Andy Moran Hands On Maurice Deegan

Replying To catch22:  "Mayo willl be all the better for having Andy on board and I'd say he learned a lesson.
They'll have their work cut out this year in Connaught and will need the full compliment to make a fist of it."
Yes Andy should play and it's "Connacht" since we left the Empire.

maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1196 - 21/03/2018 12:21:08    2086584

Replying To maroondiesel:  "Yes Andy should play and it's "Connacht" since we left the Empire."
Be the Jaysus !
I'll get a black card for that I suppose.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 21/03/2018 12:30:09    2086590

Replying To clondalkindub:  "
Replying To keithlemon:  "[quote=DannyMcA:  "[quote=GreenandRed:  "link

If this is to be believed Andy will be grand for the Donegal game."
Good to see. However I wonder about the rules of this case as Evan Comerford got a red card at the time but the CCCC still banned him anyway and the ref dealt with DC at the time but the cccc banned him anyway. Seems its horses for courses with this crowd."
Only difference with this and Connollys case will be if Deegan revisits his match report and makes a bigger issue of it than it was at the time.
Seems unlikely. I get why people might be peeved as it could be seen as another case of inconsistency from the GAA on a disciplinary issue, but I think some people need to relax. This incident is hardly the greatest crime in the history of the GAA"]We know it wasn't but either was Connolly's, all we went is consistency. I want Andy Moran playing against Galway on May 13th the whole country can't wait for this game and I want Galway and Mayo's best teams available. Andy Moran if he got 3 months would make no difference to Dublin we wouldn't meet them (if we do) til July or August so he'll be well back , as I've said all we want is consistency after the witch hunt of Connolly last year."]Fair play Clondalkin. I still think you're grumpy but you'll be delighted to know that I upgraded my opinion to 'that grumpy but potentially sound lad from Clondalkin'. We'll say no more !

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7337 - 21/03/2018 13:04:02    2086605

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "No, you see you're missing the point there for whatever reason.
Before there was any report on the Connolly incident there was outrage and people baying for connolly's blood.
It was fair that he got a ban whatever about the length of it but now you have silence and the ah sure he's a nice fella let's look the other way and see what the referees report and the powers that be decide.
Connolly wasn't given that privelage full stop whether you recognise that or not."
Going on what you say and I don't doubt you were genuinely put out over Connollys treatment, then is it not somewhat hypocritical of the Dubs to stridently call for Andys suspension for something less clear cut. If the referee puts in his report that Andy was black carded for remonstrating in an aggressive manner then it will be clear that Andy didn't actually touch the ref which is the only sticking point. I don't see Deegan going out of his way to do Mayo any favours which would then lead me to believe that Andy didn't actually make contact. I think the reason there isn't an outcry for Moran to be suspended is because a lot of people, bar the Dubs for obvious reasons and a few Ross lads for even more obvious reasons, is that people are unsure whether or not contact was made. Maybe they should look at the rules and bring in a suspension for non contact aggressive behaviour as it doesn't come across well and is something a referee shouldn't have to deal with. However under the present rules a black only seems to be the punishment. I understand some of the Dubs frustration and if were clear that Moran made contact with the ref then I would quite understand people calling for a 12 week ban which in my opinion would be deserved. The referees report will be interesting if it comes out.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 21/03/2018 14:22:34    2086628

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "Going on what you say and I don't doubt you were genuinely put out over Connollys treatment, then is it not somewhat hypocritical of the Dubs to stridently call for Andys suspension for something less clear cut. If the referee puts in his report that Andy was black carded for remonstrating in an aggressive manner then it will be clear that Andy didn't actually touch the ref which is the only sticking point. I don't see Deegan going out of his way to do Mayo any favours which would then lead me to believe that Andy didn't actually make contact. I think the reason there isn't an outcry for Moran to be suspended is because a lot of people, bar the Dubs for obvious reasons and a few Ross lads for even more obvious reasons, is that people are unsure whether or not contact was made. Maybe they should look at the rules and bring in a suspension for non contact aggressive behaviour as it doesn't come across well and is something a referee shouldn't have to deal with. However under the present rules a black only seems to be the punishment. I understand some of the Dubs frustration and if were clear that Moran made contact with the ref then I would quite understand people calling for a 12 week ban which in my opinion would be deserved. The referees report will be interesting if it comes out."
OK , Let me put it this way. I genuinely think there was contact from what I've seen whether you agree or not.
Whether you believe it or not and it isn't often obvious in posts and on forums like this but I don't even think Dublin supporters or maybe even Ross supporters or anyone else for that matter want to see Andy Moran suspended.
The issue is that Connolly was tried and sentenced by anyone who could type , speak , post a tweet or any other means of vilification you can think of. Others also got bans for what you would have to consider silly incidents.
I don't see any hypocrisy in wanting fair treatment , it's about consistency. You don't believe there was contact and that's where we differ.
If Deegan doesn't mention contact then that's fair enough but for me it was clear that he did.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 21/03/2018 14:54:37    2086635

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "OK , Let me put it this way. I genuinely think there was contact from what I've seen whether you agree or not.
Whether you believe it or not and it isn't often obvious in posts and on forums like this but I don't even think Dublin supporters or maybe even Ross supporters or anyone else for that matter want to see Andy Moran suspended.
The issue is that Connolly was tried and sentenced by anyone who could type , speak , post a tweet or any other means of vilification you can think of. Others also got bans for what you would have to consider silly incidents.
I don't see any hypocrisy in wanting fair treatment , it's about consistency. You don't believe there was contact and that's where we differ.
If Deegan doesn't mention contact then that's fair enough but for me it was clear that he did."
Of course there was contact that's why he was black carded no other reason.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 21/03/2018 16:30:34    2086684

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Of course there was contact that's why he was black carded no other reason."
If that were the case he would have received a red card. Remonstrating aggressively with a match official is a black card offence. That is why he got the black card, because that is the offence the ref obviously thought he committed.

Forpucksake (UK) - Posts: 130 - 21/03/2018 18:24:24    2086730

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Of course there was contact that's why he was black carded no other reason."
You are contradicting yourself. The reason he got a black card is because there wasn't contact, if there was it would have been a straight red. No matter what anyone saw or thought they saw, the only ones to know for sure are Deegan and Moran. Now I have no idea what Moran is saying but it is telling that Deegan saw fit to give a black card. Presuming that Deegan knows the rules, and I think at this stage he has a fair idea, then the offence was aggressive behaviour rather the red card offence of physical interference. I don't think, going by Maurices previous dealings with Mayo, that he is in the habit of doing us any favours so I would be inclined to think the most Andy could have got was a black no matter how much people wish it was more!

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 21/03/2018 18:37:43    2086740

Replying To Forpucksake:  "If that were the case he would have received a red card. Remonstrating aggressively with a match official is a black card offence. That is why he got the black card, because that is the offence the ref obviously thought he committed."
Amazes me people don't read the rules of the game. If you do it is clear Moran will get no ban. but the rules are still far too imprecise with nowhere near enough clarity or guidance included Bad reffing is ruining so many games but the rules do not help They are not fit for purpose and let officials dodge their responsibility in so many cases

cjx (Tyrone) - Posts: 270 - 21/03/2018 18:40:27    2086743

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "You are contradicting yourself. The reason he got a black card is because there wasn't contact, if there was it would have been a straight red. No matter what anyone saw or thought they saw, the only ones to know for sure are Deegan and Moran. Now I have no idea what Moran is saying but it is telling that Deegan saw fit to give a black card. Presuming that Deegan knows the rules, and I think at this stage he has a fair idea, then the offence was aggressive behaviour rather the red card offence of physical interference. I don't think, going by Maurices previous dealings with Mayo, that he is in the habit of doing us any favours so I would be inclined to think the most Andy could have got was a black no matter how much people wish it was more!"
Then it's even more baffling going by that logic why DC got no card at all from the ref when there was minimal contact. Is it any wonder we are all going loopy!!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 21/03/2018 19:12:12    2086754

Replying To Forpucksake:  "If that were the case he would have received a red card. Remonstrating aggressively with a match official is a black card offence. That is why he got the black card, because that is the offence the ref obviously thought he committed."
So why didn't DC get any card at all? I'm so confused :/

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 21/03/2018 19:33:39    2086759

Replying To Jackeen:  "Then it's even more baffling going by that logic why DC got no card at all from the ref when there was minimal contact. Is it any wonder we are all going loopy!!"
Read Cjx Tyrones post on page seven of this thread, he seems to know what he's talking about. Strange though that the Connolly incident wasn't dealt with there and then as it happened to the linesman, in front of the ref. Can understand going back on something picked up by the camera, that the ref hasn't seen, but if the ref sees it and does nothing that should be the end of it. Even if Connolly deserved a ban, the way it was done left a lot to be desired.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 21/03/2018 21:20:05    2086796

No point arguing this decision, its not like any amount of words on here will change the decision one way or the other but the thread without even reading replies id imagine look a lot like this below

1) On the one hand, a lot of people the majority being Dubs, will claim Andy Moran should've gotten a ban because Diarmuid Connolly got one. The very same people who where apoplectic that diarmuid got his back in May or June or whenever it was, The very same people who spent days and weeks after the Connolly incident defending him, now want Andy banned out of fairness. Spare me the fairness nonsense when you don't believe for one second Diarmuid should have got banned months back. If you defending Connolly back then its hypocritical in the extreme to WANT Moran banned, By the logic of you guys, another "wrong decision" should be made because one was made last summer, We all know the saying about 2 wrongs.. n all that.

2) You likely also have the people who claim Andy Moran wasn't as aggressive bla bla bla and it was an accident and finding loopholes all over the shop to explain why he got off because Andy Moran is just a much more likeable fella than Diarmuid Connolly and/or love winding people up who have the view in point 1, Or they genuinely believe their point and that's fair enough. Whatever.

3) Quoting the rule book... Predictable and very boring. Its been a long long time since there was any sort of consistency or following or rules to the letter in all honesty. Amateur organisation acting in an amateur way. Why oh why do people act surprised when basics like following rules, well, aren't followed

Look. Lads, Let it go.

Don't worry about it, Don't get stressed one way or the other.

Life goes on.

Don't lose sleep over it.

Good luck to Andy Moran and Mayo, and indeed Donegal on Sunday, One will stay up, one will go down. That's what people should be talking about. Looking forward to what promises to be a belter of a game. And good luck to the might blues who have a visit from Monaghan too, who I don't wish luck for obvious reasons.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 21/03/2018 21:40:34    2086798

Replying To waynoI:  "No point arguing this decision, its not like any amount of words on here will change the decision one way or the other but the thread without even reading replies id imagine look a lot like this below

1) On the one hand, a lot of people the majority being Dubs, will claim Andy Moran should've gotten a ban because Diarmuid Connolly got one. The very same people who where apoplectic that diarmuid got his back in May or June or whenever it was, The very same people who spent days and weeks after the Connolly incident defending him, now want Andy banned out of fairness. Spare me the fairness nonsense when you don't believe for one second Diarmuid should have got banned months back. If you defending Connolly back then its hypocritical in the extreme to WANT Moran banned, By the logic of you guys, another "wrong decision" should be made because one was made last summer, We all know the saying about 2 wrongs.. n all that.

2) You likely also have the people who claim Andy Moran wasn't as aggressive bla bla bla and it was an accident and finding loopholes all over the shop to explain why he got off because Andy Moran is just a much more likeable fella than Diarmuid Connolly and/or love winding people up who have the view in point 1, Or they genuinely believe their point and that's fair enough. Whatever.

3) Quoting the rule book... Predictable and very boring. Its been a long long time since there was any sort of consistency or following or rules to the letter in all honesty. Amateur organisation acting in an amateur way. Why oh why do people act surprised when basics like following rules, well, aren't followed

Look. Lads, Let it go.

Life goes on.

Good luck to Andy Moran and Mayo, and indeed Donegal on Sunday, One will stay up, one will go down. That's what people should be talking about. Looking forward to what promises to be a belter of a game. And good luck to the might blues who have a visit from Monaghan too, who I don't wish luck for obvious reasons."
Wayno I'm impressed.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 21/03/2018 21:50:11    2086803

Replying To waynoI:  "No point arguing this decision, its not like any amount of words on here will change the decision one way or the other but the thread without even reading replies id imagine look a lot like this below

Look. Lads, Let it go.

Life goes on.

Good luck to Andy Moran and Mayo, and indeed Donegal on Sunday, One will stay up, one will go down. That's what people should be talking about. Looking forward to what promises to be a belter of a game. And good luck to the might blues who have a visit from Monaghan too, who I don't wish luck for obvious reasons."
Well said. Very good points. And good luck to the Dubs in their game.

GormlaighG (Mayo) - Posts: 77 - 21/03/2018 22:01:49    2086807

Wait...theres a rule book!?...

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4624 - 21/03/2018 22:01:59    2086808

Look. Lads, Let it go.

Life goes on.

Well said. Very good points. And good luck to the Dubs in their game.

GormlaighG (Mayo) - Posts: 77 - 21/03/2018 22:02:04    2086809

Replying To GormlaighG:  "Well said. Very good points. And good luck to the Dubs in their game."
Wayno really hits the nail on the head.

I doubt there are many people who *want* to see Andy suffer a ban. The issue is that *should* he or shouldn't he. If he escapes sanction (which I hope/think he will), then that creates a doubt or expectation as to what someone else down the line in a similar situation will have happen to them. Whatever about a March game, imagine the drama in early August an incident like this would stir up. We don't need that.

Maybe (shock horror) we might learn that all this baying for blood when it comes to other team's players is a Zero Sum Game. I'd like to hope so. Certainly the last couple of posts I've read on here indicates some green shoots of tolerance and understanding. Maybe is's a false spring, maybe not.

I do know that the Donegal/Mayo game is of more interest to me then the Dubs/Monaghan one. I predict a tight low scoring game, with Mayo aiming for the draw. 0.08 to 0.09 is a possibility, although I couldn't tell you who wins.

Jaden (Dublin) - Posts: 139 - 22/03/2018 09:31:29    2086868

Replying To Jaden:  "Wayno really hits the nail on the head.

I doubt there are many people who *want* to see Andy suffer a ban. The issue is that *should* he or shouldn't he. If he escapes sanction (which I hope/think he will), then that creates a doubt or expectation as to what someone else down the line in a similar situation will have happen to them. Whatever about a March game, imagine the drama in early August an incident like this would stir up. We don't need that.

Maybe (shock horror) we might learn that all this baying for blood when it comes to other team's players is a Zero Sum Game. I'd like to hope so. Certainly the last couple of posts I've read on here indicates some green shoots of tolerance and understanding. Maybe is's a false spring, maybe not.

I do know that the Donegal/Mayo game is of more interest to me then the Dubs/Monaghan one. I predict a tight low scoring game, with Mayo aiming for the draw. 0.08 to 0.09 is a possibility, although I couldn't tell you who wins."
In regards to the the Dublin v Monaghan game id say it's lucky ye have it on as a double header with the hurling or ye wouldn't have 10,000 at it.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 22/03/2018 10:36:34    2086885

Replying To Jaden:  "Wayno really hits the nail on the head.

I do know that the Donegal/Mayo game is of more interest to me then the Dubs/Monaghan one. I predict a tight low scoring game, with Mayo aiming for the draw. 0.08 to 0.09 is a possibility, although I couldn't tell you who wins."
Will be surprised if we beat Donegal to be honest. We have stayed up against the odds other years but we had our full team back for the last couple of games in those years. We started the second half against Tyrone without any of the six defenders that started last years All Ireland. We have relied over the last couple of years on the pace of our defence to bail out our forwards and without the likes of Harrison, Higgins and Keegan to join the attack we look toothless. Our full back line is porous and our midfield pair are just coming back after injury. Add in the loss of Cillian, who we rely on far too much, and we are in real bother. If we play the way we did against Tyrone the Donegal junior team would beat us. I think we are unfortunate with all the injuries but I don't think getting relegated was part of the Rochford master plan. Anyway as the politicians are wont to say "we are where we are". I hope young McBrearty doesn't play on Sunday or I shudder to think of the damage he'd do.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 22/03/2018 11:57:16    2086919