, and they caved in at the back before the finish. Cork's 5 young lads I'd never heard of, were spectacular.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3421 - 21/05/2017 19:50:45    1988960

Is the Cork V Waterford semi definitely set for Thurles? Is there any chance that Páirc Uí Chaoimh could be used if its ready on time?

Marlon_JD (Tipperary) - Posts: 1823 - 21/05/2017 20:05:53    1988969

Well done to Cork, delighted for the loyal supporters to see Cork back hurling like that again. I stick by my post last week that the losers of today will have a handy run in to the quarter final now. A Munster title would do wonder for this Cork team.

therealtmo (Tipperary) - Posts: 1292 - 21/05/2017 20:10:14    1988973

Replying To corkcelt:  "First of all.the Tipp Posters who post here are grand respectful lads, they don't gloat or boast. They have a great team and everyone involved in hurling knows that despite today's set back, they will still be favourites for Liam.
I must hold up my hands & say I called this game totally wrong. I was not acting the cute hoor when I said that Cork had no chance.
I was blown away by how Cork played, I simply didn't see it coming.
Cork may well finish season empty handed but the lads today restored respectability to Cork Hurling and I love them for that.
I hope I'm not being arrogant when I say that I believe Hurling needs Cork as much as we need Hurling.
It's far too early to say we are back but the gloom has lifted and suddenly the Championship has a different feel about it."
Don't know why you can't see this game coming. Too much pessimism maybe?
This Cork forward sextet is as good as any I've seen.The newcomers were blended into this team seamlessly by management. The style of Luke Meade and Shane Kingston is a joy to watch.
Damien Cahalane has progressed, and I for one, was not surprised he did well today on Callinan.Super display from both corner backs.Mark Coleman has the ability to become a great half back.
Look back on my earlier post today.
Regards to "Eaglehaslanded"..he posted a timely post in the midst of unheralded pessimism from other Cork posters here.

Rockies (Cork) - Posts: 947 - 21/05/2017 20:12:02    1988976

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Calm down chief. It wasn't a Tipp man that set up that thread, but the thread was saying Tipp are gonna cruise through the year. Not sure where it's gone. Admin must have deleted it."
This is the reason why I think when someone sets up a gloating threat or that "such and such team are unbeatable" that it shouldn't be allowed by admin unless the poster concerned is from the county concerned. We have that annoying poster oakleafer from Derry setting up threads such as "Kerry for the League- Championship double" or "Galway to win the McCarthy Cup" etc. Would love to see posters like that banned because they contribute nothing apart from stupidity

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1903 - 21/05/2017 20:12:18    1988977

Replying To WildPundit:  "Congrats to Cork would have been robbery if we won.
Few players still to come back,Bonner,Chill,Donagh Mayer and Barry Heffernan plus Forde.
Think Tipp have been fairly distracted since the Wexford game but some performance by Cork. Championship is wide open now.
Not dissapointed we lost but more dissapointed the fact many thought we were unbeatable all year.
Just shows this Tipp team are miles behind where everyone thinks they actually are.
Munster Championship at its best the rebels are back. Will be some game v Waterford I envisage 40000 plus at it."
What's wrong with Barry Heffernan. Yeah I am surprised how we let Forde's suspension become such a big deal. We should have a built a seize mentality around it as opposed to fighting the suspension tooth and nail.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 21/05/2017 20:22:54    1988987

Replying To PoolSturgeon:  "This is the reason why I think when someone sets up a gloating threat or that "such and such team are unbeatable" that it shouldn't be allowed by admin unless the poster concerned is from the county concerned. We have that annoying poster oakleafer from Derry setting up threads such as "Kerry for the League- Championship double" or "Galway to win the McCarthy Cup" etc. Would love to see posters like that banned because they contribute nothing apart from stupidity"
Your dry wit has given me plenty of smiles on this site.

The other one is pushing for a round robin in Munster. Complete BS. If we are going down the round robin route it should be in June and July and not some tokenism in May and June with this brilliant championship being diluted.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 21/05/2017 20:28:01    1988994

Replying To PoolSturgeon:  "This is the reason why I think when someone sets up a gloating threat or that "such and such team are unbeatable" that it shouldn't be allowed by admin unless the poster concerned is from the county concerned. We have that annoying poster oakleafer from Derry setting up threads such as "Kerry for the League- Championship double" or "Galway to win the McCarthy Cup" etc. Would love to see posters like that banned because they contribute nothing apart from stupidity"
You can't ban posters for posting.. Great performance today. Just goes to show that when Cork are in a shoot out they have the class to make it 50/50 no matter who they are playing..
Tipperary might not recover easily from this. They've issues in the fullback line. It's porous and they are losing confidence with every outing. Its not easily fixed. But its a long season yet. Well done Cork

bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1710 - 21/05/2017 20:28:47    1988995

Rockies, I accept I was wrong and you and eagle were more on the ball.
I don't live in Cork any more and am out of the loop re Club games & reports from training sessions.
I'm delighted of course but I admit I didn't expect anything from today.

corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 21/05/2017 20:52:24    1989012

Replying To Killarney.87:  "Your dry wit has given me plenty of smiles on this site.

The other one is pushing for a round robin in Munster. Complete BS. If we are going down the round robin route it should be in June and July and not some tokenism in May and June with this brilliant championship being diluted."
I agree....Munster round robin tournament will be death knell of GAA.
Keep the traditional Munster Championship.

Rockies (Cork) - Posts: 947 - 21/05/2017 20:55:35    1989014

Wow, I didn't give Cork a chance in this one, especially in Thurles. Thought Tipp would win with 5 or 6 to spare. Looks like the Championship is wide open this year.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 21/05/2017 20:58:11    1989015

First of all well done to cork. All they've been missing the last few years is the dogged intensity and work rate. They out fought and outhurked tipp all over the field today.
The smart money was on cork at 7/2 before the game as I said during the week. Tipp had a perceived good league campaign up to the final. Thy wasn't the case however. I said before the Wexford games a number of big players aren't performing and that hasn't changed. We have a few injuries now and a rest will be a big loss. Tipp won't be far away but the evidence says that the hunger isn't there.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 21/05/2017 21:02:14    1989016

Wow, didn't give Cork a chance. Heart warming and well done. Looking forward to the remainder of the championship.

Glensboy (Antrim) - Posts: 287 - 21/05/2017 21:11:05    1989022

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "I thought Tipp were a shambles. Problems, and or injured/missing players in every line of the field for TIpp. Am I wrong about that? Tipp were bad in the NHL final, and just four weeks later (today), I'm not sure that they were a whole lot better. Their Bonnerless half-forward line did a catastrophic disappearing act in the last 25mins there. An injured Callanan had to come from no14 to try to lift it, and O'Meara off the bench for 5-6 minutes, but it was unsustainable, and they caved in at the back before the finish. Cork's 5 young lads I'd never heard of, were spectacular."
I saw a great game of hurling,56 scores,great blocking and some brilliant point scoring,great high catching,what more do we want,on the day whether Tipp were a shambles or not we had a great game,

mooncat (Kilkenny) - Posts: 533 - 21/05/2017 21:24:27    1989028

Replying To tiobraid:  "First of all well done to cork. All they've been missing the last few years is the dogged intensity and work rate. They out fought and outhurked tipp all over the field today.
The smart money was on cork at 7/2 before the game as I said during the week. Tipp had a perceived good league campaign up to the final. Thy wasn't the case however. I said before the Wexford games a number of big players aren't performing and that hasn't changed. We have a few injuries now and a rest will be a big loss. Tipp won't be far away but the evidence says that the hunger isn't there."
*barrett will be a big loss! Fairly sure it's a season ending injury

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 21/05/2017 21:32:34    1989031

this might make galway think twice about league final win.

toe2hand (Galway) - Posts: 223 - 21/05/2017 21:36:25    1989034