B Flynn's comments on A O'Shea

https://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/2017/0518/876179-aidan-oshea/

Does anyone else think his comments are OTT?

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 18/05/2017 18:17:46    1988054

Replying To essmac:  "https://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/2017/0518/876179-aidan-oshea/

Does anyone else think his comments are OTT?"
Yes, definitely. Talk about kicking a man when he is down. Aidan O'Shea is a soft target. Would he have made those remarks if it was another player? If he has 15 or 20 kids looking for his autograph or selfie he is not going to say no. Flynn is probably annoyed they weren't running to a Meath player instead.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 18/05/2017 20:16:00    1988100

Replying To Killarney.87:  "Yes, definitely. Talk about kicking a man when he is down. Aidan O'Shea is a soft target. Would he have made those remarks if it was another player? If he has 15 or 20 kids looking for his autograph or selfie he is not going to say no. Flynn is probably annoyed they weren't running to a Meath player instead."
You do realise Bernard has zero links to Meath anymore? He lives works owns businesses coaches club all in Westmeath, add to that all of his children wear Westmeath jerseys and support Westmeath along with Bernard and his wife. Just thought id throw that in their, as your comment was nonsense and based on 1980s and nothing to do with present day.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 18/05/2017 21:30:02    1988124

And if O'Shea had ignored the kids to go to this huddle he'd be getting it in the neck too, no pleasing some people.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1898 - 18/05/2017 22:18:33    1988138

Replying To royaldunne:  "You do realise Bernard has zero links to Meath anymore? He lives works owns businesses coaches club all in Westmeath, add to that all of his children wear Westmeath jerseys and support Westmeath along with Bernard and his wife. Just thought id throw that in their, as your comment was nonsense and based on 1980s and nothing to do with present day."
royaldunne Bernard Flynn actually helped organise the match, he say's so in the article on the homepage. Re his comment's i think they were totally over the top. Win loose or draw i've alway's noticed how long the lad's spend on the field after game's singing autograph's and taking photograph's with kid's, it's lovely to see

glasagusdhearg (Mayo) - Posts: 55 - 18/05/2017 22:22:54    1988141

Anyone know who won this challenge match? Agree that Bernard Flynn's comments are harsh on Aidan o Shea

Royal.Legend (Meath) - Posts: 665 - 18/05/2017 22:22:59    1988142

Replying To royaldunne:  "You do realise Bernard has zero links to Meath anymore? He lives works owns businesses coaches club all in Westmeath, add to that all of his children wear Westmeath jerseys and support Westmeath along with Bernard and his wife. Just thought id throw that in their, as your comment was nonsense and based on 1980s and nothing to do with present day."
He did however spill sweat and blood and win All Ireland medals with Meath so that will always trump over a keyboard supporters CV no matter what year it is.

Jack_Sparrow (Westmeath) - Posts: 1014 - 18/05/2017 22:35:47    1988146

He helped organise the game!!! So obviously he has a large part to play in Meath football.
Do you not live in Westmeath? Does that mean you aren't a Meath supporter?

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 18/05/2017 22:39:40    1988152

Replying To Royal.Legend:  "Anyone know who won this challenge match? Agree that Bernard Flynn's comments are harsh on Aidan o Shea"
All i heard was Mayo won by a few point's, didnt hear what sort of teams took to the field though

glasagusdhearg (Mayo) - Posts: 55 - 18/05/2017 22:59:19    1988162

@ Royaldunne; Bernard Flynn was beside me at the Meath v Westmeath U21 game this year and I can assure you he was shouting for Meath!

Yes his son has played for Westmeath. I have seen Bernard at several Westmeath games in recent years and rightly supports the county he makes a living in. The same can't be said of you! I assume you have your kids shouting for Meath!?

Matthew (None) - Posts: 1005 - 18/05/2017 23:06:33    1988165

What a load of nonsense. You make it sound as though Meath are not Flynn's county. Of course they are and always will be regardless of what jersey his kids wear, or where he resides now.

Reality is he is a particularly useless analyst who, like many, has nothing to contribute but an ability to keep talking.

Over the course of 24 hours earlier this year he went on national radio (same channel) and predicted Cork would be promoted from Div 2 before saying they'd finish closer to Div 3 than 1 by the end of the league.

Useless as an analyst but nice footballer in his day without ever being exceptional. A typical Meath footballer in many respects - lucky and overrated.

Onion Breath (Carlow) - Posts: 1412 - 18/05/2017 23:11:31    1988167

https://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/2017/0518/876179-aidan-oshea/

interesting.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 19/05/2017 07:57:20    1988194

I think they were pathetic comments to be honest.

But there seems to be a revelling door situation in the Irish media when it comes to having a go at mayo and Aidan o Shea in particular especially in the indo but possibly not surprising when you look at the names writing for the paper the perennial "players are wrong and managers are hard done by" chief gaa columnist

A lot of the stuff is getting beyond ridiculous at this stage, mayo and the players have moved on yet only last week Tomas o shea was dragging back up the situation with previous managers, perhaps letting it go might be something the indo and their journalist might heed.

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1328 - 19/05/2017 08:04:23    1988197

Flynn tends to talk a lot of nonsense from what I see but this takes the biscuit.

Aidan O'Shea has become a very easy target and unjustifiably so imo. Tomás Ó Sé was having a go at him in the paper recently too.

The lad signed a few autographs and a few photos taken with kids ffs!!! Fair play to him for making a few kids' day!

If that was a Dublin v Meath game and it was, say, Bernard Brogan signing autographs and having photos taken would Flynn have anything to say I wonder?

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13705 - 19/05/2017 08:15:37    1988199

Replying To The_Fridge:  "He helped organise the game!!! So obviously he has a large part to play in Meath football.
Do you not live in Westmeath? Does that mean you aren't a Meath supporter?"
in fairness to flynn,he was on new york recently fund raising for meath,so no denying were his loyalties are.

his comments? probably just so people can get talking about him a bit instead of brolly taking all the limelight!

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 19/05/2017 08:25:44    1988202

Replying To ziggy32001:  "in fairness to flynn,he was on new york recently fund raising for meath,so no denying were his loyalties are.

his comments? probably just so people can get talking about him a bit instead of brolly taking all the limelight!"
Give Flynn his due I think he said what he said honestly, I don't think there is any attention seeking comments like other pundits.
I like Flynn but his comments were a bit OTT.
Aidan O Shea is being plagued since his involvement in kicking out the 2 lads. Some deserved criticism though if he tries to influence picking the team.

No doubt about it he prob has a very strong influence in the Mayo camp and is not reaching his level of performance that Mayo need from him so when he does fall short of his capaplities he gets a lot of stick and some OTT.
But he does work tremendously hard in most games, it's just some of his decision making can be heart breaking.
Also he needs to cement 1 spot and be left there, the time for him to be put all over the field is gone. He is either a midfielder/centre forward or a full forward. Play him in one and if he isn't good enough drop him rather than throw him all over the field.

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 19/05/2017 09:44:55    1988233

Replying To Jack_Sparrow:  "He did however spill sweat and blood and win All Ireland medals with Meath so that will always trump over a keyboard supporters CV no matter what year it is."
Touché - liked Flynn as a player - he's outspoken and great guy to meet in a bar - very funny and full of stories. He has the medals to back up his opinions but perhaps slightly OTT on this occasion - it was a friendly - if it was championship he would be 100% correct.

IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 19/05/2017 10:11:17    1988245

each AOS story taken in isolation can be justified, but, put together it just serves to justifies peoples opinions of him that he is not the player some say he is (he isnt, he is decent but no more) and that he puts himself in these situations where people can have a go.

I wouldnt have much sympathy for him.

You dont see true great players like Lee Keegan or Keith Higgins at the lark that AOS gets himself into
Far better players

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 19/05/2017 10:43:54    1988261

Replying To essmac:  "https://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/2017/0518/876179-aidan-oshea/

Does anyone else think his comments are OTT?"
A bit silly with the selfies thing.
But it is just to create hype for the championship.
The Mayo and Sligo game will be a non-event (for neutrals at least) this is just RTE/Flynn's way of getting people talking about it.

gormdubhgorm (Dublin) - Posts: 990 - 19/05/2017 17:52:48    1988414

I think the main point being made about AOS is that he has all the attributes to consistently effect games. However he doesn't. Why? Who knows.

Someone once said that being a top footballer is 10% skill and 90% attitude/application. IMO AOS attitude is probably running at about 75%.

Read a good article from K. Mac from Dublin. Talks about how at the beginning he didn't believe that he should be an intercounty footballer. He wasn't good enough or belong there. Once his attitude changed, then his effect on games did also. Thought it was an interesting piece.

DLlegends (Donegal) - Posts: 503 - 19/05/2017 21:37:08    1988444