Come Back Mayo All Is Forgiven

Replying To GreenandRed:  "What's a 'proper' look in? Loftus has had a few chances and hasn't really impressed. Maybe that's because the senior team isn't encouraging forwards to take on more shooting chances. Loftus is still young but for me very much a confidence player. Misses two or three chances then drops the head and becomes shot shy. Arguably the settled forwards haven't had much look in either. Cillian, Diarmuid, Jason, Kevin and Aidan are well capable should all be contributing more from play but tactics doesn't seem to allow this. McGuinness won't take the job, prefers a professional soccer coaching job."
A run of games Green and Red with a coach telling him so in advance that he won't be dropped after one or two bad performances. That is what Eamon O'Shea did with Callanan in 2013/ 2014, he told him at the start of the season "you are my starting full-forward for the year". He was nominated for hurler of the year on 2014, 2015, and 2016. That is after being a bit part player in 2012 under Declan Ryan. You have let your younger players know that they are allowed to make mistakes as they develop.

I think Mayo has some good forwards, and you are right Moran is top quality.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 15/08/2018 13:33:50    2133586

Replying To yew_tree:  "Out of interest what have we to be sorry for/been forgiven for?"
Nothing - just the darlings of the media, commentators, "Mayo's pain" etc etc Plus the Green and Red shirts on every ad remotely connected to the GAA etc etc. Ten when Mayo would fail at final hurdle the endless articles on what went wrong. But i miss all that now, I miss the banter in the crowd (they are best supporters around), the enthusiastic euphoric expectation etc etc Plus they were/are a bloody good team.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4895 - 15/08/2018 13:44:57    2133587

Replying To arock:  "Nothing - just the darlings of the media, commentators, "Mayo's pain" etc etc Plus the Green and Red shirts on every ad remotely connected to the GAA etc etc. Ten when Mayo would fail at final hurdle the endless articles on what went wrong. But i miss all that now, I miss the banter in the crowd (they are best supporters around), the enthusiastic euphoric expectation etc etc Plus they were/are a bloody good team."
Be careful now, the grammar police are active on this thread!!
Mayo will be back, they need to get some new blood into the team in the league next season, not sure if Rochford staying on is a good thing for them, but I'm looking in from an outsiders point of view, I thought Horan was a better man for the job.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2737 - 15/08/2018 14:40:54    2133604

Fully expect Galway to bounce back and win Connacht again, Mayo would have been eaten by the Dubs this year, posters are getting carried away about them.

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1667 - 15/08/2018 15:27:21    2133625

Replying To suckvalleypaddy:  "Fully expect Galway to bounce back and win Connacht again, Mayo would have been eaten by the Dubs this year, posters are getting carried away about them."
I don't think we would have got eaten as bad as Galway

mayo_123 (Mayo) - Posts: 240 - 15/08/2018 17:07:10    2133658

Replying To mayo_123:  "I don't think we would have got eaten as bad as Galway"
A very poor turn-out for the match tells you every thing you need to know about the expectations of both counties regarding the result.
If that was Mayo playing last sunday you wouldnt see an empty seat in the stadium, and the Dublin supporters would be out in force too because they would know they would get a proper game .

Vishred (Mayo) - Posts: 303 - 15/08/2018 18:40:51    2133683

Replying To suckvalleypaddy:  "Fully expect Galway to bounce back and win Connacht again, Mayo would have been eaten by the Dubs this year, posters are getting carried away about them."
We will never know whether Mayo would or would not have being eaten up by Dublin but I think the last time that happened to Mayo was the 1985 semi final replay.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 15/08/2018 22:05:51    2133720

Forgive mayo for what?

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 15/08/2018 23:51:36    2133736

Point of post was to remind how strong Mayo were , and when they were strong they were anhilalated by certain quarters for coming up short , finally we never got to take our foot off the gas against them , we probably would have slaughtered them this year but only because of the bad luck that hit their squad , we will see next year , but I've a sneaking suspicion if they stay free of injuries and manage to peak at the Right time they will be a danger to all, just my opinion

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 16/08/2018 07:26:03    2133749

Replying To Vishred:  "A very poor turn-out for the match tells you every thing you need to know about the expectations of both counties regarding the result.
If that was Mayo playing last sunday you wouldnt see an empty seat in the stadium, and the Dublin supporters would be out in force too because they would know they would get a proper game ."
Mayo only have one team in the county.. Jesus with Hurling and football here in Galway its financially impossible for supporters to go to all.. Mayo lost 8 games this year one of the poorest records in Ireland but if as usual ye are happy with the award for "we put it up to the Dubs " then fair play to ye

Belclare1 (Galway) - Posts: 1626 - 16/08/2018 07:56:23    2133756

Replying To Vishred:  "A very poor turn-out for the match tells you every thing you need to know about the expectations of both counties regarding the result.
If that was Mayo playing last sunday you wouldnt see an empty seat in the stadium, and the Dublin supporters would be out in force too because they would know they would get a proper game ."
Look Dublin Mayo was riveting as a rivalry no question. We get them in all eras. What I would say if I am not mistaken Dub Mayo 2015 was on a Sunday and more so than Saturday, Sunday's always bring bigger crowds by and large. For the replay on the Saturday before the hurling final that year the riveting rivalry added a lot of neutrals and the fact the drawn game was good. A
few Galway people I know went to that replay to make a weekend if it. All this assisted in being a sell out or close to. Last Saturday probably had very few neutrals to be honest and the extent of our reversal to Monaghan did not help plus the marginal fan who always chooses football in Mayo are choosing hurling in Galway at the moment.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 16/08/2018 08:38:43    2133759

Ive heard a lot of nonsense about the need to get Mayo back in order to bring life back to the championship.
This really must be a neutral point of view because neutrals love crazy games where anything can happen, e.g own goals, Keepers making a hash of things, losing games when in front. Its all exciting and fun to watch. But if anyone is going to beat Dublin it will need done methodically, with a plan and execution of it. Entertainment is great for the neutral, the fans and supporters of other counties love a shoot out at the ok corral. But if anyone is going to topple one of the best teams since Tyrone of the noughties, it has to be done with a more intelligent approach.

Game2Halves (Tyrone) - Posts: 265 - 16/08/2018 09:15:22    2133765

Replying To Belclare1:  "Mayo only have one team in the county.. Jesus with Hurling and football here in Galway its financially impossible for supporters to go to all.. Mayo lost 8 games this year one of the poorest records in Ireland but if as usual ye are happy with the award for "we put it up to the Dubs " then fair play to ye"
Were Galway fans not happy with just making it to a league final and putting it up to the Dubs..

tommy132 (Mayo) - Posts: 600 - 16/08/2018 12:40:41    2133822

Replying To Game2Halves:  "Ive heard a lot of nonsense about the need to get Mayo back in order to bring life back to the championship.
This really must be a neutral point of view because neutrals love crazy games where anything can happen, e.g own goals, Keepers making a hash of things, losing games when in front. Its all exciting and fun to watch. But if anyone is going to beat Dublin it will need done methodically, with a plan and execution of it. Entertainment is great for the neutral, the fans and supporters of other counties love a shoot out at the ok corral. But if anyone is going to topple one of the best teams since Tyrone of the noughties, it has to be done with a more intelligent approach."
Lets see your kick-out strategy in the final then.
The reason Mayo have gone so close to Dublin because they have a kick-out strategy in every game going up against Dublin , but Mayo had the players in the middle to perfect it.

Tyrone dont , kerry dont , galway dont and until you find one Dublin will gobble you up.

Vishred (Mayo) - Posts: 303 - 16/08/2018 13:30:18    2133836

Yeah maybe Mayo should get a bye into the All Ireland semi-final every stage. They 'deserve' it sure never mind that they were just about able to remain in div 1 in the league, weren't good enough to win Connacht or come through a qualifier against a relegated team. But still, all bettings, odds, form, aging panel, poor performers, lack of forwards, injuries and so called poor management aside....I'm sure they would have beaten Dublin by 27 points in the All Ireland semi0final.

Shame on Galway for trying to convince central council to swap Mayo in instead of them for this years semi final.

The_DOC (Galway) - Posts: 705 - 16/08/2018 13:51:19    2133844

Replying To jimbodub:  "Think you just about nailed it.

The rest took out their frustrations on seeing Dublin winning on the Mayo team..

Mayo should have beaten Dublin at least once across all those games.. they did it in 2012.. but then failed to take their opportunity before Gavin showed up.

It's remarkable that Dublin came through those games since 2013.. felt the first game in 2015 was their best chance. The Mayo come back that day had us completely rattled but when Moran tied it up Mayo seemed almost happy with the draw and their level of intensity dropped.. we were there for the taking that day and I remember leaving that day thinking that we really dodged a bullet... we got the draw but it felt like a loss.

Not sure how we got through all those games.. a fair bit of skill but also a healthy sprinkling of luck at crucial times.

Looking back.. Jaysus Mayo did deserve one against us but it wasn't meant to be."
IF they deserved it, theyd have won it.

Simple as that really.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 16/08/2018 14:20:20    2133850

Replying To tommy132:  "Were Galway fans not happy with just making it to a league final and putting it up to the Dubs.."
Yes, to win Connacht, get to a league final, win in Croker , get to a semi with a team average age 24 .. Yes happy for now...

Belclare1 (Galway) - Posts: 1626 - 16/08/2018 14:50:21    2133860

Galway were in a league final and lost - they really 'deserved' to win the All Ireland this year.

The_DOC (Galway) - Posts: 705 - 16/08/2018 14:56:19    2133863

Replying To Belclare1:  "Yes, to win Connacht, get to a league final, win in Croker , get to a semi with a team average age 24 .. Yes happy for now..."
Mayo won 5 connachts in a row and in the end they didnt mean much, winning Connacht next year will mean nothing to ye.
Galway were one of the fittest teams in the league and served them well they won games but again means nothing now, alot of players looked tired and burnt out the last against the Dubs, if ye are happy to make a final then thats grand.
Average age means nothing when the players are not good enough
Alot of Galway people go on about Mayo fand being happy getting to finals and happy with putting it up to the Dubs but then Galway fans are celebrating doing the exact same thing..

tommy132 (Mayo) - Posts: 600 - 16/08/2018 15:28:18    2133873

Lots of chips on shoulders here....mayo fan didn't start this thread and the recent national
Commentary in relation to Mayo has come from outside the county.

The "Mayo are finished" mantra has been ongoing since Kerry beat us in Limerick..say it long enough and you'll eventually be right but Mayo aren't going to fall off a cliff in my view despite the wishes of many here.

Maybe time to close this thread and concentrate on the two teams left in this years championship.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 16/08/2018 15:29:23    2133875