Division 2 2017

8 league debuts on team for sunday. Also Bolton, Kelly and Callaghan return. Fionn Dowling also starts.

St.Conleth (Kildare) - Posts:1193 - 31/03/2017

Was it ever going to be any other way? I'd be more surprised if we weren't back to full strength for the league final.

Bar the couple of injuries to our full forward line over the last few weeks we've started the same team in every game so far in the league. Lads who have been starting every week deserve a break at this stage.

O'Neill knows what his championship team is when everyone is fit so it's good to see some lads who have only got runs as subs get a go now. Nobody is expecting us to get anything out of the match tomorrow but if a couple of lads can put in a good performance then they might play themselves into the starting 15 (hard to see to be honest though) - if a couple of players who have only played against colleges in the O'Byrne Cup or got a couple of minutes as a sub when a game is already over can give O'Neill something to think about going forward then we should be more than happy with that.

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3685 - 01/04/2017 11:38:11    1973793

I know we have a game on our hands against Clare tomorrow, genuinely that will be a tough one and we'll have to perform to our best to have a chance of getting a result.

But what's the situation with Kildare, I know no team goes out to lose but are Kildare all that motivated to beat Galway? they've made 14 changes from the last day and they don't need a result anyway. Also they're probably expecting to be playing Galway again in the Div2 final so why show your hand the first day out.

Anyway if we beat Clare and don't go up, we only have ourselves to blame, we've been too inconsistent during the league. But patiences is required, this is Andy McEntee's first real competitive campaign as Meath manager, miracles rarely happen overnight.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 01/04/2017 12:21:40    1973800

But what's the situation with Kildare, I know no team goes out to lose but are Kildare all that motivated to beat Galway? they've made 14 changes from the last day and they don't need a result anyway. Also they're probably expecting to be playing Galway again in the Div2 final so why show your hand the first day out.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts:7544 - 01/04/2017

Sure Meath had their B team out in the first game of the league, no different to us doing it in the last one.

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3685 - 01/04/2017 12:58:09    1973810

Replying To if_in_doubt:  "But what's the situation with Kildare, I know no team goes out to lose but are Kildare all that motivated to beat Galway? they've made 14 changes from the last day and they don't need a result anyway. Also they're probably expecting to be playing Galway again in the Div2 final so why show your hand the first day out.

Sure Meath had their B team out in the first game of the league, no different to us doing it in the last one."
I understand Kildare's decision to make so many changes, I'd expect us to do the same if we were in your shoes, I have no issues with that. But I don't know a lot about the Kildare team selected, is it one that will drive hard for the win? or is it an O'Byrne cup type, see how it goes selection?

Anyway I'm just curious, because our obstacle is Clare, we have absolutely no control over events in Salthill, if we fail to win then the Galway v Kildare is a formality.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 01/04/2017 13:47:49    1973820

Ah it's just a motley crew of senior players over the last few years who have dropped down the pecking order, lads who played in the O'Byrne Cup and lads who were on the under 21 panel this year and last.

I'm sure all 15 of them know they'll need to put in a serious performance to come into contention for a starting place in the Summer so that should be all the motivation they need. It's not as if it's 15 first teamers going out and playing as if it were a challenge match,

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3685 - 01/04/2017 14:44:29    1973829

Surely the new lads in for Kildare will be very determined to make any impression. If anything harder for us given the pressure we are on already. Anyone who thinks otherwise is only getting the excuses in early. This thread has typically being about Kildare and Meath. Few if any recognise the quality and potential in the Galway set up.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 01/04/2017 14:52:10    1973830

Replying To if_in_doubt:  "Ah it's just a motley crew of senior players over the last few years who have dropped down the pecking order, lads who played in the O'Byrne Cup and lads who were on the under 21 panel this year and last.

I'm sure all 15 of them know they'll need to put in a serious performance to come into contention for a starting place in the Summer so that should be all the motivation they need. It's not as if it's 15 first teamers going out and playing as if it were a challenge match,"
Well that is a positive from our point of view, I'm sure plenty of those Kildare lads will be trying to play their way back into the team.

Ps, Lilies, you's know us Royals always loved yous right? Anything we said in the past we didn't mean it, yous know that, so please, go on and do your loving neighbours a favour, pleeeeeease? Did yous get that valentines card we sent yous by the way, we all signed it and left it with royaldunne to post, he said not to worry about, he's got it.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 01/04/2017 15:06:41    1973836

Replying To if_in_doubt:  "But what's the situation with Kildare, I know no team goes out to lose but are Kildare all that motivated to beat Galway? they've made 14 changes from the last day and they don't need a result anyway. Also they're probably expecting to be playing Galway again in the Div2 final so why show your hand the first day out.

Sure Meath had their B team out in the first game of the league, no different to us doing it in the last one."
You've obviously read the stuff like "..if they hadn't scored the 3 goals it would have been a different game" and "if the match hadn't been the first one of the league they wouldn't have won".

I actually wouldn't mind getting Meath in the final, we've a much better record against Meath in the last number of years compared to Galway.

Anyway Hiatem all the best for Sunday a win against Clare would be a very good result in itself regardless of our game.

St.Conleth (Kildare) - Posts: 1700 - 01/04/2017 16:28:32    1973851

Replying To kiloughter:  "Surely the new lads in for Kildare will be very determined to make any impression. If anything harder for us given the pressure we are on already. Anyone who thinks otherwise is only getting the excuses in early. This thread has typically being about Kildare and Meath. Few if any recognise the quality and potential in the Galway set up."
in fairness i doubt kildares best team would get a result in galway.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 01/04/2017 17:06:10    1973858

Replying To ziggy32001:  "in fairness i doubt kildares best team would get a result in galway."
On what basis do you make that statement?

JJ1 (Kildare) - Posts: 547 - 01/04/2017 17:38:56    1973867

Replying To JJ1:  "On what basis do you make that statement?"
Because they're a very good side, put it up to Meath but Meath beat them anyway. Although we bet Meath by 10 points we wouldn't have a hope against Galway. In short Meath are a much better team than Kildare but just scraped over Galway so what chance could we have. Thats the basis.

St.Conleth (Kildare) - Posts: 1700 - 01/04/2017 18:07:06    1973870

Replying To St.Conleth:  "Because they're a very good side, put it up to Meath but Meath beat them anyway. Although we bet Meath by 10 points we wouldn't have a hope against Galway. In short Meath are a much better team than Kildare but just scraped over Galway so what chance could we have. Thats the basis."
look tomorrow game only really matters to every critic of the super 8 and they will use the Galway v Kildare match as prime example this summer to why it won't work and now they may have a very good case ! If Kildare had to just fielded strong team for the love of god and lost nobody could say anything ! Media will jump on this like cheap suit why the super 8 is doomed before it even starts ..then it becomes a moral issue of fair play,when you look at Tyrone this time last year they were already qualified but Mickey Harte still named a strong team to play Fermanagh because other team would be affected by a result if Tyrone lost else were in a relegation battle.. all in the name of fair play ! Mickey Harte is a gentleman of fairness and competition

Kildare are not obliged to put out there best team..but this isn't soccer !

Gaa is under pressure from other sports and they are doing their very best to keep the thing a float and keeping fans entertained...and fair play to the gaa president this year for giving Meath and Kildare financial help in the underage coaching and structures ! But no way also was he obliged in the helping and funding in coaching in Meath or Kildare !

WhyTheLongFace (Meath) - Posts: 876 - 01/04/2017 19:00:11    1973881

Replying To JJ1:  "On what basis do you make that statement?"
well kildare are already promoted,if ye played your best team i would think galway would win. galway at home should be highly up for it to get promoted.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 01/04/2017 19:07:08    1973882

Replying To St.Conleth:  "Because they're a very good side, put it up to Meath but Meath beat them anyway. Although we bet Meath by 10 points we wouldn't have a hope against Galway. In short Meath are a much better team than Kildare but just scraped over Galway so what chance could we have. Thats the basis."
That is obviously his logic anyway Conleth. Who are we to argue !!

JJ1 (Kildare) - Posts: 547 - 01/04/2017 19:32:41    1973890

Replying To ziggy32001:  "in fairness i doubt kildares best team would get a result in galway."
I agree, Galway should beat them in the league final. They'll probably be relegated from Div 1 next year. They have some good underage players coming through but I feel it's still a bit early for them.

Barney123 (Meath) - Posts: 676 - 01/04/2017 19:57:19    1973895

Replying To Barney123:  "I agree, Galway should beat them in the league final. They'll probably be relegated from Div 1 next year. They have some good underage players coming through but I feel it's still a bit early for them."
Thanks for the vote of confidence anyway Barney. Nice to be able to give it a go all the same

JJ1 (Kildare) - Posts: 547 - 01/04/2017 20:15:26    1973904

It's hardly a stretch for someone to say that they think Galway would beat Kildare at home in Galway. Galway have been slightly better in championship the last few years and will be slight favs to beat Kildare on a neutral the final should they get by tomorrow. Don't be getting offended for no reason

jafallon (Galway) - Posts: 489 - 01/04/2017 22:31:33    1973964

Replying To jafallon:  "It's hardly a stretch for someone to say that they think Galway would beat Kildare at home in Galway. Galway have been slightly better in championship the last few years and will be slight favs to beat Kildare on a neutral the final should they get by tomorrow. Don't be getting offended for no reason"
wasn't gonna bother but this is what i would have said. would see galway winning at home to meath too and would rate kildare slightly ahead of meath right now,so not sure why some lillies are getting into a twist..

about kildare playing a different team today,when we see the super 8,teams that are already through will do the same thing resulting in dead rubber or unfair games.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 02/04/2017 12:27:24    1974045

Best of luck to all teams today no matter what. Gaillimh Abu

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1669 - 02/04/2017 12:52:37    1974053

Replying To ziggy32001:  "wasn't gonna bother but this is what i would have said. would see galway winning at home to meath too and would rate kildare slightly ahead of meath right now,so not sure why some lillies are getting into a twist..

about kildare playing a different team today,when we see the super 8,teams that are already through will do the same thing resulting in dead rubber or unfair games."
Ziggy did you not say on a Meath forum that had you got Kildare later in the league Meath would have beaten them?? Thats why I made the assumption above. Anyway, now you rate Kildare higher. You're entitled to your opinions and to change them as well.

St.Conleth (Kildare) - Posts: 1700 - 02/04/2017 13:25:24    1974060