Cork vs Tipp (Hurling)

My reason for believing we are rightly up against it is Cork are been written off so easily and they have nothing to lose.
Players injured do we have the panel to step up and take down a team like Cork or are we merely living on happy memories from the AI when all our subs who came on had a telling impact so we automatically have a strong panel.
Can we get over the league final defeat and bump up the pace.Remember we lost league finals in 2013 & 2014 on both occasions we lost the first round games v Limerick. Two games we were supposed to win handy.
Forde suspension leaves a gap in Midfield / Half Forward line.
Bergin leaving the panel leaves a 3rd choice midfielder or half back option gap also in the team.
Bubbles being Bubbles will he even start who knows.
Callinan hasnt played since Wexford game might take him a while to get into the game and if he held we are in serious trouble.
Will be a fair different looking 15 which took the field against Kilkenny last year and Galway in the league final.Imbalance will surely have an effect.

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 17/05/2017 17:04:05    1987632

Replying To The_Bull:  "Yeah 1990 was the most disappointing of the lot that you named there. The Tipp arrogance took an axe to our own foot on that occasion.

Cork are our main rival and will do everything to stop us on Sunday. If it was the other way around with cork coming in as champions you'd be quietly confident that we could snare them and that's exactly what half of cork are looking probably thinking ahead of this one.
Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts:1550 - 17/05/2017 15:00:07 1987560

Are you joking about 1990. There was no arrogance about it. That Cork side were better than Tipp. Cork beat Tipp in 1990, had Tipp beaten twice in 1991 but left it behind both days and beat Tipp in 1992. That win in 1990 was no fluke nor was it down to Tipp thinking they'd walk all over Cork."
Tipp had beaten Cork in 87 and 88, Cork had lost to Waterford in 89, Tipp had just won first AI in 18 years, 3 Munsters in a row and a great u/21 AI against a good Offaly team. We could see no boundaries!!
All thoughts in '90 were on Galway again not Cork. I can recall it clearly!

PremierGold (Tipperary) - Posts: 121 - 17/05/2017 17:21:41    1987637

Well worth a read:

https://www.thetimes.co.uk/article/old-stories-long-journeys-and-the-whiff-of-my-fathers-pipe-ztf2rwq9x?shareToken=2fa475826ac582ed5986bdc8134662ec

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 17/05/2017 18:19:56    1987657

Replying To WildPundit:  "My reason for believing we are rightly up against it is Cork are been written off so easily and they have nothing to lose.
Players injured do we have the panel to step up and take down a team like Cork or are we merely living on happy memories from the AI when all our subs who came on had a telling impact so we automatically have a strong panel.
Can we get over the league final defeat and bump up the pace.Remember we lost league finals in 2013 & 2014 on both occasions we lost the first round games v Limerick. Two games we were supposed to win handy.
Bergin leaving the panel leaves a 3rd choice midfielder or half back option gap also in the team.
Callinan hasnt played since Wexford game might take him a while to get into the game and if he held we are in serious trouble.
Will be a fair different looking 15 which took the field against Kilkenny last year and Galway in the league final.Imbalance will surely have an effect."
WP
With respect why do you think Tipp were such raging favourites V Lk in Limerick in 2013. The previous year previous in Thurles Lk were seven points up, I think, with about fifteen minutes to go when Kevin Downes got inside the full back and was heading for goal. He took the wrong option and opted to pass to the unmarked David Breen. I am almost certain if Downes had kept going himself he would have goaled, I think Tipp would have found it very hard to recover, which they did.
They certainly had prior warning in 14 and still lost out at home.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4316 - 17/05/2017 21:22:18    1987724

Replying To WildPundit:  "My reason for believing we are rightly up against it is Cork are been written off so easily and they have nothing to lose.
Will be a fair different looking 15 which took the field against Kilkenny last year and Galway in the league final.Imbalance will surely have an effect."
WP
With respect why do you think Tipp were such raging favourites V Lk in Limerick in 2013. The previous year previous in Thurles Lk were seven points up, I think, with about fifteen minutes to go when Kevin Downes got inside the full back and was heading for goal. He took the wrong option and opted to pass to the unmarked David Breen. I am almost certain if Downes had kept going himself he would have goaled, I think Tipp would have found it very hard to recover, which they did.
They certainly had prior warning in 14 and still lost out at home.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4316 - 17/05/2017 21:22:53    1987725

Replying To Killarney.87:  "
Replying To The_Bull:  "Yeah 1990 was the most disappointing of the lot that you named there. The Tipp arrogance took an axe to our own foot on that occasion.

Cork are our main rival and will do everything to stop us on Sunday. If it was the other way around with cork coming in as champions you'd be quietly confident that we could snare them and that's exactly what half of cork are looking probably thinking ahead of this one.

Are you joking about 1990. There was no arrogance about it. That Cork side were better than Tipp. Cork beat Tipp in 1990, had Tipp beaten twice in 1991 but left it behind both days and beat Tipp in 1992. That win in 1990 was no fluke nor was it down to Tipp thinking they'd walk all over Cork."
When I mean arrogance I am referring to 'donkeys don't win derbies' comment by Babs. You can't get more arrogant than that.

We were beaten fair and square by Cork that day and in 1992. I do recall Nicky English having a perfectly good point being flagged wide by the umpires in 1991 down in cork and we winning the replay in Thurles by 4 points.

I am trying to make two points. 1/ we are not good at defending our crown as All-Ireland champions and 2/ Cork are experte at dethroning us.

Because of these two facts I am extremely wary about the game on Sunday.

I picked 1990 over 1992 and 2010 because in1990 that Tipp team was in its prime, they won All-Irelands either side of it. 1992 was a bridge too far for them and Cork had a great team then who blitzed them in Cork. By 1993/1994 that team was in decline, that's why 1990 feels like an opportunity missed, it probably helped motivate the team in 1991. 2010 was a funny season and we ended champions in September which made up for the humiliating defeat in Cork that year."
Well.in fairness Tipp did wipe the floor with KK in both 2010 and 2016. The extent of their finals wins moved all doubt from your merit as champions, although they were probably a tad lucky to beat Galway last year.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4316 - 17/05/2017 21:27:06    1987729

Replying To Oldtourman:  "WP
They certainly had prior warning in 14 and still lost out at home."
So Limerick were 7 points up and lost by 4 was it? So we're talking an 11 point swing in 10-12 minutes of hurling. Perhaps that's the reason Tipperary were hot favourites in 2013 given we had a pretty good league and lost the league final to Kilkenny where as Limerick lost to Dublin. In 2014 the league format changed and Limerick drew with Cork thus putting themselves in pole position for promotion but messed up against Offaly. So again Tipp were the form team bringing KK to extra time in the league final. Don't take offence that many had Limerick written off in both years ye won and my point is about Tipperary taking their eye off the ball in games we should win handy enough.

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 17/05/2017 22:46:04    1987756

Replying To Oldtourman:  "
Replying To Killarney.87:  "[quote=The_Bull:  "Yeah 1990 was the most disappointing of the lot that you named there. The Tipp arrogance took an axe to our own foot on that occasion.

When I mean arrogance I am referring to 'donkeys don't win derbies' comment by Babs. You can't get more arrogant than that.

We were beaten fair and square by Cork that day and in 1992. I do recall Nicky English having a perfectly good point being flagged wide by the umpires in 1991 down in cork and we winning the replay in Thurles by 4 points.

I am trying to make two points. 1/ we are not good at defending our crown as All-Ireland champions and 2/ Cork are experte at dethroning us.

Because of these two facts I am extremely wary about the game on Sunday.

I picked 1990 over 1992 and 2010 because in1990 that Tipp team was in its prime, they won All-Irelands either side of it. 1992 was a bridge too far for them and Cork had a great team then who blitzed them in Cork. By 1993/1994 that team was in decline, that's why 1990 feels like an opportunity missed, it probably helped motivate the team in 1991. 2010 was a funny season and we ended champions in September which made up for the humiliating defeat in Cork that year."
Well.in fairness Tipp did wipe the floor with KK in both 2010 and 2016. The extent of their finals wins moved all doubt from your merit as champions, although they were probably a tad lucky to beat Galway last year."]I don't really believe in luck cos you could argue we were unlucky in 2015 against Galway. The best team on the day always wins and Galway were the better team in 2015.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 17/05/2017 23:03:51    1987759

Hve to agree with Benny. The provincial championships are a dead rubber. The only reason the y survive is the provincial council big wigs like their 'day out.'

The public have lost interest. There was a time you couldn't get a ticket for a Cork Tipp game - will it be even half full on Sunday?

The press barely cover it.

If we have an exciting game on Sunday, RTE will rant and rave about how great it all was, but next year, the crowds wll still be <30k per game. The PAirc Ui Chaoimh might help with the curiosity factor, but that too will pass.

Time for change. The championship should be extended to cover February to September and the League act as group stages of a knockout competition. Two groups of five, home and away fixtures. Top two from each group make semi finals. All over by first week in Septemebr and club championships largely unaffected.

Do something anyway. We're watching the thing dieing on its feet. And wahtever the media say isn't evidence. The attendance adnd TV ratings are the evidence.

Culchie (Cork) - Posts: 799 - 18/05/2017 15:08:13    1987984

Replying To Culchie:  "Hve to agree with Benny. The provincial championships are a dead rubber. The only reason the y survive is the provincial council big wigs like their 'day out.'

The public have lost interest. There was a time you couldn't get a ticket for a Cork Tipp game - will it be even half full on Sunday?

If we have an exciting game on Sunday, RTE will rant and rave about how great it all was, but next year, the crowds wll still be <30k per game. The PAirc Ui Chaoimh might help with the curiosity factor, but that too will pass.

Time for change. The championship should be extended to cover February to September and the League act as group stages of a knockout competition. Two groups of five, home and away fixtures. Top two from each group make semi finals. All over by first week in Septemebr and club championships largely unaffected.

Do something anyway. We're watching the thing dieing on its feet. And wahtever the media say isn't evidence. The attendance adnd TV ratings are the evidence."
Do you not think the fact that their are too many second chances is some of the reason for that? Introducing a longer cship season imo would further dilute the importance of games.
Having said that I don't feel the games are being marketed enough. Are there ever ads on the tv anymore for cship games? Even social media is pretty poor hyping games up. Why don't the GAA do more package deals for kids and the likes more often? I feel there's too many people sitting back and they aren't being proactive enough in promoting both the game in general and particularly matches.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 18/05/2017 15:45:11    1988002

Replying To tiobraid:  "Do you not think the fact that their are too many second chances is some of the reason for that? Introducing a longer cship season imo would further dilute the importance of games.
Having said that I don't feel the games are being marketed enough. Are there ever ads on the tv anymore for cship games? Even social media is pretty poor hyping games up. Why don't the GAA do more package deals for kids and the likes more often? I feel there's too many people sitting back and they aren't being proactive enough in promoting both the game in general and particularly matches."
I couldn't agree with you more.

When you compare how other sports market thier games, even a run of the mill game is hyped to the hilt.

The GAA has a terrible habit of taking fans for granted 'Ah sure won't they turn up anyway?' type of attitude.

gormdubhgorm (Dublin) - Posts: 990 - 18/05/2017 16:09:54    1988013

Replying To gormdubhgorm:  "I couldn't agree with you more.

When you compare how other sports market thier games, even a run of the mill game is hyped to the hilt.

The GAA has a terrible habit of taking fans for granted 'Ah sure won't they turn up anyway?' type of attitude."
A year ago, when Dublin played Kerry in the league final, 82,000 turned up.

The day before the game RTE Radio aired two interviews with each of the managers. Jim Gavin stated that he was using the league final as a warm-up for the Laois/Wicklow game (??). Eamon Fitzmaurice said that the league had already served it's purpose.

This is what marketing people are up against. Manager's that barely respect the competitions they are in or else manager's/players coming out over-emphasizing something's importance. Why did Aidan O'Shea feel the need to tell us that the Connacht championship was important? It must be obvious to everybody that if he feels the need to say, then it cannot be all that important. The evidence shows last year that losing the Connacht championship semi- final made no impact whatsoever to them reaching the AI - final.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 18/05/2017 17:08:54    1988035

Replying To Culchie:  "Hve to agree with Benny. The provincial championships are a dead rubber. The only reason the y survive is the provincial council big wigs like their 'day out.'

Do something anyway. We're watching the thing dieing on its feet. And wahtever the media say isn't evidence. The attendance adnd TV ratings are the evidence."
You could not get a ticket for a tipp-cork game in the past because it was straight knockout.the backdoor has taken the edge off.
In 2014 for the tipp-cork ai-semi there was 60++ at it, so if that was in a Munster ground it would be a sellout.
If we go to a league system feb-sept,there won't be 10k at these games.

PremierGold (Tipperary) - Posts: 121 - 18/05/2017 20:41:48    1988104

Replying To PremierGold:  "You could not get a ticket for a tipp-cork game in the past because it was straight knockout.the backdoor has taken the edge off.
In 2014 for the tipp-cork ai-semi there was 60++ at it, so if that was in a Munster ground it would be a sellout.
If we go to a league system feb-sept,there won't be 10k at these games."
Good point about the semi-final PremierGold.

I think the other reason for poor attendances is a lopsided rivalry since 92. Cork dominated this rivalry in the early to late noughties and we have dominated since 2007. If it was more tit to tat you'd see bigger attendances and Cork fans would drive to Thurles in bigger numbers too. The Cork public are waiting patiently for another All-Ireland winning hurling team to get behind.

The other thing too is we haven't had a proper Munster championship since Cork and Waterford ten years ago. You'd get plenty of neutrals turning up for a fixture like that. Tipp and Clare before it was epic too.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 18/05/2017 21:34:21    1988127

Replying To Killarney.87:  "Good point about the semi-final PremierGold.

I think the other reason for poor attendances is a lopsided rivalry since 92. Cork dominated this rivalry in the early to late noughties and we have dominated since 2007. If it was more tit to tat you'd see bigger attendances and Cork fans would drive to Thurles in bigger numbers too. The Cork public are waiting patiently for another All-Ireland winning hurling team to get behind.

The other thing too is we haven't had a proper Munster championship since Cork and Waterford ten years ago. You'd get plenty of neutrals turning up for a fixture like that. Tipp and Clare before it was epic too."
Sorry I mean a proper Munster Championship rivalry since Cork and Waterford in the early to mid noughties.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 19/05/2017 00:13:53    1988175

A good interview with Joe Hayes in The Examiner:

http://amp.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/the-john-fogarty-interview-bring-on-joe-hayes-450416.html

I love the build up to these big matches because in fairness to the media they come up with some excellent articles. These matches are a two-week investment, the week before spent reading as much good information about the game as possible and the week after picking through the carcass of a defeat or enjoying the glow of a championship win.

It's such a pure and enjoyable feeling for the two weeks, win, lose, or draw. Roll on Sunday, I can't wait.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 19/05/2017 21:29:57    1988442

Replying To Killarney.87:  "A good interview with Joe Hayes in The Examiner:

http://amp.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/the-john-fogarty-interview-bring-on-joe-hayes-450416.html

I love the build up to these big matches because in fairness to the media they come up with some excellent articles. These matches are a two-week investment, the week before spent reading as much good information about the game as possible and the week after picking through the carcass of a defeat or enjoying the glow of a championship win.

It's such a pure and enjoyable feeling for the two weeks, win, lose, or draw. Roll on Sunday, I can't wait."
Echo dat my friend I still get the jitteries going to Tipperary Cork games 35 years on!! Throw in the ball let's have a game....birthplace of the GAA!!!

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 20/05/2017 15:08:55    1988555

Replying To WildPundit:  "Echo dat my friend I still get the jitteries going to Tipperary Cork games 35 years on!! Throw in the ball let's have a game....birthplace of the GAA!!!"
Yeah, that's the beauty of it, we are reigning champs and terrified of losing. In any other sport you'd be cock sure.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 21/05/2017 02:51:09    1988691

Replying To Killarney.87:  "Yeah, that's the beauty of it, we are reigning champs and terrified of losing. In any other sport you'd be cock sure."
Let's just hope we are both mentally and physically prepared. Lots of unwanted distractions since the Wexford game.
Tipperary v Cork always takes on a life of its own. Last time we'll see Cork in Thurles for a while think we owe them 2 games below in the new PUC once it's finished.
Roll on 4pm since no curtain raiser will have the spuds and all before heading to Thurles!!

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 21/05/2017 09:49:02    1988712

Replying To WildPundit:  "Let's just hope we are both mentally and physically prepared. Lots of unwanted distractions since the Wexford game.
Tipperary v Cork always takes on a life of its own. Last time we'll see Cork in Thurles for a while think we owe them 2 games below in the new PUC once it's finished.
Roll on 4pm since no curtain raiser will have the spuds and all before heading to Thurles!!"
On my way to Tipp, not confident, but not on the same wavelength as some of my counties "rabbit"posters! It's Tipp v Cork.....like Tripe & Drisheen!!! 15 red shirts will try to emulate heroes of the past......with 5 kindergarten hopefuls. Rather than keep knocking those committed Corkmen, let's give them our backing and not adhere to the endless Bunnybashing negative bashing of our proud county.

eaglehaslanded (Cork) - Posts: 135 - 21/05/2017 11:39:55    1988750