Dublin v Mayo. Who will win the 2017 All Ireland football final?

Replying To baire:  "Except in the league final when you couldn't put Kerry away!"
the clue is in the words....LEAGUE final

I wish we had met Kerry this year, I would far prefer to be playing them in 2 weeks, we would have given them and that defence an awful pasting.
Mayo will be a far more formidable foe for us

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 06/09/2017 11:56:50    2043375

Replying To GameOfTyrones:  "Dublin back are at times looking more flustered than any other place. Not sure if I'd call it a weakness as such just more so that their very best players are else where.It's funny I actually think Mayo's backs are more dodge and their full forward line is very decent. Although their back line has improved a lot since dropping Cafferky...And Yet the marque forward stuff has been ranted on by the media since 2012 or so."
No matter how good the FB line is (and I think Dublin's is one of the best), no FB likes to have players running at them. The catch is teams have to sacrifice some of their defensive structure to put the emphasis on attack. As a Dub, my preference is having AOS up front than Mayo's forward line against Kerry. Laws of average he will win some ball , a free or two but he changes the whole option of attack to being more predictable than different forwards having a go at ye.

poguemahone (Dublin) - Posts: 365 - 06/09/2017 13:26:17    2043417

Kickouts will be an interesting contest again. Could Mayo force Cluxton into one of his temporary meltdowns? You look back to the 2015 semi first game against Mayo and the semi against Kerry last year, those crucial scores that Cluxton coughed up could have seen Dublin beaten either day. Its testament to the man that he kept faith in himself on both days and trusted his kickouts, I think last year the 3 kickouts he made a mistake on were the only kickouts he made mistakes on for the whole game. That is something I think Mayo will target and look to get something out of. I expect them to push up on the kickout and take their chances if he goes long in the hope that players out the field will contest them.
As for Clarke, I think Dublin will punish any bad kickouts on his part. The tactic Mayo adopted in the semi replay against Kerry proved successful whereby they organized all players into the middle of the field and then made runs out wide where there was space. Dublin have been playing a zonal tactic recently against both Monaghan and Tyrone and it worked really well. Dublin also showed that the team coming out with the ball from a short kickout isn't necessarily in a good place either. This is something Mayo want to do and I think Dublin will be ready for it. Dublins forwards kill themselves in chasing their men back and covering when teams try to go through them so there won't be anything easy for Mayo here. I'd wonder how Clarke will react if he has a meltdown on a few kicks. Will he have the same faith in his ability to keep popping kicks out?

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 06/09/2017 13:31:56    2043421

Mayo ...i'm certain this is their year....

Love to be there but going to give up my tickets to a Mayo neighbour who deserves to be there more than me........

BigJohn.6_8 (Galway) - Posts: 704 - 06/09/2017 13:45:05    2043426

Drive it on now Mayo.

We'll have a double whammy celebration with Liam and Sam somewhere like Miltown or Ballindine!

Hon the lads

The_DOC (Galway) - Posts: 705 - 06/09/2017 14:02:37    2043433

Replying To The_DOC:  "Drive it on now Mayo.

We'll have a double whammy celebration with Liam and Sam somewhere like Miltown or Ballindine!

Hon the lads"
Get away with that. ' Ulster' have copyright on hanging onto a general geographical loation as a link to success. Ye lot had the hurling, that should be enough for ye. No blatant jumping on what Mayo might win.

poguemahone (Dublin) - Posts: 365 - 06/09/2017 14:27:29    2043450

I asked Joe mc and he said "Dublin"

StirringIt (Cavan) - Posts: 374 - 06/09/2017 14:47:56    2043456

Anyone else finding this week is a drag....the calm before the storm I guess....flags and bunting beginning to go up this week in Mayo but nothing bear crazy as seen in the past. We are lucky that we are kind of used to being in finals.....hopefully for our sake this time is the time we do it.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 06/09/2017 15:04:09    2043462

Replying To StirringIt:  "I asked Joe mc and he said "Dublin""
bahaha :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8586 - 06/09/2017 23:41:19    2043689

Replying To yew_tree:  "Anyone else finding this week is a drag....the calm before the storm I guess....flags and bunting beginning to go up this week in Mayo but nothing bear crazy as seen in the past. We are lucky that we are kind of used to being in finals.....hopefully for our sake this time is the time we do it."
I hear ya brother, won't be long now until we're knocking seven shades of shite out of each other :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8586 - 07/09/2017 00:02:35    2043690

Replying To StirringIt:  "I asked Joe mc and he said "Dublin""
He knows his football so

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 07/09/2017 08:56:35    2043708

Lets be honest. No one really knows what will happen in this game.

Dublin are Dublin and will always be more than decent, even on an off day.. but they are also pretty much untested in real battle bar maybe a bit of unnerving against Kildare. Mayo are a wild bunch of zombie like creatures that keep coming back no matter what gets in their way. They're random and their game plan looks almost different each time they play. They're prone to melt downs but seem to be able to fight them off a bit better this year and are very battle hardened. We all know how much they want it but it will count for little if they aren't on top gear..Could go either way by any number of points between 1 and 6 and I'm not betting on either team. I don't have the slightest clue who will win this one. Although a Dublin melt down would probably result in a Mayo win by 3/4, a Mayo melt down in a final could end up in double digits.. and I think it will really come down to confidence factor. An early Dublin goal and a few points would be really really tough for Mayo to come back from, the other way around is less so. So if Mayo are to win they will need goals and the boost of confidence to go on and win the thing, whilst also making sure they don't let in an early goal or get a black card of any key players Keegan,O shea , Moran. Dublin just have to go out an be Dublin. It's up to Mayo to come at them and bring something different to the table.

GameOfTyrones (Tyrone) - Posts: 469 - 07/09/2017 09:10:56    2043713

Replying To realdub:  "I hear ya brother, won't be long now until we're knocking seven shades of shite out of each other :D"
I have also noticed the hatred from the keyboard warriors on social media is almost non existent this year....so far...hopefully it stays that way.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 07/09/2017 09:20:51    2043715

Replying To The_DOC:  "Drive it on now Mayo.

Hon the lads"
That would actually be brilliant!

the_walls (Mayo) - Posts: 495 - 07/09/2017 09:30:15    2043719

Replying To yew_tree:  "I have also noticed the hatred from the keyboard warriors on social media is almost non existent this year....so far...hopefully it stays that way."
Amen Brother.

Jaden (Dublin) - Posts: 139 - 07/09/2017 09:59:13    2043729

Replying To yew_tree:  "I have also noticed the hatred from the keyboard warriors on social media is almost non existent this year....so far...hopefully it stays that way."
The thawing of relations between Dubs and Mayo fans on HS in recent times has been seismic too Yew Tree!
Time was the hatred on here was poisonous
Also good to see

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 07/09/2017 10:24:49    2043735

This final in special in the sense that both teams are looking to make history, Mayo winning their first in so many years to become immortals in their county and Dublin the first team to win three in a row in modern contemporary football since the introduction on the quarterfinals and back door system.

Both teams striving for history, i doubt hunger or motivation will be an issue, maybe the best team that contain that monster will win the day.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 07/09/2017 10:59:59    2043748

Hopefully the support of the other 31 counties will spur Mayo on to victory & upset the apple cart for the media, TV CO's, & Croke Park.

moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 1212 - 07/09/2017 12:22:51    2043786

Replying To moc.dna:  "Hopefully the support of the other 31 counties will spur Mayo on to victory & upset the apple cart for the media, TV CO's, & Croke Park."
as a Dub abroad, a dulchie if you will, i can tell you, your miles off. I live in Limerick, and loads of the locals here are up for the Dubs
Not that its anything anti-mayo, they just love the Dubs. Mainly cos we have been beating Kerry!!!
When i was growing up very few non Dubs ever shouted for us, thats totally different now, which is novel!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 07/09/2017 12:33:37    2043790

My tuppence worth..

Mayo positives:

Mayo have always given Dublin a game since 2012. Drawing twice beating them once. Mayo are a pacey, physical side they'll compete for everything and if they can deny the Dublin team enough possession can win. They really need to dominate possession. Mayo are coming into the final in good form. They are underdogs, which suits them and most teams. They might get a little 'West's Awake Boost' from Galway's hurling win. They have 2 or 3 decent subs to bring in. Mayo need Lee Keegan to up his game to 2016 levels. To get more out of the O'Connors. If a few more step up to the mark it's a 50/50 game. Mayo battle hardened.

Mayo negatives:

Subs bench not as strong as the All Star Dublin bench. Overall they're forwards are not as good. Psychological baggage..a lot of it. Haven't proved they can get over the line in an All-Ireland Final when it's theirs for the taking. Manager prone to clangers. David Clarke subbed last year. Subbing players early.

Dublin positives:

Playing excellent football. Better than last year. New younger players like Scally and O'Callaghan, Lowndes, Small (there a bit longer) keeping household names off the bench. Jim Gavin is a brilliant, modest, no nonsense, grounded manager. His team mirrors that. Being favourites and media hype should not faze them. Possibly, nay probably, the greatest panel of players assembled in gaelic football.

Dublin negatives:

3 in a row hard to do, not done since 1986 Kerry. Teams having excellent seasons can still throw in one poorer game. Not tested. Tyrone played 'turtle' football and went into their shell, tackling non existent, in comparison Dublin played 'total' football. If Mayo play at high intensity and go ahead, how will less experienced players cope? When the experienced subs come on can they break a Mayo stranglehold such as Mayo had when dominating Kerry for 2 matches?

The weather:

Might seem a strange point but i think Mayo might be a little more suited to a wet day. Harder for slicker forwards to control the ball as it bounces off them easier to break it in contact etc. Can prove a leveller.

Verdict: Dublin by a few points. Until Mayo break the hoodoo how can realistically side with them over a proven team? I hope Mayo win for the people of Mayo and their excellent team. If Dublin win i'll wholeheartedly congratulate a great team.

It's very simple analysis everyone and has all been stated before. But it's a simple enough game. Control possession, take your scores, defend well. Don't bottle it and drive on when in a winning position.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 07/09/2017 12:51:00    2043801