Division 2 2017

Replying To St.Conleth:  "Took a lot of flak in last couple of weeks but great win for the young lillies today. Will be a big home crowd against Cork after this performance."
I'd agree conleth. As poor as Meath are beating them like that up there is a solid start. I think playing like that we can take cork at home. Niall k was on fire and taught Ben mc was good too. In fact the full forward line were very good. Still worried about conceding that much to this Meath team but we can tighten up to be fair.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 05/02/2017 16:44:05    1952133

Meath getting a bit of a walloping on home turf.This after getting well beaten by Louth in the O Byrne cup.Early days but not a promising start for the new manager.Kildare gave the royals a right beating.Well done to the lillies.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 05/02/2017 16:55:16    1952142

Yes great win for Kildare, Andy the messiah better start praying!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8586 - 05/02/2017 17:11:35    1952161

Must be hard for Andy McEntee to to take a step down from Ballyboden St Enda's to the Meath seniors'.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 05/02/2017 17:32:32    1952179

Replying To realdub:  "Yes great win for Kildare, Andy the messiah better start praying!"
All part of the plan, take the heat off the players .....

NAIL_BAR (Meath) - Posts: 457 - 05/02/2017 17:35:07    1952187

Replying To NAIL_BAR:  "All part of the plan, take the heat off the players ....."
Fair play, all in jest :)

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8586 - 05/02/2017 17:39:23    1952191

Replying To NAIL_BAR:  "All part of the plan, take the heat off the players ....."
He'd want to be careful he doesn't take the dignity off them while he's at it (:

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 05/02/2017 17:40:15    1952194

Delighted with the result today
Showed real killer instinct and a good score to put up. We have to remember that its only Meath and they are probably the weakest team in division 2 by a long way but good to get off to a winning note.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts:3449 - 05/02/2017

Definitely looked a lot sharper today than we have done for a while, dominated midfield and that allowed Paul Cribbin and Niall Kelly to run the show up front - Dan Flynn caused problems all day and also created a lot of space for Neill Flynn and McCormack. In the past it would have been O'Connor in that role but with a lack of support, today there was a real purpose about us going forward and we could have had another few goals to be honest.

Surprised to see Meath resort to knocking long balls up to Sheridan with only a few minutes gone, it's early days for McEntee but surely he can come with something more effective than that? Also Menton needs to be played in defence and if his actual defenders are getting roasted he's allowed to make changes early on. Cribbin, Flynn and Kelly must have been marked by half the Meath team today between and they still strolled it.

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3685 - 05/02/2017 18:51:09    1952253

Replying To if_in_doubt:  "Delighted with the result today
Showed real killer instinct and a good score to put up. We have to remember that its only Meath and they are probably the weakest team in division 2 by a long way but good to get off to a winning note.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts:3449 - 05/02/2017

Definitely looked a lot sharper today than we have done for a while, dominated midfield and that allowed Paul Cribbin and Niall Kelly to run the show up front - Dan Flynn caused problems all day and also created a lot of space for Neill Flynn and McCormack. In the past it would have been O'Connor in that role but with a lack of support, today there was a real purpose about us going forward and we could have had another few goals to be honest.

Surprised to see Meath resort to knocking long balls up to Sheridan with only a few minutes gone, it's early days for McEntee but surely he can come with something more effective than that? Also Menton needs to be played in defence and if his actual defenders are getting roasted he's allowed to make changes early on. Cribbin, Flynn and Kelly must have been marked by half the Meath team today between and they still strolled it."
fair assessment,sad thing for Meath is that the 4 best midfielders in the county are unavailable. We have little choice to put Mento in midfield.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 05/02/2017 20:17:31    1952326

Replying To cuederocket:  "Must be hard for Andy McEntee to to take a step down from Ballyboden St Enda's to the Meath seniors'."
LOL.

Harsh but....!

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3725 - 05/02/2017 20:21:43    1952331

Well done Kildare, better team won.
Andy cannot wave a magic wand , it will take time to put things right in Meath football, it certainly can't be expected to have it all sorted on first Sunday in February. Got to say Graham Reilly was fantastic today and lead by example, pity only O'Sullivan lennihan and forde bothered to follow their capt, all others could have stayed in bed. Maybe a bit harsh but our backs were at sea.
We have the right manager and captain, a d some decent lads still to come in, got to say I would have loved to see Nash today, but can't compete with Aussie rules and lands wanting to go, our loss is Australia gain. Should we meet in a Leinster semi final I think Kildare will see a different Meath, but we must go through this transition, make no mistake we are in transition.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 05/02/2017 20:28:11    1952342

Replying To daytona11:  "Delighted with the result today
Showed real killer instinct and a good score to put up. We have to remember that its only Meath and they are probably the weakest team in division 2 by a long way but good to get off to a winning note."
Ouch...!

If Meath, with the heralded best manager ever, can't beat Clare or the current Down footballers (no offence meant to Clare or Down) then they may throw their hat at it.

Reality bites for some posters who were beginning to lose the run of themselves in early Jan..!

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3725 - 05/02/2017 20:29:12    1952346

Replying To Fionn:  "Ouch...!

If Meath, with the heralded best manager ever, can't beat Clare or the current Down footballers (no offence meant to Clare or Down) then they may throw their hat at it.

Reality bites for some posters who were beginning to lose the run of themselves in early Jan..!"
Lol, it was saturate coverage & so much sh#te talk we nearly had to call Dynorod.

moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 1212 - 05/02/2017 20:47:23    1952384

Only the first game over, a long way to go yet, Cavan lost first two ganes last year and still went up, few twist and turns to come yet.

weemanmc (Fermanagh) - Posts: 102 - 05/02/2017 21:23:36    1952420

Well that was some opening weekend let's hope it Improves significantly from a Meath POV. Also some odd results In other games.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 06/02/2017 16:21:56    1952849

Replying To royaldunne:  "Well that was some opening weekend let's hope it Improves significantly from a Meath POV. Also some odd results In other games."
Who have ye got at the weekend? I hadn't Kildare down as any great shakes coming into this years comp. if you don't get a result next weekend I would be very worried if I was you.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 06/02/2017 18:39:52    1952934

Replying To gotmilk:  "Who have ye got at the weekend? I hadn't Kildare down as any great shakes coming into this years comp. if you don't get a result next weekend I would be very worried if I was you."
Well Cavan lost first two games last year and got promoted, but you are right we need a result v Derry. Mostly we made Kildare look good, goal within 15 seconds was shocking our backs were non existent and the less said about midfield the better, we still scored 16 points missed 2 sitters for goals and had two claim for penalty not given (one of them was as clear as penalty as you could see) however Kildare deserve their win. I expect lot of changes next Week, hopefully it will help, but I think Andy has seen a few lads are just not up to county standard, even Donal keoghan had a mare of a game, first time in 2 years he played badly, it was just one of those days. Nothing went right . happens, once it's a once off I won't mind.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 06/02/2017 19:24:13    1952952

I fancy Meath to batter Derry.If there's anything in these buckos it will come out next weekend.Meath by 8+

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 06/02/2017 20:19:17    1952990

Replying To royaldunne:  "Well Cavan lost first two games last year and got promoted, but you are right we need a result v Derry. Mostly we made Kildare look good, goal within 15 seconds was shocking our backs were non existent and the less said about midfield the better, we still scored 16 points missed 2 sitters for goals and had two claim for penalty not given (one of them was as clear as penalty as you could see) however Kildare deserve their win. I expect lot of changes next Week, hopefully it will help, but I think Andy has seen a few lads are just not up to county standard, even Donal keoghan had a mare of a game, first time in 2 years he played badly, it was just one of those days. Nothing went right . happens, once it's a once off I won't mind."
H'on the royal :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8586 - 06/02/2017 20:24:13    1952999

Replying To cuederocket:  "I fancy Meath to batter Derry.If there's anything in these buckos it will come out next weekend.Meath by 8+"
Would settle for a one point win, but what you say is right if there is anything about this lot they need to bring it out next week

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2136 - 06/02/2017 20:39:43    1953008