Kildare V Meath

There was well more than 12000 at that game

MeathOnHill16 (Meath) - Posts: 226 - 19/06/2017 17:56:32    2002010

Replying To Jack_Goff:  "The worrying thing for me is there was only 12,000 patrons attending a leinster semi final in a venue close to both counties. 15 years ago this would of had 30-40k at it no problem.

This is a direct effect of the Dublin dominance. And as we've seen in Leinster, Dublins attendances have dropped dramatically too in leinster since they've started winning with ease.

So well done to the gaa for the forward thinking. We needed a stronger Dublin because it wasn't like they were competitive in their province previously and it wasn't like the leinster championship was very exciting with lots of teams able to win it. Slow Clap."
Having been at both of Kildare's games in Tullamore I felt that the attendances have been underestimated.I would have said Saturday's attendnace was in the region of 15,000 to 16,000. Earlier on Saturday It was reported that 17,000 tickets had been sold for the Kildare/Meath game.On the way to the game Newstalk said that the Stand was sold out over an hour before throw in, and that signs were posted outside stating that no more tickets for the Stand were on sale.

lilywhite1 (Kildare) - Posts: 2989 - 19/06/2017 18:18:20    2002030

we were outlclassed apart from maybe 10 minutes at the start of the second half , it doesn't look like we improved one bit since the new management took over but wh knows what lies ahead , i do wonder if we were just awful or Kildare are a force going forward, we didn't have any tactics really in terms of kick outs and the corner backs were 5 yards behind the kildare forwards , i hope there's some sort of a backlash and we can get over sligo , but on Saturday's performance i would be fearful of there full foward line.

meath1987 (Meath) - Posts: 126 - 19/06/2017 18:25:57    2002036

Replying To jimbodub:  "This thread reminds me of a cat watching two mice fight over a crumb of cheese."
LOL

And the Meath posters saying before the game that the only rivalry they have is with the Dubs...
Could have fooled me...'! ;o)

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3725 - 19/06/2017 20:29:31    2002097

Replying To Jack_Goff:  "The worrying thing for me is there was only 12,000 patrons attending a leinster semi final in a venue close to both counties. 15 years ago this would of had 30-40k at it no problem.

This is a direct effect of the Dublin dominance. And as we've seen in Leinster, Dublins attendances have dropped dramatically too in leinster since they've started winning with ease.

So well done to the gaa for the forward thinking. We needed a stronger Dublin because it wasn't like they were competitive in their province previously and it wasn't like the leinster championship was very exciting with lots of teams able to win it. Slow Clap."
The only time you post is to whinge about the Dubs. Unbelievable....!

At least RD shows passion for his County.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3725 - 19/06/2017 20:31:22    2002100

this thread is bstshitcrazy!! At this rate the meath lads will be up for Dublin if we beat westmeath!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 19/06/2017 20:35:02    2002102

Think its worth mentioning that three of our best forwards ( ben mcmcormack, paul cribben and neil flynn) are yet to come bck into the team. Kildare now have beaten meath 16 times in championship while they have beaten us 15 times.

11jm11 (Kildare) - Posts: 365 - 19/06/2017 20:51:00    2002117

Replying To 11jm11:  "Think its worth mentioning that three of our best forwards ( ben mcmcormack, paul cribben and neil flynn) are yet to come bck into the team. Kildare now have beaten meath 16 times in championship while they have beaten us 15 times."
wow !! aren't yous brilliant

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 19/06/2017 21:20:39    2002137

I'd agree with previous posters on the attendance. 12000 looked a very strange figure from where I was standing. I thought it was definitely higher.

KildareKelly (Kildare) - Posts: 593 - 19/06/2017 21:31:25    2002146

While Saturday night was enjoyable, and the performance was good, you have to remember we haven't played anyone from Div1 yet so bigger tests lie ahead no matter what happens in a leinster final. With respect to Meath, they have a lot of improving to do, just like we had 12 months ago. I'm just not sure they have the same raw material coming through that Cian has been able to work with. They have a nice draw in the qualifiers, one you would expect them to get through so maybe something can be salvaged from the year yet. Leinster as a province needs to push on over the next few years and make it competitive again.

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 19/06/2017 21:32:02    2002148

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "this thread is bstshitcrazy!! At this rate the meath lads will be up for Dublin if we beat westmeath!"
If
You mean when

GGdub (Dublin) - Posts: 260 - 19/06/2017 21:42:00    2002161

Replying To kildare73:  "I did wonder where the optimism from Meath people was coming from for the last two weeks given what happened just 4 months ago in the league. They convinced themselves Meath had progressed and maybe they had, but they hadn't taken into account Kildare had progressed as well. The team hadn't sat around admiring themselves since, they had worked hard, maintained a good standard of form and got themselves promoted. We've played two mid level teams in the championship, dealt with them comfortably enough but everyone knows a different prospect awaits now. I wouldn't change the way we are playing,it suits this current crop and it's gotten us in good shape. We tried the blanket defense thing, we aren't good at it but most teams in Leinster aren't good at it either. I would stick to what we are doing right now and see where it takes us. I think we'll give Dublin a good run for it. Apologies to Westmeath fans,just being realistic by the way. No medals for what we've done, got to keep it going now."
no medals for what we have done ? you have done nothing lol ...

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 19/06/2017 21:42:47    2002163

Replying To 11jm11:  "Think its worth mentioning that three of our best forwards ( ben mcmcormack, paul cribben and neil flynn) are yet to come bck into the team. Kildare now have beaten meath 16 times in championship while they have beaten us 15 times."
kildare 3 leinsters since 1935 and 0 all-irelands.

meath 20 leinsters and 7 all-irelands.

would take that stat ahead of your one!

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 19/06/2017 21:47:52    2002168

Replying To lilypad:  "What nonsense, we're good they're brilliant. If we get close I'll be very pleasantly surprised and if we beat them I'll probably faint.
Once we're not trounced I'd fancy us for a quarter spot and you never know after that."
brilliant we are not , are yea good ? we will find out soon enough !

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 19/06/2017 21:48:07    2002169

Replying To kildare73:  "You need to stop watching mice and get out more:) See you in Croker!"
cant wait , to shut your arrogance up.

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 19/06/2017 22:08:14    2002187

Replying To lilypad:  "Get used to it Meath lads, be a long time before ye beat us in championship again"
grow up

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 19/06/2017 22:09:28    2002188

I wonder what the post WW2 statistic's are ?

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1338 - 19/06/2017 22:09:37    2002189

yawn , stop blaming Dublin on your counties failings, cop on mate , let your anti Dublin bias go its not healthy.

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 19/06/2017 22:14:25    2002192

Feck stats, live in the now, Dublin have been a brilliant team and remain top dogs

lilypad (Kildare) - Posts: 1363 - 19/06/2017 22:20:28    2002197

Replying To KildareKelly:  "I'd agree with previous posters on the attendance. 12000 looked a very strange figure from where I was standing. I thought it was definitely higher."
Absolutely, if you consider the stand holds 8000 by my understanding there was certainly more than 4000 odd at the other parts of the ground

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 19/06/2017 22:46:34    2002210