Bordering Counties Who Dont Have Much Of A Rivalry

Replying To moros:  "Yeah how many All Ireland have they coughed up at this stage...they should get over their obsession with Roscommon. It hurts kills Mayo folknthat they are in Galways shade when it comes to winning Sam and they'd all jump into the Atlantic if Roscommon ever got their hands on Sam before them...and the clock keeps ticking...keep believing Mayo...Keep believing!!!"
I honestly don't think that's true, the majority of Mayo folk respect Galway's tradition, even if we obviously want to beat them. We also have a genuine rivalry with them, as evidenced by the celebrations when Galway beat us in MacHale Park a couple of years back. Galway have obviously won several more Sams than us and fair play to them, but the head-to-head and provincial records are sufficiently close to foster a decent sense of competition between the two counties.

On the other hand, it's hard to fathom the vitriol coming from the other side of the fence when the recent record against the Rossies is so one-sided.

When others refer to class, I refer to honesty. I consider it disrespectful to plámas or BS people. How people take it is up to themselves.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 11/02/2018 10:00:33    2075660

Dublin V Meath?

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 11/02/2018 10:28:22    2075675

I shouted Galway on in person at the 2001 final.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11231 - 11/02/2018 16:35:00    2075847

Galway v Roscommon is fairly tame. Being from a place within spitting distance of Mayo (I can see Mayo from my house! To paraphrase that paragon of American political discourse), that rivalry is intense. Despite the facts that most of my closest friends are from Mayo, or that many of the current Mayo panel appear to be absolute gentlemen, I have zero love for them. I must be getting soft in my dotage though; I did support them last year in the final. Even Archimedes nods.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 11/02/2018 17:25:23    2075880

Meath and Cavan..

Cavan may have a rivalry but Meath don't give Cavan a second thought.

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 11/02/2018 17:26:19    2075883

Suppose the obvious question now that we've established that lads hate a particular bordering neighbor, do you support them if they get to an all Ireland , is there any situation you would support them ? Or would you never support them , I've known Cork men to absolutely hate Kerry but cheer for them in Sept if playing Dublin , I'm pretty aware that most Ulster counties have the ability to put rivalary asaide come sept and they cheer their neighbours

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 11/02/2018 17:53:30    2075905

Antrim technically borders both Armagh and Tyrone, but since this border is in the middle of Lough Neagh you can forgive them for not having much of a rivalry.

CastleBravo (Meath) - Posts: 1643 - 11/02/2018 21:17:41    2076012

Replying To Jack_Sparrow:  "If you are measuring on bitterness then Offaly v Westmeath fits the bill."
Late to the party, and I would agree on the Offaly-Westmeath football rivalry but oddly enough the hurling people seem to get along quite a bit better.

35OLT (USA) - Posts: 90 - 12/02/2018 03:25:08    2076075

Galway and Mayo.....said no one....ever

The_DOC (Galway) - Posts: 706 - 12/02/2018 08:04:52    2076079

Dickie10, you've set up a thread and repeatedly posted about how little Meath care about Cavan. A few Meath posters have also insisted they don't care about Cavan. There was even an article in the Meath Chronicle about how Meath don't care about Cavan.

A quote from Hamlet springs to mind.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12120 - 12/02/2018 10:33:49    2076118

Replying To ziggy320001:  "Meath and Cavan..

Cavan may have a rivalry but Meath don't give Cavan a second thought."
there's no need to phrase it in a way that all Cavan people are out with pitchforks and torches readying themselves for a primal battle of the ages against the enemy. I live the other end of Cavan and Meath wouldn't be on my radar, infact i grew up watching and supporting great Meath teams and really admire them even still. i live on the Fermanagh border and even though I've supported them in games over the years its almost to a point where i only want to see them doing well and no more....Monaghan has always been a good rivalry with Cavan and i always build myself up for the games in the weeks ahead of them only to get to the game and get standing with some Monaghan people and really just have great craic and realise that they're actually sound!!!!

theweanling (Cavan) - Posts: 414 - 12/02/2018 10:39:27    2076122

Replying To CastleBravo:  "Antrim technically borders both Armagh and Tyrone, but since this border is in the middle of Lough Neagh you can forgive them for not having much of a rivalry."
Rival fishermen?

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7345 - 12/02/2018 10:44:55    2076127

Replying To CastleBravo:  "Antrim technically borders both Armagh and Tyrone, but since this border is in the middle of Lough Neagh you can forgive them for not having much of a rivalry."
Antrim I would assume does have a land border with Armagh in Aghagallon area
They are from the lough area, as you correctly identify, and currently play in Division 1 in Antrim.
However, they played in the Armagh leagues in their early days from what I'm led to believe

bumpernut (Antrim) - Posts: 1852 - 12/02/2018 11:05:13    2076144

It is hard to have rivals when you don't provide much rivalry.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 12/02/2018 11:53:24    2076166

Replying To endgame:  "Thanks Gleebo.! There was me cheering for Mayo against the Dubs in the last two All-Ireland finals.Seems with you it's a bit like what John Wayne said in Chisum.We may be neighbours but we don't have to be neighbourly."
To be fair I was hoping ye would win those Connacht finals against Galway the last two years but that just shows the way these rivalry's work. As moros said I'd be one to jump into the Atlantic if ye got Sam before us maybe I wouldn't if we got there before ye. Suppose the Mayo v Roscommon being so heated is both counties are as batsh*t crazy bout football as each other

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 12/02/2018 13:36:01    2076222

Replying To Jack_Sparrow:  "If you are measuring on bitterness then Offaly v Westmeath fits the bill."
All because ye have never seen Sam in Mullingar.

LooseCannon (Offaly) - Posts: 86 - 12/02/2018 14:50:43    2076256

As I live right on the Meath border I would not know what the other rivalries is with Louth. Meath is the only Leinster county that Louth borders. The other three counties are all in Ulster. Louth and Monaghan have only played twice in the championship with Louth winning in 2002 and Monaghan winning in 2005. Louth have never played Armagh or Down in the Championship. In the early 1990's Louth had a mini rivalry with Laois as they played each other four times in three years. In 1991 Louth and Laois played out a draw in the Leinster semi-final. In the replay Laois won. This match was infamous for the big brawl. In 1992 Louth gained their revenge when they beat Laois and in 1993 the O'Moore men won that match.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 12/02/2018 15:23:53    2076276

Replying To LooseCannon:  "All because ye have never seen Sam in Mullingar."
When was the last time did yous see croke park???

maroonkingdom (Westmeath) - Posts: 41 - 12/02/2018 15:25:08    2076277

Replying To maroonkingdom:  "When was the last time did yous see croke park???"
The 27th January.
Ye've 1 Leinster due to PO. That's all.
Also, you must be a blow-in from the capital if you refer to the you plural as yous and not you.

LooseCannon (Offaly) - Posts: 86 - 12/02/2018 15:49:54    2076294

Replying To LooseCannon:  "The 27th January.
Ye've 1 Leinster due to PO. That's all.
Also, you must be a blow-in from the capital if you refer to the you plural as yous and not you."
That was in hurling, a great win. But your footballers have a much longer absence.

maroonkingdom (Westmeath) - Posts: 41 - 12/02/2018 16:43:55    2076320