Poor state of football in rural Ireland

Replying To legendzxix:  "I've an expectation on Meath and Kildare to be better. Wexford are making good strides in the hurling."
Yeah we are and that's always going to be the code that matters most to the Model (I've a preference for football over hurling myself but that's irrelevant) but I think we should be doing better than scratching around in the basement and that shouldn't be accepted. North Wexford is pretty much commuter belt these days. Just look at how Gorey has expanded in size in recent years.

MedwayIrish (Wexford) - Posts: 2324 - 19/03/2017 20:35:26    1968752

Replying To galwayford:  "why don't Kerry poster quit whinging? And quit slagging off Gaelic football. I lost a lot or respect for the Kingdom in the 00's with the likes of Pat Spillane always complaining. It seems like sour grapes to me. Football is in a good place at the moment - Dr Crokes won yesterday ffs, so quit moaning!!!!"
There are people better placed to shine the spotlight on the poor state of the game nationally. I'm not whinging about it. It is what it is. Ger Loughnane was rightly asking questions about the limp challenge that was being put up to a not great Kilkenny team. Someone can easily ask the same questions in football.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7818 - 19/03/2017 20:59:44    1968770

Nonsense thread in that it purports to speak on the state of football in rural Ireland & then completely ignores the bedrock of the game, club football which is thriving all over Ireland.

Speaking of county there is an unfortunate trend nowadays to denigrate any team that comes up short in any competition. Just because Donegal, Tyrone, Meath or Mayo havent won an All Ireland in the past five years doesn't mean that football is in a poor state in these counties. In Donegal there are more active participants than at any stage in living memory & the same could be said in counties that have never won an All Ireland.

There is more to life than Sam!!

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 19/03/2017 21:02:55    1968772

I assume when you state the terrible condition of football in rural ireland you are mostly talking about inter-county football? Not the local club scene? And some terrifc football being played by Donegal, Monaghan and Cavan. Its swings and roundabouts sometime in the future Dublin wont feature in top four but that doesn't mean local sceme is inaslump

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4895 - 19/03/2017 21:21:54    1968789

Replying To MuckrossHead:  "Nonsense thread in that it purports to speak on the state of football in rural Ireland & then completely ignores the bedrock of the game, club football which is thriving all over Ireland.

Speaking of county there is an unfortunate trend nowadays to denigrate any team that comes up short in any competition. Just because Donegal, Tyrone, Meath or Mayo havent won an All Ireland in the past five years doesn't mean that football is in a poor state in these counties. In Donegal there are more active participants than at any stage in living memory & the same could be said in counties that have never won an All Ireland.

There is more to life than Sam!!"
Excellent post couldn't agree more

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 20/03/2017 08:29:25    1968912

Replying To Damothedub:  "Excellent post couldn't agree more"
Can't argue with that but we'd just like to find out ourselves, just to be sure like!

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 20/03/2017 10:39:27    1968963

Its insulting to peoples intelligence to try and label everything outside Dublin as rural Ireland. This is a sad attempt to say Dublin haven't had any competition over their run of wins. To counter that I'd say look at the all-Ireland finals they played in and compare it to Kerrys in the 00's against Mayo and Cork (No offence intended to those counties). Dublin haven't hockeyed anyone in a final and got through by the skin of their teeth in some other games so cop on to try and intimate they have had no competition is a poor effort considering some of the runs the OP's county have had.

Pure begrudgery pure and simple and whilst they weren't able to maintain it Donegal matched and did something the Op's county couldn't do and beat the Dubs so, back to the drawing board and quit with the excuses.

duckula20 (Antrim) - Posts: 175 - 20/03/2017 11:18:32    1968994

Replying To duckula20:  "Its insulting to peoples intelligence to try and label everything outside Dublin as rural Ireland. This is a sad attempt to say Dublin haven't had any competition over their run of wins. To counter that I'd say look at the all-Ireland finals they played in and compare it to Kerrys in the 00's against Mayo and Cork (No offence intended to those counties). Dublin haven't hockeyed anyone in a final and got through by the skin of their teeth in some other games so cop on to try and intimate they have had no competition is a poor effort considering some of the runs the OP's county have had.

Pure begrudgery pure and simple and whilst they weren't able to maintain it Donegal matched and did something the Op's county couldn't do and beat the Dubs so, back to the drawing board and quit with the excuses."
Well said! I think most people can see this thread for what it really is. Pathetic!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 20/03/2017 11:34:17    1969008

Replying To duckula20:  "Its insulting to peoples intelligence to try and label everything outside Dublin as rural Ireland. This is a sad attempt to say Dublin haven't had any competition over their run of wins. To counter that I'd say look at the all-Ireland finals they played in and compare it to Kerrys in the 00's against Mayo and Cork (No offence intended to those counties). Dublin haven't hockeyed anyone in a final and got through by the skin of their teeth in some other games so cop on to try and intimate they have had no competition is a poor effort considering some of the runs the OP's county have had.

Pure begrudgery pure and simple and whilst they weren't able to maintain it Donegal matched and did something the Op's county couldn't do and beat the Dubs so, back to the drawing board and quit with the excuses."
Also Mayo cannot be forgotten

They were hammering Dublin by 10 points at one stage of the 2012 AI Semi-Final

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 20/03/2017 11:54:21    1969018

Don't see why Kildare and Meath should be lumped in with rural Ireland. Newbridge, Naas and Navan are well within the commuter belt at this stage and most of north Kildare and south-east Meath is Dublin as it is anyways.

So thanks to Kildare, Meath and Dublin (I'd nearly include Wicklow and Louth as well due the proximity of Bray, Greystones and Drogheda to the big city lights) football in urban Ireland is in flying form.

What's going wrong with the rest of ye?

Seriously though Kildare and Meath are already lost at this stage - there's even disco's on a weeknight in Maynooth. Won't somebody please think of the children?

Admittedly being close to the capital has its advantages. Although with the lure of the dark side and all the trappings the life of an urban socialite offers, it's understandable that many young heads are swayed away from the GAA, mass and fishing and whatnot. Yes we'll leave the fishing to some of the rural folk alright…

Romantic Ireland's dead and gone, well within the Pale anyways. It's up to the you the non-corrupted to save yourselves from what us unfortunate few have become. Listen to your elders; the publicans, the ones who believe in drink driving and the gods of Zeus and Thor (or whichever one controls the weather). Save yourselves, beware such evils as foreign sports, social lives, the rhododendrons and advanced learning, give up all distractions to focus solely on GAA so that rural Ireland can rise once more.

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3685 - 20/03/2017 12:26:55    1969033

Poor state of football in rural Ireland

Let's examine this statement on a county by county basis.
In Wexford you have essentially 4 urban areas, Wexford town, Enniscorthy, New Ross and Gorey.
In the last 10 years, only 1 club from one of these urban areas has managed a senior football county final appearance, Starlights in 2007.
In 10 finals, we've had 8 different winning clubs, all from rural Wexford, a tremendous spread of success around the county (and in stark contrast to the recently 1-sided nature of the hurling championship, with Oulart/the Ballaghs utter domination).

Or, to put it another way, of the the last 20 senior finalists, 19 have been from rural Wexford.
So from this perspective, the game appears to be buoyant in rural Wexford, whilst it struggles in the urban areas lately.

What say you the other 31 counties?

extranjero (Wexford) - Posts: 375 - 20/03/2017 13:37:21    1969081

What say you the other 31 counties?

extranjero (Wexford) - Posts:193 - 20/03/2017 13:37:21

Rural Dublin is struggling alright ;)

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13704 - 20/03/2017 14:43:19    1969112

I am delighted Dr Crokes won the club championship. After 25 years of trying. A lot of their players are from rural Kerry ie outside of Killarney. So I don't get Legendxx's point at all.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2517 - 20/03/2017 16:26:37    1969177

Replying To if_in_doubt:  "Don't see why Kildare and Meath should be lumped in with rural Ireland. Newbridge, Naas and Navan are well within the commuter belt at this stage and most of north Kildare and south-east Meath is Dublin as it is anyways.

So thanks to Kildare, Meath and Dublin (I'd nearly include Wicklow and Louth as well due the proximity of Bray, Greystones and Drogheda to the big city lights) football in urban Ireland is in flying form.

What's going wrong with the rest of ye?

Seriously though Kildare and Meath are already lost at this stage - there's even disco's on a weeknight in Maynooth. Won't somebody please think of the children?

Admittedly being close to the capital has its advantages. Although with the lure of the dark side and all the trappings the life of an urban socialite offers, it's understandable that many young heads are swayed away from the GAA, mass and fishing and whatnot. Yes we'll leave the fishing to some of the rural folk alright…

Romantic Ireland's dead and gone, well within the Pale anyways. It's up to the you the non-corrupted to save yourselves from what us unfortunate few have become. Listen to your elders; the publicans, the ones who believe in drink driving and the gods of Zeus and Thor (or whichever one controls the weather). Save yourselves, beware such evils as foreign sports, social lives, the rhododendrons and advanced learning, give up all distractions to focus solely on GAA so that rural Ireland can rise once more."
Just lie down in a quite, dark room for a little while and you will feel much better. The fast pace of 'urban' life can have appalling affect on some people. Keep safe,

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 20/03/2017 17:17:53    1969204

Replying To legendzxix:  "There are people better placed to shine the spotlight on the poor state of the game nationally. I'm not whinging about it. It is what it is. Ger Loughnane was rightly asking questions about the limp challenge that was being put up to a not great Kilkenny team. Someone can easily ask the same questions in football."
No, it's up to you to 'shine the light' on the state of the game in rural areas, not others. The reason... You made the statement in the first place. That's how debating works.

Stick at it though, I'm sure you will improve at it, as you couldn't get any worse.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 20/03/2017 17:24:57    1969208

Replying To arock:  "I assume when you state the terrible condition of football in rural ireland you are mostly talking about inter-county football? Not the local club scene? And some terrifc football being played by Donegal, Monaghan and Cavan. Its swings and roundabouts sometime in the future Dublin wont feature in top four but that doesn't mean local sceme is inaslump"
Yes, I speak of inter-county football. My view wasn't any different after 2014. Our '11 team nearly profited from a poor year. Your crowd in fairness seized day as any good challenger would.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7818 - 20/03/2017 17:55:21    1969225

Replying To galwayford:  "I am delighted Dr Crokes won the club championship. After 25 years of trying. A lot of their players are from rural Kerry ie outside of Killarney. So I don't get Legendxx's point at all."
The OP is suggesting that Dublin have won there All-Ireland's in an era of no competition. While accepting his own county neglected there youth!!!! The word bitter springs to mind..

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 20/03/2017 18:12:28    1969237

Replying To MuckrossHead:  "Nonsense thread in that it purports to speak on the state of football in rural Ireland & then completely ignores the bedrock of the game, club football which is thriving all over Ireland.

There is more to life than Sam!!"
Ah hello, on the inter-county scene at the highest level rural Ireland is not at the races.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7818 - 20/03/2017 18:20:55    1969239

Are you serious? I said nothing all winter while the capital deservedly winter well. This thread doesn't even have anything to do with the capital.

At inter-county level the game is in a poor state in rural Ireland. We won an All-Ireland with a patchwork squad in '14 and they were back in the final the following year. Since Tyrone and Kerry regressed after their 2010 championship exits, noone has reached their level. It's a pity when you look back our quiet years in the late 80's and 90's. You had the likes of Meath, our traditional Munster rivals and the rising of Ulster.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7818 - 20/03/2017 18:30:18    1969241

Replying To jacktheDub:  "The OP is suggesting that Dublin have won there All-Ireland's in an era of no competition. While accepting his own county neglected there youth!!!! The word bitter springs to mind.."
This thread is nothing to do with your crowd at all. I said nothing all winter while ye deservedly wintered well. Ye can only beat the opponents in front of ye. Ye are making hay while the sun is shining. Enjoy it!

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7818 - 20/03/2017 18:38:01    1969246