Another Tipp and Kilkenny final?

BooBoo,7 men in the KK halfback line for puckouts,what matches are you watching?

mooncat (Kilkenny) - Posts: 543 - 30/07/2010 21:29:39    730185

ive been watching kk lad maybe you should do the same the midfielder file back with a full back supporting

booboo (Cork) - Posts: 1382 - 30/07/2010 21:32:32    730191

at the leinster final galway withdrew a h/f to midfield,the h/f back line for puckouts was 3kks and 2 gws

mooncat (Kilkenny) - Posts: 543 - 30/07/2010 21:38:30    730208

the last 4 yrs moon cat??/ how you think game should pan out

booboo (Cork) - Posts: 1382 - 30/07/2010 21:42:14    730215

Richieq, Maybe what Corkcelt means is that some 'superstars' of the game often try to intimidate refs. I (and many other Corkonians) would claim that Kerry have been at it for years. Maybe we're just bitter, and bad losers, but sometimes it appears that Cork backs can't touch some of Kerry's superstars whilst Cork forwards are pulled, hauled, dragged, and belted off the ball, with very little sanction. Sometimes refs are not inclined to blow the whistle when a perceived 'great player' commits a foul. And if he dares to do so, they'll do their best to appear so aggreived, so offended, so mortally wounded at this offence to their magnificent innocence, that the ref won't dare to blow that whistle again.

I'm not saying that Cork players are above this behaviour either, as a Corkman I probably don't notice it as much. But I do notice Kerry at it all the time. I would suggest that KK would be very capable of it too, and indeed I seem to remember Shefflin acting up with the ref in the first few minutes of the '08 final. Refs should be aware of this, and shouldn't be intimidated by the reputations of some of KKs outstanding players.

I don't think Cork get away with anything anymore. Some of the obvious bitterness and bile directed towards them by some, on this and other forums, seems to have even impacted on some referees. This year alone Kerry got a dodgy free to draw the Munster Football, Waterford got another to draw the senior hurling, they got a very dubious free to draw the minor hurling, and Tipp got a last minute (don't know whether it was dubious or not, but some who were there said it was) free to draw the U21 hurling. So, four Cork teams have been denied victory by four different dodgy refereeing decisions this year. These things may balance out over teh course of games, but why does it always seem to happen in the last minute for Cork? If this had happened to a less successful county, what would be said? Please don't just automatically disagree with me. Think about what I've said first. Am I just being a deluded, bitter, Corkman? Or, are four dodgy last minute frees, tieing four different games, in one single year, more than an unhappy/happy coincidence?

Culchie (Cork) - Posts: 799 - 30/07/2010 21:49:37    730235

MOONCAT!!!!!!

If you make BoBo cry or cwy....grrrr why I'll......

ochonlir (Cavan) - Posts: 4343 - 30/07/2010 21:53:03    730243

the last 4 years have seen teams varying their tactics to try and beat KK,corner forwards out to the h/f being the main one,generally the kk f/b line hold their positions and a kk midfielder will drop back,thats 4 not 7,do you think Tommy and JJ and co need the help of 3 men?,as how will the match go,I think KK should be too good for Cork,if KK hit top form they should win with few points to spare

mooncat (Kilkenny) - Posts: 543 - 30/07/2010 21:54:42    730248

Tipp will beat Waterford about 8 points and then finish the job they left behind them last year Tiobraid Arann abu!! Waterford have only Mullane and Eoin Kelly up front thats not enough to breach Tipps backs and we have six scoring pacy forwards up front its a no brainer lads!!

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 31/07/2010 11:58:30    730391

Tipp will definitely be in the final and Cork Kilkenny game will be close Cork will push them hard we await the winners!

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 31/07/2010 12:00:46    730396

welcome back thurlesblues. We've been doing nothing since you left except talking about the good times we had with ya here on HS.

Congrats on reaching over 500 posts over the course of 10 days. It's a fine achievement. Waterford will certainly beat tip by between 5 and 12 points i think. do you agree???

hurlinspuds (Cork) - Posts: 1494 - 31/07/2010 12:14:25    730405

the usual fare from onchlaiir !!! that gives us all a new perspective of how the game should unfold

booboo (Cork) - Posts: 1382 - 31/07/2010 18:00:54    730710

Decent post Culchie and no I dont entirely disagree, I have witnessed many players of note act up with the ref from various counties alright. I have to say I haven't noticed any picking by refs on Cork mind but then I may not be studying such as well as a Cork supporter just as many would not be observant as I on what I have considered injustices against Meath. I am always just a little jarred at the perception that Kilkenny sail too close to the wind and that refs let them away with loads, I do think Kilkenny are a hard physical team but they are not alone, Tipp can certainly put themselves about too as witnessed last Sunday and Waterford and Galway are no shrinking violets either and dare I say Cork. Now I should let you know that I am half a cat as my mother hails from Castlecomer so I am rather defensive of Kilkenny but objective by the same token.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3772 - 31/07/2010 21:35:00    731078

Abhann that was a great game with Tipp v Galway by the way Im calling all Tipp supporters as we are looking to pick an over 40s team to play an upcoming challenge match against Waterford. We might pick up a few lads from the crossroads or a few lads off the masters team , will any of ye tog out we are short a few? Tiobraid Arann abu!!! If Premier fan and hags and cheese and wildpundit are available ye could also tog out!!

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 02/08/2010 14:53:05    732872

Will the Premier finish the job they left behind them last year?

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 02/08/2010 15:20:47    732922

Id say Tipp will win the senior and u21 all irelands this year so much talent coming through!!

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 02/08/2010 15:26:57    732936

Tipperary will win their 26th All Ireland this year by beating Kilkenny or Cork in the final by 4 or 5 points as I said to ye all before I went on holidays and my words are coming through as I said its all about September thats the plan not about a game against Cork on May 31st when Tipp had a hard training session the day before the game!

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 03/08/2010 12:17:16    733889

Richieq, You're annoyance at KK being accused of such things is understandable. I would also be annoyed if I was half a cat. KK might appear that way, but it's only because their success means they're analysed more than any other side. No fair minded person, who has actually been around the game of hurling for more than the odd match here and there, could honestly claim that KK are dirtier than other sides. I would say that two KK players strike me as a bit thugish, but then I could also place two Cork players in the same category, and I've seen planty of club hurlers who'd l;eave all of them standing when it comes to acting the maggot!

Some will engage in these accusations to try and influence a ref before a game. They'll hope that if they mouth off enough the ref will be especially harsh on the cats. I would hope that Denis Walsh doesn't go down that road as it could be self-defeating. Cork should have enough confidence in their own abilty to beat KK without having to turn to the ref for any favours. I expect KK to beat Cork easily enough, and we'll then see whether Davy or Liam need to start instructing the ref before the final.

Culchie (Cork) - Posts: 799 - 03/08/2010 12:59:13    733988