Division 2 2017

Not far away now who do posters expect to get promoted and relegated ? I think promotion is between Kildare Meath cork and Galway and relegation between Derry down Clare and Fermanagh, but the division is tight this year so any of them teams could get promoted or relegated.

Kingoreilly (Kildare) - Posts: 77 - 17/01/2017 12:37:19    1946282

Think Promotion is between Galway,Cork and Kildare. And I expect either Clare or Down to drop with Meath

Cuckoosinging (Roscommon) - Posts: 992 - 17/01/2017 13:00:16    1946284

Kildare??? Are you people off your rockets?

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 17/01/2017 13:05:07    1946288

What have kildare or meath shown to prompt a call for promotion?

MapleDoire (Derry) - Posts: 22 - 17/01/2017 13:14:52    1946293

I think is very hard to predict as some teams put more effort into the league than others.

If all teams were at full pelt I'd expect Cork and Galway to get promoted but thats certainly no given. I wouldn't rule anyone out of the promotion race apart from Clare, I can't see them finishing in the top 2 but I'm not tipping them for relegation either.

TheWestIsAwake (UK) - Posts: 529 - 17/01/2017 13:25:04    1946298

Galway and Cork for promotion. Clare and Down to be relegated imo

JXV (Mayo) - Posts: 39 - 17/01/2017 13:36:59    1946301

Replying To MapleDoire:  "What have kildare or meath shown to prompt a call for promotion?"
There's plenty of potential in both Kildare and Meath, both have improved underage in the last 5 years in particular Kildare, both have large gaa playing populations and both have good management teams, so yes both have realistic chances of promotion and one of them if not both will be challenging for the all Ireland sooner rather then later

Kingoreilly (Kildare) - Posts: 77 - 17/01/2017 13:38:53    1946303

Cork and Galway probably the best placed sides to go up but it'll be a tight division.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13703 - 17/01/2017 14:23:32    1946319

I would expect Cork to go back up and after that it's very open, Clare and Fermanagh may struggle but I think the other 5 teams are all in with a decent chance. A good start is very important naturally, from a Meath point of view we start with a crucial local derby v Kildare (personally I'm away that weekend and I'm gutted to miss that one), a win there will be huge for either of those teams.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 17/01/2017 14:36:40    1946329

Even taking off my green tinted glasses, I can't see why Meath wont gain promotion, who along with them is the question. I would say its between Galway, Kildare and Fermanagh,
Relegation id opt for Clare withe either Derry or down. But its a tough league this year. I just don't think cork will gain promotion, could be made eat my words, but I just don't see it at minute

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 17/01/2017 14:43:01    1946330

Replying To Htaem:  "I would expect Cork to go back up and after that it's very open, Clare and Fermanagh may struggle but I think the other 5 teams are all in with a decent chance. A good start is very important naturally, from a Meath point of view we start with a crucial local derby v Kildare (personally I'm away that weekend and I'm gutted to miss that one), a win there will be huge for either of those teams."
I would be more confident this year than last year. Fermanagh struggle against Ulster sides and there are less of them this year. I honestly can see them getting enough points to be in the promotion hunt. I would be very confident against the two sides that came up.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 17/01/2017 14:48:47    1946334

Replying To royaldunne:  "Even taking off my green tinted glasses, I can't see why Meath wont gain promotion, who along with them is the question. I would say its between Galway, Kildare and Fermanagh,
Relegation id opt for Clare withe either Derry or down. But its a tough league this year. I just don't think cork will gain promotion, could be made eat my words, but I just don't see it at minute"
There is something a miss here badly I agree with some of what you are saying. I don't see cork being certs to go back up. Based on last year they are a middle of the road side. It will be interesting to see how yourselves get on.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 17/01/2017 14:59:03    1946340

Replying To Kingoreilly:  "There's plenty of potential in both Kildare and Meath, both have improved underage in the last 5 years in particular Kildare, both have large gaa playing populations and both have good management teams, so yes both have realistic chances of promotion and one of them if not both will be challenging for the all Ireland sooner rather then later"
There's being positive and then there's being deluded...never mind promotion (can't see either going up tbh), but challenging for an All-Ireland sooner rather than later?? To challenge for an all_Ireland you have to be able to compete with Dublin, both Meath and Kildare are a country mile away from even giving Dublin a bit of a scare on a Dublin off day

Re Div 2. Prob Cork and Galway heading up. Calre down and the rest fighting to retain Div 2 status for 2018

Seamy_Hendrix (Derry) - Posts: 47 - 17/01/2017 14:59:35    1946341

Final: Cork v Galway
Winners: Galway
Relegated: Fermanagh and Clare

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 17/01/2017 15:09:17    1946350

Replying To gotmilk:  "There is something a miss here badly I agree with some of what you are saying. I don't see cork being certs to go back up. Based on last year they are a middle of the road side. It will be interesting to see how yourselves get on."
Definitely something wrong, I am even finding myself in agreement with you too more often.
Must have been something we ate over the Christmas :).
But yeah I really don't think cork are certs for promotion, id be more concerned about playing yourselves in navan than cork in cork. Now I may be totally wrong but I just don't think cork are that great.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 17/01/2017 15:19:36    1946354

Replying To royaldunne:  "Even taking off my green tinted glasses, I can't see why Meath wont gain promotion, who along with them is the question. I would say its between Galway, Kildare and Fermanagh,
Relegation id opt for Clare withe either Derry or down. But its a tough league this year. I just don't think cork will gain promotion, could be made eat my words, but I just don't see it at minute"
I don't know how you can be so confident. Meath have been hugely inconsistent in the league for a very long time. I know you think MOD is to blame but this inconsistency I talk about predates his management. This will be a very tough campaign for Meath with bogey teams like Galway, Derry and Fermanagh in there, a derby to Kildare, away to the favorites and away to Down.

RoyalBadger (Meath) - Posts: 571 - 17/01/2017 15:21:48    1946356

Replying To Seamy_Hendrix:  "There's being positive and then there's being deluded...never mind promotion (can't see either going up tbh), but challenging for an All-Ireland sooner rather than later?? To challenge for an all_Ireland you have to be able to compete with Dublin, both Meath and Kildare are a country mile away from even giving Dublin a bit of a scare on a Dublin off day

Re Div 2. Prob Cork and Galway heading up. Calre down and the rest fighting to retain Div 2 status for 2018"
Well Kildare have beat dubs at underage, many of them now on seniors also many players this year on Meath team will have been the ones who gave dubs a scare in all ire final after beating Tyrone and mayo along the way under same manager. Meath this year will be completely different from what was previously. It is a entirely different management, s&c trainer , lots of different players while keeping onto the best of what was there , add to that they are performing as a team rather than individuality. I'll give you one example, Donegal were hammered by Longford, majority of that team were all ire champions within a couple years. Now dont get me wrong, I dont think we will win all ire in few years, but we may be challenging for it. Never underestimate a great manager , and Andy McEntee is a great manager. I also expect Kildare to improve too, dubs could find their hardest games are in Leinster over next 4/5 years. Trust me the tide has very much turned in Meath, and I think the same in Kildare

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 17/01/2017 15:28:17    1946360

Replying To royaldunne:  "Well Kildare have beat dubs at underage, many of them now on seniors also many players this year on Meath team will have been the ones who gave dubs a scare in all ire final after beating Tyrone and mayo along the way under same manager. Meath this year will be completely different from what was previously. It is a entirely different management, s&c trainer , lots of different players while keeping onto the best of what was there , add to that they are performing as a team rather than individuality. I'll give you one example, Donegal were hammered by Longford, majority of that team were all ire champions within a couple years. Now dont get me wrong, I dont think we will win all ire in few years, but we may be challenging for it. Never underestimate a great manager , and Andy McEntee is a great manager. I also expect Kildare to improve too, dubs could find their hardest games are in Leinster over next 4/5 years. Trust me the tide has very much turned in Meath, and I think the same in Kildare"
Jaysus lad, will you get a grip.

Meath will be competitive I'm sure in Division 2 (as they were under Mick O' Dowd) and I'm sure under McEntee they won't lie down to the Dubs as in recent years, but you need to wind the neck in a bit with the ridiculous hyperbole about how great Meath are now going to be.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1316 - 17/01/2017 15:43:06    1946364

Replying To royaldunne:  "Well Kildare have beat dubs at underage, many of them now on seniors also many players this year on Meath team will have been the ones who gave dubs a scare in all ire final after beating Tyrone and mayo along the way under same manager. Meath this year will be completely different from what was previously. It is a entirely different management, s&c trainer , lots of different players while keeping onto the best of what was there , add to that they are performing as a team rather than individuality. I'll give you one example, Donegal were hammered by Longford, majority of that team were all ire champions within a couple years. Now dont get me wrong, I dont think we will win all ire in few years, but we may be challenging for it. Never underestimate a great manager , and Andy McEntee is a great manager. I also expect Kildare to improve too, dubs could find their hardest games are in Leinster over next 4/5 years. Trust me the tide has very much turned in Meath, and I think the same in Kildare"
Obviously a serious batch of stuff going around Meath/Westmeath border at the moment.

I admire you optimism but Meath a poor side who absolute bottle it when they get a good lead. You blame previous manager but same happened when ye got comfortable lead against Laois last weekend. You have very high opinion on Andy McEntee and probably rightly so he has great CV from my own experience and through work I am very close with a Ballyboden club man and he doesn't rate him that highly. This despite the fact he won an all Ireland with them so personally I will wait and see how he gets on with Meath.

Cuckoosinging (Roscommon) - Posts: 992 - 17/01/2017 15:44:16    1946365

Underage success never has nor ever will guarantee success. You think in a few years, Dublin's main rivals will be Meath and Kildare, not the likes of Kerry, May and the cream of Ulster? Fair play to ye !

Seamy_Hendrix (Derry) - Posts: 47 - 17/01/2017 15:50:26    1946367