Minors 2017

Replying To Inaroundehouse:  "Seemingly if you don't go for a Cavan win your seen as a begrudger.
My opinion is that we won't get within 5/6 points of Kerry
I'd love to be proved 100% wrong. But I won't be simply because I can judge a match without blue blinkers on .
There's an old saying about blow ins ......."
Seemingly if you don't go for a Cavan win your seen as a begrudger.
I'd love to be proved 100% wrong. But I won't be simply because I can judge a match without blue blinkers on .
There's an old saying about blow ins .......
Inaroundehouse (Cavan) - Posts:292 - 17/08/2017 17:36:56 2034815

Well I suppose I am a blow in like most families in Cavan I am here 45 years or so I am a true red and white person so blue and white will not blinker me. Sadly I am sorry to say you would be surprised how many wearing your colour are blinkered. I like to think I can watch a full game this includes the colours of the opposition just like Waterford last Sunday and make a constructive unbiased reply when asked not a biased reply. Whatever the saying There's an old saying about blow ins} maybe you might like to enlighten me and I expect many on here what this saying is. By the way what was your prediction for the Galway match. I got the Derry match wrong but as I have said many times with minors hot today cold tomorrow.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 17/08/2017 18:01:53    2034834

Replying To Inaroundehouse:  "Seemingly if you don't go for a Cavan win your seen as a begrudger.
from the home page this man is showing them the respect they deserve.

Kerry minor manager Peter Keane says there will be no room for complacency from his players when they face Cavan in Sunday's All-Ireland MFC semi-final at Croke Park.

The Kingdom boss admitted that his side had expected to face Galway in a repeat of last year's decider, but after the Breffni County's upset of the Tribesmen two weeks ago in Carrick-on-Shannon, Keane knows they'll be lining up against tough opposition in the beaten Ulster finalists.

"When you play an All-Ireland final that could have gone either way against a county that has 12 of that team available to them again like Galway had, you do keep track of how they are going," he told The Irish News.

"Obviously when you have a team like Cavan come back in the manner they did in their quarter-final it leaves you with a lot more respect of a team like Cavan."

He added: "You hope that (Hogan Cup matches at Croke Park) will stand to us again going up there but we have to remember that we hoped the experience our U17s gained from playing with the minors would stand to us in the All-Ireland U17 semi-final but ultimately that was not the case unfortunately."

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 17/08/2017 18:06:50    2034837

I can see what your are saying . You are right . Cavan are massive underdogs . And yes Kerry are a great team . It would be a massive upset for Cavan to win . I can also see what Sean is saying and i know ye both are on the same side . Lets go and give the lads the support they deserve win ,lose or draw. Best of luck

Countrywide2 (Cavan) - Posts: 11 - 17/08/2017 18:07:31    2034838

Replying To Countrywide2:  "I can see what your are saying . You are right . Cavan are massive underdogs . And yes Kerry are a great team . It would be a massive upset for Cavan to win . I can also see what Sean is saying and i know ye both are on the same side . Lets go and give the lads the support they deserve win ,lose or draw. Best of luck"
Cavan Minors are NOT massive underdogs
Cavan minors have every chance of qualifying for the All Ireland Final
The language of ..I hope I'm wrong is that of a defeatist loser.
Our minors don't think like you do

Come on Cavan

potnorwindow (Cavan) - Posts: 363 - 17/08/2017 18:58:21    2034850

lads fighting over the right to be positive or negative and splitting hairs over whether it's realism or defeatism would give you a pain in the face

fair enough it's a forum for opinions and seanorinn fair play to you for trying to keep the mood upbeat as it's a welcome antidote to a lot of the bitter negativity even if the other poster is correct that kerry are a tall order, but that aside, reading the last few entries i can't help but wonder "for the love of God we're in an All-Ireland minor semi-final for the first time in generations can we not all ENJOY IT!" this is the level we want to be competing at that we seldom ever reach why are we detracting from it with squabbling nonsense. kerry are a good team but Cavan will enjoy being massive underdogs and have shown all year against top opponents that they're full of pep and heart and won't lie down for anyone so we can be sure they're going to do us all proud so let's think about that and focus on it, it'd do your heart god to look at the bigger picture of it. And if defeat is our lot then it's still a year full of massive positives and bright hope for the future. it's a no-lose situation for cavan a situation any team would give their right arm for so let's get right behind them and focus on suppoprting them to create a wave that might carry us all the way in september!

RighteousMelody (Cavan) - Posts: 18 - 18/08/2017 00:28:51    2034966

Best of luck to the Minors on Sunday

cavan97 (Cavan) - Posts: 369 - 18/08/2017 09:42:15    2035005

Here's the thing lads. This is a discussion board. You know, for discussing things and giving opinions.

Now I'd love it half of ye were banned from posting the rubbish you post but unfortunately that's not my call.

Predicting a hammering for Cavan, saying Kerry are a much better team etc is just a view. Why is there a need for calling people negative, begrudgers, delusional and all the rest. If it's their opinion and, importantly, if they can back it up with some rationale then it's all fair.

Saying that there's no reason that Cavan can't win however is nonsense. Kerry being a better teams is the most obvious reason why they might not win. Cavan having a repeat of the Derry performance is another.

Fire out your opinions lads, back them up and if they come down on the "negative" side then let somebody argue that case. It's all terribly simple.

Skelling (USA) - Posts: 289 - 18/08/2017 10:39:23    2035026

Replying To cavan97:  "Best of luck to the Minors on Sunday"
RighteousMelody (Cavan) - Posts:11 - 18/08/2017 00:28:51 2034966

You will not see any post where I said the Kerry team were good or bad.
What hurts me is reading this forum that posters think this current Cavan minor team are not great I think they are brilliant and thats from a Cork man living in Cavan over 45 years.

It hurts me to read all this negativity is it no wonder none of the Cavan teams have achieved nothing in such a long time.

Well I am behind them and the best of luck to the young lads involved and the management team credit to them for making it a great year so far long may it continue.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 18/08/2017 10:58:35    2035036

Replying To cavan97:  "Best of luck to the Minors on Sunday"
If we can contain Clfford, O Sullivan and Friel we are more than half way there, Job done one foot in The All Ireland Final which would be a first Final since 1959 I do believe.

Breffnisbest (Cavan) - Posts: 471 - 18/08/2017 13:28:25    2035100

Replying To seanorinn:  "RighteousMelody (Cavan) - Posts:11 - 18/08/2017 00:28:51 2034966

You will not see any post where I said the Kerry team were good or bad.
What hurts me is reading this forum that posters think this current Cavan minor team are not great I think they are brilliant and thats from a Cork man living in Cavan over 45 years.

It hurts me to read all this negativity is it no wonder none of the Cavan teams have achieved nothing in such a long time.

Well I am behind them and the best of luck to the young lads involved and the management team credit to them for making it a great year so far long may it continue."
I think this Cavan team are not great. Is there something wrong with that opinion? They have great heart but I've seen better teams lose the first round in Ulster. So what? It's just an opinion. And what on earth does it matter how long you've lived in Cavan? Please stop telling us.

Skelling (USA) - Posts: 289 - 18/08/2017 15:46:07    2035138

Replying To Breffnisbest:  "If we can contain Clfford, O Sullivan and Friel we are more than half way there, Job done one foot in The All Ireland Final which would be a first Final since 1959 I do believe."
Which Clifford and O Sullivan are you talking about???
Because there 2 of each on the team

Inaroundehouse (Cavan) - Posts: 975 - 18/08/2017 15:50:59    2035142

David Clifford is the player we have to watch the most.
Think he plays centre forward and was good for 9 PST the last day 6 from play. And also missed 2 goal chances.
Kerry bloke told me he will be the next Maurice Fitzgerald. They think that highly of him.

Inaroundehouse (Cavan) - Posts: 975 - 18/08/2017 16:01:28    2035145

Replying To Skelling:  "I think this Cavan team are not great. Is there something wrong with that opinion? They have great heart but I've seen better teams lose the first round in Ulster. So what? It's just an opinion. And what on earth does it matter how long you've lived in Cavan? Please stop telling us."
And what on earth does it matter how long you've lived in Cavan? Please stop telling us.
Skelling (USA) - Posts:233 - 18/08/2017 15:46:07 2035138
Because skelling it has been directed at me several times recently and to avoid a repeat I prevent it by repeating it do you get my drift. I hope this might close it now thank you for mentioning it for it does get stale don't it .

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 18/08/2017 16:27:56    2035158

Replying To Inaroundehouse:  "Which Clifford and O Sullivan are you talking about???
Because there 2 of each on the team"
David Clifford and Donal O Sullivan I saw Clifford play in the flesh last year and a couple of times on tele.

Breffnisbest (Cavan) - Posts: 471 - 18/08/2017 17:00:44    2035177

Replying To seanorinn:  "And what on earth does it matter how long you've lived in Cavan? Please stop telling us.
Skelling (USA) - Posts:233 - 18/08/2017 15:46:07 2035138
Because skelling it has been directed at me several times recently and to avoid a repeat I prevent it by repeating it do you get my drift. I hope this might close it now thank you for mentioning it for it does get stale don't it ."
Best of luck to players and management on Sunday, keep doing us proud

blueman1903 (Cavan) - Posts: 882 - 19/08/2017 08:49:45    2035297

Best of luck to Cavan Minors tomorrow, hopefully, they will show the same attitude which has stood so well to them to date. A repeat of what they have served up against Monaghan, Down, Derry and Galway and a rub of the green and who knows where they might find themselves on the third Sunday in September.

Shoot the lights out boys!

kildare blue (Cavan) - Posts: 578 - 19/08/2017 11:52:10    2035320

I fear that our lads might find themselves out of their depth tomorrow but at minor level, who knows really. I hope they don't approach the game in awe of the occasion and of the mighty Clifford. Enjoy the day, do what you've done in every other game this year, after that what will be will be.

Can't wait for it! Best of luck to them.

Inactive x5 (Cavan) - Posts: 1452 - 19/08/2017 12:27:20    2035324

The very best of luck to our minor squad & management tomorrow. Will be brilliant to see the breffni blue running out on Croke Park in an all Ireland semi. hopefully the lads play the game & not the occasion.

bond (Longford) - Posts: 174 - 19/08/2017 16:18:11    2035352

Best of luck to the lads today

McGiolla (Cavan) - Posts: 42 - 20/08/2017 11:40:24    2035479

Best of luck to all involved today . Hope we can keep the scoreboard respectable at least.
Clifford is the man that will do the damage but I know our management team will have a plan to curtail him. Well hopefully anyway.

Inaroundehouse (Cavan) - Posts: 975 - 20/08/2017 12:54:00    2035515