Andy Moran Hands On Maurice Deegan

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "If you want to know about rugby just ask big Joe. You lads seem to like scoring the odd try.Worked in 2010."
Ah but that was only a one-off-ye boys brought it to a different level in the final and again last Sunday in Salthill!

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 20/03/2018 19:48:04    2086383

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "If you want to know about rugby just ask big Joe. You lads seem to like scoring the odd try.Worked in 2010."
Ha! Poor guy never got to take the conversion though

Gavvygavgav (Dublin) - Posts: 382 - 20/03/2018 19:49:37    2086384

More of a knock on really....

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7344 - 20/03/2018 19:55:53    2086387

Dublin supporter. Connolly was treated harshly. Doing the same to Andy Moran will neither change or justify what happened to Connolly. Two wrongs..etc. Moran incident was dealt with on the day, move on.

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4624 - 20/03/2018 20:11:06    2086394

Replying To browncows:  "Ah but that was only a one-off-ye boys brought it to a different level in the final and again last Sunday in Salthill!"
Well I'm sure you boys will give it a go again if ye get to a final. Whenever that might happen.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 20/03/2018 20:17:31    2086399

Replying To bad.monkey:  "Dublin supporter. Connolly was treated harshly. Doing the same to Andy Moran will neither change or justify what happened to Connolly. Two wrongs..etc. Moran incident was dealt with on the day, move on."
It's not just Connolly. It's Evan Comerford, Gordon Kelly and a host of others. Some guy got a 12 week ban because he was deemed to have squirted water at an umpire. Ludicrous stuff. It either applies to all or none regardless of reputation.

DannyMcA (Dublin) - Posts: 260 - 20/03/2018 20:24:25    2086408

Replying To jimbodub:  "More excited about competing in our 6th final in a row if I'm honest, our young lads are doing very well, we have lads getting rested and once again Jim is going about his business in an exceptional manner.

If ye barely scrape to stay up I wouldn't mind so much as playing Mayo has been an easy 2pts for our lads ;)"
Jimbo, like me your around here a long time but your coming across as very arrogant lately and it's not nice to see. Here is such as thing as a gracious winner you know.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11230 - 20/03/2018 21:38:20    2086448

Jeeeze

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 20/03/2018 22:53:12    2086474

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "Well I'm sure you boys will give it a go again if ye get to a final. Whenever that might happen."
Ah ye want to make the most of it when ye are at the top and keep crowing! Now ye will be there for a while longer if ye are lucky enough to get another one who has difficulty in counting the ould steps - was it 9 or 10. I think he lost count and got confused.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 21/03/2018 00:10:14    2086490

Replying To Gavvygavgav:  "You won't find a worse team of divers than this mayo squad, Diarmuid O'Connor and Alan McLoughlin go down easier than a cannonball in fishnets. They've always played as if they can get away with over-the-top tackling (see: Boyle's assaults on Sunday). Lee Keegan and Cillian are looking to get players sent off. But this is a new level of petulance. Disappointed that it came from Moran, I thought he was a different class of player."
Yip, that's us. Divers. Alan McLoughlin is known for it too. Still, he's done mighty for us since his cannonball in Belfast got us to the '94 World Cup don't you think?

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7344 - 21/03/2018 00:28:49    2086494

Replying To browncows:  "Ah ye want to make the most of it when ye are at the top and keep crowing! Now ye will be there for a while longer if ye are lucky enough to get another one who has difficulty in counting the ould steps - was it 9 or 10. I think he lost count and got confused."
Sure we even won one despite a Meath man being in charge.
There's only one thing worse than being talked about I suppose.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 21/03/2018 07:59:30    2086512

If this is to be believed Andy will be grand for the Donegal game.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7344 - 21/03/2018 09:33:33    2086531

Replying To GreenandRed:  "link

If this is to be believed Andy will be grand for the Donegal game."
Good to see. However I wonder about the rules of this case as Evan Comerford got a red card at the time but the CCCC still banned him anyway and the ref dealt with DC at the time but the cccc banned him anyway. Seems its horses for courses with this crowd.

DannyMcA (Dublin) - Posts: 260 - 21/03/2018 09:41:09    2086532

Replying To DannyMcA:  "

Good to see. However I wonder about the rules of this case as Evan Comerford got a red card at the time but the CCCC still banned him anyway and the ref dealt with DC at the time but the cccc banned him anyway. Seems its horses for courses with this crowd."
Only difference with this and Connollys case will be if Deegan revisits his match report and makes a bigger issue of it than it was at the time.
Seems unlikely. I get why people might be peeved as it could be seen as another case of inconsistency from the GAA on a disciplinary issue, but I think some people need to relax. This incident is hardly the greatest crime in the history of the GAA

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 21/03/2018 10:04:36    2086540

Replying To keithlemon:  "
Replying To DannyMcA:  "[quote=GreenandRed:  "link

Good to see. However I wonder about the rules of this case as Evan Comerford got a red card at the time but the CCCC still banned him anyway and the ref dealt with DC at the time but the cccc banned him anyway. Seems its horses for courses with this crowd."
Only difference with this and Connollys case will be if Deegan revisits his match report and makes a bigger issue of it than it was at the time.
Seems unlikely. I get why people might be peeved as it could be seen as another case of inconsistency from the GAA on a disciplinary issue, but I think some people need to relax. This incident is hardly the greatest crime in the history of the GAA"]We know it wasn't but either was Connolly's, all we went is consistency. I want Andy Moran playing against Galway on May 13th the whole country can't wait for this game and I want Galway and Mayo's best teams available. Andy Moran if he got 3 months would make no difference to Dublin we wouldn't meet them (if we do) til July or August so he'll be well back , as I've said all we want is consistency after the witch hunt of Connolly last year.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 21/03/2018 10:27:48    2086549

There are minor incidents being made into major incidents by television trial. The Connolly incident was a case where the minor incident involving the side line official was not considered relevant at the time (the linesman is also a Ref so I expect he should know the rules and the Ref was close by). Unfortunately the incident became a major incident overnight resulting in an clear injustice to an amateur player. Is there any sanctions for Refs who makes a major blunder-any suspensions?

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 21/03/2018 10:29:54    2086550

I hear ya clondalkin and I agree in principle. But the terms GAA and consistency rarely go together and is unlikely to change.

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 21/03/2018 10:59:42    2086562

Grand, I'm fine with him being back and would be over the top if he got banned for 3 months he as Connolly was.
There is clear inconsistency involved though and that's not ok.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 21/03/2018 11:23:48    2086565

Great, let him play .
That's fine, but anyone suggesting Connolly got fair treatment is daft.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 21/03/2018 11:29:08    2086568

Mayo willl be all the better for having Andy on board and I'd say he learned a lesson.
They'll have their work cut out this year in Connaught and will need the full compliment to make a fist of it.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 21/03/2018 11:35:35    2086570