Kildare V Meath

Replying To lilypad:  "Damn straight wasn't so long ago both sets were spitting fire at each other on here, so why change now just because Meath have no talent or character whatsoever"
I wonder will you be as quick to question kildares character and talent when dublin give yis a footballing lesson in croke park...

GGdub (Dublin) - Posts: 260 - 18/06/2017 14:12:02    2001103

Replying To GGdub:  "I wonder will you be as quick to question kildares character and talent when dublin give yis a footballing lesson in croke park..."
Oh dear read the feckin thread, I know damn well dubs will beat us, but at least we'll give it a fair lash, that Meath team would have been destroyed, we did them a serious favour.

lilypad (Kildare) - Posts: 1363 - 18/06/2017 14:20:28    2001107

I did wonder where the optimism from Meath people was coming from for the last two weeks given what happened just 4 months ago in the league. They convinced themselves Meath had progressed and maybe they had, but they hadn't taken into account Kildare had progressed as well. The team hadn't sat around admiring themselves since, they had worked hard, maintained a good standard of form and got themselves promoted. We've played two mid level teams in the championship, dealt with them comfortably enough but everyone knows a different prospect awaits now. I wouldn't change the way we are playing,it suits this current crop and it's gotten us in good shape. We tried the blanket defense thing, we aren't good at it but most teams in Leinster aren't good at it either. I would stick to what we are doing right now and see where it takes us. I think we'll give Dublin a good run for it. Apologies to Westmeath fans,just being realistic by the way. No medals for what we've done, got to keep it going now.

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 18/06/2017 14:28:15    2001108

Replying To lilypad:  "Damn straight wasn't so long ago both sets were spitting fire at each other on here, so why change now just because Meath have no talent or character whatsoever"
Your obsession with meath is laughable. Yous won game easily fair and square we accept yous were far better team last night. No reason yous can't give Dublin a game so don't be spouting nonsense about getting roasted by them and back your team.

royalfollower (Meath) - Posts: 77 - 18/06/2017 14:38:07    2001116

Replying To kildare73:  "I did wonder where the optimism from Meath people was coming from for the last two weeks given what happened just 4 months ago in the league. They convinced themselves Meath had progressed and maybe they had, but they hadn't taken into account Kildare had progressed as well. The team hadn't sat around admiring themselves since, they had worked hard, maintained a good standard of form and got themselves promoted. We've played two mid level teams in the championship, dealt with them comfortably enough but everyone knows a different prospect awaits now. I wouldn't change the way we are playing,it suits this current crop and it's gotten us in good shape. We tried the blanket defense thing, we aren't good at it but most teams in Leinster aren't good at it either. I would stick to what we are doing right now and see where it takes us. I think we'll give Dublin a good run for it. Apologies to Westmeath fans,just being realistic by the way. No medals for what we've done, got to keep it going now."
Agree with a lot of that.

It was a brave showing from meath but they aren't good enough.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 18/06/2017 14:41:39    2001119

Replying To lilypad:  "Oh dear read the feckin thread, I know damn well dubs will beat us, but at least we'll give it a fair lash, that Meath team would have been destroyed, we did them a serious favour."
Might not happen "give it a fair lash" ...could be a flat performance at head quarters ! All Kildare poor performance over the last two years under Cian Oneills has happened at croke park..Dublin and croke park can be a Nightmare for the give it a fair lash ideology groups :)

WhyTheLongFace (Meath) - Posts: 876 - 18/06/2017 14:44:09    2001124

Replying To royalfollower:  "Your obsession with meath is laughable. Yous won game easily fair and square we accept yous were far better team last night. No reason yous can't give Dublin a game so don't be spouting nonsense about getting roasted by them and back your team."
What nonsense, we're good they're brilliant. If we get close I'll be very pleasantly surprised and if we beat them I'll probably faint.
Once we're not trounced I'd fancy us for a quarter spot and you never know after that.

lilypad (Kildare) - Posts: 1363 - 18/06/2017 15:02:28    2001134

Just heard graham Reilly had a back injury (not first time) that explains how he wasn't near as fast. The question that it leaves open though is why did he play?

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 18/06/2017 15:31:04    2001153

Replying To royaldunne:  "Just heard graham Reilly had a back injury (not first time) that explains how he wasn't near as fast. The question that it leaves open though is why did he play?"
Back injury ?

Probably pulled a muscle trying to get out of Hylands pocket..

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 18/06/2017 15:42:21    2001163

Delighted with our performance last night. The poor displays against Wexford and Westmeath in last year's Championship are a distant memory.Our real test will come when we met one of the top teams, more than likely Dublin in the Leinster Final. As for Meath I hope ye get a good run in the qualifers. any realistic assessement of Meath under Andy McEntee should only be made after his second year.
Some in Kildare who are praising Cian O'Neill now were calling for him to be sacked after last year's Leinster Championship.

lilywhite1 (Kildare) - Posts: 2989 - 18/06/2017 16:23:39    2001191

Replying To royaldunne:  "Just heard graham Reilly had a back injury (not first time) that explains how he wasn't near as fast. The question that it leaves open though is why did he play?"
Daniel Flynn had a sprained ankle and Feely had whiplash but Cian took a chance on them too.

St.Conleth (Kildare) - Posts: 1700 - 18/06/2017 16:32:10    2001197

This is not true. Graham Reilly is a fantastic talent but this is exactly the type of game where he goes missing. Can't believe they watched him as long as they did to be honest. Look kildare are further down the road than we are. They are physically stronger and bullied meath lads off the ball. Daniel Flynn is a some player wish we had one like him. I am convinced Mcentee will bring this team on but it will take time. Kildare I feel will give Dublin a game which is only good for leinster football . Meath are next best in the province after kildare and that is probably by some distance which says something about the state of things.

Royalace (Meath) - Posts: 121 - 18/06/2017 17:34:09    2001225

Replying To Royalace:  "This is not true. Graham Reilly is a fantastic talent but this is exactly the type of game where he goes missing. Can't believe they watched him as long as they did to be honest. Look kildare are further down the road than we are. They are physically stronger and bullied meath lads off the ball. Daniel Flynn is a some player wish we had one like him. I am convinced Mcentee will bring this team on but it will take time. Kildare I feel will give Dublin a game which is only good for leinster football . Meath are next best in the province after kildare and that is probably by some distance which says something about the state of things."
Sorry yes it is true. Absolutely 100% true . Ask any ciles man or woman.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 18/06/2017 17:43:57    2001232

Replying To waynoI:  "Back injury ?

Probably pulled a muscle trying to get out of Hylands pocket.."
Ahh come on Wayne you live around the area. I was in bettsytown today with my cilles friends and everyone knew. Happened last Tues. Slag all you want, but I think this raises questions for graham himself as to why he played, did he down play this injury to Andy, did Andy feel it was worth the risk.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 18/06/2017 17:46:58    2001235

Replying To Royalace:  "This is not true. Graham Reilly is a fantastic talent but this is exactly the type of game where he goes missing. Can't believe they watched him as long as they did to be honest. Look kildare are further down the road than we are. They are physically stronger and bullied meath lads off the ball. Daniel Flynn is a some player wish we had one like him. I am convinced Mcentee will bring this team on but it will take time. Kildare I feel will give Dublin a game which is only good for leinster football . Meath are next best in the province after kildare and that is probably by some distance which says something about the state of things."
Laois are probably better than meath. Graham really was dreadful. This win had nothing to do with systems etc but the fact we have superior footballers.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 18/06/2017 17:47:51    2001236

Replying To waynoI:  "Back injury ?

Probably pulled a muscle trying to get out of Hylands pocket.."
Or straining to look in the mirror.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 18/06/2017 17:50:22    2001240

Royalace the only thing that's not true is your assertion that graham goes missing, in league game v Kildare I he was our best player fact, in last years game v Dublin best player from Meath. Also in all ire club final (biggest game he played in his career he destroyed player of the year lee Keegan.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 18/06/2017 17:50:27    2001241

Let's not forget we were missing two of our best forwards in nflynn and bmccormack.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 18/06/2017 17:51:43    2001242

Replying To royaldunne:  "Royalace the only thing that's not true is your assertion that graham goes missing, in league game v Kildare I he was our best player fact, in last years game v Dublin best player from Meath. Also in all ire club final (biggest game he played in his career he destroyed player of the year lee Keegan."
He struggles when he is marked. When he has lots of space and no one near him he looks decent.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 18/06/2017 17:53:23    2001244

Replying To daytona11:  "We have much better footballers richie. Nothing really to do with progress or systems etc.

Andy mc is in trouble. You can't make a silk purse from a sows ear."
Look I'm complimenting Kildare for Gods sake you need not stick the knife in, of course your footballers have progressed I saw Kildare against Wexford and Westmeath last year and there is no comparison between then and now so they have made great progress both individually and collectively, your better footballers were poor last year but now have a years extra work under their belts and have improved immensely, that's called progress in my book anyway

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 18/06/2017 17:55:00    2001246