Division 2 2017

Replying To lilywhite1:  "Very true royaldunne. Just look at Cavan last year. Didn't they lose their first two games?"
Yes they did indeed.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 14/02/2017 21:32:24    1956873

Replying To suckvalleypaddy:  "Lighten up Meath/Galway fans, it could be easily be 2 from Clare, Fermanagh, Cork, Kildare for promotion. I recall Kildare going up in 2012 after the draw in Salthill on Easter Sunday."
Look maybe I overreacted a little, my comments seem harsh reading them back , I like Galway always have always will.
Who knows what will happen, however I worry for Down, I think Derry may survive, who gets promotion probably won't be decided til last day, I hope we in with a shout.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 14/02/2017 21:38:19    1956880

Ah Sweet Jesus... Talk about lads from Meath getting carried away.. Lads Cork and Fermanagh could go up. Kildare could lose their next 3 games, Meath could lose all theirs and Galway also.. So have a little respect for everyone and dont get too carried away after a win, i know im not!

Belclare1 (Galway) - Posts: 1626 - 15/02/2017 08:02:37    1956945

Replying To Belclare1:  "Ah Sweet Jesus... Talk about lads from Meath getting carried away.. Lads Cork and Fermanagh could go up. Kildare could lose their next 3 games, Meath could lose all theirs and Galway also.. So have a little respect for everyone and dont get too carried away after a win, i know im not!"
Who is getting carried away? We have one win,lose our next game Down and we are in serious trouble.Win it and I would think we should stay up.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 15/02/2017 08:45:22    1956955

Replying To Belclare1:  "Ah Sweet Jesus... Talk about lads from Meath getting carried away.. Lads Cork and Fermanagh could go up. Kildare could lose their next 3 games, Meath could lose all theirs and Galway also.. So have a little respect for everyone and dont get too carried away after a win, i know im not!"
Don't think it's a case of getting carried away, think people are just been positive, lot of games to be played and as I said nothing is ever decided in div 2 after two games. But every county can hope and point a path to promotion or survival, of course there is always a chance and a path to relegated too. However best not to think about that. I'm a glass half full man

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 15/02/2017 09:56:21    1956979

Replying To royaldunne:  "Went around it before Meath Kildare and tumbleweed was all that was there, the fair weather ones soon went adrift, not like yourself or myself, look I have huge respect for Galway football always have along with Down they only two counties ID shout for when Meath not playing. Many Galway posters would say that. I have nothing against them whatsoever, great tradition great fans and are likeable. I just don't like been told we shouldn't be aiming for promotion, you above anyone should know in 2011 Kildare came to navan after loosing first two league games we had won our 2 , we missed a sitter that rebound off post in injury time ye went down scored winning point Kildare got promoted we got relegated. Division two is never deceided after two games."
RD funny i would have a similar healthy respect for Royal big ball as you would have for us. Built from the '80's when Meath stood up to the Dubs and did/would not roll over. Don't want to start a Royal/Tribe love in or anything like that but my basic facts in another of my posts has i feel some resonance. I would disagree with you in that it is not lazy cliche type of stuff but again only my opinion. I have Royal mates here in the West and i sense sometimes their expectancy is based on past glories rather than present circumstances. Anyway the thread has rolled on since i last posted and as a few posters have said it is very much open country in Div 2 at the moment.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 15/02/2017 13:09:26    1957063

Replying To royaldunne:  "These are just false clichés that are rolled out time and again. Firstly we reached a all ire minor final few years back, beating Mayo and Tyrone along the way, Tyrone are now reaping rewards with many of those younger players, Meath now have many of that team in seniors lead by same manger they had at that time. Also this weekend my own dear club is in all ire final after winning Leinster beating dub champs along way also beating Tyrone and Ulster champion too, they niw play Lee Keegan Westport in final, we are currently operating without u21s who recently won Hastings cup. So to say we don't have any underage or club success is wrong. Btw I'm not having a pop, it's just these lazy clichés that irritate me. We haven't set the world alight at either but we haven't done as bad as people say. Also Meath and Kildare would be two favs for u21 titles this year in Leinster"
Meath U21's out at the first hurdle in Leinster last night. On what basis where this Meath u21 so highly rated?

TheWestIsAwake (UK) - Posts: 529 - 23/02/2017 10:20:33    1959789

How do people see this weekend's games going? Meath I'd imagine are hoping for a win against in out of form Down. Galway will be favourites for our tie at home to Clare but it will be a tough game in tough conditions in Salthill!

Rocky.Road (Galway) - Posts: 374 - 24/02/2017 13:28:17    1960215

Replying To Rocky.Road:  "How do people see this weekend's games going? Meath I'd imagine are hoping for a win against in out of form Down. Galway will be favourites for our tie at home to Clare but it will be a tough game in tough conditions in Salthill!"
Huge match for Down this weekend. If they lose this weekend and results go against them they could be three points from safety. They would have to win three out of their last four matches then to have any chance of staying up. Galway and Clare is the match of this division with second playing third. Two neighbouring counties and who ever wins this will fancy their chances of going up. Derry need the points against Kildare while whoever loses between Cork and Fermanagh will be nervously looking over their shoulder.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 24/02/2017 16:35:29    1960273

Replying To TheWestIsAwake:  "Meath U21's out at the first hurdle in Leinster last night. On what basis where this Meath u21 so highly rated?"
One of those things, up to 9 first team players missing through injury, still were well in control until red card (deserved) then went into meltdown. One of those things. That game played 10 times Meath would have won 9/10. The upside is now we can draft in some of those lads into seniors, also minors playing this week having already qualified for semi finals. Good chance to see few more squad players. .
Division 2 itself is tight could go anyway. This week will see a bit clearer

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 24/02/2017 18:09:58    1960306

Replying To TheWestIsAwake:  "Meath U21's out at the first hurdle in Leinster last night. On what basis where this Meath u21 so highly rated?"
difficult when many of the better players were injured to be fair. real pity but sure thats football..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 24/02/2017 20:05:51    1960326

Replying To ziggy32001:  "difficult when many of the better players were injured to be fair. real pity but sure thats football.."
In addition to the U21 Championship being the only one that is knockout.
As regards the U20 Championship next season I would like to see the games played on Saturday's as the present U21 championship used to be until relatively recently.

lilywhite1 (Kildare) - Posts: 2989 - 25/02/2017 13:52:50    1960451

Replying To lilywhite1:  "In addition to the U21 Championship being the only one that is knockout.
As regards the U20 Championship next season I would like to see the games played on Saturday's as the present U21 championship used to be until relatively recently."
ya agree with that 100%.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 25/02/2017 14:20:50    1960459

Replying To lilywhite1:  "In addition to the U21 Championship being the only one that is knockout.
As regards the U20 Championship next season I would like to see the games played on Saturday's as the present U21 championship used to be until relatively recently."
Yeah much preferred sat match

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 25/02/2017 16:48:29    1960523

Can you all stop with this delusional promotionot talk. It was clear from January we weren't good enough. Relegation fodder again. Wake up people.

RoyalBadger (Meath) - Posts: 571 - 25/02/2017 20:42:40    1960626

Replying To RoyalBadger:  "Can you all stop with this delusional promotionot talk. It was clear from January we weren't good enough. Relegation fodder again. Wake up people."
Tonight we weren't good enough ..starting to show its the players not management they can't all be bad but eamon o brien should never of been sacked in the first place and on that we have been on a no decision rule since 2010 ..so from then.. no decisions.. no money ..and no pride or discipline from players the exact opposite of all elements dublin have ..

royal7 (Meath) - Posts: 156 - 25/02/2017 21:01:54    1960645

Replying To royal7:  "Tonight we weren't good enough ..starting to show its the players not management they can't all be bad but eamon o brien should never of been sacked in the first place and on that we have been on a no decision rule since 2010 ..so from then.. no decisions.. no money ..and no pride or discipline from players the exact opposite of all elements dublin have .."
Wasn't expecting that result tonight but having watched the game I felt Down were far the better team on the night.

McEntee has some job on his hands..!

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3725 - 26/02/2017 00:21:50    1960747

We are Division 3, simple

loyal82royal (Meath) - Posts: 260 - 26/02/2017 04:41:12    1960771

Who would have expected both Down and Derry to win? Fair play , again division two is wide wide open.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 26/02/2017 16:32:38    1961034

Replying To royaldunne:  "Who would have expected both Down and Derry to win? Fair play , again division two is wide wide open."
I really don't know where you optimism comes from, most of your fellow Meath men aren't surprised.

I'm expecting a backlash next week though. Galway 5-15 have a lot of talent and there's good players coming from the bench, 1-4 is still a worry though and needs work.

TheWestIsAwake (UK) - Posts: 529 - 27/02/2017 10:01:37    1961449