Division 2 2017

Replying To royaldunne:  "Well Cavan lost first two games last year and got promoted, but you are right we need a result v Derry. Mostly we made Kildare look good, goal within 15 seconds was shocking our backs were non existent and the less said about midfield the better, we still scored 16 points missed 2 sitters for goals and had two claim for penalty not given (one of them was as clear as penalty as you could see) however Kildare deserve their win. I expect lot of changes next Week, hopefully it will help, but I think Andy has seen a few lads are just not up to county standard, even Donal keoghan had a mare of a game, first time in 2 years he played badly, it was just one of those days. Nothing went right . happens, once it's a once off I won't mind."
I wouldnt worry too much RD.

Very early days and Meath will without doubt vastly improve as the year goes on.

Fully expect ye to beat Derry, Down and Clare - after that who knows...

But ye need to learn to walk before ye can run - one step at a time. Patience....

Some fans need to stop living off past Meath exploits and honours - those days are long gone.

Division 1 football has to be a priority - this year or next.

After that, challenging for trophies will come round.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3716 - 06/02/2017 22:52:41    1953089

Replying To cuederocket:  "I fancy Meath to batter Derry.If there's anything in these buckos it will come out next weekend.Meath by 8+"
I hope you are right, yes it would be nice to see a reaction, but like seadog said I'd settle for a one point win.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 07/02/2017 08:20:23    1953142

Replying To realdub:  "H'on the royal :D"
haha. Always real d. :)

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 07/02/2017 08:22:31    1953144

Replying To Fionn:  "I wouldnt worry too much RD.

Very early days and Meath will without doubt vastly improve as the year goes on.

Fully expect ye to beat Derry, Down and Clare - after that who knows...

But ye need to learn to walk before ye can run - one step at a time. Patience....

Some fans need to stop living off past Meath exploits and honours - those days are long gone.

Division 1 football has to be a priority - this year or next.

After that, challenging for trophies will come round."
That's the plan, Andy was aiming for promotion this year, but if it doesn't happen it won't be a disaster once it's secured next year. Meath football was i n a mess, we have the right man to sort it out, but supporters need to be patient, he has no magic wand.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 07/02/2017 08:31:48    1953146

Replying To royaldunne:  "That's the plan, Andy was aiming for promotion this year, but if it doesn't happen it won't be a disaster once it's secured next year. Meath football was i n a mess, we have the right man to sort it out, but supporters need to be patient, he has no magic wand."
Finally we're on the same page RD

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12115 - 07/02/2017 15:15:08    1953314

Replying To Breffni39:  "Finally we're on the same page RD"
Always was, but you should know better than most you can get promoted even if they lost first two games.
I think everyone wants to see a backlash this weekend, ID settle for a one point win, but hopefully more.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 09/02/2017 10:02:53    1953893

fair assessment,sad thing for Meath is that the 4 best midfielders in the county are unavailable. We have little choice to put Mento in midfield.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts:7161 - 05/02/2017

Yeah it's a bit of a robbing Peter to pay Paul situation alright, just don't think he has the mobility needed to play midfield - he's at his best at fullback, halfback at a stretch maybe, especially when there doesn't seem to be strong runners in the middle 8 with him. It's not so long ago Kildare had Mick Foley and Johnny Doyle midfield so anything's possible I suppose. Who exactly are unavailable though? Going by a couple of RD's posts - which is never a good idea to be fair :) it seemed most players were available for selection?

We made Meath look like Kildare of the last few years, most of the opening half hour was spent working it up to the 45 and then hand passing it back and forth across the pitch before ultimately coughing up possession and conceding on the counter attack.

Once Kildare pushed up on kickouts then there was no option but to go long and it literally played right into Feely's hands, again there didn't seem to be any sort of a plan A never mind a plan B from Meath in that area.

8 of the Kildare team that played on Sunday were part of the under 21 team that won Leinster in 2013, Feely would have been there had he been in the country at the time and both Hurley and Dowling would have been in contention on Sunday had they been fit so that's a decent return from an underage team - another 4 who played were part of last years under 21 side too. Meath have been getting their structures right at underage level over the last few years but it'll take time for it to filter up to senior level.

You'd imagine we'll meet again in the Leinster semi, we'll have guys like Hurley and Dowling back fit and a couple more of the under 21's from last year there or thereabouts and you'd think McEntee will have a stronger foundation laid by then - at least it'll be a day out in Quinn's and The Big Tree if nothing else.

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3685 - 09/02/2017 16:43:41    1954071

Replying To if_in_doubt:  "fair assessment,sad thing for Meath is that the 4 best midfielders in the county are unavailable. We have little choice to put Mento in midfield.

Yeah it's a bit of a robbing Peter to pay Paul situation alright, just don't think he has the mobility needed to play midfield - he's at his best at fullback, halfback at a stretch maybe, especially when there doesn't seem to be strong runners in the middle 8 with him. It's not so long ago Kildare had Mick Foley and Johnny Doyle midfield so anything's possible I suppose. Who exactly are unavailable though? Going by a couple of RD's posts - which is never a good idea to be fair :) it seemed most players were available for selection?

We made Meath look like Kildare of the last few years, most of the opening half hour was spent working it up to the 45 and then hand passing it back and forth across the pitch before ultimately coughing up possession and conceding on the counter attack.

Once Kildare pushed up on kickouts then there was no option but to go long and it literally played right into Feely's hands, again there didn't seem to be any sort of a plan A never mind a plan B from Meath in that area.

8 of the Kildare team that played on Sunday were part of the under 21 team that won Leinster in 2013, Feely would have been there had he been in the country at the time and both Hurley and Dowling would have been in contention on Sunday had they been fit so that's a decent return from an underage team - another 4 who played were part of last years under 21 side too. Meath have been getting their structures right at underage level over the last few years but it'll take time for it to filter up to senior level.

You'd imagine we'll meet again in the Leinster semi, we'll have guys like Hurley and Dowling back fit and a couple more of the under 21's from last year there or thereabouts and you'd think McEntee will have a stronger foundation laid by then - at least it'll be a day out in Quinn's and The Big Tree if nothing else."
Well harnan Newman and most importantly for half backs Tobin were all out the injured, so that's 3 starters, the midfield players that have been spoken about as best In county are Nash (gone to Aussie rules) Rooney (took year out to travel) 1 u21 who won't be released until after, Gillespie retired due to injury at 26 , so what's available is there. But the 4/5 best midfield players in county are not available for a variance of reasons, add to that Adam Flanagan only back after injury and you can see the problem, never said we had full panel to pick from, 50 guys were tried, but unfortunately we didn't have at least 6 of the best in county in particular position, majority in middle.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 09/02/2017 23:53:39    1954236

Replying To royaldunne:  "Well harnan Newman and most importantly for half backs Tobin were all out the injured, so that's 3 starters, the midfield players that have been spoken about as best In county are Nash (gone to Aussie rules) Rooney (took year out to travel) 1 u21 who won't be released until after, Gillespie retired due to injury at 26 , so what's available is there. But the 4/5 best midfield players in county are not available for a variance of reasons, add to that Adam Flanagan only back after injury and you can see the problem, never said we had full panel to pick from, 50 guys were tried, but unfortunately we didn't have at least 6 of the best in county in particular position, majority in middle."
Did Nash play any senior football for Meath?? Thought he said Rugby would have been his preference if he didnt go to Australia.

St.Conleth (Kildare) - Posts: 1700 - 10/02/2017 10:17:12    1954285

Well harnan Newman and most importantly for half backs Tobin were all out the injured, so that's 3 starters, the midfield players that have been spoken about as best In county are Nash (gone to Aussie rules) Rooney (took year out to travel) 1 u21 who won't be released until after, Gillespie retired due to injury at 26 , so what's available is there. But the 4/5 best midfield players in county are not available for a variance of reasons, add to that Adam Flanagan only back after injury and you can see the problem, never said we had full panel to pick from, 50 guys were tried, but unfortunately we didn't have at least 6 of the best in county in particular position, majority in middle.
royaldunne (Meath) - Posts:10321 - 09/02/2017

Didn't realise Meath were missing 4 or 5 of their best midfielders to be honest. Every team will be affected by injuries and will have lads tied up with colleges and under 21's this time of year though and we know all too well the impact losing lads to the AFL can have on a team.

most importantly we now have a experienced man in charge, lads that would have been in team before have made themselves available again, also plenty new players tried out, got to be honest two in particular Kennelly and Ross look the tea deal,
royaldunne (Meath) - Posts:10321 - 14/01/2017

I think with the best players in county now on panel (again unlike last year ) and lads who would be certs to start making themselves available, the Meath team of last 2 years will be a distant memory. If you or anyone is expecting the Same as last 2 years, ye are in for one almighty shock.
royaldunne (Meath) - Posts:10322 - 17/01/2017

You'll have to forgive me for interpreting the above two posts as being examples of why I felt Meath had their best players available for selection and would have come into the game against Kildare looking sharp and well drilled - obviously you'd expect improvement as the year goes on though and McEntee has had a bit more time to put his stamp on things. I'm sure we'll meet again in June - just noticed the date is a Saturday as a stand alone semi final - would imagine that'll be Tullamore or Portlaois then and better than a half empty Croke Park.

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3685 - 10/02/2017 10:39:52    1954294

Replying To if_in_doubt:  "Well harnan Newman and most importantly for half backs Tobin were all out the injured, so that's 3 starters, the midfield players that have been spoken about as best In county are Nash (gone to Aussie rules) Rooney (took year out to travel) 1 u21 who won't be released until after, Gillespie retired due to injury at 26 , so what's available is there. But the 4/5 best midfield players in county are not available for a variance of reasons, add to that Adam Flanagan only back after injury and you can see the problem, never said we had full panel to pick from, 50 guys were tried, but unfortunately we didn't have at least 6 of the best in county in particular position, majority in middle.
royaldunne (Meath) - Posts:10321 - 09/02/2017

Didn't realise Meath were missing 4 or 5 of their best midfielders to be honest. Every team will be affected by injuries and will have lads tied up with colleges and under 21's this time of year though and we know all too well the impact losing lads to the AFL can have on a team.

most importantly we now have a experienced man in charge, lads that would have been in team before have made themselves available again, also plenty new players tried out, got to be honest two in particular Kennelly and Ross look the tea deal,
royaldunne (Meath) - Posts:10321 - 14/01/2017

I think with the best players in county now on panel (again unlike last year ) and lads who would be certs to start making themselves available, the Meath team of last 2 years will be a distant memory. If you or anyone is expecting the Same as last 2 years, ye are in for one almighty shock.
royaldunne (Meath) - Posts:10322 - 17/01/2017

You'll have to forgive me for interpreting the above two posts as being examples of why I felt Meath had their best players available for selection and would have come into the game against Kildare looking sharp and well drilled - obviously you'd expect improvement as the year goes on though and McEntee has had a bit more time to put his stamp on things. I'm sure we'll meet again in June - just noticed the date is a Saturday as a stand alone semi final - would imagine that'll be Tullamore or Portlaois then and better than a half empty Croke Park."
Sorry perhaps I should have clarified that more. The best in county AVAILABLE are on panel, with both forde and Menton returning who refused to play last year (in fordes case longer) however the best midfield players are unfortunately unavailable due to many different reasons.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 10/02/2017 19:25:05    1954500

Replying To St.Conleth:  "Did Nash play any senior football for Meath?? Thought he said Rugby would have been his preference if he didnt go to Australia."
No he didn't and he would have been a massive addition to the team. One of the best midfielders I'm the county not available for selection. But I don't think we can count him as loss to the team as he was never an option. Would be great to see him play for meath at some stage in the future.

Royalace (Meath) - Posts: 121 - 10/02/2017 19:57:13    1954509

Replying To St.Conleth: "Did Nash play any senior football for Meath?? Thought he said Rugby would have been his preference if he didnt go to Australia

I think that you may be correct as Leinster were also after him.

We are missing one good midfielder, Gillespie and his injury is one that he may not play again -county at least. O'Rourke has not played inter county for a number of years thru injury even though he is playing club football. None of the players who have come back will make a lot of difference and the hope going forward is that the new management may make the difference but you can only play with what you have got.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 10/02/2017 20:15:09    1954513

Replying To browncows:  "Replying To St.Conleth: "Did Nash play any senior football for Meath?? Thought he said Rugby would have been his preference if he didnt go to Australia

We are missing one good midfielder, Gillespie and his injury is one that he may not play again -county at least. O'Rourke has not played inter county for a number of years thru injury even though he is playing club football. None of the players who have come back will make a lot of difference and the hope going forward is that the new management may make the difference but you can only play with what you have got."
Gillespie ... Lads all these players go missing on the big days ...

jackser (Meath) - Posts: 37 - 10/02/2017 20:42:53    1954522

Replying To St.Conleth:  "Did Nash play any senior football for Meath?? Thought he said Rugby would have been his preference if he didnt go to Australia."
No didn't play senior but would have, don't think rugby would have won out. Look without him ever playing senior know one can say for certain how good he would have been, however people wiser than I said he would give Gerry mcentee or John McDermott a run for their money, he was the outstanding player of club senior, hopefully one day he will return.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 10/02/2017 21:01:12    1954528

Replying To jackser:  "Gillespie ... Lads all these players go missing on the big days ..."
Gillespie went missing? Please enlighten me when ? Since he only played 2 years and was regular motm , and certainly highest ranked Meath player even when we lost, another lazy cliche put forward by someone who thinks they know it all but know ,,,,, all.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 10/02/2017 21:28:57    1954536

Replying To browncows:  "Replying To St.Conleth: "Did Nash play any senior football for Meath?? Thought he said Rugby would have been his preference if he didnt go to Australia

We are missing one good midfielder, Gillespie and his injury is one that he may not play again -county at least. O'Rourke has not played inter county for a number of years thru injury even though he is playing club football. None of the players who have come back will make a lot of difference and the hope going forward is that the new management may make the difference but you can only play with what you have got."
You do t rate Rooney as a good midfield player?.....

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 10/02/2017 21:31:03    1954539

Replying To if_in_doubt:  "fair assessment,sad thing for Meath is that the 4 best midfielders in the county are unavailable. We have little choice to put Mento in midfield.

You'd imagine we'll meet again in the Leinster semi, we'll have guys like Hurley and Dowling back fit and a couple more of the under 21's from last year there or thereabouts and you'd think McEntee will have a stronger foundation laid by then - at least it'll be a day out in Quinn's and The Big Tree if nothing else."
Have to agree..

I was disappointed by our display last Sunday,but Kildare should be ahead of us.Ye have had good structures at underage and have done well and won things in the last 5 years.Cian Is also in his second season.
We are starting from scratch imo and we have new management,we will get better in time,some good youngsters coming through but that will take time.I think we have 6/7 players that form the foundation of our team and hopefully they stay or don't get injured the next few years.

The four best midfielders in Meath last year were..

Harry Rooney - taken a year out abroad
Shane O'Rourke - Can only train twice a week so hasn't committed to seniors.
Conor Nash - gone to aussie rules
Ronan Jones - with the U21's but currently injured.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 10/02/2017 22:02:34    1954548

royaldunne (Meath)- it depends on your interpretation of good- In county terms I would say average. Good fielder but not great when going forward with distribution-I know he is young, will learn and hopefully improve.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 10/02/2017 22:38:15    1954557

We need to move on from what we dont have. At best Rooney was just learning his trade and had a way to go. Jones still unproven at county level. Other two lads not lightly to feature with Meath again.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2133 - 10/02/2017 22:41:17    1954558