Kildare V Meath

Replying To commander:  "Pot and kettle comes to mind regarding you my friend. Think you need to reflect on your own posts. As regards respect it has to be earned. Many Meath fans in my immediate area at match were an embarrassment in the bole and abuse directed at their own players. And then started to walk out with 10-15 mins to go. And as for the two middle aged Muppets who abused Cian O N_roaring at him in extreme language to go the f back to Kerry and that Kildare couldn't find a manager on their own county. Ignorance is bliss."
Haha that's gas..

Roaring at him to go back to Kerry!!

Pffhh

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20598 - 18/06/2017 10:46:57    2001012

Replying To PoolSturgeon:  "I attended the match yesterday and was supporting Kildare. Tbh, I wouldn't be getting carried away with the Kildare display. The defence did well but at the same time when they were run at from midfield it was opened up quite easily down the middle -- some good individual interceptions saved the day. Their forward play is too formulaic. There is no room for individual flair or vision -- if a move is not in the coaching manual it won't be tried. There was one particular move in the 2nd half when a point was there for the taking on 2 occasions -- a needless extra pass or passes were added and the ball was then sent wide! When the margin came back to 5 points early in the 2nd half there was a real sense that if Meath could keep the momentum going for another few minutes and get the next point, they would wipe out the lead. Kildare have some very good young players and there seems to be a good spirit in the squad, but if they meet Dublin in the final I would expect Dublin to win by between 6 and 10 points."
That's it, keep dismissing us. We love it!!!

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 18/06/2017 10:47:31    2001013

Replying To commander:  "Pot and kettle comes to mind regarding you my friend. Think you need to reflect on your own posts. As regards respect it has to be earned. Many Meath fans in my immediate area at match were an embarrassment in the bole and abuse directed at their own players. And then started to walk out with 10-15 mins to go. And as for the two middle aged Muppets who abused Cian O N_roaring at him in extreme language to go the f back to Kerry and that Kildare couldn't find a manager on their own county. Ignorance is bliss."
odd kildare people behind me were having a go at their own team despite playing well!

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 18/06/2017 11:05:20    2001018

Replying To kildare73:  "That's it, keep dismissing us. We love it!!!"
We're Kildare that good or are Meath just rubbish - Meath have been in the doldrums for a long time and can't see them getting out of it - the only consolation for them is they won't get chinned by the old enemy in the final - Actually think Kildare will give the Dubs a half decent game.

IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 18/06/2017 11:07:17    2001023

Replying To daytona11:  "I think it'll be the most competitive leinster final in years. I think we'll run them close. Great to beat that lot out the gate."
Damn straight wasn't so long ago both sets were spitting fire at each other on here, so why change now just because Meath have no talent or character whatsoever

lilypad (Kildare) - Posts: 1363 - 18/06/2017 11:08:17    2001024

Replying To jimbodub:  "If you setup like you did today it'll be over by half time

I expect to see 13 Kildare players behind the ball if Dublin make the final

But please by all means setup like you did against Meath :)"
Yeah its a tricky dilemma for Kildare, do they change the system and go with some form of the blanket to contain Dublin or do they play their natural way and go toe to toe as they have done.

Would be very interested what the Kildare lads think?

I thought they were excellent yesterday.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 18/06/2017 11:09:08    2001025

Ya,sure it'd be boring if everyone was gracious or you didn't have the odd over confident gombeen thinking everything is going to work out fine when it clearly isn't but sure you get that everywhere.
I had a slight fancy for Kildare but not by that margin.
Could be the start of a good period for Kildare.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 18/06/2017 11:28:27    2001033

Replying To kildare73:  "Those last few lines are big talk for someone who's team just got their second stuffing of the year from us. Maybe concentrate on your own teams failures, which are many, and let us look after ours. I couldn't believe the optimism from some Meath people on here, a couple in particular. We are a superior team to Meath, proved it in the league but some people wiped that from memory because it suited them to dismiss Kildare. But we proved it again tonight. We've pulled together a good hard working bunch of players now, the county is behind them so let's see where it takes us. It's been very enjoyable so far!!"
Ah I was half joking. The point I was making was Kildare still have it all to prove.. beating us is only a small step..so it's a bit early to be gloating the way I've seen some Kildare lads on here.. I genuinely hope they can shock Dublin in Leinster. The midfield battle is going to be a humdinger ! Fenton v Feely.

TobinsBeard (Meath) - Posts: 125 - 18/06/2017 11:38:39    2001041

Big changes needed next game i said to my brother just before the through in i assume andy does have a plan and we wont go man to man but no .andy has to know our weaknesses if everyone else can see it .1 por kickouts wer poor never found a man we should have at least tried to keep the ball away from kildares brilliant mid fielders .play a defender at 10 and use as sweeper play keoghan at no 2 stop kicking ameless ball into forwards our defence is as bad as ever dont like it but will have pack it or we will just keep getting hammered andy has to make most of what we have we not kerry or dublin and trying to play the way we went out to yesterday is not an option simple as .well done to kildare like meath you have had to threw many years of pain but seem to be heading in right direction as a gaa fan the more good teams to challange the top 4 the better .biggy will be back i knew hed be marked out of it yesterday back to drawing board for us back in the saddle roll on next match still love meath and love that so many hate us on the lillyz and hon the royals donegal is my tip for sam .

matthematx (Meath) - Posts: 177 - 18/06/2017 11:39:36    2001043

Replying To waynoI:  "cano meath and mayo meet in round 2A"
No but we can if both progress, which is what I want, we need a big team to play and hopefully beat to put this year on a sound footing. That's not been cocky ir anything, yesterday has left many myself included bewildered, we know the better than that (not saying Kildare wouldn't have won anyway) nut we are better than that.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 18/06/2017 12:11:52    2001058

Replying To matthematx:  "Big changes needed next game i said to my brother just before the through in i assume andy does have a plan and we wont go man to man but no .andy has to know our weaknesses if everyone else can see it .1 por kickouts wer poor never found a man we should have at least tried to keep the ball away from kildares brilliant mid fielders .play a defender at 10 and use as sweeper play keoghan at no 2 stop kicking ameless ball into forwards our defence is as bad as ever dont like it but will have pack it or we will just keep getting hammered andy has to make most of what we have we not kerry or dublin and trying to play the way we went out to yesterday is not an option simple as .well done to kildare like meath you have had to threw many years of pain but seem to be heading in right direction as a gaa fan the more good teams to challange the top 4 the better .biggy will be back i knew hed be marked out of it yesterday back to drawing board for us back in the saddle roll on next match still love meath and love that so many hate us on the lillyz and hon the royals donegal is my tip for sam ."
Kicking aimless ball inot what forwards? meath only played one man up front for most of the game

dubarra (Wicklow) - Posts: 541 - 18/06/2017 12:52:48    2001064

The most disappointing aspect of the defeat is the attitude of the most important players on the team when we needed leadership the most. Andy surely gave them instructions to be more direct at half time and they came out and gave it a go getting within 4 points. But then when Kildare get a bit of momentum going the usual suspects give up knowing they are beaten. There is only so much a manager can do. Our forwards had enough space but didn't have the composure to work the ball into a scoring position. Cillian O Sullivan slipping on a solo run being indicative of this. No left footed free taker. First thing Tobin done was hook it wide and put a dent in the confidence of the team as a whole at a crucial time.

Need a handy draw like Leitrim at home as any half decent outfit would fancy their chances. Winning tends to become a habit in qualifiers lets take it one game at a time.

Jimin10 (Meath) - Posts: 783 - 18/06/2017 13:04:26    2001068

as i said elsewhere.in the last 5 games or so,meaths workrate and teamwork was great and got better. odd that all that stopped last night. some lazy displays from some of the players.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 18/06/2017 13:10:35    2001073

Replying To TheUsername:  "Yeah its a tricky dilemma for Kildare, do they change the system and go with some form of the blanket to contain Dublin or do they play their natural way and go toe to toe as they have done.

Would be very interested what the Kildare lads think?

I thought they were excellent yesterday."
Think Cian will put more concentration into our own play rather than full focus on containing Dubin. The main Laois and Meath scoring forwards were a focus and we stopped both threats very effectively. However Dublin have six forwards all capable of racking up scores so think they'll be working on that. Certainly won't be going man on man! Might go the long ball into the full forward line :)

St.Conleth (Kildare) - Posts: 1700 - 18/06/2017 13:36:12    2001086

Replying To ziggy32001:  "odd kildare people behind me were having a go at their own team despite playing well!"
There was odd Meath supporters behind me as well

St.Conleth (Kildare) - Posts: 1700 - 18/06/2017 13:39:29    2001089

Replying To Jimin10:  "The most disappointing aspect of the defeat is the attitude of the most important players on the team when we needed leadership the most. Andy surely gave them instructions to be more direct at half time and they came out and gave it a go getting within 4 points. But then when Kildare get a bit of momentum going the usual suspects give up knowing they are beaten. There is only so much a manager can do. Our forwards had enough space but didn't have the composure to work the ball into a scoring position. Cillian O Sullivan slipping on a solo run being indicative of this. No left footed free taker. First thing Tobin done was hook it wide and put a dent in the confidence of the team as a whole at a crucial time.

Need a handy draw like Leitrim at home as any half decent outfit would fancy their chances. Winning tends to become a habit in qualifiers lets take it one game at a time."
Leitrim probably thinking likewise

lilypad (Kildare) - Posts: 1363 - 18/06/2017 13:46:52    2001090

I am genuinely baffled by the public flogging of RD on here..... I never noticed him being that bad. Did I miss something?? Wat did you do RD ya mad yoke

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 18/06/2017 13:54:01    2001092

Replying To ziggy32001:  "odd kildare people behind me were having a go at their own team despite playing well!"
Very odd. Best performance in a while so very odd. I suppose every county has fools among its followers. The issue is if you give shite then be able to tale it. There are certain posters on here who can't bear to admit Kildare are a better team at moment. After league defeat it was refs fault, it's all down to power and strength etc. Absolute BS. My posts are at them not at Meath and not at the genuine fan. My wife is from Moynalvey, I go to plenty of games in Meath and I have more respect for the Meath players than plenty of the Muppets yesterday. Just as I am sure you have for Kildare players compared to the fools you had to listen to

commander (Kildare) - Posts: 225 - 18/06/2017 13:58:41    2001095

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "I am genuinely baffled by the public flogging of RD on here..... I never noticed him being that bad. Did I miss something?? Wat did you do RD ya mad yoke"
I mentioned it earlier, he's a decent man and stops me from disliking Meath more

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8584 - 18/06/2017 14:01:26    2001096

Replying To lilypad:  "Leitrim probably thinking likewise"
You have a serious chip on your shoulder. You will get a dose of reality come the 16th of july though.

Jimin10 (Meath) - Posts: 783 - 18/06/2017 14:02:34    2001097