Have you ever been wrong ?

Whoops wrong again

Just remeasured

It's actually 10.8 inches

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 21/03/2017 18:57:58    1969643

Replying To Stmunnsriver:  "june 1st 2008 v meath, 10 pts down , i turned to the lads , " where the hell did the county board get this jason ryan? iv never seen a wexford football team as clueless, and heartless, they def got him on the cheap" woops"
Ah yea but it was only Meath :)

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 21/03/2017 19:00:03    1969645

Replying To jimbodub:  "Whoops wrong again

Just remeasured

It's actually 10.8 inches"
Ha!

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 21/03/2017 20:12:12    1969685

Replying To royaldunne:  "I was wrong once. I was about 5. Since then I have never been wrong. :)"
except about every single thing you say about meath eh ol pal

lilypad (Kildare) - Posts: 1363 - 21/03/2017 20:34:13    1969697

Replying To jimbodub:  "Whoops wrong again

Just remeasured

It's actually 10.8 inches"
G'wan outta that Jimbo, bet its the other way around, and its only 8.1 inches

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8591 - 21/03/2017 20:37:22    1969698

Replying To Stmunnsriver:  "june 1st 2008 v meath, 10 pts down , i turned to the lads , " where the hell did the county board get this jason ryan? iv never seen a wexford football team as clueless, and heartless, they def got him on the cheap" woops"
....a friend and myself always make a point of never leaving a Wexford match early. And at that game, I remember halftime, sitting on the terrace, surrounded by Meath fans, feeling absolutely desperate, turning to him and saying,
"....f*** this lad, let's just go for a pint..."

I was only half joking, but thank god he said no!

extranjero (Wexford) - Posts: 375 - 21/03/2017 20:44:26    1969700

Replying To realdub:  "G'wan outta that Jimbo, bet its the other way around, and its only 8.1 inches"
Haha...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 21/03/2017 20:49:18    1969706

Replying To lilypad:  "except about every single thing you say about meath eh ol pal"
Ahh lillypad. Do ye recall saying that you were so confident of Kildare beating Meath in 12 that if they didn't you would eat your hat??? :). You were one wrong that day !!!

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 21/03/2017 21:04:36    1969722

Replying To royaldunne:  "Ahh lillypad. Do ye recall saying that you were so confident of Kildare beating Meath in 12 that if they didn't you would eat your hat??? :). You were one wrong that day !!!"
I remember it well lad, sure didn't i eat the hat in front of you :)

lilypad (Kildare) - Posts: 1363 - 21/03/2017 21:31:40    1969735

Replying To Greenfield:  "There is only one reason I would like to see Louth win a Leinster at some stage and that is for OLLIE's sake. One of the best and fairest posters on here.

As regards the subject of this thread.

From about 2007 to 2011 I thought it would be great for the GAA if Dublin were to win an All Ireland.

About as wrong as it gets."
Goodman Greenfield thanks very much. The only thing is that you don't want Louth to win a Leinster at Meath's expense haha.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 21/03/2017 21:46:51    1969746

After Meath put 5 goals past us in 2010 i thought we had a very bleak future ahead of us and would go through a period kind of like what Cork are going through now, i would have stood on my head if you told me we'd win an AI 15 months later, god bless Pat Gilroy

Hill16Army (Dublin) - Posts: 88 - 21/03/2017 21:48:25    1969747

I was convinced that Dublin would beat Kerry in 1975, 1978, 1979, 1984, 1985, 2001 and 2009. So, so wrong was I :)

noelnyc (Kerry) - Posts: 82 - 21/03/2017 23:16:10    1969781

Replying To noelnyc:  "I was convinced that Dublin would beat Kerry in 1975, 1978, 1979, 1984, 1985, 2001 and 2009. So, so wrong was I :)"
Some Kerry supporter you are if you think they're gonna lose that often

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 22/03/2017 09:17:34    1969835

Thats the one sticks out in my mind aswell.

I remember standing there looking at this huge rain cloud that was threatening to rain down bucketloads from the heavens and saying to one of the lads, ah here come on, we havent a hope of getting back into this and we are about to get soaked, lets clear out, luckily enough we didnt.

Another one as the 2007 hurling quarter final against Tipp, a point down and Barry Lambert standing over the ball a bit to the right of the goal, 20 yard free and 2 points down. There was a bit of lip i recall from one of the Tipperary players and the ref moved the ball to the centre, all of a sudden lambert wasnt standing over the ball and the familiar gait of Fitzhenry was striding up the pitch.

I recall Fitzy had missed a few before this free and i was telling all around me it was the wrong move, put it over the bar, challenge for the puck out and get a draw out of it, i was adamant so much so i couldnt watch until i heard the roar around me and Fitzy was bounding back towards goal having buried the free. Glad i was wrong on both those occasions

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1336 - 22/03/2017 09:53:19    1969853

Just slight cases of misguided judgment :)

noelnyc (Kerry) - Posts: 82 - 22/03/2017 10:10:27    1969860

Never, never, never!!

bumpernut (Antrim) - Posts: 1852 - 22/03/2017 10:22:03    1969863

Dublin v Mayo 2006 half way through I started to dream , believed a final was upon us , then McDonald turned it into one of my worst nightmares.

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 22/03/2017 10:50:10    1969876

Replying To keithlemon:  "Some Kerry supporter you are if you think they're gonna lose that often"
You forgot '04 & '07 :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8591 - 22/03/2017 20:35:16    1970134

Replying To realdub:  "You forgot '04 & '07 :D"
Sorry wrong poster but I'm sure the Kerryman saw it :)

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8591 - 22/03/2017 20:39:59    1970139

Real Dub, not at all I thought we would win in 2004 & 2007, those games were easy picks :) at least some folk on here have a sense of humor. Some of ye should stop the hypocrisy, no team are sin free, it is the way of today's game. And there has always been muck and dirt on the pitch at times. Todays defensive mode only creates more of an atmosphere for the cynicism to morph into what we now accept as football.

noelnyc (Kerry) - Posts: 82 - 22/03/2017 22:37:46    1970201