Connacht Football

yew_tree

connacht bashing alive and well. i love all the tyrone fans talking us down when pre 03 they had little to shout about. lets face it we have the smallest population which the most emigration. connqcht football was worse in the 70's and 80's. we have one bad year and everyone else is talking like we should be cut off. mabey we could apply to join the united states.

ye already have with new york

NordieSam2009 (Tyrone) - Posts: 75 - 26/07/2010 13:23:53    723509

Connacht football is very competitive to say Ulster, where one team now totally dominates, and therefore perhaps Connacht should be allowed two teams into the quarters.

I mean Tyrone get a bye into the quarter finals whereas Roscommon had to beat the "team of the summer" to get that far.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 26/07/2010 13:56:41    723607

sky_high

The current format is completely unfair. Northern teams have to battle it out in very tight matches and if they win the Ulster championship they are in the same position as teams who only defeated 1 or 2 poor teams to win Connought or Leinster. I propose that the Ulster champions go straight to the semi final as Ulster is a far higher standard to every other province. I know it will never happen (partly because of anti-northern bias) but that, or an open draw is the fairest way.

well seeing as monaghan reached the ulster final and annihilated armagh and fermanagh, and were then beaten by kildare(who also annihilated derry), who lost in the leinster quarter final, it would indicate that leinster is a stronger and more competitive province than ulster. also the only province with 3 quarter-finalists. dublin also beat armagh, while down struggled to beat offaly, one of the worst sides in leinster

lazyfootballer (Wexford) - Posts: 70 - 26/07/2010 14:54:50    723801

well said patrique

maigh_eo (Mayo) - Posts: 1346 - 26/07/2010 18:25:13    724425

Can only speak for Mayo as i don't care about the rest: Lets look at the last few times we have won Connacht, 2004 and 2006 we went all the way to the final beating Leinster and ulster teams on the way, 2009 lost to the referee in q/f. Unless we won Sam, can't do anymore.

51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 28/07/2010 20:20:20    727627

Right then Nordie and one or two fellow Ulster lovers and Meath lover also.......
High standard of football in the Ulster?? Are you having a laugh?? Since Armagh coming to prominence in 2002 we've been subjected to the demise of football on a continual basis with Football now been over dominated by handpassing, 2 man full forward lines and a sickening wall of men in midfield to stop the opposing team do what football and every game is about = ATTACK! COme to Connacht and you'll see football played, attack minded football, granted we've not had a great year this year but I'm confident that Roscomon will hold their own at the weekend and fair play to them they deserve a shot because they won the COnnacht final beating the team of the summer by playing ATTACK minded football and without doubt it was the game of the year so far.
Ulster football however is now all about a bad tackle here, slowing down the attack, getting a booking here, having corner backs soloing all the way upto the full forward line and handpassing and watching a corner forward put the ball over the bar meanwhile the other corner forward has ran all the way back to the empty corner back position and pulled one or two more players with him back to defend now, the term PUKE football comes to mind. Ulster football has produced more players than footballers in the past decade, by players I mean lads who are good athletes, foul, tackle and every now and again might kick the football but ultimately are depended on the dreaded handpass.
Connacht football has produced footballers of great esteem since the 40's and we only in the last month buried one of the greatest midfielders of his generation in Dermot Earley (RIP), a man nevr lucky enough to win a Celtic Cross. You go talk to GAA people about the great footballers from every decade onwards and you'll be sure to hear Connacht players in the mix. No Ulster team has put a 3 in a row together in any decade and to bash Connacht football and order a restructure etc is foul, bad minded and ignorant to the core towards your GAA peers in Connacht.
We here survive on scraps from the GAA, the Government and have had mass emmigration in the last 3 years in particular. We're not lucky enough to have a powerful Government (not the Irish one) educating and developing our players adequately in school and then receiving massive funding towards club development projects from Croke Park to ensure our survival and promotion in Northern Ireland. If you don't believe me on this matter get in touch with Croke Park and ask for the balance sheets and check the names of clubs and counties who are receiving the largest portion of monies brought in from Croke Parks rental to the IRFU and FAI.
Get a grip with your claims on football or handpass ball as ye might better know it as. Football was a great game with marvellous footballing skill to be admired but Ulster teams (Armagh and Tyrone) in the Noughties have contributed to the demise of same.

oranmoreman (Galway) - Posts: 77 - 29/07/2010 09:49:55    727830

oranmoreman

Here, I'm not here to slate Connacht football (and I don't), but I am here to defend my own province. Your post is pure rubbish. By all means defend your province but go away with that kind of Ulster-bashing rubbish.

I love how some people come on here and make posts like that thinking you're educating people on the ways of Ulster football with your unique insight cos you think you know football better than most when all you have succeeded in doing is making a joke of yourself for spouting cliched, tabloid rubbish that simply has no basis except in the noodles of deluded, bitter attention-seekers.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12494 - 29/07/2010 10:32:41    727869

51 long ago will you get a grip the referee didnt beat yous last year meath did what are you on about like typical mayo cant take your beating

sam1996 (Meath) - Posts: 436 - 29/07/2010 10:36:43    727873

Breff
Something that's in black and white is not "tabloid rubbish that simply has no basis except in the noodles of deluded, bitter attention-seekers".
My point in relation to funding etc is completely true whereas I"ve been attending football games since the early 70's and even if you were to go back on the collection of DVDs which shows matches from the 1970's onwards you 'll see that my points in relation to the demise of football are completely true and warranted. The only comment which I made in relation to Ulster football that is from the tabloids would be 'puke football'. All other comments made are personal, they're my opinion and I'm sure if you were to do a survey based on same I"d be confident of a majority favouring my views on Ulster football.

oranmoreman (Galway) - Posts: 77 - 29/07/2010 10:42:32    727884

I agree with you that football has changed but I wouldnt say for the worse and I vehemently disagree that the combined counties of Antrim, Armagh, Cavan, Derry, Donegal, Down, Fermanagh, Monaghan and Tyrone are responsible for any change for the good or otherwise.

Football changed in many ways all down the years thanks to innovators from all over the country at different stages, just cos Tyrone and Armagh brought their own differing styles to the table in the same era does not translate to "Ulster football ruined everything". Only tabloid analysis draws that conclusion.

It also doesn't matter who agrees with you, a majority doesn't make it right or fact.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12494 - 29/07/2010 10:53:01    727895

In fairness Mayo and Galway were brutal this year but they will sort their problems out. The posts are a little childish, try and write something constructive lads! And as for a cavan man bringing the subject up? Do you think Cavan would win Connaught? Doubt it!

jonny1951 (Mayo) - Posts: 1431 - 29/07/2010 10:54:06    727896

jonny1951

727896 In fairness Mayo and Galway were brutal this year but they will sort their problems out. The posts are a little childish, try and write something constructive lads! And as for a cavan man bringing the subject up? Do you think Cavan would win Connaught? Doubt it!

We're pretty bad alright, but we're usually well able for Sligo and Roscommon in the league.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12494 - 29/07/2010 10:59:05    727903

And just to counter my fellow mayo man, the ref did not beat us last year. Yes he was shocking but we crumbled, and until we find a strong, cynical full back line, we'll beat nobody! So even though the Meath lads are a little ahead of themselves with their view of themselves, no team can pin a defeat like that on a ref.

jonny1951 (Mayo) - Posts: 1431 - 29/07/2010 10:59:43    727904

Breffni39

727903 jonny1951

727896 In fairness Mayo and Galway were brutal this year but they will sort their problems out. The posts are a little childish, try and write something constructive lads! And as for a cavan man bringing the subject up? Do you think Cavan would win Connaught? Doubt it!

We're pretty bad alright, but we're usually well able for Sligo and Roscommon in the league.

Mayo must be the best team in the country so since we finished top of Division 1 this year.

paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 29/07/2010 11:07:21    727911

Breffni, we often beat Kerry, Cork and Tyrone in the league as we did this year, what's your point?

jonny1951 (Mayo) - Posts: 1431 - 29/07/2010 11:24:28    727934

pointless!

ochonlir (Cavan) - Posts: 4343 - 29/07/2010 11:28:03    727939

Its simple. Connacht football is not doing so terrific at the moment. Which is unsurprising given the fact that theres only 500,000 people in the province, and one of our 5 teams has a smaller population than some clubs. So if Galway/Mayo go through the inevitable troughs that big teams go through, then its difficult for the rest of the province to keep it up, however, Roscommon have done that well this year, and haven't lost yet. At least at the start of the year you don't know who's going to win our province......

abhainn (Galway) - Posts: 1000 - 29/07/2010 11:38:46    727954

That's true about Mayo, but ye know yourselves ye are a bit of a logic vacuum. I don't have much to compare Cavan, Sligo and Roscommon except league performances so thats what I used.

I'm not having a go at anyone here, just defending my county and province. Is that alright with ye?

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12494 - 29/07/2010 11:49:44    727971

I don't mind you defending your county and province. Just remember that if it wasn't for Tyrone, your province wouldn't be up to a whole lot in recent years?

jonny1951 (Mayo) - Posts: 1431 - 29/07/2010 15:43:30    728417

jonny1951

728417 I don't mind you defending your county and province. Just remember that if it wasn't for Tyrone, your province wouldn't be up to a whole lot in recent years?

If it wasn't for Galway...ah forget it, i don't want to be drawn into a slagging match cos I have no desire to slate any province's football unlike yourself.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12494 - 29/07/2010 16:07:53    728449