Kennelly Salutes Egoless Dubs

Well said Mr Kennelly

I know you're not very popular in your own county but the kind remarks are welcomed by us Dublin fans. Never mind those that can't look beyond their own noses. That "No dickhead policy" wouldn't go down well with them at all.

Tadhg Kennelly says Dublin's selfless approach reminds him of his AFL club Sydney Swans.

Having seen Jim Gavin's side complete the historic five-in-a-row by beating Kerry in a replayed final last month, the former Kingdom star has great admiration for the Sam Maguire Cup holders:

"Jim has got to take enormous credit because they are selfless, it's all about the team. They put their egos to the side," the Swans coach told The Irish Daily Star.

"They do remind me an awful lot of our own football club out here - the Swans. They are very respectful. It's all about the team, it's not about you. Put your ego at the door when you walk in.

"There's a policy here in Sydney: we call it the 'no dickhead' policy, basically, and that's Dublin. Then you put the talent on top of that … enormous credit."

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 17/10/2019 16:13:57    2244099

Replying To jimbodub:  "Well said Mr Kennelly

I know you're not very popular in your own county but the kind remarks are welcomed by us Dublin fans. Never mind those that can't look beyond their own noses. That "No dickhead policy" wouldn't go down well with them at all.

Tadhg Kennelly says Dublin's selfless approach reminds him of his AFL club Sydney Swans.

Having seen Jim Gavin's side complete the historic five-in-a-row by beating Kerry in a replayed final last month, the former Kingdom star has great admiration for the Sam Maguire Cup holders:

"Jim has got to take enormous credit because they are selfless, it's all about the team. They put their egos to the side," the Swans coach told The Irish Daily Star.

"They do remind me an awful lot of our own football club out here - the Swans. They are very respectful. It's all about the team, it's not about you. Put your ego at the door when you walk in.

"There's a policy here in Sydney: we call it the 'no dickhead' policy, basically, and that's Dublin. Then you put the talent on top of that … enormous credit.""
Good post Jimbo - fully concur.

That is himself and Fitzmaurice now, and a couple of genunie Kerry posters on here - nice to see.

Interesting he talks about the so-called 'no dickhead' policy with the Sydney Swans, and put your ego's to the side....
I think some of our previous teams suffered with the individual ego issue... but Jim Gavin takes no crap when it comes to this sort of stuff. He runs a very strict ship and this is a huge part of our success.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3727 - 17/10/2019 18:00:36    2244120

I've always been fond of Tadhg. Like a true Kerry supporter, he doesn't begrudge and he knows his football ;)

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 17/10/2019 20:13:08    2244139

Nice to see that the character and genuine humility of this Dublin team are being acknowledged.
Because they have been so successful people are quick to attribute their achievements to a robotic compliance to the 'process'. Their response to the challenge of the first final was anything but robotic. It was a dogged refusal to be beaten and an ability to adapt to the situation as it unfolded. Gavin has done a magnificent job with this group of players. They are a credit to their county.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 18/10/2019 09:37:41    2244179

Not a begrudging bone in the mans body, fair play, Tadhg.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 18/10/2019 10:13:54    2244184

Replying To Dubsfan28:  "Not a begrudging bone in the mans body, fair play, Tadhg."
what a joke, 2009 Final throw in, premeditated injury

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1669 - 18/10/2019 10:34:11    2244193

So I am a bit confused. Are Dublin the only team that approach things this way? Are other Counties full of egotistical selfish individuals which is the reason why they are all so far behind Dublin? Or why are Dublin being singled out? Is he saying this is why they are dominant. Anyone???

If this is what Kennelly is equating then I hope Antrim GAA are taking notes like I am of how to be successful going forward:

1 - Employ better volunteers
2 - Get rid of all the egotists
3 - Get rid of all the selfish players

After that the game will be ours! 5 in a row, here we go......

Or is it a clever ploy by the AFL to blow smoke up the Dublin squads holes before they make the phone call and wave the air tickets and nice salary in front of their noses.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 18/10/2019 14:01:50    2244236

Replying To jimbodub:  "Well said Mr Kennelly

"There's a policy here in Sydney: we call it the 'no dickhead' policy, basically, and that's Dublin. Then you put the talent on top of that … enormous credit.""
Clubs should be compared with clubs. When it comes to total football Corofin are the masters.
The Dubs tendency to pass the ball to the best placed player has nothing to do with selflessness, it's the opposite, it's being totally selfish, the selfish desire for the team to win at all costs and to show that they are top dog. KK had the same mentality as did Kerry in the 70s and 80s. But when it comes to club football, Corofin play the best brand of 'foot - ball' in Ireland and have done so for the past number of years. I'm not from Corofin btw.

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1790 - 18/10/2019 14:41:18    2244245

Replying To suckvalleypaddy:  "what a joke, 2009 Final throw in, premeditated injury"
I don't think what he did 10 years ago on the filed precludes him from offering what he considers a fair assessment of a team's character, in all fairness.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 18/10/2019 15:04:38    2244248

Replying To Offside_Rule:  "So I am a bit confused. Are Dublin the only team that approach things this way? Are other Counties full of egotistical selfish individuals which is the reason why they are all so far behind Dublin? Or why are Dublin being singled out? Is he saying this is why they are dominant. Anyone???

If this is what Kennelly is equating then I hope Antrim GAA are taking notes like I am of how to be successful going forward:

Or is it a clever ploy by the AFL to blow smoke up the Dublin squads holes before they make the phone call and wave the air tickets and nice salary in front of their noses."
I guess Dublin are being singled out because they have done what no other team has ever done and perhaps there may have been an expectation that these lads would lose the run of themselves as a lot of successful sports teams and stars do. A lot become arrogant, egotistical and can't keep their feet on the ground. Gavin seems to have done a really good job at keeping this group grounded, team oriented and gracious. That has to be admired when you consider the success they have had.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 18/10/2019 16:02:21    2244255

Replying To baire:  "Clubs should be compared with clubs. When it comes to total football Corofin are the masters.
The Dubs tendency to pass the ball to the best placed player has nothing to do with selflessness, it's the opposite, it's being totally selfish, the selfish desire for the team to win at all costs and to show that they are top dog. KK had the same mentality as did Kerry in the 70s and 80s. But when it comes to club football, Corofin play the best brand of 'foot - ball' in Ireland and have done so for the past number of years. I'm not from Corofin btw."
What is your point?? Kennelly just noted a similarity in the ethos of an AFL team to that of the Dubs.

You're arguing semantics now. All teams want to win. That's a given.
The Dubs emphasis on getting the ball to the better placed player is comparatively 'selfless' when you look at the previous habit of many Dublin forwards of indulging their ego and taking on the more difficult shot. It's one thing to work for the success of the collective; it's another to indulge one's ego. That's a self-evident distinction.
Corofin make plenty of use of the hand pass.
Dublin have excellent foot passers on their team.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 18/10/2019 16:47:47    2244263

I don't doubt Dublin are egoless, driven but also extremely talented. As Brian Coady said recently, who and self interest infects a dressing room and destroys it....but and I've seen this raised by commentators and fans said countless times....I'd hazard a guess most county teams (successful) ones are egoless...we all hear how great dublin players are with the homeless, the sick, visiting people in hospital and nursing homes....

It's great and they are a credit to themselves and their families BUT other county teams and players also do all of this. Brolly in his recent interview with Dion Fanning also touched on Dublin but also took a swipe at Mayo in this subject....I don't know why they feel the need to keep repeating this.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11229 - 18/10/2019 16:50:32    2244264

Replying To Joxer:  "I guess Dublin are being singled out because they have done what no other team has ever done and perhaps there may have been an expectation that these lads would lose the run of themselves as a lot of successful sports teams and stars do. A lot become arrogant, egotistical and can't keep their feet on the ground. Gavin seems to have done a really good job at keeping this group grounded, team oriented and gracious. That has to be admired when you consider the success they have had."
And had Kennelly been around the Dublin squad a lot as well as all other counties before coming to this conclusion? Just interested to get a bit of an understanding as to what analysis he carried out beforehand.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 18/10/2019 18:12:37    2244282

Slow news day

The_Fonz (Westmeath) - Posts: 213 - 18/10/2019 18:47:36    2244287

Replying To avonali:  "What is your point?? Kennelly just noted a similarity in the ethos of an AFL team to that of the Dubs.

You're arguing semantics now. All teams want to win. That's a given.
The Dubs emphasis on getting the ball to the better placed player is comparatively 'selfless' when you look at the previous habit of many Dublin forwards of indulging their ego and taking on the more difficult shot. It's one thing to work for the success of the collective; it's another to indulge one's ego. That's a self-evident distinction.
Corofin make plenty of use of the hand pass.
Dublin have excellent foot passers on their team."
All well coached teams are coached to put the team first, that has always been the case.

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1790 - 18/10/2019 19:06:39    2244291

Replying To Offside_Rule:  "So I am a bit confused. Are Dublin the only team that approach things this way? Are other Counties full of egotistical selfish individuals which is the reason why they are all so far behind Dublin? Or why are Dublin being singled out? Is he saying this is why they are dominant. Anyone???

Or is it a clever ploy by the AFL to blow smoke up the Dublin squads holes before they make the phone call and wave the air tickets and nice salary in front of their noses."
Not the only team but one of the few top teams. There's huge egos in other teams who queue up to give interviews and talk about themselves as much as possible.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 18/10/2019 19:40:39    2244296

Replying To Offside_Rule:  "And had Kennelly been around the Dublin squad a lot as well as all other counties before coming to this conclusion? Just interested to get a bit of an understanding as to what analysis he carried out beforehand."
Why, would you expect many squads who haven't won jack squat to have big egos? I think the whole point of his comments is that the team he is talking about has had so much success yet the players don't have be egos. No sure where the "all other counties" comes into it.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 18/10/2019 20:16:55    2244301

Whilst nobody could disagree with his comments and the Dublin team come across as very modest it's very unlikely a competitive, driven inter county squad wouldn't have some issues, it would be abnormal not to have. Dublin have a well paid media manager and I've always thought Dublin are slightly staged.

No matter the question manager, players, coaches stick to the same scipt thanking the same people and talk about pride in representing Dublin - they very rarely want to get into long interviews. They certainly don't speak off the cuff like other teams. There is nothing wrong with this way of doing things but I do suspect the media manager has a significant input in how Dublin present themselves in the media.

sam1884 (UK) - Posts: 999 - 18/10/2019 22:05:48    2244310

Replying To Joxer:  "Why, would you expect many squads who haven't won jack squat to have big egos? I think the whole point of his comments is that the team he is talking about has had so much success yet the players don't have be egos. No sure where the "all other counties" comes into it."
Who cares what Kennelly says, he's just a poacher, his poaching is against the whole ethos of the GAA.

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1790 - 18/10/2019 22:13:35    2244312

Why would anyone feel the need to fly a thread like this? It is an absolutely nothing thread.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 19/10/2019 08:48:42    2244328