Total Indifference!

Replying To Stmunnsriver:  "maybe there is no interest there in great britain but different here in ireland"
Brilliant lol

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 13/09/2017 23:04:00    2045833

Replying To gotmilk:  "I actually had this conversation with a few people from work today. Few Tyrone people, few Fermanagh men and a Fermanagh man living in Longford that is sitting on a committee for a club in Leitrim and everyone of them said the same thing. Very little build up for the game, not the same hype as usual.

Yes I'll watch the game but it just doesn't feel like All Ireland final week."
A lot of that will have to do with the fact both teams are in lockdown.. There are no controversies. Tactics and stuff have already been done to death, but come Sunday and throw in, I'd wager there will be more people tuned in to Dublin v Mayo football than the hurling final last week.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 13/09/2017 23:08:26    2045834

Replying To Stmunnsriver:  "maybe there is no interest there in great britain but different here in ireland"
You do know that Great Britain both geographically and politically is made up from England, Scotland and Wales only? You're pathetic childish post serves only to highlight your ignorance, but it got a response so maybe you are happy enough

benched (Tyrone) - Posts: 534 - 13/09/2017 23:13:51    2045836

All the signs and predictions are saying its a Dublin win
Cant fault the current Dublin team for the way they've played this season
Taking nothing away from them it would be great if Mayo can bring something fresh to the game
What have they to lose

Was annoyed that Dublin resorted to a wee bit of showboating in the Tyrone game with losts of pasing round the park
Dublin fans enjoyed getting in touch with their Spanish side with their calls of 'Ole' but it didn't do anything to promote the game

Was likened to a cat playing with a mouse

Hopefully the mayo mouse will have sharper teath come Sunday

Kirkintilloch (Donegal) - Posts: 43 - 13/09/2017 23:22:46    2045839

Replying To Ulsterman:  "Outside of Dublin and Mayo I don't think I have ever encountered as much apathy, indifference and disinterest at an All Ireland final as this one. I was talking to a few Meath fellas in Scotland at the weekend and they had the same attitude. Shrugged their shoulders and said "the game is dying on it's proverbial in Leinster. Dublin this year, Dublin next year and Dublin for the next 10 years"."
Totally disagree with you- the interest is very high outside the competing counties.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 14/09/2017 00:41:09    2045842

Funny Dublin have made the game boring by being so far so good, nobody complaining about Dublin or Mayo for that matter on their skills ability to take scores, the big hits , the big runs at speed through the middle , maybe some became addicted to the some of the rubbish that was passed off recently as football and miss those days

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 14/09/2017 07:28:59    2045846

You do know that Great Britain both geographically and politically is made up from England, Scotland and Wales only? You're pathetic childish post serves only to highlight your ignorance, but it got a response so maybe you are happy enough
benched (Tyrone) - Posts:465 - 13/09/2017 23:13:51

To be fair to the poster Ulsterman did state that he was basing his assertion on a conversation with some Meath lads in Scotland.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13704 - 14/09/2017 08:09:41    2045853

Replying To benched:  "You do know that Great Britain both geographically and politically is made up from England, Scotland and Wales only? You're pathetic childish post serves only to highlight your ignorance, but it got a response so maybe you are happy enough"
I just presumed he was talking about Scotland as was mentioned in the post....
very quick to be offended aren't you?

Floops (Dublin) - Posts: 1623 - 14/09/2017 08:26:36    2045855

Replying To Kirkintilloch:  "All the signs and predictions are saying its a Dublin win
Taking nothing away from them it would be great if Mayo can bring something fresh to the game
What have they to lose

Was annoyed that Dublin resorted to a wee bit of showboating in the Tyrone game with losts of pasing round the park
Dublin fans enjoyed getting in touch with their Spanish side with their calls of 'Ole' but it didn't do anything to promote the game

Hopefully the mayo mouse will have sharper teath come Sunday"
The passing around the pitch is not show boating.
Its because of that game killing blanket defence.
People are more annoyed that Dublin kept the ball, than they are of a defence tactic that is killing football at schools level

Scarabin (Dublin) - Posts: 116 - 14/09/2017 08:56:25    2045863

Replying To Kirkintilloch:  "All the signs and predictions are saying its a Dublin win
What have they to lose

Ah would ye stop. Dublin were not showboating but rather trying to coax Tyrone out of the ball that they curled themselves up into in their own 45 when 7 points down. Not Dublin's job to charge into a wall of white shrts when 7 points up risking a turnover. Tyrone should have been chasing the game and hence the crowd chanting Ole almost in disbelief at Tyrone's defence stance when so far behind.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 14/09/2017 08:57:23    2045864

What have they to lose

That wasn't 'showboating' at all. Do you honestly think that Jim Gavin allows players to pander to the crowd, This team have learnt how to patiently deal with the blaket defence: holding on to and switching possession until an opening appears is part of a strategy.
As for th 'ole' stuff, yes I hate that. Stupid behviour.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 14/09/2017 09:09:19    2045866

What have they to lose

No Matter how sharp the mouse's teeth are, the cat will always win ;-)

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 14/09/2017 09:53:09    2045876

Some posters still not wide to what you did there , i personally loved it.

Benched fell for it big style.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 14/09/2017 10:16:37    2045884

Replying To Joxer:  "As an Antrim man I am sure you can relate to the Meath man's provincial sentiments. The reality is that there is just one good team, not sure if Tyrone are that good, in each province and it's been like that for some time now. It's up to others to raise their game. What's not to like about seeing two teams who are coming to a final to play football, arguably the greatest team of all time against arguably the greatest team from the West of all time. They played out some classic games in recent years and the best players in the country will be on show. It's going to be epic."
I lost you there when you said that Mayo were arguably the greatest team that have come out of the West. You need to go back over the years to find that there was a number of better teams from the West. Maybe the best Mayo team of all time but certainly not the best to come out of the West. Any team that wins a 3 in row in any era can never be overlooked or indeed 2 in any era. It amazes me sometimes how people have short memories. On the thread though i am with many posters on the indifference notion. This all ireland as intriguing as many that have gone before.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 14/09/2017 10:20:39    2045889

Antrim is not in Great Britain you clown. If you're trying to troll at least be factually correct. Great Britain is Scotland, England and Wales. If you take a look at your west brit passport you will see it says the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland (and Wexford)

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 14/09/2017 10:21:21    2045890

Lads youse would want to sort out the Geography teaching down South. The ignorance does nothing to help dispel the old stereotype!

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 14/09/2017 10:31:34    2045895

Dont think the game its self wont hold massive interest but i think their is very little hype in the build up. To be honest i put this the frequency of the fixture, this is 5th time these two teams have played other in the latter stages of the championship since 2012, there is very little mystery in it and what else can be said that hasn't already. Yet everyone will watch it and be interested as all the games up to now have been high drama and quality stuff.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 14/09/2017 10:38:25    2045898

Replying To avonali:  "No Matter how sharp the mouse's teeth are, the cat will always win ;-)"
You haven't seen the size of mouse we have here in Mayo. I think it's all the rain, they have to keep growing to survive. As big as rottweilers some of them! Could have the cat population decimated by Christmas.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 14/09/2017 10:42:03    2045901

Im certainly not disinterested but will be watching to it more in hope than expectation that it will be a decent game.

This time last year I did back Mayo to win the drawn game but I cant see anything other than a double digit victory for the Dubs.

They have beaten both Monaghan and Tyrone in 2nd gear and imo both those teams, maybe more so Tyrone, are at a similar level to Mayo.

bumpernut (Antrim) - Posts: 1852 - 14/09/2017 12:00:10    2045937

Antrim is not in Great Britain you clown. If you're trying to troll at least be factually correct. Great Britain is Scotland, England and Wales. If you take a look at your west brit passport you will see it says the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland (and Wexford)
gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts:4459 - 14/09/2017 10:21:21

Ulsterman said he was in Scotland to be fair.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13704 - 14/09/2017 12:13:20    2045944