Division 2 2017

Well said Richieq..and credit to the supporters there today too haven't heard Parc tailteann as noisy in a while..We also won today with Maurice deegan as referee :) in fairness he wasint up to his usual tricks today as much but he never gives us anything ..the refereeing in general in the gaa is terrible and these guys are getting paid more than the players imagine.
Hope to see Flanagan starting against cork.Great to see tobin and Hernan back were badly missed.

royal7 (Meath) - Posts: 156 - 05/03/2017 22:37:17    1964252

Was just looking at the remaining fixtures in this division, its going to be very tight both ways, even Down could go up or be relegated with the games they have left. I was wondering with all the teams in the running to go up, would it be a good thing or a bad thing to go up. Which teams are ready to compete with the top 4 (Dublin, Kerry, Mayo and Tyrone) No disrespect to Cavan or Roscommon but you won't get anything easy from Monaghan or Donegal either, both are consolidating their place in division 1 (hopefully) while blooding new talent.
I would imagine Galway are as ready as they are going to be, Kildare too maybe. Would it do the likes of Meath, Down or Clare any good going up if they need another year to develop. No point going up to go straight back down again is it??? I'm just thinking long term
If Derry can manage to stay in division 2 with all their young lads it will serve them well

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 05/03/2017 22:57:54    1964264

Great post Richie, a lot of people from outside the county think (true) Meath fans want an All Ireland in the next 2 years, all we want is the attributes you have described in your post to be shown by every player that plays for Meath. Anyone that regularly attends Meath games know that we have better players than results have shown in the last 4 or 5 years.

In the past it looked like players weren't properly prepared for games and some players didn't always give 100%, there are signs that this is changing this year but we still have a long way to go and Andy Mc is the best man for the job.

Barney123 (Meath) - Posts: 676 - 05/03/2017 23:06:41    1964269

Replying To royaldunne:  "What's gone wrong with Fermanagh?/honest question I even had you down as a draw on my predictions. Not having a pop, but what's happened is it injuries?"
I can't give you an honest answer. The only thing i can suggest is the wrong team selections but that doesn't excuse some of the goals we conceded today.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 06/03/2017 00:07:18    1964287

Replying To mhunicean_abu:  "Was just looking at the remaining fixtures in this division, its going to be very tight both ways, even Down could go up or be relegated with the games they have left. I was wondering with all the teams in the running to go up, would it be a good thing or a bad thing to go up. Which teams are ready to compete with the top 4 (Dublin, Kerry, Mayo and Tyrone) No disrespect to Cavan or Roscommon but you won't get anything easy from Monaghan or Donegal either, both are consolidating their place in division 1 (hopefully) while blooding new talent.
I would imagine Galway are as ready as they are going to be, Kildare too maybe. Would it do the likes of Meath, Down or Clare any good going up if they need another year to develop. No point going up to go straight back down again is it??? I'm just thinking long term
If Derry can manage to stay in division 2 with all their young lads it will serve them well"
are the lillies ready? would it do them good to make two leaps into the top league?

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 06/03/2017 08:18:50    1964325

Replying To Barney123:  "Great post Richie, a lot of people from outside the county think (true) Meath fans want an All Ireland in the next 2 years, all we want is the attributes you have described in your post to be shown by every player that plays for Meath. Anyone that regularly attends Meath games know that we have better players than results have shown in the last 4 or 5 years.

In the past it looked like players weren't properly prepared for games and some players didn't always give 100%, there are signs that this is changing this year but we still have a long way to go and Andy Mc is the best man for the job."
agree with that,alot to do,but if we lay a foundation of hard work,fight,determination that will do for now,signs of that happening.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 06/03/2017 08:33:01    1964332

Its all about championship. Glorified challenge games taking place up and down the country and the present time. This time last year the rossies were handing out beatings to kerry donegal etc and there were a shambles come champ. All about championship.

11jm11 (Kildare) - Posts: 365 - 06/03/2017 10:55:07    1964412

You can tell Meath won, the thread is busy again. I'd like to see Meath on the up again although think they'd benefit from another year in this division, there's several examples of counties being promoted and are no way near ready for it.

A bad result or Galway but not the end of the world and as it stands 7 of the 8 teams can still be promoted, after the next round of fixtures that should be narrowed down.

Shocking result for Cork, I'd expect some sort of backlash in their next game, well done to Clare but from a Cork point of view thats not good enough. Cuthbert appears to be out of his depth and will only be saved by a good championship.

TheWestIsAwake (UK) - Posts: 529 - 06/03/2017 10:56:27    1964414

Replying To royal7:  "Well said Richieq..and credit to the supporters there today too haven't heard Parc tailteann as noisy in a while..We also won today with Maurice deegan as referee :) in fairness he wasint up to his usual tricks today as much but he never gives us anything ..the refereeing in general in the gaa is terrible and these guys are getting paid more than the players imagine.
Hope to see Flanagan starting against cork.Great to see tobin and Hernan back were badly missed."
Ye also beat us in a 2007 qualifier in Porlaoise with Maurice Deegan as a ref so its not as if he is down on ye. Look bottom line is i was quick to congratulate Royal fans around me in the stand in Navan yesterday once the final whistle sounded. We probably should have got a draw particularly with being 3 points up with 7 mins to go but i do appreciate what this means to Meath. Damien Comer is a real loss for us at the moment as he is our go to forwwrd and we had too many forwards yesterday of a 'similar style'. But no excuses and no complaints. Most Galway football folk never make them from my experience. Fair play to our fans. While well spread out there was plenty of maroons in Pairc Tailteann and is the least our lads deserve. Still we are very much there and one game at a time. Beating Derry in Tuam on Sunday ever more crucial now.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 06/03/2017 10:59:13    1964415

Replying To TheWestIsAwake:  "You can tell Meath won, the thread is busy again. I'd like to see Meath on the up again although think they'd benefit from another year in this division, there's several examples of counties being promoted and are no way near ready for it.

A bad result or Galway but not the end of the world and as it stands 7 of the 8 teams can still be promoted, after the next round of fixtures that should be narrowed down.

Shocking result for Cork, I'd expect some sort of backlash in their next game, well done to Clare but from a Cork point of view thats not good enough. Cuthbert appears to be out of his depth and will only be saved by a good championship."
Cuthbert went last season but i get your point. Peader Healy in there now. Under serious pressure i guess. With Cork hard to know what to get. At home on Sunday week against Meath the rebels could do anything.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 06/03/2017 11:13:41    1964426

Replying To kiloughter:  "Cuthbert went last season but i get your point. Peader Healy in there now. Under serious pressure i guess. With Cork hard to know what to get. At home on Sunday week against Meath the rebels could do anything."
Apologies you're right. Just posted on another thread that Cork have been in 5 of the last 11 All Ireland u21 final's so talent isn't the problem. There's big problems in Cork, a county that has the most footballers in the country and has done as well as anyone at the U21 grade should not be languishing near the bottom of Div 2.

TheWestIsAwake (UK) - Posts: 529 - 06/03/2017 11:26:18    1964434

Replying To kiloughter:  "Ye also beat us in a 2007 qualifier in Porlaoise with Maurice Deegan as a ref so its not as if he is down on ye. Look bottom line is i was quick to congratulate Royal fans around me in the stand in Navan yesterday once the final whistle sounded. We probably should have got a draw particularly with being 3 points up with 7 mins to go but i do appreciate what this means to Meath. Damien Comer is a real loss for us at the moment as he is our go to forwwrd and we had too many forwards yesterday of a 'similar style'. But no excuses and no complaints. Most Galway football folk never make them from my experience. Fair play to our fans. While well spread out there was plenty of maroons in Pairc Tailteann and is the least our lads deserve. Still we are very much there and one game at a time. Beating Derry in Tuam on Sunday ever more crucial now."
Good Galway crowd there yesterday.
Look perhaps it does mean more to us giving what's gone before.
The one thing I don't get is the not ready for division one, we beat Galway yet they are ready , cork are having serious trouble but there ready same with Kildare their ready. If you get promoted your ready, simple.
Btw kil, that's not aimed at you just included it in this post.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 06/03/2017 12:24:31    1964489

to be honest it looks like a pretty average div 2
anyone can beat anyone
I don't know if any div 2 teams are able for div 1
however if you go up you have to win some of youre home games
and then try to grab an away point or 2

rhudson (Galway) - Posts: 1478 - 06/03/2017 12:53:20    1964512

Replying To royaldunne:  "Good Galway crowd there yesterday.
Look perhaps it does mean more to us giving what's gone before.
The one thing I don't get is the not ready for division one, we beat Galway yet they are ready , cork are having serious trouble but there ready same with Kildare their ready. If you get promoted your ready, simple.
Btw kil, that's not aimed at you just included it in this post."
I am with you on this RD. I don't buy it either. As if the 'top 3' have an indian sign on the rest of the country. I did say in a different thread on the Galway forum that i think we have more 'cut' to us than Ros or Cavan just to give two examples . Merely basing this on overall league and championship performance in recent years. Also we have some successful u21 underage finally coming through which while no guarantee of senior reward can help.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 06/03/2017 14:27:14    1964600

I bet privately McEntee would settle for staying in Div 2 next year and aim for promotion next year, his aim for the year will be reaching the Leinster Final and then reaching a quarter final.

TheWestIsAwake (UK) - Posts: 529 - 06/03/2017 15:03:39    1964627

Replying To TheWestIsAwake:  "I bet privately McEntee would settle for staying in Div 2 next year and aim for promotion next year, his aim for the year will be reaching the Leinster Final and then reaching a quarter final."
Knowing Andy I doubt that very much. Andy has already had relatively successful minor campaign with a lot of this senior panel, reaching Leinster and all ire final albeit loosing both. And what he did with ballyboden was exceptional when you think they were only 4/5 favourite to win Dublin championship that year never mind Leinster and all ire. Andy is a very ambitious man, trust me he is aiming for promotion this year. It's just his DNA.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 06/03/2017 16:53:14    1964698

Replying To gotmilk:  "I can't give you an honest answer. The only thing i can suggest is the wrong team selections but that doesn't excuse some of the goals we conceded today."
I can't figure it out, much same team as last year? Look we not safe yet but those goals against Kildare could cost come end of league

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 06/03/2017 16:59:33    1964701

Replying To royaldunne:  "I can't figure it out, much same team as last year? Look we not safe yet but those goals against Kildare could cost come end of league"
Marty O'Brien and Richie O'Callaghan are the only two starters from last year missing. I wasn't at the cork game but since half time in the Galway game it's just going tits up. I've no idea whats going on.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 06/03/2017 17:22:38    1964712

Replying To gotmilk:  "Marty O'Brien and Richie O'Callaghan are the only two starters from last year missing. I wasn't at the cork game but since half time in the Galway game it's just going tits up. I've no idea whats going on."
That can be most frustrating thing. What I seen yesterday was so much better than what happened in newry, with only two changes. Players that honestly looked like the couldn't care less v Down came out and put everything on the line. Problem is v Kildare they were useless too and against Derry blew them away . now anyone individual or team can have a off day, it's when it is plain that sometime some just don't care that gets me, I haven't seen Fermanagh play abart from very little highlight but from what I am reading it appears some just don't want to put in a shift. Modern Ireland syndrome maybe.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 06/03/2017 18:22:02    1964739

Replying To kiloughter:  "Ye also beat us in a 2007 qualifier in Porlaoise with Maurice Deegan as a ref so its not as if he is down on ye. Look bottom line is i was quick to congratulate Royal fans around me in the stand in Navan yesterday once the final whistle sounded. We probably should have got a draw particularly with being 3 points up with 7 mins to go but i do appreciate what this means to Meath. Damien Comer is a real loss for us at the moment as he is our go to forwwrd and we had too many forwards yesterday of a 'similar style'. But no excuses and no complaints. Most Galway football folk never make them from my experience. Fair play to our fans. While well spread out there was plenty of maroons in Pairc Tailteann and is the least our lads deserve. Still we are very much there and one game at a time. Beating Derry in Tuam on Sunday ever more crucial now."
He honestly has a problem with us I'm sure I've seen him ref a lot more meath games since 2007 than you ..as I said he wasint as bad as normal but that was a clear black card when meath man dragged down midway through second half..yez deserved a draw I thought tbh. Meath Galway games are always crackers and would of congratulated yez too but by God did we need that win !

royal7 (Meath) - Posts: 156 - 06/03/2017 22:15:57    1964842