Twas the night before Sunday........

'Twas the night before Sunday and all through the town,
No one was sleeping, no one was down,
The stockings were hung by the chimney with care
In the hopes that Sam, might soon be there

The children were nestled all snug in their beds
While visions of Bernard scored in their heads.
Herself in her pj's and I in the nip
Had just settled down for a small bit of kip

When out on the lawn there arose such a clatter
I sprang from my bed to see what was the matter
Seany16 was there throwing stones
Wayno was hammered abusing his phone

The heavens had opened, the lads they were soaked
"waynos on HS" I bet you, I joked
When what to my wondering eyes should appear
But Jimbo and Jackeen, and they full of beer

With a little old driver so lively and rough
Well I knew in a moment, it must be ol Snuf,
More rapid than eagles, his coursers they came
And he whistled and he shouted and he called them by name

"On Dubby, on Damo, on Culann and Navy,
On Dubupnorth,, Witnof,, HurlingDub and Davy!
To the top of the porch, to the top of the wall
Now, dash away, dash away, dash away all!"

As dry leaves that before the Big match they fly
When they meet to an obstacle mount to the sky
So up to the rooftop the coursers they flew
With a sack full of jerseys and MesAmis too.

I opened the door, and ushered them in,
The lads they were nervous so I said with a grin
We've been here before, theres nothing to Fear
But Liamo they cried, Andy Moran is near

"I hear Aidan O'Shea, he sleeps with a ball,
And Cillian O.Connor isn't injured atall
Donal Vaughan has a book about Ciaran Kilkenny
He tears out the pages and ates them with Jelly"

"James Horan has sheep that he keeps in a shed
Tom Cuniffe sleeps with them, no more to be said
Enda Varley can open a can with his teeth
Alan Freeman drinks coolant to keep out the heat

These Mayo men are hard, they hardly break sweat,
They know how to stick a size five in the net,
The sight of a Dub holds for them no fear
But there's something we have, that they would hold dear

See we have the medals, we know how its done,
Until 73 minutes, the game is not won
How will they feel with seconds to go,
When Bernard is running with K-Mac in tow

Their defence, it will tire and leave us a hole,
For Diarmuid to play a quick ball fast and low
Paul Mannion will gather, and quick he will turn
The net it will burst, Mayo will burn

So fear not young Dubs, this game we will win
The All Ireland is ours, we will never give in
Mayo will come, and mayo will go
But Dublin will stand and acclaim its Hero

The gang they all listened, all bristled with pride
Clondalkin was crying and holding his sides
Navy was nodding and agreeing with all
Dublin would win, Mayo would fall

Enjoy this Sunday, for these days are rare
32 other counties wish there were there,
Dublin and Mayo, to you both I wish luck,
But only one county can win in my book

Jimbo gathered the troops, satisfied and content,
They loaded into the hiace and off home they all went
But I heard him exclaim, as he drove out of sight,
Happy Sunday to all, and to all, a good night….

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 16/09/2013 09:48:07    1482683

Epic post!!! Love it :))) c'mon the Dubs!!!!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 16/09/2013 09:55:35    1482695

Very well wrote Liam but hopefully a bit like Santa Claus its not real some Sunday :)

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11225 - 16/09/2013 10:00:05    1482699

i hope u and other mayo folk cn take it for what it is Yew, just a bit of craic and no offence intended or arrogance whatsoever i assure ye

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 16/09/2013 10:03:02    1482706

Fantastic post,well done M8.

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 16/09/2013 10:07:42    1482709

How could anyone take offence from that Liam - all in good fun

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11225 - 16/09/2013 10:08:44    1482711

yew_tree

1482711 How could anyone take offence from that Liam - all in good fun

You would be surprised.......!!!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 16/09/2013 10:10:13    1482712

Ha! Very well put together indeed...

Its made me feel rather homesick

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20598 - 16/09/2013 10:11:26    1482715

Very well worded. Fair play.

shoulderghost (Limerick) - Posts: 863 - 16/09/2013 10:15:39    1482718

Typical Dub hype:o)

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 16/09/2013 10:38:41    1482733

Classic , Liam !!!!

Mollymalone (Dublin) - Posts: 1137 - 16/09/2013 10:39:23    1482735

Super stuff Liam. Very well done!

seany16 (Dublin) - Posts: 1658 - 16/09/2013 10:50:26    1482744

In typical Dub hype fashion, I'm going to follow the thrend by saying, Liam, This is by far and away the greatest post I've seen on these threads. Fantastic stuff.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 16/09/2013 11:41:04    1482781

Well, my hat's off to you Liam.. well done

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 16/09/2013 11:44:38    1482783

Well fair play Liam that was entertaining. You couldn't hold out any longer hey and let Mayo have all the fun…:) Nice to see you put your Mayo Hype thread to bed anyway… hehehe

Good luck to you and all from Dublin, I hope you enjoy your day, but not to much….:)

Mancirish (UK) - Posts: 2200 - 16/09/2013 12:31:20    1482824

Excellent post Liam....Really enjoyed reading it...

Bigdong (UK) - Posts: 66 - 16/09/2013 12:32:29    1482825

Cheers folks
Appreciate the kind words :)

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 16/09/2013 12:40:44    1482836

Brilliant!!!

bloodandbandage (Cork) - Posts: 272 - 16/09/2013 12:41:43    1482837

Haha Very good Liam

Floops (Dublin) - Posts: 1623 - 16/09/2013 13:16:08    1482871